Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best Serums and Creams with Matrixyl

Solution for:

Wrinkles
Reviewed by Marta June 11, 2013 20 Comments

Matrixyl can double your collagen. It’s finally official, folks. Matrixyl just got independent endorsement from a research team at Reading University. This is big news because until now the only research to support bold anti-aging claims was by the manufacturer. Now scientists have proven that Matrixyl can double collagen, justifying it as a primary weapon in your anti-aging arsenal. There are a ton of great products with Matrixyl and some not so great ones. To help you find the right ones, I’ve selected Truth In Aging’s Five Best with Matrixyl and Matrixyl 3000.

Check out all our products featuring Matrixyl & Matrixyl 3000

  • Medik8 Firewall

    Medik8 Firewall ($162 in the shop). When I first reviewed this I wrote: “I am just going to cut straight to the car chase. Medik8 Firewall works. It really works. It really, really works.” As well as Matrixyl 3000, there are other important actives that pack Medik8’s punch. There are tons of skin-repairing ingredients, such as copper, N-acetyl cysteine (helps synthesize gluthiathione, a natural antioxidant), the free-radical-scavenging Lipochroman-6 and resveratrol.

  • Your Best Face Correct

    Your Best Face Correct ($150 in the shop). Your Best Face has been an early convert to Matrixyl 3000 and you’ll also find it in their high-powered face serum, Control. There are other extremely useful peptides in the Correct eye serum. Syn-Hycan may be responsible for the lifting effect of Correct as it was designed to tackle sagging skin. And then there is Tego Pep 4-7, based on the peptide tetrapeptide-17, which is supposed to have collagen, hyaluronic acid and fibronectin-boosting activity.

  • Mad Hippie Exfoliating Serum

    Mad Hippie Exfoliating Serum ($35 in the shop). This little fellow has it all – gentle glycolic exfoliating, Matrixyl 3000 and a decent price point. On the brightening/lightening front, Mad Hippie has also included Gigawhite, which is a complex of six botanicals that are supposed to help fade age spots. Exfoliating Serum also has apple stem cells, vitamin C, white tea, ceramide-3 and melatonin.

  • Arcona Peptide Hydrating Complex

    Arcona Peptide Hydrating Complex ($75 in the shop). Arcona's Peptide Hydrating Complex is a good choice for anyone interested in Matrixyl and especially those prone to dry skin. This twofer (serum and moisturizer in one) has Matrixyl 3000 and a slew of other good things including glycosaminoglycans, which promotes the ability of the collagen and elastin fibers to retain moisture. There’s a touch of retinol and I especially like he inclusion of L-carnosine, an amino acid that may extend the longevity of cells past their Hayflick Limit. Our reviewer, Cecilia, reported that it did a great job of repairing and healing her skin.

  • Osmotics Eye Surgery Under Eye Rejuvenator

    Osmotics Eye Surgery Under Eye Rejuvenator ($53 in the shop). Osmotics formulates for effectiveness and this eye cream majors on Matrixyl 3000 and a peptide that discourages puffyness, acetyl tetrapeptide-5 (also marketed as Eyseril).  There are moisturizing oils and sodium hyaluronate and Osmotics’ signature antioxidant, ergothioneine. Our reviewer, Tina, said it “really is the next best thing to actual eye surgery.”

  • July 27, 2016

    by Tina

    can you please list products that contain the original matrixyl only. Original matrixyl is a better product than matrixyl 3000 and the new independant studies support that.. Finding the original matrixyl is difficult.

    Thank you.

  • November 21, 2014

    by Vivienne Avare

    Trying to find info., on the ANEU revitalizing cream, 1 oz ?? On the box it reads Matrixyl 3000. Thank You, VA

  • November 19, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Gail, it's Matrixyl Synthe'6, but no I haven't yet tried anything that includes it

  • November 19, 2014

    by gail

    Please tell me if you have tried or have any information regarding Matrixyl Sync 6?

  • March 15, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Anita, you can buy the Arcona from us and we will ship to the UK.

  • March 14, 2014

    by Anita

    Dear Marta,

    Could you recommend any good moisturizer I could use with the Medik8 firewall? The Arcona peptide is not available in the uk. Many thanks for the great reviews.
    Anita

  • March 14, 2014

    by Marta

    Actually Sarah, I did order it but didn't receive it. What I mean by diminishing returns is that an 8% concentration is not more effective than 4%.

  • March 13, 2014

    by Sarah Smith

    Hi, Marta,
    I wrote back in June 2013 about the Matrixl serum on Amazon, and you said you were ordering it and going to try it. I didn't list the name because I had forgotten it (Timeless Matrixl 3000). I guess I assumed you knew which one I meant. I noticed that another commenter above (Jane on March 12, 2014) is asking about the same product. Did you buy it last year? I would definitely love to know your opinion of it. I've been using it since November 2013. I use it at night underneath Serious Skincare Vitamin C night lotion or avocado oil (depending on my mood). I am not sure what you mean by diminishing returns. Can you clarify? To me, that means that your skin will get worse, not better. I have not experienced this. Thank you.

  • March 13, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Jane, I haven't tried Timeless, but I am more than a little skeptical of the way this product is positioned. They call Matrixyl 3000 an alternative to Retinol, which is odd because they work in very different ways. They also claim an 8% concentration of Matrixyl 3000. It is worth bearing in mind that Sederma, the company that makes Matrixyl 3000, conducted its clinical trials at 4% and says that there are diminishing returns above that amount. You can mix vitamin C and M3000 if you wish. Hope that helps.

  • March 12, 2014

    by Jane

    Hi Marta:

    I'm looking for a little help. I purchased Timeless Matrixyl 3000 serum a while back but I live in Panama and it's just reached me. Somewhere I had read that this was the "purest" way to get Matrixyl and that it could be simply added to existing face cream. Since then, my hard drive has been wiped and all my Favorites were lost, including the site where I saw that information. Looking for it today, I came across you and thought I would pose my questions here.

    Do you know anything about Timeless Matrixyl 3000? I'm also curious if you know whether it would be compatible with Vitamin C cream. Oddly, the bottle arrived without any directions but that may be because they got lost in customs. I've written the company but would love to hear what you think as you obviously know a great deal about this subject.

    Many thanks!
    Jane

  • March 7, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Scott
    I've reviewed Boots No 7 Protect and Perfect here: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/boots-no7-protect-perfect-gets-new-scientific-endorsement It actually has Matrixyl (not Matrixyl 3000), which is listed in the ingredients as pentapeptide-3.

  • March 7, 2014

    by scott

    Wonder what you think of Boots No7 Protects and Perfect -Intense?

    While getting some nice reviews; oddly, several reviewers credit No 7 with using Matrixyl 3000. But it is NOT listed as an ingedient on the product itself, or on their website.

  • July 12, 2013

    by Julie

    Hi Marta,

    Thank you for this article. Can you tell me if Matrixyl and the other peptides are safe to use during pregnancy/breastfeeding? Thanks in advance!

  • June 27, 2013

    by Suely

    Thank you very much Marta. It gives me peace of mind to keep ordering online :).

  • June 26, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Suely, I consulted with my oracle (Darrell of Your Best Face) and was advised that short durations of heat will not necessarily destroy actives such as Vitamin Cs and peptides when they are in sealed containers. However, your mail box sounds fairly gruesome and it would be a good idea, if possible, to have products shipped to work, perhaps where the order will be received right away or have the order held at the post office for pick-up.
    Darrell also mentioned that be it cold or hot out, it's always advisable to let products fully return to room temperature before opening them. This gives products time to rest, re-emulsify and not be so subject to spilling or contamination by air when exposed.

  • June 26, 2013

    by Suely

    Hello Marta:

    I've learned a lot through your articles and TIA over the last years...thank you very much for creating a site where we can go to find honest and knowledgeable opinion in deep on ingredients and products that are part of our daily life.

    Many times I order products by mail, especially skincare. But at high altitudes like here in Colorado Springs, CO, in this hot time of the year, the sun is literaly burning the vegetation and the products in the mail box are "boiling hot" when we receive them...and I wonder if the peptides, vit C, and other ingredients can 'survive' this kind of heat...can I trust the products I am purchasing are still 100% effective in case they go through this heat in the mailing process or how much in average the most important ingredients like peptides, vit C lose potency when go through certain degree of heat?
    Thanks,
    Suely

  • June 14, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Suely, I am not certain that a concentration above the 4% recommended by Matrixyl's manufacturer really makes a difference. In fact, a few years ago, someone at Sederma said that it doesn't. I have tried NCN and did not find it to be a standout. Most manufacturers stick with Sederma's recommendations. As far as Synthe 6 is concerned, I haven't tried it. It was launched a couple of years ago, but still isn't in too many products.

  • June 14, 2013

    by Suely B.

    Hello Marta:
    I am a believer of Matrixyl from many years ago and have been waiting for your 5 best post on that but I am looking for a more affordable product that delivers more results than Mad Hippie. You didnt mention the concentration of Matrixyl in ea of those above either... What is the concentration recomendation from this independent study?

    Also what do you think about MyChelle antiwrinkle no tox serum (the new formulation with Matrixyl synthe 6) and NCN at 20% matrixyl ?...

    Thanks :)

  • June 13, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Sarah, we only sell things we have tried and found effective. I haven't tried this one. But I have just ordered it and we'll see how it works out. Having said that I am a little chary of the 8% claims (the manufacturer recommends it at 4%).

  • June 13, 2013

    by Sarah Smith

    Hi, all of these products seem to be expensive, and the least expensive (Mad Hippie) has less Matrixl in it than Matrixl 3000 serum, 1 oz being sold on Amazon for $10 less. Can you tell me if you've used that product and if you have any opinion of its effective...or if you also sell that product in your shop? Thank you.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...