Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best with plant stem cells April 2013

Five Best with Plant Stem Cells

Solution for:

Sagging Skin, Wrinkles
Reviewed by Marta April 18, 2013 8 Comments

This article has been updated: See our Five Best with Plant Stem Cells 2015

Unless you’ve been living in a box, you can’t have failed to see apple stem cells cropping up in anti-aging serums. Is there anything to them? Well, British scientists found that plant stem cells were much more sensitive to DNA damage than other cells. And once they sense damage, they trigger death of these cells. According to Wikipedia, “plant stem cells never undergo aging process but immortally give rise to new specialized and unspecialized cells, and they have the potential to grow into any organ, tissue, or cell in the body.” The key question for me is how plant and human cells could possibly interact. From the reading I have done, they seem to have more in common than one might think. For example, one gene that is conserved between plants and animals has a central role in deciding whether a cell continues to divide or differentiates (source). So without more ado, here are the Five Best with plant stem cells.

  • BioEffect EGF Serum

    BioEffect EGF Serum ($110). Bioeffect is made in Iceland and is based mostly on one single active, a growth factor that is derived from barley. Martha Stewart is a fan. The pared back formula has the barley-derived active, glycerin and sodium hyaluronate and that’s about it. A serum that is up there with ReLuma and E’shee.

  • Avitalin Vitality Phytocell Complex

    Avitalin Vitality Phytocell Complex ($54). Avitalin makes nutrient-rich formulas that utilize advanced anti-aging technology and that contain no harmful chemicals. And all that for a decent price point. This silky whipped moisturizer has two types of plant-derived stem cells, embryonic phyto stem cell extract from young buds and shoots, and apple stem cells. There’s also antioxidant green tea and acai berry.

  • Prana Active Vitamin Lift Serum

    Prana Active Vitamin Lift Serum ($75 in the shop). Although Prana’s serum has apple stem cell, this ingredient du jour should not blind us to the other cutting-edge ingredients here. One in particular is homeostatine, an active combination of two natural ingredients (from enteromorpha compressa, an algae, and gum from a South American tree called caesalpinia spinosa) that us supposed to prevent and decrease wrinkles by restoring the balance of the extra-cellular matrix. Rather impressive and still fairly rare in cosmetics, so check it out.

  • Skinfinite Peptide Repair Serum

    Skinfinite Peptide Repair Serum ($69). Peptides and free-radical scavengers round out the apple stem cell extract in this well-priced serum. The most dominant peptide in the formula is derived from rice and is a moisture-binding peptide. The other is rH‐Oligopeptide‐1. Standouts among the non-peptides are spin trap and thioctic (R‐lipoic) acid, which helps to recycle other antioxidants, contains free radicals and is an anti-inflammatory.

  • Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Repair Moisturizer

    Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Repair Moisturizer ($65 in the shop). Juice Beauty’s stem cell complex is taken from apple and grape buds, lemon bark, and apple, grape and lemon juices. It has even found its way into its new CC Cream. In this moisturizer, they are not mere tokens, but feature near the top of an ingredients list that is packed full of useful ingredients, many of which are organic. Aging skin will also appreciate the essential fatty acids from evening primrose, linseed (flax) and borage.

  • June 19, 2013

    by Kristy

    There is absolutely no evidence that stem cells in cosmetics are in any way effective. The fact that your website promotes itself as a source of "truth" and publishes such completely ridiculous and unfounded information is highly offensive.

    1) No matter what species of plant is chosen from which to harvest stem cells, selectively separating these cells in any significant quantity from surrounding plant tissue and cells is hugely challenging and more likely impossible.

    2) Plant stem cells are followers, not leaders, and downstream differentiated plant cells are the only ones that possess the biochemical machinery required to produce the myriad of known substances derived from plants that indeed have pharmaceutical or other value (e.g. quinine, digitalis, aloe vera, etc.)

    3) Plant totipotential stem cells do not produce substances capable of affecting other cells of the plant in any meaningful way, let alone be suitable for use in influencing the behavior of cells in the animal kingdom, e.g. human skin.

    4) How in the name of science could they manage to keep a population of stem cells alive in a serum full of salts, oils, preservatives, etc, and subject to large temperature changes during shipping and handling... And if they magically could, how would it not become totally contaminated with bacteria, yeast, etc, and infect your face?! Most cell cultures have to be kept in controlled environments and fed every 12 hours.


    Can you address ANY of these issues?

  • May 29, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Vicky,

    Here's a review of one of Dr Weil's Origins products: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/origins-plantidote-mega-mushroom-lotion

  • May 28, 2013

    by Vicky

    Marta,
    I am wondering why I haven't seen any of Dr. Weil's Origins products here. Have any of them been reviewed?

  • May 28, 2013

    by Vicky

    Marta,
    I am wondering why I haven't seen any of Dr. Weil's Origins products here. Have any of them been reviewed?

  • May 22, 2013

    by Dani

    Hi Marta,

    I have been an avid reader of your reviews from over the pond for the last few years. I lust after many of your brands which are on the whole not available in the UK (or Europe). The cost of shipping and then customs taxes makes many products fairly prohibitive, ***sigh***. With this in mind, I do a fair bit of research to find good products closer to home. I ldo like Medik8 and I have recently been using a serum from France called Neostem Serum. I wondered if you had heard of it? I have been using it on damp skin every night for the last few weeks and am seeing much plumper, fresher looking skin. It claims to slow down the ageing process & came about from research into Hutchinson-Gilford Progeria. I thought you may be interested

    NEOSTEM SERUM

    Hailing from France where it sold out nationwide at launch – NeoStem Serum harnesses cutting edge bio-medical research and powerful, patented active ingredients never before used in cosmetics or available in the UK. It is clinically proven to slow the ageing process with exceptional results.

    Neostem is the result of pioneering bio medical research into the rare genetic mutation responsible for Hutchinson-Gilford Progeria – a syndrome causing children to age prematurely. The use of Omega Statine and Z-Dronate is the unique combination used in NeoStem Serum. It works by slowing down the production of the toxic protein Progerin, one of the major causes of cellular ageing, enabling the skin to maintain normal cell division, repair and production and thereby keeping the skin younger. The Marseille based team of researchers, led by Professors Nicolas Levy and Pierre Cau, which discovered the active ingredients in NeoStem Serum, continues to work on rare genetic diseases and accelerated ageing.

    Dani


  • April 20, 2013

    by Allison

    Thank you Marta, I will read those articles and thank you for your continued research and information so that we can better choose what goes into our bodies. It's a crime and worse what they allow in our food and skin care(no "care" at all).

  • April 19, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Alison, we have reviewed Dr Merola in these articles:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/face/dr-mercola-organic-sea-buckthorn-serum
    http://www.truthinaging.com/face/sea-buckthorn-face-off-tilvee-vs-dr-mercola

    For recommendations on eye creams, see this post with our Five Best: http://www.truthinaging.com/reviewed-recommended-eyes/five-best-eye-creams-of-2012

  • April 19, 2013

    by Allison Ponzo

    Hi TIA,
    I love all the information you give on ingredients, I spends hours and hours researching ingredients and it's all so disappointing when something you think will work for you but then afraid to use it do to not so friendly. I started using Juice Beauty but will only use the products not containing Sodium Benzoate after reading your articles on it. I was hoping to see some reviews on Dr. Mercola's skin care line, it's all USDA organic so no worries and endless research on toxic ingredients. I'm still in search of an eye cream for dark circles and Creepieness under my eyes(loose skin that wrinkles easily) that doesn't have anything toxic but works..Have any miracles out there???
    Thanks for taking time to read this and look forward to your response.

    Sincerely,
    Allison

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...