Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best serums with Matrixyl 3000 - updated April 2009

Reviewed by Marta April 29, 2009 23 Comments

UPDATE (June 2013): Read our latest Five Best serums and creams with Matrixyl.

It was, whilst gazing at a sample of Cellular Rx's SuperMax, that I realized that our round-up of the best products that contain Matrixyl 3000 is shamefully out of date (although the post is worth checking out for the lively discussion that has been generated around it. Matrixyl 3000 antioxidant is made by combining two peptides, palmitoyl oligopeptide and palmitoyl tetrapepide-7. It outperforms Vitamin C (and unlike some of the Cs, it doesn’t irritate) by stimulating the matrix molecules - collagens 1,3, 4 and fibronectin to reduce the appearance of wrinkles. According to clinical trials, matrixyl 3000 led to a 33% decrease in wrinkle density, a 23% decrease in the volume of wrinkles and a 20% decrease in the depth of wrinkles.

Although this research is not independent, the anecdotal evidence provided by me and our readers is compelling and Matrixyl 3000 ranks as one of Five Best anti-aging ingredients. Only two of our last picks are making into this our update: YBF's Control and Nutra-Lift. The ones that didn't make it are Bellaplex, Isomers and Cellbone Super AOX. Nothing wrong with, we just think we've found some Matrixyl potions that are even better

I've just started trying SuperMax, so I won't know for a few weeks whether or not it is a contender for our next Matrixyl update.

Redpoint Age Minimizer Filler ($38). I think this little product is brilliant. Normally fillers are these gloopy things that have some light refracting stuff in them to minimize the appearance of wrinkles. Redpoint's version gives you a quick fix AND some long term love. I couldn't believe it when I saw that this product had Matrixyl 3000, so while it is covering up those pesky lines it is also helping to build collagen. This has become a staple of mine, although I do wish that Redpoint would rethink the preservatives. Buy at Dermstore.

Nutra-Lift Rejuvenating Therapy ($45). It is an occupational hazard of working for TIA that just when I find a product I like enough to keep using, another batch of samples come in and I get distracted. So, the best testament to a product is that I have come back to it. Nutra-Lift is one of three products in this round-up (the others are YBF Correct and DermaRadiant) that has staying power in my bathroom cabinet. Matrixyl 3000 is the star of the show in this potion at a 5% concentration. There are other things to like as well, including astraxanthin, which is supposed to be 100-500 times more powerful as an antioxidant than vitamin E, collagen, vitamin C, grape seed and copper peptides.

Your Best Face Correct ($150). I'm not going to repeat myself or rehash the many positive things I've said about Correct. It works. Period. According to my hairdresser, it even worked on dark circles that she had come to believe were permanent. It has Matrixyl 3000 and all manner of other high-tech peptides. Well worth the splurge. Find it in the TIA Shop.

Glotherapeutics GloPeptide + Defense ($130). This is relatively new to my arsenal, but I have a feeling it's going to be a keeper as well. It has three of our Five Best anti-aging ingredients - L-carnosine, spin trap and Matrixyl 3000 - and a whole host of other things to boot. There are plenty of other antioxidants as well in the form of, to name just a few, rooibus (red tea), epigallocatechin gallate (the really effective component in green tea), palmitoyl tripeptide-3 (almitoyl tripeptide-3 (also goes by the name of Syn-Coll and mimics the skin’s ability to produce collagen), niacinamide (vitamin B) and copper peptide. I always like to find a new botanical and was interested to see crataegus monogyna. This is hawthorne and there are studies showing that it is an antioxidant. Buy at EssentialDaySpa.com

Derma Radiant Anti Wrinkle Complex ($38). Kate has only good things to say about this and if you read her review you will find out what she got up to in her waitressing days. There is in addition to Matrixyl 3000, a smidge of retinol and hyaluronate. One could wish for fewer parabens but you can't quibble at the price. The eye cream is good too. Buy at Derma Radiant.

Ingredients in Age Minimizer Line Filler: Water (Aqua), Diethylhexyl Carbonate, Diisostearoyl Polyglyceryl-3 Dimer Dilinoleate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Carbomer, Polysorbate 20, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3, Mica, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Caprlyl Methicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Cetyl Dimethicone, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Neopentyl Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Magnesium Sulfate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphensin, Methylparaben, Benzoic Acid, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Ingredients in Nutra-Lift Rejuvenating Therapy: Certified Organic Aloe Vera Gel, Matrixyl 3000 at 5% (Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7 PAL KTTKS), Vitamin C ester, sea kelp / algae, liposomes, astraxanthin, grape seed extract, cetyl esters, nikkomulese, co-Q10, pycogenol, natural mixed tocopherals (vitamin e), anti-oxidant complex 14, natural firming complex (dmae, alpha lipoic acid) fruit flower complex 12, herbal complex 30, plant derived polysorbate 20, hydroxyethyl-cellulose, hyaluronic acid, copper peptide, marine collagen, marine elastine, organic royal jelly, Mexican yam, green tea, milk thistle, retinyl palmitate, ( vitamin A) ppgsmdi co-polymer., l-tyrosine, zinc sulfate, squalene, colloidal minerals.

Ingredients in YBF Correct: Reverse osmosis water, licorice root extract, snap-8 (acetyl glutamyl hexapeptide-3), pepha-timp (polypeptide), cucumber extract, simugel (C16H34), syn-ake (tripeptide), haloxyl (hydroxysuccinimide, chrysin, palmitoyl oligopeptide (and) palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), nutmeg butter, matrixyl 3000 (palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), dimethyl isosorbide, alpha arbutin, cyclomethicone (and) dimethicone copolyol, ethyhexyl palmitate, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), glycerine, l-proline, provitamin B5, raspberry seed extract, alpha lipoic acid, sepilift DPHP (palmitoyl-1, palmitoyloxy-4 proline), triglyceride, paraben du, sodium hyaluronate, caffeine, cetearyl isononanoate, ceteareth-20, cetearyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, cetyl palmitate, ceteareth-12, vitamin e, BHT, olive leaf extract, vitamin a, violet leaf extract, oakmoss absolute.

Ingredients in Glotherapeutics: Aqua (Water), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Squalane, Rhodiola Rosea Root Extract, Glucose, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan), Polawax, Sodium PCA, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Seed Oil, L-sodium Hyaluronate, Thermus Thermophilus Ferment, Butylene Glycol, Carbomer, Polysorbate 20, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Algae Extract, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-3, Rosa Rubiginosa Seed Oil, Laureth-3, Hydroethylcellulouse, Acetyl Dipeptide-1 Cetyl Ester, Alcohol Denat., Cassia Alata Leaf Extract, Rooibos (Aspalathus Lineasris) Extract, White Peony Extract, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Fruit Juice, Epigallocatechin Gallate, Phyllantus Emblica (Amla) Fruit Extract, L-carnosine, Niacinamide, Spin Trap (Phenyl Butyl Nitrone), Acetyl L-carnitine, Ubiquinone, R-lipoic Acid, Crataegus Monogyna Leaf Extract, Phytic Acid, Adenine, Vitamin B Complex, L-glutathione, Cysteine, Tocotrienols, Copper Peptide, Selenium, Manganese, Superoxide Dismutase, Trehalose, D-ribose, C 18-36 Acid Triglyceride, Xanthan Gum, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Peel Oil, D-alpha-tocopherol, Gluconolactone, Sodium Benzoate.

Ingredients in Derma Radiant: Deionized water, isopropyl palmitate, cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, glycerin, butylene glycol, tribehenin, cetyl phosphate, hydrocypropyl starch phosphate, dimethicone, aloe, apricot kernal oil, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tripeptide-3, carbomer, sodium hyaluronate, aminomethyl propanol, silk amino acids, hydrolized collagen, palmitoyl oligopeptide, panthenol, avocado oil, polysorbate 20, retinol, tea tree leaf oil, polysorbate 60, urea, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, isopropylparaben, isobutylparaben, n-butylparaben, fragrance.

  • April 17, 2013

    by Nick

    hi,I was wondering if TIA will ever review Rite aid advanced firming and anti wrinkle moisturizer? yes this is a rite aid generic night cream but it's results are insane to be honest. this cream is made in Israel and has matrixyl 3000 with both palmitoyl oligopeptide and palmitoyl tetrapeptide 7 . it's only eight bucks and contains full labeled ingredients including so many of the ingredients listed in the products above that you recommend although no concentration listed.

  • December 13, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Marlynn
    As mentioned at the beginning of the post, they are palmitoyl oligopeptide and palmitoyl tetrapepide-7. And you can read more on Matrixyl here: http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredient-spotlight/what-is-it-matrixyl

  • December 13, 2012

    by Marlynn Schaeffer

    What are the two peptides in Matrixl 3000?

  • December 5, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Jennifer, many cosmetic brands list the peptides in the ingredients because, strictly speaking, Matrixyl 3000 isn't an ingredient - it is the trade name given by the manufacturer, Sederma, for the combined two peptides.

  • December 4, 2010

    by Jennifer

    I just looked at the ingredient list for CSI Multipeptide serum ($30-1oz.) & it looks like it contains Matrixyl 3000. Interestingly, it lists the 2 peptides separately vs. calling it Matrixyl 3000....not sure what that means. Would there be a reason for listing the peptides that way?

  • November 19, 2010

    by marta

    Mags and Cynthia, another cosmetic company has contacted me saying that Babyface has plagiarized content from their site. Please confirm that you are not associated with this company. If you do not, then all your posts and links will be marked as spam. Thank you

  • February 17, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Sabrina
    There is an explanation of Matrixyl and 3000 here www.truthinaging.com/face/what-is-it-matrixyl/. What I was told by a rep for Sederma the company that makes Matrixyl is that it was originally developed with P&G and then P&G secured all the patents. Sederma then went on to develop a slightly different version - which, of course, it claims is even better - and called it Matrixyl 3000.

  • February 17, 2010

    by Sabrina

    Can you tell me the difference between Matrixyl and Matrixyl 3000?

  • January 17, 2010

    by Debbie Fiorito

    To further update... Redpoint's product has been half-price on their site and at Dermstore, so it's a great time to stock up. Every is, and there isn't any info on upcoming new products, so I worry the company is going out of business. At any rate, I'm buying a box-full of Redpoint Age Minimizer Filler while it's only $19.

  • January 12, 2010

    by Cynthia

    I have been using BabyFace Intense Moisture Serum that contains Hyaluronic Acid 60%, Matrixyl 3000, and Vitamin C 5 %. Has anyone tested this product and if so what do you think about it? I bought it from eBay but you can also buy from their website
    http://babyfaceskincare.blogspot.com/
    I'd really like to know if this is comparable to the top 5 above?

  • September 9, 2009

    by LeeBD

    I found my answer...disregard my last question.

  • September 9, 2009

    by LeeBD

    I've got a friend who is interested in trying Nutra lift...we went to the website but could not find the rejuvenating serum. I did notice though all the other products Nutra lift offers. Did they change their packaging? Is the rejuvenating serum going by another name? If anyone can help I would appreciate it.

  • August 27, 2009

    by marta

    Hi LeeBD, We've reviewed <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/face/reader-reviewed-and-recommended-iq-derma-essentials-restoreyes-firming-eye-cream/" rel="nofollow">IQ Derma's eye cream</a>.

  • August 27, 2009

    by LeeBD

    I posted a comment a while back about Youth Revive. I was very happy with it. I thought it did a better job(for me)than Nutra lift. It is definately worth trying.

    Does anyone know anything about IQ Derma?

  • August 14, 2009

    by KimbaWLion

    Thanks its appreciated. The black and white thinking engineer ( I am one btw) in my head always believes if something is too good to be true, it is, and that product SEEMS to have a pretty darn good list for a reasonable amount. It may not have everything but it has a lot and if does all it says and they provide a sample it will prove interesting. I await your findings. :-)

  • August 10, 2009

    by admin

    Kimba
    I agree that it looks quite impressive - although without the FULL ingredients list it is hard to really tell. I have asked Youth Revive if we may have a sample to test. I'll keep you posted.

  • August 8, 2009

    by KimbaWLion

    I saw somebody ask about this product, Youth Revive, in the other thread but nobody had replied to whether it the products does what it claims. It seems to have a lot going for it, it claims to have no Glycols or parabens and only all natural preservatives, and its not too expensive.

    On paper it looks really promising. It's just that I have no idea if it does all it claims to and if people here have used and or like it. Sorry about the ad that goes with the link but this page does list ALL of the ingredients. http://www.results-health.com/facelift-serum.html Given the amount of ingredients and what they supposedly do, pasting them here would take up too much room. I probable do not have to say it, but I will. I have never used or sold let alone endorse this product. I am not thrilled about placing the link either but it is a fast way to read the make up of the product which is important.

    I just am curious what people here think before I make a purchase with my hard earned money realizing there is no perfect potion to cure everything and the large cost differences of many of the products. Thanks again for your work and reviews.

  • June 13, 2009

    by marta

    Very pleased to hear this Patti. For anti-sag, Nutra-Lift is one of the best things I've found.

  • June 12, 2009

    by Patti

    I am 52 and I tried the nutra-lift based on this article. I have been losing weight and my jawline area was looking a bit saggy. I saw noticeable improvement within 4 days! I've been using this now for about 3 weeks and see much improvement all over my face. I plan on getting some for my 78 year-old mother.

  • May 1, 2009

    by Anamarie

    Also, is Matrixyl not something to be used by the younger set, as I think I've seen before? I'm in my early 30s, almost always mistaken for younger, and I'd like to keep it that way. Is there really a disadvantage for younger women to start peptides (esp. since I was a tan-aholic in my teens)?

  • May 1, 2009

    by Anamarie

    Cellbone also has Hyper-Peptides serum that has Matrixyl and many other peptides (but not syn-tacks). I've been using it a couple of nights a week for maybe three weeks, and it seems to help, at least to make my skin look tight and smooth in the morning. I've been wanting to try Nutra-lift but haven't because of the the copper-C overlap--Marta, what do you think?

  • April 30, 2009

    by Junko

    Jess, Dr. Pickart's Skin Biology site says that as well. I'm using Skin Biology's SuperCop at night so I've stopped using a C serum. The Skin Biology site makes this statement: Caution: Do not mix vitamin C products with copper-peptide skin regeneration creams. The copper breaks down the vitamin C. If you wish to use both, use them on alternate days.

  • April 29, 2009

    by Jess

    regarding nutra-lift, don't copper peptide and vitamin c cancel each other out?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...