Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Five Best eyelash and brow growth products

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
October 3, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 129 Comments
This post has been updated

If you'd asked me six months ago if I could imagine the day when I could put together a Truth In Aging's Five Best picks for eyelash growth products, I would have arched my (moth-eaten) brows quizzically. This roundup is the result of a lot of research, trial and error and the fact that some of the manufacturers (such as Jan Marini) have made a humungous effort to reformulate their products so that they not only work, but are safe. Thanks to all of this I have brows that would be the envy of Brooke Shields and plenty of lashes to bat.

One of the best finds had been right under my nose for months. I've been using Skin Biology's Folligen every now and then (with great success) to ensure that I don't have thinning-hair-with-age syndrome. Folligen is based on copper peptides, which are proven to strengthen the hair follicle and extend the hair growth cycle. Someone in the TIA community posted a question about whether Folligen works for eyelashes and brows as well as the hairline. I gave it a try and it works extremely well. In short, its a bit messy and you'll need to supply your own eyeliner brush. It is worth it though - I saw eyebrow and eyelash growth in only a few days. Plus you can't quibble at the price (newsletter subscribers and VIPs get a 10% discount at our store).

The new Marini Lash confirms its maker, Jan Marini, as the queen of eyelash growth products. The new Marini Lash is free of prostaglandins - the glaucoma drug that, until recently, powered most eyelash growth products and was associated with side effects that could harm the eyes and change their color. The main ingredients are moisturizers, sodium hyaluronate and hydrolized glycosaminoglycans. According to a study published in the British Journal of Dermatology, the extracellular matrix of hair follicles is rich in glycosaminoglycans and they seem to be involved in regulating hair growth. I have tried the new Marini Lash and it certainly works and I had no adverse side effects. The cost of Marini Lash is about $160, but we did turn up some better prices at Amazon.com.

Another good find is Dermaquest's Dermalash Eyelash Growth Promoter Complex. It has restored my eyebrows to their former glory. Dermalash works for eyelashes as well, although you need to give it a good three weeks before you see any real results. I have no idea why Dermalash should be effective since the ingredients list consists mostly of botanicals that I have never been able to asscociate with any evidence that they promote hair growth. The most convincing of them is tussilago farfara, commonly called colts foot or coughwort. And there is apigenin, which stimulates the blood vessels (generally believed to be a good thing for encouraging hair growth). Anyway, this certainly works and it does no evil.

Keracyte-B is a reader nomination. I haven't used it myself but I have heard good reports and am tempted to give it try. Like Folligen, Keracyte-B is designed to treat hair loss and is marketed as a scalp conditioner. It has some very interesting ingredients. The active is elastatropin, the laboratory synthesized form of human tropoelastin, that is the natural precursor of the human elastin. It is supposed to have come out of research on wound healing at DARPA. Again, like Folligen, this product stimulates the hair follicle. The rest of the ingredients list reads like a good anti-wrinkle cream with the antioxidant, matrixyl 3000, sodium hyaluronate for moisture retention and selenium, which protects against UV damage.

I need to include Revitalash because the damn thing works. But I do so with some reservations. Although Revitalash has been reformulated several times in the last 12 months, the active has always been a prostaglandin analogue. The latest version, which has only just been launched, claims to be "100% safe" and Revitalash says there have been tests to prove it. However, it still contains a prostaglandin - read Copley's review of Revitalash.
  • July 11, 2014

    by Colette Smith

    I use atLASH! I use it on my brows and lashes and it really does work. I got to be part of their trial group before it launched and was seriously shocked by how well it worked. I didn't think I'd ever even buy this type of stuff but now I'm religious about it. I'm a professional soccer player and sometimes it is just too hard to wear mascara but now I don't have to.

  • August 1, 2013

    by Ocgal

    Hi dlishusxju or other beauty 'eyelash' seekers.

    For sure Lilash is a good product. I've been using it for 5 months now and received lot of compliments. Since I need another tube so I'll try ML because it costed me half of what I paid for Lilash and the review so far is very promising (hmm..we shall see). If it doesn't work for the next 30 days I'll return the product (60 day $ back gurantee) and will go back to use Lilash.

    Wish me luck :)

  • August 1, 2013

    by Marjolein

    Hi Marta,

    My eyes en skin around the eyes is very sensitive and since a few weeks I wake up with thick and red eyes.
    Can you advise me which lash product works well not only on the length but also new heargrow, and is ok to use for sensitive eyes?

    Thanks again for this website and information!

    Regards, Marjolein
    The Netherlands

  • August 1, 2013

    by Marjolein

    Hi Martha,

    I'm sorry to say that hydropeptide doesn't work for me. It even looks if my lashes are thinning! I'm really disapointed because it is a expensive product especially shipping to the Netherlands. But I think that everyone responses to a product in a different way. Did you try Marini lash yourself and what where the results?

    Thanks!

  • August 1, 2013

    by Amabelle

    Ive only seen a very minimal result unlike the one my sister used, NeuLash. Her lashes is so full, long and thick!

  • March 17, 2013

    by Mary

    As for me, I found out, the <a href="http://bestproductsforeyelashgrowth.com"> best product for eyelashs growth</a> is Cilea. Real lomger eyelashes in 4 weeks!

  • February 21, 2013

    by christina

    FEG eyelash extending stimulator is often sold out of stock in many areas for its super quality and high effectiveness in natural eyelash growth. Naturally extend eyelashes 3mm in 7 days! In as little as 4 weeks, lashes will appear more beautiful and thicker-looking. 30 Days money back guarantee!

  • August 8, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Carrie, this post is dated 2008. There are updated recommendations from 2010 that you might prefer http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-for-eyelash-and-brow-growth-2010

  • August 8, 2011

    by Carrie

    Hi there Marta,
    I was reading your thread on Keracyte B for eyelash growth. I am surprised that you recommended using a product containing minoxidil near the eye - the Keracyte B website lists that in their ingredients. To me that is worse than the prostaglandins and will most certainly result in total eye lash fallout if the use of the minoxidil is ever suspended. I feel you did not do your homework on this - I look to your site to help me avoid wasting my money as well as to protect my body from harmful products. In the future I would expect better from you.

  • June 21, 2011

    by Aradia

    Hi, Marta! I heard of LoeLuffa Lash Enhancer LOE-1 (3ml). Does this product contain prostaglandin also? At the moment I'm using Lash Mantra :)

  • June 20, 2011

    by MJ Bruce

    I've read that some of these eyelash growth
    products cause your eyelashes to dry up and maybe fall out. Darn, I'm still looking for something to work. I had heard that caster oil will work and its cheaper.

  • February 12, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Jen, I'm afraid that if you want the results you will probably have to keep using it otherwise your hair will go back to its old growth cycle.

  • February 12, 2011

    by Jen

    Hello!

    I am using Neulash for 2 months, I have great results. But I am afraid that my lashes will be back to its original look (short and fragile).
    Please give any suggestions if the results are forever or temporary?

  • November 29, 2010

    by copley

    Hi Deborah- The Folligen cream is better suited for targeted areas (brows and lashes), while the lotion works as a full scalp treatment. Use a Q-tip or eyeliner brush to apply the cream.

  • November 28, 2010

    by Deborah Holland

    also, forgot to ask-
    which is better- the cream or lotion for brows and lashes?
    thanks again
    Deborah

  • November 28, 2010

    by Deborah Holland

    Thanks Marta, I am going to try the Folligen. Is it the prostaglandin that causes the unwanted hair growth?
    Deborah

  • November 27, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Deborah, I haven't heard of any symptoms of unwanted hair with any of the suggested ones here.

  • November 26, 2010

    by Deborah

    Hi Marta
    I've been using librow for about 2 months and though my brows look amazing I have to stop using it because I've grown lots of unwanted hair all around my eyes and upper cheeks and am now needing electrolysis. Do you know if any of the products you describe will less likely cause this to happen?
    Thanks
    Deborah

  • August 30, 2010

    by Junko

    Marta & Joanna,

    I find Ageless Eyes to be drying when used on it's own. I like what it does for bags, but I've always put Correct or another cream over it.

  • August 29, 2010

    by Patricia

    Marta:
    I watched your how-to-apply video on Folligen and noticed that you have very thin lips, so do I.
    Have you tried any products other than surgery, implants, or injections to augment your lips?
    I tried injections once, and found it was a waste of $250. There was no difference except for bruises.
    So far the only thing I've found to help me would be implants.
    Many thanks,
    Patricia

  • August 1, 2010

    by Patty

    Hi,

    I read your reviews and they were very helpful. I have noticed some thinning on my brows and after having read a review on hydropeptide lash I ordered it. I know it is for lashes and I was wondering is it still effective for brows?

    Thank you

  • July 11, 2010

    by copley

    Hi Conni-
    Lilash was a hot topic two years ago. After we put up a <a href="http://truthinaging.com/eyes/lilash-ingredients-it-includes-a-prostaglandin" rel="nofollow">post identifying the ingredients in Lilash</a> (and pointing out that one of them is a prostaglandin analogue), a torrent of comments followed- 93 in all. These <a href="http://truthinaging.com/eyes/lilash-eyelash-stimulator-gets-mixed-consumer-reviews" rel="nofollow">comments proved to be very telling</a> for anyone thinking about purchasing Lilash. 23 reported irritation, while 17 said they were happy with the results. You can read about the full history in our <a href="http://truthinaging.com/product-brands/lilash" rel="nofollow">Lilash product post</a> and compare Lilash to alternatives in our <a href="http://truthinaging.com/eyes/eyelash-growth-products-do-they-work-and-are-they-safe-2010-update" rel="nofollow">2010 eyelash growth product roundup</a>.

  • July 10, 2010

    by Conni

    just curious why nobody is talking about Lilash? I've had great results with that! I'm researching other products hoping to find something as effective but cheaper....

  • June 12, 2010

    by marta

    Yes Liz. Using emu oil as well would be fine - eyelashes are hair too.

  • June 11, 2010

    by liz

    My lashes have been damaged by using false lashes. I am considering using the folligen on my eyelashes. Can one also use emu oil prior to using the folligen as one would if they were using it on their hair?

  • February 3, 2010

    by terry seeley

    i tried rapidlash ....does not work at all....how could a product make hair grow ? it would be a miracle product !!!! costs 60.00 and no result on brows or eyelashes ...their ads show false lashes for sure! would not reccommend it..

  • January 28, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Lindsay, I'd be happy to include if you can give me the list of ingredients - they do not seem to be on the Arbonne website.

  • January 28, 2010

    by Lindsay

    I am surprised no one here has mentioned Arbonne's lash enhancer product. I will be happy to share my discount if anyone is looking to try and also show you how to order. We have a a 45 day money back guarantee if you aren't satisfied. Let me know! I can also email you the ingredients list if you need it.

    All of our products are pure, safe and beneficial and contain NO mineral oil, dyes and fragrances.

    https://www.arbonne.com/shop_online/showitem.asp?ProductId=6323&menuId=26&withLinks=1

    Lindsay
    lindsaydcooke@yahoo.com

  • January 18, 2010

    by marta

    Katie, with Folligen my eyelashes got longer and a bit thicker. With eyebrows there was new growth.

  • January 18, 2010

    by Katie

    Hi Marta,
    you said that you had good results with Folligen for your eyelashes, but I just wanted to know the specifics (longer?, new growth?, healthier?, stronger?, softer?, darker?, curlier? ect.)
    thank you

  • January 12, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Marjolein, sorry about Hydropeptide not working for you. I have tried Marini Lash and the review is here: http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/reviewed-and-recommended-the-new-marini-lash-works

  • November 22, 2009

    by marta

    It has been <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-products-updated" rel="nofollow">updated</a> (http://www.truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-products-updated)

  • November 22, 2009

    by Funkalicious

    Marta, oops, sorry for mis-spelling your name wrong.

  • November 22, 2009

    by Funkalicious

    Hi Martha,

    It's been over 1 years since you wrote "5 Best", do you have updated list of "5 Best"?

    Thanks for your reviews & your research on safety, its really appreciated.

  • November 20, 2009

    by marta

    Joanna, I don't like the sound of blurred vision. These are the ingredients in Metics:
    water (aqua), glycerin, sodium hyaluronate moisturizer, mineral oil, apigenin, palmitoyl oligopetide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7, camellia sinensis, horsetail extract, chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract, nettle extract, aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) gel, biotin, methionine, panthenol (vitamin B5), tocopherol acetate, retinal palmitate (vitamin A), hydrolyzed glycosaminoglycans, phenoxyethanol, cyclopentasiloxane, benzoic acid, triethanolamine and sodium EDTA

    Could be the mineral oil, which is also very drying. Retin A is drying too. You might be reacting to triethanolamine. <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/triethanolamine" rel="nofollow">Triethanolamine</a> can cause allergic reactions including eye problems, dryness of hair and skin, and could be toxic if absorbed into the body over a long period of time. It can cause itching, burning, scaling, hives, and blistering of skin, all symptoms which may increase with higher concentrations.

    Looking at Ageless Eyes: Deionized water, ceteraryl alcohol, ceterearyl glucoside, glycerin, hesperidin methyl chalcone, montmorillonite, steareth 20, dipeptide-2, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3, caprilyc/capric triglyceride, hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloydimethyl taurate copolymer, squalane, polysorbate 60, butylene glycol, palmitoyl oligopeptide, polysorbate 20, carbomer, sodium hyaluronate, retinol, lavender extract, licorice extract, chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract, centella asiatica, euphrasia officinalis, biotin, hops extract, L-tyrosine, rosacanina fruit extract, citric acid, propylene glycol, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben.

    I can't see why it would give you wrinkles. My guess is that it is the eyelash enhancer and it was a coincidence that your skin had become dry enough wrinkle by the time you started to use the eye cream.

  • November 20, 2009

    by Joanna

    Marta, I have been using Metics Renewlash for 2 months and while it works my vision is blury. Have you heard of this? I have been using it on my lower lashes and they look great but...in addition to this product I started using ageless eyes and literally, heavy wrinkles appeared within a week (when I smile). Could the combination of the two have caused this? The wrinkles do not seem to be reversible and I am not smiling anymore. Thank you for any help you can provide.

  • November 17, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Marjolein. The Folligen works best for new growth, but some people have reported sensitivity (I'm OK with it though). The next best would be Hydropeptide (much more expensive but we are offering a 10% discount at the Truth In Aging shop for all our newsletter subscribers.

  • November 6, 2009

    by liza

    i have tried Lash food for like a month,and didnt see much result on lashes,brows did grew.Martha what do you about this product,I am in a beauty industry myseld,I do brows,so i have plenty clients who have issues with their brows and lashes,and i am grateful to you for the info you've provided here.I am your fan now on Facebook
    thanx
    Liza

  • November 3, 2009

    by Stephanie

    Has anyone tried the lash or brow serum from Bamboo Cosmetics?

    It's supposed to be a more natural alternative, and without the Prostaglandins.

  • October 3, 2009

    by marta

    Bitamoprost is considered a category C ingredient for pregnant women (ie, may not be safe but the risks aren't fully known).

  • October 3, 2009

    by marta

    Nina, you are most welcome. Marini also has parabens so that's out. Talika has, in addition to parabens, phenoxyethanol, which the FDA warned nursing mothers against.

    <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-eyelash-and-brow-growth-products/" rel="nofollow">Dermalash</a> has phenoxyethanol, but no parabens: Aqua (water), eyelash growth-promoter complex, glycerin, sodium hyaluronate, glyceryl polymethacrylate (and) propylene glycol, butylene glycol, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, panthenol, imperata cylindrica (root) extract, hydrolyzed soy protein, caprylyl glycol (and) phenoxyethanol (and) hexylene glycol, carbomer, maltodextrin (and) camillia sinensis leaf extract, serenoa semulata fruit extract, triethanolamine, copper PCA, biotin, tyrosine, disodium EDTA, dipotassium glycyrrhizate.

    Same with Hydropeptide: Water, butylene glycol, octapeptide-2, glycerin, xylityglocoside anhydroxylitol, inositol, glucosyl hesperidin, myristoyl hexapeptide-16, hexapeptide-17, sodium hyaluronate, folic acid, biotin, xylitol, hydrogenated lecithin, rapeseed sterols, castor seed oil, caprylyl glycol, tetrahydroxypropyl ethylenediamine, acrylates C10-30, alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, tetrasodium EDTA, cetearyl alcohol, germall 115 (Imidazolidinyl Urea), phenoxyethanol.

    Although it also has Imidazolidinyl Urea, which can become formaldehyde.

  • October 3, 2009

    by nina

    My friend was useing lumigan Bimatopros solution on her lashline for the eyelash to grow, and her eyelash are super long..but she just found out she 9week pregnant and now she worry that it can harm her baby..have anyone use this solution and it is harmful for pregnant woman?

  • October 3, 2009

    by nina

    thankss so much!!you are wonderful marta..what about Jan Marini or Talika Lipocils it is safe for pregnant woman?..i was read about talika on their website and they say its safe for preagnant woman..what do you think?

  • October 3, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Nina, I checked the full list of ingredients in Folligen cream to see if any are associated with reproductive toxicity. None of them are, although you should be aware that parabens are xenoestrogens and chemical estrogens should be avoided when pregnant and diazolidnyl urea is also associated with cancer. Here is the full list with links to more info in our ingredients directory:
    Purified water, copper peptides (hydrolyzed soy protein and copper chloride), squalane, glyceryl stearate, <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/peg-100-stearate/" rel="nofollow">PEG-100 stearate</a>, <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/ethylhexyl-palmitate/" rel="nofollow">ethylhexyl palmitate</a>, stearic acid, cetyl alcohol, cupric chloride, <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/body/what-is-it-propylene-glycol/" rel="nofollow">propylene glycol</a> (and) <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/diazolidinyl-urea/" rel="nofollow">diazolidinyl urea</a> (and) methylparaben (and) propylparaben, allantoin, tocophersolan (Vitamin E), menthol, lavandula augustifolia (lavender) oil, fragrance, mixed (alpha, beta, gamma, delta) tocopherols.

    Also take a look at our <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/body/beauty-safety-for-pregnant-women-an-interview-with-dr-jason-p-rubin/" rel="nofollow">interview with Dr Jason Rubin</a> for beauty tips for a safe pregnancy.

  • October 3, 2009

    by nina

    is Folligen or other for eyelash growth product safe for pregnant woman?

  • September 16, 2009

    by Carol

    About a year ago I tried Revitalash...it was really expensive (over $100.00). It gave me longer eyelashes, but not fuller.
    I stopped using it and like Marta said: "my lashes reverted back to my normal growth cycle." So I have stubbs again.
    I recently purchased Ultracil ($96.00) because of the high claims of fuller, longer lashes. We will see.
    I wish I would have learned about Folligen--so much cheaper and sounds like it works.

  • September 3, 2009

    by brendamw

    I have blepharitis. Currently I'm almost bald on my right eye. I'm currently trying Folligen. I do have some short lashes coming in. I've only been using a week. It does itch and sting a little. However, I'm so desparate for lashes, that I'm riding through it. I've been looking for something safe for eyelash growth for many years. I'll let you know if I have good results. I may later try the Super GHK-CU suggested earlier. Wish me success.

  • August 28, 2009

    by Michelle

    Ive been using Rapidlash for a month. My lashes are amazing!!! Fake looking. A little too long when I wear mascara. My brows are great too. Im looking for something a little cheaper if Im going to be a long time user. Any1 know anything about Ardell Brow and Lash accelerator? Under $50

  • August 27, 2009

    by Pamela

    I have been introduced to a new product called code.ai, which is comprised of 3 products, lash extend serum, primer and brow boosting shaper. It’s clincallly tested, dermatolgogist tested, hypoallergenic, not tested on animals, paraben free and no harmful side effects. I have seen extreme improvement in my brow growth and my lashes are darker, thicker and longer in just 3 weeks.

  • August 18, 2009

    by Anna

    I have tried Latisse for the last 3 weeks and not noticed a real difference, but I will wait few more weeks. If you want to read more about it (it's rather new) I found a great review here eyelashesgrowth.com/Latisse09

  • August 14, 2009

    by Kacee

    Anyone try Latisse?

  • July 30, 2009

    by marta

    Thanks Vanni, do let us know how you get on. From the ingredients list on the website, I see that it has glycoproteins. These are growth factors and, therefore, this may work.
    Purified Water, Hyaluronic Acid, Glycoproteins, Panthenol, ProVitamin B5, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.

  • July 28, 2009

    by marta

    Enjoli, I've just finished testing Hydropeptide and I published my review today. <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/hydropeptide-lash-helps-eyelashes-grow-tested-and-recommended/" rel="nofollow">Click here for my review of Hydropeptide.</a>

  • July 27, 2009

    by enjoli

    Has anybody tried Hydropeptide Lash, I saw it on skinstore! I called and talk to customer service and they were super helpful and sent over studies they had done their LASH product on, I'm on week four and I love it I had used revitalash but it made my eyes itch and water, so I had to stop by the end of that week.

  • July 22, 2009

    by Sarah

    Aimee, LashMantra works wonders on upper lash, lower lash as well as eyebrows and it doesn't burn or sting like other lash growth serums. Apart from making my lashes grow longer it also makes my eye area feel smooth and supple.Its a wonderful product.

  • July 21, 2009

    by admin

    dlishusxju,

    What we know about Adonia Lash Alive is here: http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/adonia-lash-alive-is-a-new-eyelash-growth-product/

  • July 2, 2009

    by djt

    any other comments on the Lashmantra?

  • June 24, 2009

    by marta

    Here is our<a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/11/rapid-lash-eyelash-renewal-serum.html" rel="nofollow"> Rapid Lash review</a>. It does contain a prostaglandin.

  • June 24, 2009

    by dlishusxju

    Also, do you have a review for Rapid Lash? Its supposedly is prostoglandin free.

  • June 23, 2009

    by dlishusxju

    Have you heard anything about Lash Alive by Adonia Organics?

  • June 19, 2009

    by marta

    Renew could be worth trying. We wrote about it <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/03/renew-eyebrow-and-eyelash-growth.html" rel="nofollow">here</a>. Otherwise I've had the best results with Folligen.

  • June 19, 2009

    by lany

    Hi! This site has been a really great help since I'm really confused on what product to try on my overplucked thinning eyebrow. Can you suggest what's the most effective from what you have given above (folligen, jan marini, dermalash, revitalash, and keracite-b). Also, how about RENEW EYEBROW REVITALIZER? Is is effective? Thanks a lot!

  • June 18, 2009

    by marta

    Folligen works well for hair as well as brows and lashes. But you if you stop using it - or any other product - your hair will revert back to its normal growth cycle. <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/02/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works.html" rel="nofollow">It's explained in this post</a>.

  • June 18, 2009

    by April Skiers

    Hi, I have really thin hair(everywhere! head, brows, lashes,etc...) if anyone can give me advice on how to the find a product that can give promissing results WITHOUT damaging results after stop of usage, I will reaally appreciate it!

    -thank you

  • June 12, 2009

    by So Yun

    I am new to Revitalash and love it, apparently it is the most similar to Latisse that works fast but without needing aprescription. My cousin is using the MD Lash Factor and her lashes also look longer in a few weeks. I tried almost all the others, and nothing worked for me. My cousin and I are comparing results now but we are both very pleased. The girls at that www.theskinspecialist.com really helped explain all the differences to us and we decided to try one of each. It is just a few weeks now! Plus they gave us coupons, so thanks for suggesting them!

  • June 11, 2009

    by marta

    I've now written a post on Mavala Double Lash. Read it <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/06/reviewed-and-rejected-mavala-eye-lite-double-lash.html" rel="nofollow">here</a>

  • June 10, 2009

    by marta

    Djt, if you don't use any of these products consistently, your eyelash growth cycle will go back to whatever it was before - including a phase when you shed lashes (that's normal). But Mavala does have some harsh things in it:

    Aqua, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Alcohol Denat., Xanthan Gum, Lactococcus Ferment, Glycosaminoglycans, Pronline, Riboflavin, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Hexamidine Diisethionate, 2-Bromo-2-Nitropropane-1, 3-Diol.

    The Methylparaben and Propylparaben are linked to cancer (although the evidence is controversial) and could be irritants. Worse though is 2-Bromo-2-Nitropropane-1, 3-Diol. This is called Bronopol and has been phased out by many cosmetic makers because it can form nitrosamines (some of which are carcinogenic). Propylene glycol can irritate the eyes.

  • June 10, 2009

    by djt

    My lashes with thick & curly in my younger years. However, due to a low thyroid condition, my lashes are much thinner...bottom ones are very sparse. I've been using 'Eye Lite' from Mavela and definitely see a difference. However, if I don't use it consistently, my lashes seem to fall out and look as bad as they did prior to use. Does this have a harsh or toxic ingredient?

  • June 2, 2009

    by Celine

    Hi
    Does anyone knows which website that does delivery to Australia for Revitalash?

  • May 18, 2009

    by Colleen

    Marta,

    Thanks so much for emailing the Dea Bella Company. I found a tube on ebay for a bit cheaper than the store and didn't know if I should spend the money.

    But in your opinion, you think the Folligen is the best place to start?

  • May 16, 2009

    by marta

    Yasmine

    I am sorry, but I'm really not qualified to make a recommendation that would be safe with your condition and whatever medication you are taking.

  • May 16, 2009

    by yasmine

    i am using pantogar for my hair
    check it out www.pantogar.com, it was prescribed by my doctor after loosing my hair cuz of SLE.
    another natural treatment for hair is castor oil and olive oil. i am an egyptian and it has been used for ages ,even safe for children . castor oil is also good for lashes but its messy. i havent used it to be honest

  • May 16, 2009

    by yasmine

    hi everyone,
    marta, i need your advise!
    i am 28 yrs old, and i suffer from systemic lupus erythmatosus. i have thin,short lashes and i have been looking for a product that is safe according to my condition and effective as well.
    thanks

  • May 15, 2009

    by Aimee

    Sarah: Does Lashmantra really works? I'm using Bioglo Eyelash & Eyebrow enhancer for over 4 months. It makes my lower lashes longer but not so much on my upper lashes.

  • May 14, 2009

    by marta

    I haven't come across Dea Bella until now. I have emailed the company to ask for the full ingredients list.

  • May 13, 2009

    by Colleen

    Hi!

    Love all of the info on this site. I have recently come across an eyelash product called Dea Bella eyelash conditioner. It was recommended to me by a sales girl and I didn't know if I could trust how well she claims it works.

    Has anyone heard of it or how effective it is? Is it safe?

    Thanks so much.

  • May 8, 2009

    by Meka Johnson

    I am a distributor for Beauty Society's Enormous Lash Eyelash Enhancing Serum. We offer a full 12 month money back guarantee on our product. One tube can last up to 9 months plus it is safe, non irritating, prostaglandin free and paraben free. Our formula is safe for use by pregnant and nursing women, and will provide customers with quicker, more uniform results with less irritation! For ordering information or questions send me an email. I also ship internationally as well and have lots of customers in the UK and Canada. Hope this helps some of you out there frustrated about getting a product that works email meka"at"divaskinspa.com

  • May 5, 2009

    by Helen

    Hi

    I am 61 and for the last year noticed my eyelashes and eyebrows thinning (the latter not to over plucking). I have tried Revitalash for the last 3 months and not noticed a significant difference, although maybe slight! I have just bought at great expense Lilash and am hoping for longer lashes. I would be graeful for any other suggestions. However I will post my opinion of Lilash i about 2 months.

  • May 3, 2009

    by Sarah

    I am using LashMantra which really works! It is organic and chemical free.

  • May 1, 2009

    by Lisa-Marie

    Hello,

    I've been trying to find Dermalash everywhere and nobody sell it in Canada, nor ships it to Canada! Very inconcvenient! It's the 2nd company I process an order with and on their website it says they ship to Canada... then they cancel my order and tell me they don't. Very frustrating! I don't want to buy something dangerous. I however went to Sephora in a mall near my house and found that they sell B Kamins Eyelash Fortifier. However, I have no clue how to go about figuring out if it contains the dangerous prostraglandins. Is there anyway someone could find out and let me know? Also, any places in Canada who ship Dermalash that you know of?

  • April 22, 2009

    by Debbie

    The skin care dedicated biochemist is here to comment again!

    I just wanted to make a comment about copper peptides. I am a huge fan of the FDA approved research done by Dr. Loren Pickart BEFORE he was forced to sell his rights to the patents via selling ProCyte.

    The abundance of his research was done on what is called GHK-Cu or GHK copper peptides or "first generation" copper peptides. IMO, this is the only truly effective and "proven beyond a doubt" copper peptide. There no studies showing that the "second generation" (soy digest) copper peptides work even a fraction as well as GHK copper peptides for wound healing, anti-aging and hair growth. This is because our skin's natural wound healing molecule is GHK-Cu.

    Dr. Pickart was forced to start from scratch when he lost the rights to all of his published work on GHK-Cu. He does not like to talk about it and will insist that the soy digest peptides are an improvement...what would he say? ;-)

    Companies that benefited from the sale of ProCyte were Neova, Neutrogena, Osmotics and a few others. None, other than Neova ever offered a GHK-CU product to the public that was strong enough though. Only the FDA approved products used in hospitals and after hair transplants and such had high enough GHK-Cu concentrations to alter the skin and hair significantly.

    Once some portions of the ProCyte patent expired, Dr. Pickart formulated a potent GHK-Cu serum called...well...Super GHK-Cu. It is $99.95 for 1 2/3 oz and it is worth every penny. You can buy in at Skin Biology where the Folligen is sold. Skin Biology Canada sells it for the same price in Canadian $ which is great for Canadians due to the current poor exchange rate and cross border taxes.

    My overall point is, unlike Folligen, Super-GHK serum can be applied to the entire face including the eyes and will stimulate hair growth and benefit your skin as a bonus.

    Folligen does not have any ingredients that make it better for hair growth than Skin Biology's facial serums, but Folligen is harder to work with on the face.

    If you are set on sticking with the copper peptide technology that is used in Folligen (soy digest copper peptides) on your lashes, look into CP Serum and Super CP Serum from Skin Biology. They are stronger than Folligen and are easy to apply in their serum form.

    I would highly recommend use of the superior Super GHK-CU serum though...it is both gentler to sensitive skin around the eyes and more effective.

    Hope that helps. :-)

  • April 21, 2009

    by donna

    courtney i am in the same boat that you are in. i overplucked and waxed and now i am trying to regrow and have tried almost everything. folligen didnt work for me at all and i gave it more than 6 or 8 weeks. i did buy librow which was expensive but i have to say i have used it religiously just shy of 4 weeks and i already have results! librow tells you to give it 8-12 weeks so i am hopeful to see more hairs. how old are you? i am 42... i guess the older you are the harder it is. what other products have you used? i thought i was the only one that felt like this.... the money i spent waxing when i had beautiful thick eyebrows!!!! let me know if the folligen works for you.

  • April 17, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Donna
    Whichever product you try, you should give it a bit longer than three weeks because of the natural hair growth cycle. Your thinning lashes might be due to the fact you have naturally reached the shedding point and the product hasn't kicked in yet. We explain the hair growth cycle here: http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/02/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works.html

  • April 16, 2009

    by Courtney

    I just purchased the Folligen cream from Amazon. I am hoping that it works! I have tried everything and anything to grow my brows back and nothing has worked. I over plucked when I was younger, so I decided to get permanent tatoo done by a well known professional. I love them, but I want to look natural. I am just wondering... will this product remove any of the tatoo that I got done? And how much success rate has it had?

  • April 16, 2009

    by donna chen

    HI everyone. I am using revitalash for about three weeks and still no results. My lashes seem to be getting thinner. I really want a product that will give me results. Which is the best product that will give me maximum results?

  • April 11, 2009

    by marta

    Diane,
    Folligen seems to have been reformulated (just my guess) since I reviewed it. I too bought a new bottle recently and found that it stung. However, if you ease your way in with tiny amounts and, say, every other day and build up slowly, it seems to be fine. At least that's been my experience. The smell you are stuck with.

  • April 11, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Diane,
    When someone registers to comment for the first time, they have to be approved by us. This allows us to prevent spam. Now that you have been approved, you can post comments to your heart's content.

    Welcome!

  • April 11, 2009

    by Diane Bubeck

    What does 'awaiting moderation' mean?

  • April 11, 2009

    by Diane Bubeck

    After finding your website was very excited to order Folligen Creme and Emu oil. I applied the oil first to my eyebrows and lashes..........only it doesn't smell too good. But the Folligen creme......yikes! It burned like crazy and I was very careful to apply just a bit and to stay away from the eyes...........

    Repeated it for a few weeks but the irritation and burning continued. I shipped both products back for a refund. What a disappointment. Maybe it was just me..........

  • April 7, 2009

    by Sam

    Just my two pennies. I also love Revitalash and had very good results with eyelash growth but pricey - waiting for Latisse !! I didn't like Folligen which my scalp itch. I switched to Nanogen (www.nanogen.co.uk) after reading about it in the Daily Mail and can't say too much about it - it definately slowed my loss to the point where i actually think it has stopped coming out completely and with the camouflage they do, i effectively have a full head of hair like i was in my 30's.

  • March 31, 2009

    by Ocgal

    I just purchased li lash I know a bit pricey but they have 90 day guarantee return policy. I will let you know with the progress in the next 3 weeks. Also i've been taking biotin supplement for hair growth and healthy hair.

  • March 23, 2009

    by marta

    Aimee
    Latisse is made by Allergan, the company that makes Botox, and has FDA approval. It is sold via dermatologists. Yes it does contain a prostaglandin:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/12/eyelash-growth-product-poised-to-get-fda-approval.html

  • March 23, 2009

    by marta

    Aimee
    Latisse is made by Botox and has FDA approval. It is sold via dermatologists. Yes it does contain a prostaglandin:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/12/eyelash-growth-product-poised-to-get-fda-approval.html

  • March 23, 2009

    by Aimee

    Thanks for the info Marta! I really appreciate it. (^_^) Do you know anything about Latisse? I read it was an FDA approved lash enhancer. But does it also contain prostaglandin?

  • March 6, 2009

    by marta

    Aimee,
    MD Lash does contain a prostaglandin. It is listed in the ingredients as 7-[3,5-dihydroxy-2-(3-hydroxy-4-phenoxy-but-1-enyl)-cyclopentyl]-hept-5-enoic Acid Ethylamide.
    So the decision isn't just based on price.

  • March 5, 2009

    by Aimee

    Hi, has anyone tried Longlash MD? Its website states that Longlash MD's ingredients are safe and free from Prostaglandin. I'm tempted to try it but the price is quite expensive compared to Folligen.

    You can check out the web for this product, like I did: www.longlashmd.com

  • February 18, 2009

    by Junko

    Hi Marilyn,

    Please let us all know if you end up loving the MD Lash Factor as much as Kate. I've been using Revitalash for 3 months now.
    Much improved but not the to die for Lash's I'm desiring. I've been using the Folligen for my lower lash's since all directions for the others say to just use them on the top only. It's only been 1 and a half weeks on the lower, so I can't comment yet. Not too happy about the BLUE, but they do have a colorless Folligen. I received the blue as a free trial with my order so I'm giving it a try. My husband travels during the week, so I can put it on before bed and there's no-one to laugh at me for doing so!

  • February 16, 2009

    by Marilyn

    Hello! I would like to comment on the Jan Marini Eyelash Growth Formulations: new vs. old. I started out with short, light, sparse lashes. I had good results with one tube of the old Marini product- not eye-batting, no-mascara results, but new lashes filled in on both top and bottom, all grew longer, and looked great with mascara.

    I ran out, and had been using Talika Lipocils in the interim. It is a good lash conditioner, and seems to have maintained the growth of the old Marini formula.

    I purchased the new Marini product about 4 weeks ago, hoping to add to the original results. I have been using it faithfully, and have seen absolutely no difference at all. I researched the ingredients, and the formula consists of moisturizers- none of the ingredients has any hint of encouraging lash growth. I feel like I paid a lot of money for nothing.

    I am about to try MD Lash Factor. I have just finished researching all the ingredients. It, indeed, contains a synthetic form of prostaglandins. I can't wait to try it, especially after reading the great results other women have experienced!

    And thanks for the heads-up on the very economical Folligen. What a find! I will keep that one on a future list!

  • February 12, 2009

    by donna

    hi ania i have seen that lilash advertised. how long did it take for you to see results on your brows... did you wax them to the point where they stopped growing in spots for years? if you did maybe i still have hope. please let me know any info you may want to share. thanks

  • February 11, 2009

    by Ania

    I have been using Lilash for my brows and eyelashes with a great success. The product is AMAZING!
    My brows got really bushy and my eyelashes are ridiculously long. The product is not cheap though, so I will try the Folligen to see if I can get the same results.

    You can find more info about Lilash on lilash.com

  • February 10, 2009

    by Jenna

    In response to Michelle, the Marini mascara is the new non prostaglandin mascara to replace her old formula and work with the lash conditioner. I purchased it because I had used the old age intervention mascara and loved it. I love the new mascara. I don't think it works as well as the Marini lash product but I do believe i saw an improvement when I had added her mascara to her discontinued product. Thanks for the referral to theskinspecialist.com they were able to answer many questions and fast! I even received a coupon with my order so I may try the Revitalash in my brows, why not?

  • February 4, 2009

    by JulieD

    I recently found another lash product, which claims to work, without copper peptides or prostaglandins. It's a product by Skin Actives - here is a link to some of their info (which also talks about other prostaglandin-eyelash products.)

    http://reviews.ebay.com/What-is-going-on-with-Jan-Marini-eyelash-factor_W0QQugidZ10000000004429692

    and here is their general site, which has lots of neat anti-aging products and ingredients to make your own skincare:

    http://skinactives.com/

  • February 4, 2009

    by marta

    Yes - Folligen does work for hair on the head.

  • February 4, 2009

    by Sara

    I have been using revitalash for about 6 mos and have had great results but after reading this info I am afraid of injuring my eyes or having the color change so I believe that I will try the folligen. I was wondering if any of you know if it really works for hair on the head as well.

  • January 26, 2009

    by Michelle

    The skinspecialist.com is selling a new product called the Marini Mascara™ which supposedly serves as a great complement to the Marini Lash. Has anyone tried this, or does anyone know if the ingredients work and are safe? I hope it does what it claims since they're selling it for $80.

  • January 24, 2009

    by Anna

    This is worrisome-----------if someone has not used the product over a period of time. Eyelashes seem worse than when product first begun. No one wants fragile eyelashes. What to do?

  • January 10, 2009

    by Abby

    I LOVED Revitalash at first, got amazing results...until you stop using it. I stopped for a couple months and my eyelashes were much more frail and fell out if I even pulled on them a little (picking some mascara off or whatever). My sister noticed the same thing...anyone else notice this with other products??

  • January 5, 2009

    by Jen

    I never heard of Folligen but I took Kates advice and contacted the girls at theskinspecialist.com and have used md lash factor just a month and am amazed! They compared them all for me and advised which ones to avoid for my sensitive eyes. They are true professionals, and so honest! Best recommendation, my lashes are amazing. They sell them all so they broke down the ingredients and differences, all via email,and followed up with a call to make sure I understood. I read there is a lot of bad product out there, so be careful where you purchase. They did say Dermalash was popular too but they sold more MD Las Factor. Happy New year, I love my lashes!

  • January 3, 2009

    by marta

    I am pretty sure that it would work for your daughter. I overplucked in my youth and with Folligen or Dermalash, I am back to bushy brows.

  • January 3, 2009

    by Lesa Thomas

    Marta,

    My 22 year old daughter plucked her eyebrows to the point of not having any hair on the thin half of the eyebrow.

    Although she no longer lives with me and I don't know her complete regime, she assures me that the hair there no longer grows.

    Should a product like this work for her?

  • December 10, 2008

    by marta

    Hi Luci,
    Copper peptides and pregancy seems to be fine according a few sources I found, including this useful discussion thread:
    http://healthyskin.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/8890018252/m/3720090254

  • December 10, 2008

    by Luci

    Has there been any research on the safety of a pregnant woman using copper peptides? I started using Folligen a little over a week ago after reading your recommendation but just found out I am pregnant. I've emailed the Folligen company but haven't heard anything back yet.

    Thank you! I truly enjoy your website (though I may not be able to try out many of the products for what will seem like an eternity while I am pregnant/breastfeeding!).

  • December 8, 2008

    by marta

    No - all the data available seems to be for short-term trials. My hunch is that Dermalash or Folligen if used carefully and sparingly will be fine over the long-term.

  • December 8, 2008

    by Billie Jo

    Do you have info on the long term use of any of these products? Safety for the eyes, ect. I'm concerned of the long term useage of copper peptites. I'm incline to try the Folligen, only because of your recommendation and comparison to the other products. Thanks

  • December 6, 2008

    by Cindy Richardson

    I have known people on Revitalash and on Neulash and the price comparison and the results ounce for ounce the neulash is far superior in my opinion and in my clients opinion.

  • November 6, 2008

    by Abby Corelli

    <p>All I have to say is I've been using Revitalash for 6 months now and I LOVE IT! My eyelashes have always been so short and stubby and now sometimes I don't even wear mascara =D</p>

  • October 30, 2008

    by Kerisa Manilo

    <p>I have not used the others on this post but I have used Revitalash. i had super long lashes after only four weeks! I love it when my total strangers tell me how pretty my eyes are!</p>

  • October 29, 2008

    by Sarah

    <p>To MKRA,if you're still reading: Would you mind sharing what the other 3 products you didn't like as much were? I'm using LiLash now and have noticed a real change in my lashes, but it has that prostagladin ingredient that doesn't sound too healthy. Would you say there was a big change in your lashes with the MD one? (Like you, I'm wary to change when I'm using one that works, but would rather use one that's completely safe.) Thanks!</p>

  • October 27, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>It can be. Copper peptides are fairly strong and it is recommended that you build up slowly.So cut back to every three days and then two and so on until you get used to it. Also you only need a tiny amount.</p>

  • October 27, 2008

    by Riana

    <p>I have been using Folligen and have experienced feelings of itching, and that's on my eyebrows, I'm pretty sure it's working as my brows seem fuller but still...is this a normal reaction?</p>

  • October 27, 2008

    by Sarah

    <p>I have been using LiLash since late August, and noticed no change until about the 3 week mark,after that point I noticed my lashes are definitely longer, and have actually started to curl, which they never did before. I haven't had any irritation, and I'm usually allergic to everything.</p>

  • October 14, 2008

    by Kate

    <p>I can personally tell you I have tried several, and nothing works like MD lash factor in my experience. They grew the fastest without irritation. My friend uses Marini Lash and is pleased but I am afraid to try anything else. I have another friend that loves Revitalash and purchased where I found MD. After trying 3 others, i will now never change. I got some great reviews and help from theskinspecialist.com and they sell quite a few. At least I know they are honest, and I love my product! Don't waste time trying so many as I did, but I can say based on my experience the MD is my favorite.</p>

  • October 13, 2008

    by MKRA

    <p>I have been serching for a product that will help my thin short lashes grow, thanks so much for the detailed information and honesty on the products! I cant wait to try one.</p>

  • October 12, 2008

    by marta

    <p>I used them at different times. These products seem to work at entirely individual level - what works for me might not work for you. If I were you, I'd start with Folligen or Dermalash (as I found they work well and are the least expensive) and if you'r not happy with the results then build up to the more expensive Marini or Revitalash.</p>

  • October 12, 2008

    by marta

    <p>It should be applied like eyeliner: a fine line under the lower lash and at the edge of the eyelid. Don't paint it or comb it through the lashes. It is working at the follicle, not the lash itself. It sounds as if you are getting it in your eyes. In my experience the most miniscule amount works - at the edge of the lid</p>

  • October 12, 2008

    by Riana

    <p>Do you use all these products together or simply have used them one after the other in the past?</p>

    <p>I was born with naturally thin brows and have really been trying what I can to beef them up, as for my lashes they once had former glory but are now annoyingly stubby with a bald spot.</p>

    <p>I'd love to know how you yourself have used these products for your own success so that I may pick and choose which I would prefer using. </p>

    <p>Also I'm not sure if anyone else has told you this but it would be very helpful if you included pictures before and after each product use (atleast for the successful ones). So that each person can judge for themselves whether the success rate is worth the price tag or if they have something that works better. </p>

    <p>For myself I'm willing to sit down and buy a few eyelash/brow growth products but if I'm paying hundreds I want the most bang for my buck, which brings me back to the question of if you use them all together or if you used one product was recommended another and once the original product finished started on the next. </p>

    <p>Thank you so mch. </p>

  • October 12, 2008

    by hly

    <p>I've been trying the Folligen for five days now. It makes my eyes itch. Am I applying it wrong? I use an eyeliner brush and sweet at the roots and then I use a comb to run get rid of the extra. Do I just leave it on all night or should I wash it off? It also gives me eye crusts the next morning. </p>

  • October 10, 2008

    by marta

    <p>I must say, I've been pleasantly surprised by Folligen. Let us know how you (and your husband) get on.</p>

  • October 10, 2008

    by mkirse

    <p>Thanks for the detailed research - love that! I went online to purchase Revitalash & thought I'd do a quick check first - how lucky that I landed on your website. Now I'll rethink it. I'm definitely buying the Folligen for my husband's head@!@ & might as well try it on my lashes while I'm at it - thanks!</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...