Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Osmotics FNS Revitalizing Shampoo and Conditioner for Thicker Hair - Tested and Recommended

October 5, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 16 Comments

The FNS range of hair growth products is made Osmotics, better known for its anti-aging products such as Renovage eye cream and the foundation that isn't a foundation, Inner Light (now my constant companion). As October is Breast Awareness month, Osmotics have bundled a limited edition trio of hair growth products that were devised in collaboration with St Luke's Breast Cancer Hospital. We've scored some - shampoo, conditioner and serum - for the Truth In Aging store at $85 (value $114). This weekend, I started using the shampoo and conditioner (I'll get around the serum when I've finished my test of Nioxin) and they may be in line to join the next update of our Five Best sudsers.

Before anyone asks, the FNS shampoo and conditioner are great for chemically colored hair. By the time I'd finished with the hairdryer, my blond highlights positively dazzled. For instant gratification (let's face it, we all crave it), the hair is given a really nice lift that makes it look ten years younger. But the real point of FNS is to help hair grow faster.

Osmotics FNS Revitalizing Shampoo ($21) and Osmotics FNS Revitalizing Conditioner ($21) are all about vitamins. Laminaria cloustonii is kelp and an antioxidant, as well as a source of vitamin E. There are several other vitamins including C and niacin, a member of the B family and associated with hair growth. Beta carotene from carrot is a precursor to vitamin E and A. Cucumber is a source of natural silica, essential for healthy hair.

FNS shampoo isn't all squeaky clean. It has three ingredients - Sodium Lauryl Sarcosinate, Peg-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, and Oleth-10 - that can all potentially be contaminated and become carcinogenic. Same for diazolidinyl urea in the conditioner. One assumes that there is no danger of contamination with ingredients sourced by Osmotics. There are also parabens, which are xenoestrogens and associated with cancer.

The FNS Follicle Nutrient Serum, however, does not contain parabens. I shall start testing its cocktail of 18 amino acids very shortly and report back.

Ingredients in shampoo ($19)

Purified Water, Sodium Lauryl Sarcosinate, Decyl Glucoside, Peg-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Glycerine, Glycol Stearate And Stearamide Amp, Aloe Vera Gel, Oleth-10, Niacin, Polyquaternium-10, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Algae Extract (Laminaria Cloustonii Extract), Wheat Amino Acid, Palmitate (Vitamin A), Panthenol (Vitamin B-5), Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Avocado Extract, Carrot Extract, Cucumber Extract, Ginseng Extract, Rosemarinus Officinalis (Rosemary Moroccan) Essential Oil, Citric Acid, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben

Ingredients in conditioner ($24)

Purified Water, Behentrimonium Methosulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Cetyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Wheat Amino Acids, Panthenol (Vitamin B-5), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Extract, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Extract, Cucumis Sativus Extract, Rosemarinus Officinalis (Rosemary Moroccan) Essential Oil, Niacin, Polyquaternium-10, Glycerine, Diazolidinyl Urea/Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Disodium Edta.

Ingredients in serum ($68)

Purified Water, SDA-40 Alcohol, Nylon-12, Glycerine, Lactic Acid, Glucose, Ascorbic Acid, D-Biotin (Vitamin H), Choline Chloride, Choline Bitartrate, Folic Acid, Myo-Inositol, Nicotinic Acid (Niacinamide), Paba, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine, Riboflavin, Thiamine, Alpha-Tocopherol Phosphate, Vitamin B12, L-Alanine, L-Arginine, L-Aspartic Acid, L-Cysteine, L-Glutamine, Glycine, L-Histidine, L-Isoleucine, L-Leucine, L-Lysine, L-Methionine, L-Phenylalanine, L-Proline, L-Serine, L-Threonine, L-Tryptophan, L-Tyrosine, L-Valine, Inorganic Salts, Tetrahydrocurcumin, Carbomer, Cinnamomum Zeylanicum Bark Extract (Cinnulin PF®), Oleth-10, Sodium Bicarbonate, Bergamia Essential Oil, Polyquaternium-10, Oleth-10, Nisaplin, Sodium EDTA, Tromethamine.

  • November 30, 2010

    by deb

    does the shampoo leave your hair soft with body? I would love to try this shampoo out myself. I am now using the wen shampoo

  • May 28, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Teya,

    Osmotics has been out of stock of the conditioner for several months. We are expecting them to restock any week now and I'll be sure to let you know when it is available.

  • May 27, 2010

    by teya

    I can not get to the conditioner to purchase it! Is there a problem on the back side of the site?

    Thanks, Teya.

  • February 4, 2010

    by Kate

    Hi Marta,
    I recently happened upon this website and I am glad I did. Thank you for all the work you've done here to help other people know exactly what they're bringing into contact with their bodies when they use these beauty products. It's a major help for people like me who are always on the fence when contemplating the purchase of these ''wonder'' products.
    I would like to ask whether you have ever tried Horse Shampoo, specifically Mane N' Tail horse shampoo. I've heard from various sources that it helps to make the hair much more shiny and healthy. Some even say it promotes hair growth to some extent.
    I would like to know your take on this and whether anybody here would be willing to give it a trial test?
    Best regards,
    Kate

  • December 19, 2009

    by Danielle

    Hi, Marta! I'm in my 20's, and am currently using Fast amino scalp therapy which says can help to grow your hair up to 45% faster. I'm not sure it has worked so far, but I would love to try FNS shampoo and conditioner as I am very much wanting to speed up my hair growth! And of course, let everyone know of the experience and see if it works quicker than the FAST!

  • December 18, 2009

    by Connie

    Hi Marta,
    I am in my 50's and have thinning hair. I had a round with breast cancer four years ago and have to take tamoxifen for 5 years. I think the hair thinning may be related to that, or maybe just my age. But as a cancer survivor, this product may be made for me! Let me know if I am picked :-) I'll write a careful and thoughtful review.

  • December 18, 2009

    by Sheba Nalle

    Oh, I really want to try this sample! I have been reading your website after discovering it a week or so ago, looking for some straight answers regarding my hair loss. My hair is my life....well, a big part of it. I am only 42 and my scalp is getting thin. My mother's scalp is very thin. I love trying new products and would be faithful in my usage and reporting.

    Thank you for the wonderful website for women who are aging. With it, comes some wisdom; Enough wisdom not to buy into every beauty product proclamation without research. You make it possible to believe that something out there might work for me.

  • December 18, 2009

    by Donna Haycox

    Limper and Thinner

    Oh how I do love rounding the corner to 50 - my once fine, thick, golden locks, are now, well, thinner and limper , and artificially golden thanks to my talented hair designer. I could really use the dazzling highlights and lift that this shampoo/conditioner may be able to provide. And the mere hope of looking 10 years younger is enough to get me all excited. I would love to try this product.

  • December 18, 2009

    by Pam Robbins

    I have baby fine hair and when I hit 50 for some menopausal reason, I said to myself, "if I have one life to live, let me live it as a blonde"...not mousy brown. So now I have baby fine, bleached blonde shoulder length hair which my husband swears has not grown in the 24 years we have been married! I would love to try a product that might help it grow or maybe just help it!

  • December 18, 2009

    by Chris

    It would be interesting to see if it would help my hair grow any longer - it seems to have stopped growing at mid-back length...hmm...

  • December 18, 2009

    by Kelly

    My hair has been falling out in droves since April, and I have tried EVERYTHING! It has started growing back now, but it takes forever. I tried the serum, and it did nothing for me. I would be most anzious to try the shampoo and conditioner if you think they work. Pick me!

  • December 18, 2009

    by Kim

    i would love for you to pick me!!!And I would like to write a review and test it out.

  • December 16, 2009

    by marta

    Osmotics asked me to try the serum for six months. My first attempt was aborted by a faulty pump. I've just started again with a new bottle. So we'll see.

  • December 16, 2009

    by aersim

    Thanks for letting us know. I wonder what makes the shampoo and conditioner seem effective -- but not the serum?

  • December 9, 2009

    by marta

    I have tested the serum and I didn't like it much. It didn't seem to do anything and the pump stopped working after a week or so.

  • December 9, 2009

    by aersim

    Have you tested the FNS Serum yet?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...