Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best Mineral Makeup Products

December 14, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 20 Comments

I am usually wary of mineral makeup, as you will have noticed from my post the other day. Behind the hype there is often little more than mica. This couldn't be further from the truth for the products in this round up.


RAW Natural Beauty Perfect Balance Concealer & Highlighter ($38) will do much more than cover up imperfections. It will help rectify them. There are several good antioxidants derived from plants including acai berry, pea extract and buckwheat. There is also the intriguing inclusion of capparis spinosa. This is caper bush (better known for the berries that are used in cooking) and it has high levels of rutin. In humans, rutin attaches to an iron (ion i2) and prevents it from binding to hydrogen pyroxide, which would lead to the creation of harmful free radicals. Best of all, there is nothing not to like.



NVEY Organic Eyeshadow ($24). This is so organic, that it passes the Australian government test (Aussie organic standards are much more rigorous than the, it must be said, pitiful ones of the US). Just about everything in an NVEY product is good for you or politely neutral. There is neither talc, nor mineral oil, nor nasty preservatives. Take the Organic Eye Shadow, it has a corn starch base with jojoba, coconut, palm and carrot oils. Vitamins C and E have been added, as well as chamomile. Apart from pigments (nice and intense) that's it.

Everyday Minerals. If you are terrified of breakouts from makeup, then it doesn’t get much more natural than Everyday Minerals. This brand actually lists the 28 ingredients (mostly chemicals) it DOES NOT include in the foundations, eye shadows and lipsticks. There are only four ingredients, all of them natural: mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxide and zinc oxide. The color palette is subtle and has some unusual shades. Oasis, for example, is a sort of glamorous gold and Diary is a sort of grayish lavender.

Jane Iredale Dream Tint ($39). Now this a good find: a tinted moisturizer that uses only safe minerals, has a non-chemical sunscreen and a handful of helpful anti-oxidants. I've just ordered Jane Iredale's latest product, Dream Tint SPF 15. At $35 it isn't cheap, but there is a lot to like and I've had to give up VIP Expert by Terry after discovering that it was the cause of a bad outbreak of rosacea that afflicted me a few weeks ago. Dream Tint has some algae extracts, sunflower seed oil, jojoba and white tea. One of the minerals included is boron nitride, a graphite-like substance that is one of the hardest materials known to man. As an ultra-fine powder it is included in dental filling compound and cosmetics. I don't understand how, but boron nitride is also self-lubricating. Its role in Dream Tint seems to be to diminish the appearance of wrinkles (depend on the white tea to do something about the wrinkles themselves) and impart a silky feeling. Dream Tint has no preservatives or other potential irritants.

Josie Maran's Finger Paints. I like Ms Maran's approach to make up - pretty, practical and poison free. Finger Paints have a really nice texture with a subtle shimmer and I really like the fact you can dab them anywhere the mood or need takes you: eyes, cheeks, lips. There are so many nice things in Maran's cosmetics that they might actually be good for you. In Finger Paints, there is actually argan oil, as well as grape seed, pomegranate, avocado, jojoba, olive, flax.... I could go on. The only think not to like is BHT, which was banned from food in Europe but seems to be OK topically. And the packaging is biodegradable! I tell you, when you buy this you almost feel as if you've given a donation to Green Peace.

Ingredients in RAW Perfect Balance

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Isocetyl Stearate, Ozokerite, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Pisum
Sativum (Pea) Extract, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Euterpe Oleracea (Acai) Pulp Oil, Polygonum Fagopyrum (Buckwheat) Seed Extract, Silica, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Aluminum Starch
Octenylsuccinate, Tocopherol, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Octyldodecyl Myristate, Capparis Spinosa Fruit Extract.
May Contain (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.


Ingredients in NVEY Organic Eyeshadow

Corn Silk, Caprylic Capric Triglyceride, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Oxdide, Vitamin E Acetate, Jojoba Oil, Chamomile Extract, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Carrot Oil. May Contain: Ci77019 (Mica); Ci77007, Ci77491, Ci77492, Ci77499 (Iron Oxide); Ci77891 (Titanium Dioxide).

Ingredients in Jane Iredale Dream Tint

Water/Eau/Aqua, Algae Extract, Sambucus Nigra (Elder Flower) Extract, Dimethicone, Jojoba Esters, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Stearate, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Boron Nitride, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Cetearyl Candelillate, Camellia Sinensis (White Tea) Leaf Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Vanilla Tahitensis Fruit Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Seed Extract, Glyceryl Polymethalcrylate. [+/- (May Contain) Iron Oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492), Mica (CI 77019)].

Ingredients in Josie Maran Finger Paints

Octyldodecanol, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Caprilic/Capric Triglyceride, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Corn Starch, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Beeswax, Ozokerite, Isononyl Isononanoate, Mica, Kaolin, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Organic Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil, Organic Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Organic Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Oil, Organic Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Organic Linum Usitatissimum (Flax) Seed, Organic Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Organic Cocos Nucifera (Coconut Oil, Organic Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Organic Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Ethylhexylglycerin, Caprylyl Glycol, BHT. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Carmine, D&C Red #6, 7, 21, 27, 30, 40 Aluminum, Calcium, Barium, Talc Lake, FD&C Yellow #5, 6 Aluminum Lake, D&C Orange #4 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Blue #1 Aluminum Lake, Castor Oil, Lanolin Oil.


  • August 17, 2012

    by Jessica

    My Nvey Eco organic eye shadow in 150 grey shimmer has bismuth oxychloride as one of the ingredients :/

  • October 18, 2010

    by babbi

    Has anyone heard of Alima Pure mineral makeup. I got some samples of their foundation and like it a lot but am not sure about their ingredients.

  • May 27, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    Sorry Ellena, I got so caught up in the topic, I forgot to use your name in the above comment- which is in answer to yours (No.16). All reputable mineral makeup companies should state their ingredients up front; if not first thing, then with a drop-down menu of its own. The better brands will list what they DON'T use with pride. Again, have fun! ~jk

  • May 27, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    Yes. My opinion (of loose minerals) is they should NOT contain: Bismuth Oxychloride, Talc, Dyes, Lakes, Fragrance, Waxes, Phosphates, Chemical Preservatives, Carmine.
    Find a brand, and there are many out there, who stick to the basics: Titanium Dioxide which provides a broad spectrum sunscreen and is a natural anti-inflammatory; Zinc Oxide also provides protection from UV rays and is calming to irritated skin; Rice Powder is used as an emollient and has vast oil absorbing properties; Kaolin Clay keeps your makeup looking fresh and is an excellent absorbent; Iron Oxides are FDA controlled when used in cosmetics and provide pigments; Micas are a natural mineral that provide the focus of the final palette: luminescent, semi-matte, or matte.
    Have fun w your minerals! Try the samples offered by so many brands. I tried probably 30 brands before I narrowed it down to 3-4 brands that had matches for my skin. ~jk

  • May 27, 2010

    by Ellena

    Has anyone heard of Earthlab (www.earthlab.ca?
    It is a Canadian brand from BC that I came across in a home show. I had them try the products (concealer and foundation, both mineral powder) on me. It felt nice and the coverage was good but after 3-4 hours needed to be re-applied (I have combination skin).
    I also checked their web and they do not use nano particles (so they claim). I am not sure if it is a brand to be trusted though. Any thoughts?

  • December 11, 2009

    by Kathleen Byrd

    Hi, I would like to try your Raw Minerals Eyeshadow Trio and share my experience. The warm palette would really perk up my fair skin. Thank you.

  • December 3, 2009

    by jessica

    I would love to try the Raw Minerals Eyeshadow Trio and share my experience with a review. It's winter where I live, and I think a warm palette will brighten up my look.

  • December 2, 2009

    by Felicia

    I haven't been wearing eyeshadow for a while since my "go to" shadows don't work for me anymore. They exaggerate the fine line, make my lids look crepey, etc... This would be a great opportunity for me & perhaps end my search. I'll be happy to write a detailed review on each products, as I have benefited from many of the other reviews on this website.

  • December 2, 2009

    by Linda

    Marta,
    I just found your web site today when I was looking for something to use for thinning hair. I have to say YEA I love it. I joined today and signed up for the newsletters. I have looking off and on all day. There are so many great articles and products I do not know where to start. I was happy to know that I was not alone in the fight against father time. I have been caring for a ill child for months and this morning I stopped long enough to take a close look in the mirror YIKES. I look as if I have aged 10 years. I have been using the Bare Escentuals bare minerials make up for about 6 months. I really like the feel of the minerial makeup much better than liquid. But lately it seems that my face is dryer and the pores seem to look bigger the age spots look darker and a few more breakouts and nothing seems to cover the dark circles or fine lines around my eyes.I have very sensitive skin and prone to cyst acne. I am allergic to latex and oil based products. I do not know where to start. If you could recommend something as far as mineral makeup natural cheek/lip eye shadows I would be forever greatful. Again I can't tell you how Happy I am to have found you.

  • December 2, 2009

    by Kathi

    My skin is good but sometimes I feel like the makeup I wear isn't doing anything good for it. I have never tried anything like mineral based makeup products so perhaps this is a good way to start and do something good for my aging skin as well.

  • December 2, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Cristina, apart from mineral makeup, what are you current needs? Don't hesitate to make requests - it's our job to meet your needs!

  • December 2, 2009

    by Lainie

    I'm not in love with BE eye shadows either. They do not blend well, so I too am in the market for some mineral eye shadows. I have been using every day minerals since reading these reviews, and I'm really liking their lipsticks. They are a crazy value for 4 dollars. I really would love to try the cheek/lip tint, as I am always on the look out for natural blushers that give me that I just had a glass of red wine look.

  • December 2, 2009

    by Cristina

    It has been a while since TIA has offered up for reader-review something that suits my current needs. I need new eyeshadow and would love to try the Raw Minerals. I have had zero luck with Bare Escentuals eye colors.
    I love the idea of the Benetint but always wondered about the alcohol content...it would be interesting to review both!

  • December 2, 2009

    by Eileen

    Martha, I would love to try the Raw Minerals eye shadows and the new Benefit blush. I use Raw Minerals make-up and the Benetint and love both. I promise to follow-up with my evaluations on both products.
    Eileen

  • June 4, 2009

    by Umi

    While researching mineral powders and bronzers last year, I ran into Everyday Minerals and their offer of free trial kit. With all the hype about Bare Essentuals, I was leary about getting even the free stuff, but being a Chemist, I went through the detailed ingredients and process and ordered the kit. I must say, I was very happy with the powder that I use over my moisturizer and also the blush I use some evenings. I am not an eye shadow person, so haven't used the free samples.

  • April 1, 2009

    by Junko

    Everyday Minerals will send you a FREE Sample Kit of 3 Foundations, 1 Concealer & 1 Blush, in your choice of colors. Nominal shipping fee (I paid $3.13). It's lovely to be able to try some of their colors & product at little expense.

    The Free Kit is obscure on their website. Click on the KITS tab, then click on the custom kits on the grey bar. The Free Sample Kit is then an option.

  • January 19, 2009

    by Briana

    I love Josie's Fingerpaint's..I have that, her Argan Oil, Eyeshadow and a couple more item's...they are very pretty and very kind to skin!

  • December 15, 2008

    by ha

    I'm so excited! I'm going to order my Everyday Minerals now and toss out my BareMinerals...

  • December 15, 2008

    by Jon

    There are two forms of BN: cubic BN is analogous to diamond and is very hard and abrasive. Hexagonal BN is analogous to graphite and is very soft and lubricious. As mentioned, it provides a silky feel and soft focus effects.

  • December 14, 2008

    by Lori

    I wonder if the boron nitride is a substitute for silicones, and if so, if it doesn't clog pores like cones can.

    Good review! I especially want to look into Raw Natural Beauty now.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...