Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Five Best with sodium hyaluronate

Sodium hyaluronate
September 29, 2011 Reviewed by Marta 20 Comments

This post has been updated: See our Five Best with Sodium Hyaluronate 2013

Sodium hyaluronate was put on the map when The Archives of Dermatology said it is one of three anti-aging treatments available that are proven to be clinically effective (the other two were retinol and laser resurfacing).  Since then, dermatologists have been increasingly recommending sodium hyaluronate (or hyaluronic acid). It is a naturally occurring and widespread component found within the extra-cellular space within bodily tissues, especially those of the face. Its water-binding and fills up the spaces between the connective fibers collagen and elastin in the dermis. Like most things, it decreases with age and, therefore, we need to top it up somehow. Here are the Five Best products with hyaluronic acid for doing just that.

SenZen’s Plump It Up Hydrating Serum ($48). Sodium hyaluronate is undoubtedly the star of the show there is a very nice supporting cast of silk amino acids and antioxidant botanicals including three types of tea. More unusually, there is magnolia, which is used as a skin whitener and to soothe irritation. Forsythia suspensa is one of SenZen’s signature ingredients and is an antioxidant that research has shown can outperform vitamin C. I reach for this when I am looking dried out and it goes nicely over a serum such as ReLuma.

Mango Madness Hydrospherex Hyaluronic Acid Firming Serum ($67). Copley is a big fan of Mango Madness and this serum is a good bet for anyone intrigued by sodium hyaluronate – because that’s about all there is here.  Hydrospherex is hyaluronic acid in two molecular sizes, water and preservatives. That’s it.

Your Best Face’s Hydrate B Concentrate ($40 in the TIA shop) is a simple formula that is mostly what it says on the tin. As well as sodium hyaluronate,there are two forms of vitamin B. There’s a one percent or so shot of DMAE, which works synergistically with the other B vitamins as it is a precurser of the B vitamin choline. DMAE, a favorite of Perricone MD and Nutra-Lift, has its detractors, however. Some claim that it damages cells, but the bottom line is more research is needed.  I like to use Hydrate B with my Sirius Aurora LED or over ReLuma’s serum for a little hydrating boost. YBF has also put together some DIY kits with Concentrate and botanical powders.

KaplanMD Lip 20 Gloss ($30). Here’s a good use of sodium hyaluronate: a lip plumper that is also a lip gloss (with some sexy shimmer). The plumping job is achieved by sodium hyaluronate in the form of patented molecules that easily penetrate the skin. Hyaluronate’s moisturizing power is backed up by shea butter and squalane. Another important ingredient is seabuckthorn (hippophae rhamnoides), which has loads of quercetin. One of Kaplan MD’s signature ingredients is black cohosh root extract. This is a source of plant-derived estrogen and is used as antiaging ingredient.  The only thing I am not so keen on is the chemical sunscreen ingredients.

Hydropeptide Power Lift ($80). This is a good firming cream for face and neck (I even gave it a Five Best neck cream status last year). Sodium hyaluronate is high up the list and it has four peptides plus a slew of antioxidants. One of the best ingredients is aldenine, a radical scavenger and it specifically goes after the reactive carbonyl species. It acts, therefore, as a cellular detoxifier, boosts collagen III production, and is supposed to protect cells from sunlight. Aldenine acts as a cellular detoxifyer and I have read that is more active than carnosine.

Ingredients in SenZen Plump It Up

Water, cyclomethicone, dimethicone, glycerin, sodium PCA, propanediol, jojoba seed oil, panthenol, tetrapeptide 17, silk amino acids, sodium hyaluronate, green tea, white tea, red tea, Job’s tears extract, forsythia suspensa extract, magnolia biondi extract, bacillus ferment, flax seed, liposomal blend, lavender oil, grapefruit oil, polyacrylate-13, polysobutene, polysorbate-20, butylene glycol, ethylhexylglycerin, phenoxyethanol, fragrance, FD&C blue 1, D&C red 33

Ingredients in YBF Hydrate B Concentrate

Reverse osmosis water, vitamin B5, sodium hyaluronate, niacin B3, dimethylamioethanol (DMAE), paraben DU

Ingredients in Hydropeptide Power Lift

Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Propylheptyl Caprylate, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Cetyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, C4-24 Alkyl Dimethicone/Divinyldimethicone Crosspolymer/Isodecyl Isononanoate, Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Lecithin, Dipeptide Diaminobutyroyl Benzylamide Diacetate, Tripeptide-10 Citrulline, Acetyl Glutamyl Heptapeptide-3, Tripeptide-1, Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Hydroxethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Butylene Glycol, Squalane, Ceteareth-20, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Panthenol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Echinacea Purpurea Extract, Buddleja Davidii Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Menthyl Lactate, Propylene Glycol, Polysorbate 60, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, PPG-12/SMDI Copolymer, Polydiethyleneglycol Adipate/IPDI Copolymer, O-Cymen-5-OL, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Benzoate, Diacetyl Boldine, Tropolone, Caprylyl Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, 1, 2-Hexanediol, Fragrance.

Ingredients in KaplanMD Lip 20 Treatment Gloss

Octinoxate 7.5%, Octisalate 5%, Octocrylene 3%

Hydrogenated polyisobutene,, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, polyisobutene, ethylene propylene styrene copolymer, octylodecanol, silica silicate, calcium sodium borosilicate, sunflower seed awax, peppermint, beeswax, cadellia wax Hippophae Rhamnoides (Seabuckthorn Berry) Extract, Soy Isoflavones, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cimicifuga Racemosa (Black Cohosh) Root Extract, Atelocollagen, Sodium Hyaluronate,, palmitoyl oligopeptide, carbomer, sodium chondrotin sulfate, tocopherol, lecitin, water, polysorbate 80, butylene glycol, retinyl palmitate, silica dimethyl silylate, phenoxyethanol, caprylyl glycol, ethylhexylglycerin, hexylene glycol, mica CI77019, iron oxides CI77491 CI77499 CI774492, titatnium dioxide CI77891, Red 28 lake CI451012, Red 7 lake CI158501, Carmine, CI75470, Bismuth Oxychloride CI77163

Ingredients in Mango Madness Hydrospherex

Hyaluronic Acid Low Molecular Weight, Hyaluronic Acid High Molecular Weight. Other ingredients: Purified Water, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.

  • July 16, 2013

    by Lorine

    I used Equinox day and night serums and got some on my upper lip. In a few days it began to swell and it got swollen and split and there was bleeding. It is healing now.

    Is this because it got too swollen, retaining water? I understand it contains sodium hyaluronate, which is one of your ingredients. Topically applied, I would say it works
    .
    But is it dangerous? I am using lip balm now to protect my lips when I apply the serum to the wrinkles above my lip. I am 82. My eyes wrinkles look better.

  • July 10, 2013

    by patti

    can you tell me where I can buy the SenZen’s Plump It Up Hydrating Serum I can't seem to find it.
    thanks,
    patti

  • August 18, 2011

    by Stacey Hatzis McPhail

    I use Isomers " h pur 100 advanced " The ingredients are : Sodium Hyaluronate(high molecular weight) Sodium Hyaluronate(low molecular weight). Thats it...nothing else. It comes in gel form. Works great and I use it alone and add drops to my face creams etc. Normally I purchase it online from shop NBC.com and the cost is $4o for 1 ounce bottle. Once in a year for special events they offer a 32 ounce bottle for $99. I was lucky that I happened to check in and on Aug. 16th they had this special. I don't know how long it will last...probably til it's sold out...which won't take long. Even at the normal price...it is a deal for 100% Sodium Hyluronate from Isomers.

  • August 18, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Lisa, I'll look into Bionect and get back to you. Thanks for the tip.

  • August 18, 2011

    by Lisa

    Marta,

    I assume these all have the higher molecular weight hyaluronic acid? Have you looked into the lower molecular weight formulas (bionect, for example, which is a prescription cream), which are supposed to be able to penetrate the skin?

    I'm very curious about bionect (and other low molecular weight hyaluronate products) - it was proven effective for wound healing, but the big question for me is whether it is an effective topical anti-aging substance, and also if it is safe.

  • April 4, 2011

    by nouha

    Hi Marta,
    With hundreds of anti-ageing creams and serums in the market, it is quite commendable that you have managed to pick best 5. I have been using this French brand called Filorga. Their eye contour cream and serum are absolutely amazing.. very easy to apply and subtle mild fragrances. All products in the range have high molecular weight of hyaluronic acid which penetrates into the skin through a patented technology. Check out the website www.filorga.com/en

  • March 31, 2011

    by Sheree

    Arcona's Hydrating Serum is lovely as well. Actually many of their serums have sodium hyaluronate as a prominent ingredient. I use their products and love them! I don't know my good/bad ingredients all that well yet though..:/

  • March 31, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Eileen
    I do use it from time to time but find it a bit gooey. I looked at the range here: http://truthinaging.com/face/hyalogic-episilk-a-range-that-focuses-on-hyaluronic-acid
    Also Ageless Jen was unimpressed by Episilk's FRS: http://truthinaging.com/face/hyalogic-episilk-frs-reader-reviewed

  • March 31, 2011

    by Eileen

    Hi Marta, just wondering what your thoughts are on Episilk's hyalogic, pure hyaluronic acid?
    Thanks!

  • March 31, 2011

    by Preksha

    As the weather changes, so does my skin color. I can't constantly change the color of my foundation (it's not cheap!), so lately I've been mixing in a few drops of YBF's Hydrate B into my foundation, greatly helping evening out the shade. Also, if I notice my foundation looks a little too caked on, and I don't have time to re-do my face, applying Hydrate B over my foundation has really helped remove the cakey appearance and smooth out my face. Great quick fix if you're running late to work! (Sorry, Marta!)

  • March 31, 2011

    by Elena

    I'm surprised CSI's Collagen Nourish Anti-Wrinkle Serum (a mere $25 at Vitacost.com) has not made it on this site, as it's one of the best serums out there. Hyaluronic Acid is one of the first ingredients, but more importantly it has aldenine and tripeptide-10 without all the silicones, polymers, colouring and perfume that Kaplan MD, Hydropeptide and SenZen have.

  • March 30, 2011

    by Mark

    Thanks to Jaysie and Dennis for the info. on Hydraplenish. I have not heard of it before but...I'm going to get some now.
    The Dermaceutics sounds very good also - can't wait to hear your review, Marta.

  • March 30, 2011

    by marta

    Thanks Asya. I have written to Dermaceutics to request samples. I can see that I'll be updating this FIve Best sooner rather than later! Thank you to everyone for suggestions on how to get the best Five Best - keep them coming!

  • March 30, 2011

    by Asya

    I jump on the occasion to mention again Dermaceutic and its Hyal Ceutic cream. It has been a staple of mine for 2 years now and it is marvellous - it has the highest percentage of HA on the European market and it truly does wonders on a tired and dryish skin. It is very light, absorbs fully (I have an acne prone skin) and just gives you this glow of a 20-year-old. It is great under make up, it is just an everyday moisturiser once you get to know you get addicted to it for its simplicity and effectiveness. It is a very simple formula and besides the active ingredients (http://www.dermaceutic.com/index.html?pID=101&item_ID=313) there's not much else. It's paraben and phenoxyethanol free.
    I'm also using their Vit C Serum (25%) and night lightening cream (glycolic and phytic acid + vit. C).
    Marta, maybe you can get in touch with them to get some samples, I think it is a great value range of products.

  • March 29, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Oh, oh, Dennis...I'm off to look at the Be Natural. Thanks!

    Lisa - The CSS C+E has sodium hyaluronate as the very last ingredient, so it's hard to think there is more than just a speck of it in the formula.

  • March 29, 2011

    by marta

    Dennis, thanks. The Be Natural looks great - good value for money as well.

  • March 29, 2011

    by lisa

    What about CSS C+E Ferulic? It also has sodium hyaluronate?

  • March 29, 2011

    by Dennis

    @Jaysie: I use hydraplenish too and I swear by it.

    Also, Be Natural Organics has a nice phenoxyethanol free Hyaluronic Serum

  • March 29, 2011

    by Jaysie

    I'm a believer in this ingredient. Sometimes I binge on vitamins and I've noticed that when I go on a continuous regimen of Nature's Way Hydraplenish, which contains hyaluronic acid, after about 2 weeks my lips are fuller, even a little firmer. Maybe the collagen in this vitamin is also a contributor.

    For a long time, I've been searching for a hyaluronic face moisturizer that is devoid of a bunch of questionable ingredients. Mango Madness looked so promising until I bumped into phenoxyethanol. I'm hoping other TIAnistas offer up some other faves.

  • March 29, 2011

    by Sunday

    Thank You for the post Marta ~ it is interesting that as I decide NOT to use Retinols anymore, this site reads like a what should I try instead answer sheet for me ~ very timely information. There is a noticeable difference in dryness since I 'gave up' my Retinol cream and since all I used it for was to help keep my dark splotches (melasma) at bay...well it wasn't a good trade off. I would rather have moist splotches than dry ones ~ ha! Perhaps the magnolia in SenZen's Hydrating Serum has my name on it. Thank You again for your 5 best!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...