Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best Facial Masks 2010

Is a Solution for:
Dull Skin, Oily Skin
Reviewed by Marta October 25, 2010 18 Comments

Of course, Halloween puts me in mind of masks and (as I was recently reminded by Stephanie) it has been over a year since TIA put together its Five Best face masks. Since then, so much better has come our way (it was hard to keep the selection to five and honorable mentions should go to Nutra-Lift’s White Chocolate Mousse Mask ($24) and Astara Blue Flame for whenever you have a breakout). This year’s Five Best masks are all a treat and will trick your friends into thinking that you’ve had a facial plus a great night’s sleep. You certainly won’t want to be hiding behind any Halloween masks.

Tilvee’s Acai Pomegranate Rejuvenating Masque ($24). I just love this, it is pure goodness, loads of fun (you can use it for really creative DIY concoctions) and the price/quality ratio is exceptional. Tilvee has somehow magically transformed a mouth watering fruit salad (pomegranate, chokeberry and much more) into powder form and put it into a tub. All you do is add a drop of water and make a paste. Well that’s if you have zero imagination. How about adding in your favorite toner, or you customize your own sun spot treatment by adding in apple cider vinegar, oatmeal, lemon juice, and mashed papaya. Even the plain old water paste will make your skin really soft and glowing.

Your Best Face Prep Microdermabrasion ($80 in the TIA shop). So many of us have tested and raved about Prep that is rapidly becoming as iconic in the YBF range as the Correct eye cream. This mask is a clever multitasker that exfoliates and delivers antiagers. Katya noted a much improved complexion with diminished acne scars and blackheads. Gloria described it as awesome and her facialist told her to keep on using it. Mark said it made his face look refreshed rather than red and irritated. Prep on its own will enhance the effectiveness of any other from any other brands that you may use. But best of all it has great antiaging peptides including Syn-Tacks and Matrixyl 3000, clarifying alpha arbutin and an ingredient called Pentavitin that helps the skin retain moisture.

Chella Enzyme Exfoliating Mask ($63). I use this product because it calms my skin down when it is inflamed, unhappy or threatening to breakout. Even those with sensitive skin and rosacea types can handle this exfoliating mask and achieve soft, smooth skin without irritation. It has AHAs from sugar cane, malic acid (from apples) and lactic acid, which comes from sour milk and is relatively gentle. The enzyme exfoliator is protease, an enzyme that breaks long proteins down into short ones. In addition, Chella has added a host of botanical extracts such as inflammation reducing ginger and licorice. Butcher’s broom (ruscus aculeatus) is also an anti-inflammatory and contains chemicals that attach to and strengthen blood vessels. Horse chestnut trees (particularly the seeds) contain a saponin called escin. This is supposed to strengthen veins and capillaries by blocking an enzyme called hyaluronidase, which can breakdown of proteoglycans (part of the structure of capillary walls).

La Vie Celeste Restorative Exfoliating Gel Mask ($60 in the TIA shop). This facial mask is one of the best glycolic products I have found. A gentle, but effective 5% glycolic concentration that is a terrific skin brightener. The glycolic’s brightening and smoothing effects are given a helping hand by exfoliating bamboo grains, licorice and bearberry extract, which is loaded with alpha arbutin - a natural (safer) hydroquinone. Organically sourced antioxidants include white tea (supposedly better than green tea) and melon.

Abrione Hydrodynamic Facial Masque ($22). This mask is retained from the last Five Best masks as it is the best hydrating one I have found so far – it gives me a just-been-on-vacation dewy glow. Skin looks even better the following day. Alpha beta hydroxy acids and pineapple do the exfoliation job. Of interest amongst the botanical ingredients is passiflora incarnata (passionfruit extract), which is an anti-inflammatory and analgesic as well as a source of vitamin C. The firming of the skin is achieved by the essential oils of cedarwood, eucalyptus and geranium. Dead sea mud and montmorrillonite provide minerals and detoxify.

Ingredients in Tilvee

Punica granatum (Pomegranate) fruit juice powder, Euterpe oleracea (Acai) fruit juice powder*, Aronia arbutifolia (Aronia) fruit powder, Garcinia mangostana L. (Mangosteen) fruit powder, Punica granatum (Pomegranate) seed powder, Cocos nucifera (Coconut) fruit juice powder, Rubus idaeus (Red raspberry) fruit powder, Moroccan lava clay (Rhassoul), Bambusa vulgaris (Bamboo) powder, Myrciaria dubia (Camu Camu) fruit powder, Avena sativa (Oat) flour.

Ingredients in YBF Prep

White tea (reverse osmosis water, white tea), aluminum oxide crystals, olivem (cetearyl olivate, sorbitan olivate), Pentavitin (saccharide isomerate), niacin, edelweiss extract, triglyceride, alpha arbutin, allantoin, Syn-Tacks (glycerin, palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminobutyroyl hydroxytheonine, palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminohydroxybutyrate), vitamin e, vitamin B5, Matrixyl 3000 (glycerin, butylene glycol, water, carbomer, polysorbate-20, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), Syn-Coll (glycerin, palmitoyl tripeptide-5), olive leaf extract, Lipochroman-6 (dimethylmethoxy chromanol), idebenone, sodium hyaluronate, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), orange oil, bergamot oil, paraben du

Ingredients in Chella

Water (Aqua), Glycerin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Lactic Acid, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cyclomethicone, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Protease, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Pyrus Malus Fruit Extract, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Ruscus Aculeatus Root Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Yeast Extract, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Juice, Panthenol, (Pro-Vitamin B5), Lavendula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, (Vitamin E Acetate), Glycerine, Disodium Edta, Bisabolol, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Hydroxide, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Citric Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol.

Ingredients in La Vie Celeste

Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Gel*, Aqua (Purified Water), Sclerotium Gum, Bamboo Grains (Bambusa Vulgaris) Extract, Kaolinite (Pink Clay), Glycolic (Hydroxyacetic) Acid, White Tea (Camellia Sinesis) Extract*, Bearberry (Acrtostaphylos Uva Ursi) Extract*, Licorice (Glycyrrhiza Glabral Licorice) Extract*, Melon (Cucumis Melo) Extract*, Chamomile (Anthemis Nobillis) Flower Extract*, Cosmocil CQ (Polyaminopropyl Biguanide), Grapefruit Seed Extract (Citrus Paradis) Extract*, Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic) Acid.

*Certified organic

Ingredients in Abrione

Aqueous extracts of aloe vera (aloe barbadensis), passionflower (passiflora incarnata) fruit, lemon (citrus medica limonum), grape (vitis vinifera), pineapple (ananas sativus) and sea kelp (macrocystis pirifera), glycerin, montmorillonite, cetyl alcohol, dead sea mud, sodium laureth sulfate, tocopheryl acetate, tocophersolan, carrageenan, sclerotium gum, locust bean (ceratonia siliqua) gum, royal jelly, glycolic acid, lactic acid, salicylic acid, sodium citrate, caprylic/capric triglyceride, matricaria (chamomilla recutita) extract, cocamide DEA, cocamidopropyl betaine, glycol stearate, PEG-46M, grapefruit (citrus grandis) oil, eucalyptus (eucalyptus radiate) oil, geranium (geranium maculatum) oil, lavender (lavandula angustifolia) oil, cedarwood (cedrus atlantica) oil, orange (citrus aurantium dulcis) flower oil, jasmine (jasminum officinale

  • February 22, 2011

    by J.Chung

    Marta,
    Thanks for the tip. My skin is kindda like dark tone and I also have some dark scar spots on my face too. If I wanna my skin whitening a little bit, is "Meladerm - Skin Brightening Cream" will do the work for me? And what would be the best facial mask on the market for men?

    thank you.

  • February 21, 2011

    by marta

    Hi J.Chung, I would try Your Best Face Prep. It is definitely unisex and will help control the oily parts.

  • February 21, 2011

    by J.Chung

    Hello,
    I am a guy and my have T-zone skin (forehead/ nose are oil and cheeks are dry). Can anyone recommend me which facial mask will work for me.

    thanks

  • December 22, 2010

    by Isanna

    Junko,
    How big are the samples? Enough for more than a few uses? What are your favorites?

  • December 7, 2010

    by Oksana

    hi,
    I've been using Eminence for over 2 yrs now.
    I have sensitive combination skin with "dry" areas that are really dry.
    here are the products that worked for me:
    - Rosehip moisturizer
    - pumpkin enzyme exfoliating mask - BEST EVER!
    - stone crop mask
    - sever herb treatment
    - stone crop whipped moisturizer - great in winter
    - plum eyecream - Nurture YB eyecream does more for me
    - naseberry eye exfoliative treatment mask along with raspberry moisturizing eye mask are fantastic - results are visible immediately; "crows" gone!
    - OK products: stone crop serum, cuperose serum, cherry mask, pink grapefruit clarifying mask
    the product I hear amaizing feedback is naseberry moisturizer, that can be used either as mask or overnight moisturizer - wake up to smooth, glowing, deeply moisturized skin.
    I have tried all of the above in full sizes.

  • December 3, 2010

    by Jaysie

    18 samples!? That sounds like the list I made after visiting their site, seeing all the products and reading the reviews! Aside from all the masks, there are eye creams and cleansers I want to try, plus the sample sizes make fun stocking stuffers for 2 other girly-girls on my gift list. Let us know if you find any new favorites!

  • December 3, 2010

    by Junko

    buynaturalskincare.com (it's really Eminence's store) * you'll be in sample HEAVEN Jaysie! I ordered on the phone today ~ talk to Dani and she'll sign you up as a preferred customer, reduce your shipping and throw in more free samples, EXCELLENT customer service and knows her products. She was talking to me about mixing the masks to make chocolate cherries and a bunch more creative mixes. A lot of FUN. I ordered 18 samples really looking forward to trying them ALL!! Thank you VickyL!!

  • December 2, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Junko - Thanks for the tip. I'm going to order the Eminence from Vicky's place. My schedule got crazy in November and December looks no better, but I'm anxious to try it and have to decide on some other Eminence products that caught my eye. I just received the Tilvee Acai mask today. Let us know if the Concha does anything for you.

  • December 2, 2010

    by Junko

    I have just gone through the worst purchasing experience ever!! Eminence Mask purchase at SuperSalon aka UnSalon aka USalon...Still waiting for them to credit back my charge card on a mask they never sent out!! Don't purchase there! Meanwhile I'm wearing Jaysie's Concha Nacar as I type ~ purchased thru Amazon (always a good place to buy)!

  • November 3, 2010

    by VickyL

    Hi Junko,
    Yes, both are intense spa treatment level products. I have a personal preference for the Almond but I use both so I buy the almond mineral pot and get samples of the lime stimulating (lime is a lot more expensive).

    For the first time use buy samples of each ($2.00ea + shipping)at buynaturalskincare.com. They sell sample versions of many of the eminence products. I'm listing the ingredients but the two links listed below have great descriptions and reviews so you can get a flavor of the products. I also buy eminence from supersalon store and pretty skin4less (they have discount codes). Have fun!

    http://www.buynaturalskincare.com/almond-mineral-treatment-p-275.html
    http://www.buynaturalskincare.com/lime-stimulating-masque-p-283.html

    Almond - mature, dehydrated, dry, or sebhorreic skin types
    Ingredients:
    Almond Granules, Ivy Extract, Paprika Extract, Corn Oil, Honey, Chlorophyl, Corn Cob Granules, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Bioflavonoids, Red Clover, Zinc Oxide, Natural Cream Base, Natural Moisturizing Factor, Biocomplex (Vitamin A, Ester C, Vitamin E, Coenzyme Q10, Alpha Lipoic Acid), Salicylic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Glycerin, Glycine Derivative.

    Lime - A stimulating gel treatment for oily, non-sensitive, dry and fatigued skin. Detoxify sluggish skin and slow aging.
    Ingredients: Lime, Stinging Nettle, Paprika Extract, Algae, Cinnamon Oil, Bioflavanoids, Chlorophyl, Biocomplex (Vitamin A, Ester C, Vitamin E, Coenzyme Q10, Alpha Lipoic Acid), Thermal Spring Water, Natural Moisturizing Factor, Lemon Oil, Balm Mint Oil, Xanthan Gum, Glycine Derivative, Glycerine

  • November 3, 2010

    by Junko

    VickyL !! ~ THANK YOU for passing along your conversation with Dr. Teri and answering my question. Regarding the Eminence Masks, does the Lime Stimulating give you same spa results as the Organic Almond Mineral Treatment? Which is the better one for me to try?

  • November 3, 2010

    by VickyL

    Hi Junko,
    Coincidentally, I had an email exchange today with Dr. Teri Dourmashkin from La Vie and asked about the 20% glycolic. Unfortunately, she said she's not able to sell it through Marta's store as anything over 10% is illegal for retail sales (even though some do sell high concentrations via internet). The 20% mask can only be sold to licensed professionals - so I immediately gave her the phone number and address for the spa I go to and she said she'd pass it along to her marketing. :)

    BTW - she's about to launch an extra rich cream that adds argan oil, 5% concentration of apple stem cell (which is a lot), Rose Hydrosol, Vitamin B3 to her current cream base. It sounds great for winter.

  • November 3, 2010

    by Junko

    Jaysie & VickyL ** Thanks for recommending! I might have to give both your recommends a try. Marta, is there any legal way to get La Vie Celeste 20% gycolic mask?

  • October 31, 2010

    by VickyL

    Hi Marta,
    Have you tried any of the BRYCE masks lately? I recently got re-introduced to their line. They have lots of new masks and scrubs. They take the Tilvee approach of all kinds of wonderful fruits but theirs are all fresh (even have to be refrigerated). I've just ordered a couple to enjoy.

    Love the Prep, Tilvee, and La Vie. I'm going to try some Tilvee in the Prep. Abrione sounds great too.
    For anyone with non-sensitive skin that loves a spa type mask I recommend Eminence Organic Almond Mineral Treatment (their Lime Stimulating is also good). It is VERY active so you need to test first.
    This mask creates a Very warm effect and your skin will look red/flushed like you worked out or had a sauna. I use on face, neck, and decolletage. Rinse with lukewarm, not hot water. Apply a wonderful toner and your favorite skin serum and/or cream and you will feel like you've had a spa treatment.

  • October 26, 2010

    by Susan

    Jaysie's Concha Nacar de Perlop Bleach Cream #3 looks like a really good mask for the money (maybe to use in between the expensive masks).

    I LOVE Prep. I've never used anything like it before. I leave it on for a good 30-45 minutes. It's yummy.

    And I'm looking forward to purchasing Tilvee's mask. Again, the price and ingredient list together is a winner.

    Thanks for a great list, Marta.

  • October 25, 2010

    by Jaysie

    It's getting harder to find in stores. The last time I bought it I had to go to a Walgreens located in an area that has a larger Hispanic clientele since this is a popular item with that demographic. Here's a Wags URL that has a "Find A Store" by zip code link that shows which stores supposedly have it in stock.
    http://www.walgreens.com/store/c/concha-nacar-de-perlop-natural-bleach-cream-3/ID=prod6036378-product

  • October 25, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Jaysie, based on the ingredients, your Concha mask looks really nice. The price is amazing too. Although its just over $7 on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Concha-Nacar-Perlop-bleaching-cream/dp/B000XPC8MA/ref=pd_sim_dbs_bt_4

  • October 25, 2010

    by Jaysie

    I really like masks and have used many different kinds over the years. The one I keep re-purchasing is Concha Nacar de Perlop Bleach Cream #3 which I bought on a whim about 5 years ago. Contrary to its name, this is not a high-powered bleaching product though it does slightly lighten my brown spots temporarily. It is actually recommended for acne, but I don't have acne. I have normal/dry skin with a couple of small patches of oiliness. The name also makes you think it's a cream to be rubbed in, but it's a paste that you use like a mask.

    This mask is a good pore cleaner and gentle exfoliator and I find it soothing, maybe because my skin likes the salicylic acid in it. It's also very inexpensive, around $5 for a 2 oz. jar. To top it off, the ingredients are mercifully simple: Glycerine, Zinc Oxide, Ground Barley, Water, Oyster Shell Powder, Lemon Juice, Honey, Witch Hazel, Bentonite, Papain, Irish Moss Powder, Salicylic Acid, Fragrance.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...