Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Five Best Products with Copper Peptides

Five Best Products with Copper Peptides

Solution for:

Crow's Feet, Fine Lines, Puffy Eyes, Sagging Skin, Scarring, Thinning Hair & Shedding, Wrinkles
February 1, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 30 Comments

This post has been updated - see our 2014 Five Best with Copper Peptides

For existing lines or scars, copper peptides are a wrinkle warrior's heavy artillery.  One of the main roles of copper is anti-inflammatory – it works by suppressing inflammatory cytokines – and there is a growing school of thought that increased inflammation brings about aging. However it should be noted that, as I understand it, copper has to have something to repair (for preventative skincare, it is better to look for collagen boosting peptides like Matrixyl and antioxidants). Copper's powers also extend to hair growth. It seems to work on the follicle in two ways: increasing follicle cell proliferation yielding increased follicle size; and also decreasing programmed follicle cell death, which results in smaller follicles.

When I posted a week ago on how copper peptides work, I promised a roundup of the best performing products with copper peptides. Here it is.

See all our recommended products with copper peptides.

  • Skin Nutrition Cell CPR

    Skin Nutrition Cell CPR ($170 in the shop). Skin Nutrition’s philosophy is that skin cells are complex things made up of phospholipids, proteins (enzymes, oligopeptides, amino acids), oligosaccharides, oxygen, vitamins and minerals. And so, therefore, is Cell CPR with a whopping 70 or so ingredients. You'll find some new peptides, including hexanoyl dipeptide-3 (which is lecithin and norleucine Acetate) activates skin cell regeneration by stimulating the natural desquamation process of the skin, leading to a gentle peeling. Rh-oligopeptide-1 (Egf) is a recombitant human epidermal growth factor. Here, of course, is copper tripeptide (also known as copper GHK). Even more cutting edge is adenosine triphosphate (ATP), an ingredient that is also in DermaSilk. It is the main energy source for the majority of cellular – and muscular – functions. This includes the synthesis of DNA. It's expensive, but I get compliments when I use it.

  • Hair Vitality Complex

    Hair Vitality Complex ($49 in the shop). This is Truth In Aging's first branded product. Copper peptides help a great deal for hair growth and reduced shedding. The problem was that most copper peptide products were unpleasant to use and also contained other ingredients that I didn’t like. And so I worked with Your Best Face to make a product that would work, be pleasant to use (no bad smells) and not scary for those of us with blonde hair and expensive salon color jobs. There are amino acids creating a copper peptide and vitamin B and that's about it. I tested this on 125 members of the TIA community and 70% said it would work and they would buy it. Well here it is.

  • GloTherapeutics Glopeptide+Defense

    GloTherapeutics Glopeptide+Defense ($130). This potion has three of our five best anti-aging ingredients, L-carnosine for extending the hayflick limit, spin trap (a busy molecule that is a brilliant radical scavenger) and collagen boosting Matrixyl 3000.  Copper peptides do not appear high on the list of ingredients, but Glopeptide has to get a mention for the host of great ingredients that pack an awful lot of antioxidant punch. When I used this cream for a few weeks, I was told that I looked as if I'd had Botox.

  • Benir Beauty BV Nine Platinum Anti-Aging Bee Venom Cream

    Benir Beauty BV Nine Platinum Anti-Aging Bee Venom Cream ($136 in the shop). Bee venom and copper peptides – now here is an irresistible combination! I have long been a convert to copper peptides as a powerful anti-aging ingredient and more recently become convinced by the curious power of bee venom. To see the two together in Bénir Beauty’s BV-9 Platinum had this ingredient geek almost palpitating with excitement. And BV Nine lives up to my expecations. A great moisturizing serum with great ingredients.

  • Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Firming Elasticity Repair

    Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Firming Elasticity Repair ($58-$85 in the shop). A great combination of copper peptides and the collagen-boosting peptide combination, Matrixyl 3000. Osmotics does not formulate for purists so there are some chemicals and potential irritants here. But they do formulate for efficacy.

  • February 14, 2016

    by Marta

    Hi Carol, here's an article and some suggestions for you: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/four-things-to-try-before-botox

  • February 14, 2016

    by Carol

    I am 70 yrs old and receive Botox treatments, which are expensive, but necessary to help maintain a youthful appearance. Are there any products which mimic Botox results between treatments; and will keep my skin bright and healthy looking? I travel a great deal and would like to have some type of daily skin cream that is quick and easy to use; and mimics Botox results between treatments.

  • February 5, 2016

    by Marta

    Hi Cathey, thank you for taking the time to post and a warm welcome to the Truth In Aging community

  • February 5, 2016

    by Cathey

    So happy to discover your site. Am loving it! Thank you.

  • December 14, 2015

    by Sa

    Saw D r O z program about copper peptides for aging skin. I really need to have some!

  • August 7, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi John, I can't comment on intravenous methods. There is more on Matrixyl and Matrixyl 3000 here: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/what-is-it-matrixyl

  • August 7, 2014

    by John

    Hi, great website. I've been researching and found that copper peptides injected in the thigh had the same healing effects as topical agents. The examples were facial scarring and ear scarring. Do you know anything about this and what would the dosage be. I can mix my own peptides with solution and inject subcutaneously. I just need to know the dosing. My goals are hair and as a supplement Matrixyl. Which Matrixyl do you recommend? Plus what's the big difference between Matrixyl and Matrixyl 3000?

    Thanks,
    John

  • May 5, 2014

    by zubair

    Love to read it,Waiting For More new Update and I Already Read your Recent Post its Great Thanks.

  • March 27, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Johnzaci, I'm not sure whether the topical application of amino acids would help an amino acid deficiency, but you could try BRAD's Multi-peptide serum, which is packed with amino acids: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/brad-biophotonic-essential-elixir-multi-peptide-reviewed-and-recommended

  • March 26, 2014

    by Johnzaci

    Thanks Marta,
    I was in search of some products to get wash irritating spots from my face due to amino deficiency:( So lemme know whether this product will work for that or not?
    I have been advised to use the http://purchasepeptides.com but they just deal in peptides and other healthy products.
    Can anyone guide me?

  • June 11, 2013

    by allayna

    I am looking for a copper cream for the face that works on possible lupus. I have had rheumatoid arthritis for years. What are the proper ingredients to watch for for outside cream and inside supplements please? Thank you.
    P.S.: My skin hurts sometimes 1 million / 10.

  • May 6, 2013

    by Marta

    And there's Medik8 Firewall (now in the shop) http://www.truthinaging.com/face/reviewed-and-recommended-medik8-firewall

  • May 4, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Sue, this is a good reminder to update this Five Best. There are good copper peptide products from Osmotics and Osmosis for example. I'll get on to it.

  • May 3, 2013

    by Sue Becca

    Hello Marta:
    I am looking for best products with copper peptide for my face, to perhaps use in combination with other facial products.
    Any suggestions?
    Or why dont TIA venture in the copper peptide ingredient for skin, since you have already this copper peptide wonderful hair products?
    Thanks,
    Sue

  • October 3, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Lucy
    I have a tendency to rosacea and have not yet found a copper peptides serum that my skin is truly happy with. However,there are plenty of other anti-aging that I can use. Please see my Five Best serums (the E'shee is especially helpful): http://www.truthinaging.com/face/five-best-anti-aging-serums-of-2012

    I also find that Prana's AU24K is good for taking down redness: <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/face/prana-au-24k-gold-serum-reviewed-and-recommended" rel="nofollow">http://www.truthinaging.com/face/prana-au-24k-gold-serum-reviewed-and-recommended</a>

    There are some other ideas of treatments, products and solutions for rosacea that work for me here: <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/face/new-and-trusted-rosacea-solutions" rel="nofollow">http://www.truthinaging.com/face/new-and-trusted-rosacea-solutions</a>

  • October 3, 2012

    by lucy

    Hello, i was hoping you could help me figure out which type of peptide cream/serum would work best with my rosacea. I developed rosacea 5 years ago when i was 3 months pregnant. I am 41 years old. I have taken everything for it over the past 3 years. Recently i started taking a newly formulated prescribed anti-biotic, Oracea. So far it is working out in the sense that i have not had an adverse reaction to it as i have with everything else(organic and conventional). Now that some of the redness is dissipating i can see crepey, wrinkled skin beneath. I never noticed it before due to the rosacea. The rosacea makes my skin ultra dry and sensitive. I can barely use sunblock. I am allergic to all of the chemical sunblocks so i now use a tinted Titanium Dioxide one. what i would like to know is whether or not my skin type would be too sensitive for a CP cream. As of now i only use a gentle organic cleanser, moisturizer and an eye cream. I have not been able to use any sort of anti aging or even exfoliating type of product which is horrible since rosacea causes such excessive skin shedding and flaking.
    any suggestions?

    ~lucy

  • October 26, 2011

    by Susan

    After reading elsewhere that copper can help relieve skin inflammation, I've used Skin Biology's copper a number of times on facial psoriasis and it has helped relieve the redness and flaking. I just wanted to share, as psoriasis is challenging to treat without resorting to steroids.

  • November 6, 2009

    by Michelle

    oh yeah, and I'm not sure if it's the Clearisil I'm using, or if it's the Pantothenic acid and Vitamin B complex pills I've been taking, but I think it's helped clear up my acne. =D I remember you posting a blog about Vitamin B and acne. Just thought I'd share that just in case anyone else has the same problem.

  • November 6, 2009

    by Michelle

    Thank you for the advice Marta! I think I'll try the Astara mask; it has some great reviews! And I'll be on the lookout for any new alternative products for Super Cop that you come across! If not, I'll just try it too and see how it works. My birthday's coming up, and I want my face to be acne and scar free. =D Thanks again! ^_^

  • November 6, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Michelle,
    One of the best things I have found for open pores and breakouts is <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/face/reviewed-and-recommended-astara-blue-flame-purification-mask" rel="nofollow">Astara's blue mask</a>(http://www.truthinaging.com/face/reviewed-and-recommended-astara-blue-flame-purification-mask).

    I'm not sure about an alternative to Super Cop (which, by the way, can irritate - you have to build up use slowly), but I'll see if I can come across anything. I'd recommend using IMAGE only every other day to reduce sensitivity.

  • November 6, 2009

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,

    I've been using IMAGE, and it works pretty well for lightening some of my freckles and brown spots. I think since it's a glycolic, it kind of stings and flares up some of my acne spots though. But most of the time it's bearable. Would Super Cop be the same way? Or is there a product that helps with acne scars like Super Cop for a less expensive price?
    Also, I'm not sure if it has to do with the products I've been using, but my pores seem to have gotten bigger. What is the best product I can use to reduce pore size? Thank you so much!

  • September 18, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Michelle, yes they would help with pigmentation and scars. IAMGE is a glycolic, so helps with exfoliation. You would be best using IMAGE at night and Super Cop in the morning.

  • September 18, 2009

    by Michelle

    After my recent acne breakout, and (slow)progressive recovery, I'm left with a scatterplot of light brown spots (acne scars?). Would the copper peptides in the Super Cop 2X help with acne scars/brown spots, or would IMAGE'S Ageless anti-aging serum do that? I thought it was a brightener, and Copper peptides were for wrinkles, lines, and scars.

  • September 17, 2009

    by Anna

    Thank you!

  • September 16, 2009

    by Stephanie

    Thanks Marta!

  • September 16, 2009

    by Marta

    Stephanie, thanks as I wasn't clear. It is recommended to use the CP am and the AHA at pm.

  • September 16, 2009

    by Stephanie

    I'm confused, thought one shouldn't use an AHA/Glycolic in the same time period as a copper peptide product. I've been using my Image Skincare Ageless at the opposite end of the day from the copper product. Is this incorrect?

    Unrelated, have you heard anything about the EVIS LED therapy product?

    Thanks,
    Stephanie

  • September 16, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Anna,
    I am learning all of this as I go along as well. But I think that targeting copper peptides on the scars only you can see makes sense. But for overall prevention you are better off using an good collagen builder and antioxidant cream.

  • September 15, 2009

    by Anna

    Dear Marta,

    I apologise for writing at some length, but I thought sharing my current copper peptide use might be helpful to others; and I also had 2 questions (of course!).

    I have just started using Skin Biology's Exfol serum and his lightest copper peptide cream, as recommended for 'beginners' and those over 30. I leave half an hour between applying the two, so that I can use them both at night (I fear that applying the copper peptide in the morning would mean stopping my use of other products, and just seems simpler).

    I then follow this up with a tiny amount of squalane oil, to prevent the copper peptides from being too drying. But I would like to use a good vitamin C-free night cream as well, if you had a particular recommendation.

    In addition, at night, I am using Derma Radiant Ageless Eyes, but am also using a thin layer of the copper peptides below my eyes to try to thicken the skin (as recommended) and get rid of my dark circles and a few fine lines. This is probably the only real skin problem I have, apart from the dullness of ageing skin, which Image's Ageless, Suki's exfoliating scrub and Skin Brightening Masque have banished. (I am saving the rather more expensive YBF products for the next decade.)

    As a regime, this all seems to be working well, though it is far too early to know if the copper peptides will have any effect on a couple of tiny scars/sun spots that I suspect only I notice. I am really using it for the long term benefits of repairing/renewing my skin and its proteins, which apparently happens less frequently after 20. Which leads to my query.

    By definition, such a benefit is somewhat hard to see working. Do you think one would be better off using a matrixyl-heavy product instead, while still in one's 30s (I am 36) and with no wrinkles? Your comments above suggest that might be the case, and I don't want to infringe the Hayflick limit..

    Thank you as ever!

  • September 15, 2009

    by rileygirl

    Marta, would you happen to have any information on that study regarding using GHK-cu with LED's. I am curious if the GHK product was using daily, before the LED, after the LED, etc. If you have any information on that, I would appreciate it if you could post that! Thanks so much.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...