Free shipping on all orders over $39

Folligen works for eyelash and eyebrow growth

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
Reviewed by Marta September 29, 2008 116 Comments

Folligen Hair & Scalp Nutrient Cream is a copper peptide-based potion to restore thinning hair. I have tried it and it works extremely well. Recently I was asked by Lim whether it would also work on eyelashes and brows. There was only one way to answer that: I promised to give it a try. As experiments go, it was an unqualified success. Folligen will give you bushier brows and longer lashes.

I must admit, I was wary at first. Copper peptide potions are the lethal-looking blue/green color of a spectacular bruise. Was it really a good idea to put it anywhere near my eyes? So, I started out cautiously with a dab on my outer left eyebrow where the hairs, in my opinion peter out a little prematurely. Nothing untoward happened and so I dabbed a little every day for about 10 days. My left eyebrow now sweeps elegantly above the outer corner of my eye.

It was time to give the eyelashes a go. Folligen is very liquid and I wasn't too sure how to go about it. After experimenting with a cotton bud, I found the best solution to be an eyeliner brush. Dip it into the Folligen and run it carefully under the lower lashes. All was well, with no irritation. A week later, a little gap between the lashes has started to fill in.

It is worth noting that copper peptides work on hair growth in a very different way to traditional remedies and, most certainly, to most of the eyelash growth products on the market. Many of the eyelash growth products use a glaucoma drug called prostaglandins (possible side-effects include the risk that your eyes will change color). Most hair growth treatments focus on dihydrotestosteone. This is a major factor in male baldness, beard growth and pubic hair. But has nothing to do with eyebrow and eyelash growth.

As we age, the hair follicle's anagen (growth) phase progressively shortens while the telogen (dormant) phase lengthens. The size of the follicle shrinks and the hair that grows is thinner. Studies show that there is less capillary blood in aging hair. Copper peptides act to simulate the capillaries and studies have shown that they help human follicles switch from the dormant telogen state into the hair-growing anagen state.

Thanks to Lim, I've made a great new discovery: Folligen, made by copper peptide specialists Skin Biology, is an effective and safe alternative to prostaglandin-based eyelash growth products.

Ingredients in Folligen Cream

Purified water, copper peptides (hydrolyzed soy protein and copper chloride), squalane, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, ethylhexyl palmitate, stearic acid, cetyl alcohol, cupric chloride, propylene glycol (and) diazolidinyl urea (and) methylparaben (and) propylparaben, allantoin, tocophersolan (Vitamin E), menthol, lavandula augustifolia (lavender) oil, fragrance, mixed (alpha, beta, gamma, delta) tocopherols.

  • January 4, 2014

    by Wendy

    Is Folligen OK to use on lashes and the lash line though? I always worry about using anything on the lashline that's not made for the eye area or sterile. I heard castor oil works great for lashes but too scared to use it off label because it's not sterile unless you get an RX and buy it at a compounding pharmacy. My dry eye opthamologist won't give me an RX despite the fact it's worked for others with dry eyes and I had hoped to use it both for my eyes and my puney lashes.

  • September 22, 2012

    by Kristen

    I have been using Lilash for almost a year and have never had any side effects until I bought a new tube. My eyelids are so swollen and itchy and I want to discontinue the use of the product. I stumbled upon this link and I am dying to know more about the folligen cream used for eyelashes and eyebrows! I am 28 and a natural blonde, I read that this product may not work for blondes. Do you know any blond success cases?

  • October 5, 2010

    by CC

    Marta,
    Did Skin Biology ever get back to you about the new formulation that seems to cause more itching and irritation?
    Also, I know you always stress to use a the smallest amount possible. My question is, when you apply your folligen on brows and lashline, can you still see the blue color of the cream, or do you apply so little that the blue color isn't visible?

  • October 5, 2010

    by CC

    Hi Marta,
    You mentioned in the comments that you were going to contact Skin Biology to see what happened to the formulation since the new one seems to be more irritating than the old, have you heard back from them?
    I know you stress in the comments to use a very tiny amount and that it doesn't cause you irritation. I was curious, when you put your cream on your brows and lash line, do you put on enough so that you can see the blueness of the cream, or do you use so little that all you can't see the blue pigment in the cream?

  • October 4, 2010

    by donna

    So Marta with this folligen cream .......do I simply apply the lotion with an eyeliner brush along my lash line top and bottom?
    Thanks

  • October 3, 2010

    by julia

    Hi marta, I've been using lilash for about 2 months now and have experienced some irritation and redness of my eyelids. I want to use something that will give me the same great lash growth of lilash but will not be harmful to my eyes or vision. Im confused I thought you stated in your 5 best of 2010 that they do not include harmful ingredients. But yet the reviews I read on this page people said they experienced irritation. Are the ingredients in hydropeptide lash and folligen harmful to my eyes or skin ? thanks : )

  • September 9, 2010

    by marta

    Marjolein, I don't think your finger or water are good ideas. Ideally, you should use a fine eyeliner brush. You only need a tiny amount.

  • September 9, 2010

    by Marjolein

    Thanks for your quick answer Marta!!

    I will start with only using it in the morning. The burning I was telling about is the same feeling when you've put to much eye cream and gets in the eye. Because folligen is not very liquid I have to use my fingers get in around the eye-lid. Maybe I can mix it with water to make it more fluid. Any other suggestions??

    Thanks again!

    Marjolein

  • September 7, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Marjolein,
    I am pleased that Folligen is working for you, but sorry to hear abut the irritation. Several people have reported this reaction and it may be due to the salicylic acid. There are several parabens, which may irritate the eyes as well. Polyoxyethylene 8 may also be an eye irritant, but is dose dependent according to animal studies. So too can <a href="http://truthinaging.com/ingredients/polysorbate-80" rel="nofollow">polysorbate 80</a>. I'd have to say that it is not a good idea to get this product in your eyes. I always advise people to use it in the morning, not at night when you could more easily rub your eyes. Sadly, I think you should discontinue it if the burning continues.

  • September 7, 2010

    by Marjolein

    Hi Marta,

    Because of your advise I now use folligen 3 weeks. It works very well, lashes are fuller and look thicker. I use a eye-liner brush and put a little bit above the lashes and then tip it in with my fingers. If the product gets in the eye, is this dangerous. I use just a little bit but sometimes my eyes burn a little bit! Can it couse any eye-problems?

    Thanks en regards!
    Marjolein, The Netherlands

  • August 25, 2010

    by marta

    Charlotte, it is simply the one that I had the best results with in terms of longer lashes. But I always suggest to people to start with Folligen and see if it works for them (some people have been irritated by it - although not me). Hydropeptide works because of the peptides (copper is a peptide too).

  • August 25, 2010

    by Charlotte

    Why do you think hydropeptide is the best? it contains biotin, rather than copper as an "active" ingredient, right? Is it possible that biotin is more effective, or they are just beefed up with so many peptides? And in calling it the best so far, do you mean lashes grow longer with this product than others?

  • August 25, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Charlotte,
    With Folligen, my eyelashes got thicker and longer, but not darker and no new growth. The best so far, is Hydropeptide (but its a much more expensive option). Here's our Five Best: http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-for-eyelash-and-brow-growth-2010. And for directions on how to use you can check out this post: http://truthinaging.com/eyes/folligen-hair-and-scalp-cream-how-to-use-for-eyelash-growth And our video: http://truthinaging.com/eyes/how-to-use-folligen

  • August 25, 2010

    by Charlotte

    I was wondering about the details of your eyelash growth. Did they become darker? Thicker? Longer? Curlier? New growth? If you could go into detail about the kind of growth you experienced, I would appreciate it!

    Also, how would you compare this to the other lash growth products you've tried? Which demonstrated the most dramatic results (without prostaglandin)?

    In terms of application, did you apply like eyeliner? Or did you also apply directly to the eyelashes, like mascara?

    And lastly, I know you didn't experience any irritation, but are you sure this is safe to use in the eye area? Because the specified use is for the scalp, correct?

    Thank you so much for all your posts. I find your website SO educational.

  • August 24, 2010

    by marta

    Hi JustD, I don't see any reason why you couldn't use Lilash at night and Folligen in the morning. Folligen is copper peptides and should be kept away from vitamin C. But Lilahs doesn't have C and, in case, you'd be using them at different times. With any luck you'll like Folligen and be able to wean yourself off Lilash and its "annoyances".

  • August 24, 2010

    by JustD

    I am 57, a woman of color and I've used Lilash for over a year and always get compliments on the length of my lashes which hit my eyebrow line. I did have some discoloration around my eye, but that actually enhances my pigmentation as it looks almost like the color of the eyeshadow I use. I'm on my second tube of LiLash when I found this site and read about Folligen Cream. I purchased some and I'm wondering if I can use both products, LiLash at night and Folligen in the morning, a way to extend my LiLash stash. Also, LiLash does up the anty for additional facial hair and I have to get my eyebrows done every few days to keep them formed. An annoyance, yes, but the upside are beautiful lashes that make me look 40ish...or so I've been told. Marta, thanks for all the information, it's a blessing to have someone telling us about these products in truth.

  • June 7, 2010

    by marta

    Jenny, yes there are. But with eyelashes the cycle is much faster than other hair at 4-6 weeks. And if the product speeds it up then it might feel like you are losing lashes all at once/more than usual. This is pure speculation on my part. On the other hand, you might have a problem with Folligen and would be better off not using it.

  • June 7, 2010

    by jenny

    Marta-thanks for your comment. I am confused, though...since the phases of growth are staggered amongst the follicles, aren't there always some lashes in the shedding phase?

    Junko-No I have not tried anything other than Folligen.

  • June 6, 2010

    by Lee

    I just started using folligen and one of my eyelids burns even hours after application. Could I be using too much? Is Marini Lash a better bet for me?

  • June 4, 2010

    by Junko

    Jenny, were you using another lash enhancer on your lash's before you started using the Folligen? Whenever I've STOPPED using a prostaglandin lash product, my lash's fall out.

  • June 4, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Jenny, this didn't happen to me. However, I do have a theory. I believe that copper peptides speed up the hair growth cycle and you perhaps started using it before the normal shedding phase. I would stop using it for longer than three days - at least a week - and then start again. You may be out of the normal shedding phase and start to see growth. If they do fall out again, then you should stop using it altogether. Here's more on<a href="http://truthinaging.com/eyes/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works" rel="nofollow"> how hair grows</a>: http://truthinaging.com/eyes/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works

  • June 4, 2010

    by jenny

    Hello-

    I used Folligen in the past and stopped after a week or so because it seemed I started losing more lashes. I recently decided to try it again and have been using it for 3 days. I swear I am noticing more lashes fall out again. Has anyone else experienced this?

  • May 19, 2010

    by marta

    Sarah, sorry I forgot to address that. Yes, just make sure you give it a few minutes to absorb and dab off any excess.

  • May 19, 2010

    by sarah

    thanks-what about putting makeup on after use?

  • May 18, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Sarah, I think daytime is better as at bedtime it is all too easy to rub your eyes whilst stifling a yawn and cause irritation. Here is the link to a <a href="http://truthinaging.com/eyes/folligen-hair-and-scalp-cream-how-to-use-for-eyelash-growth" rel="nofollow">how to apply Folligen w</a>ith pictures http://truthinaging.com/eyes/folligen-hair-and-scalp-cream-how-to-use-for-eyelash-growth

  • May 18, 2010

    by sarah

    hi-should i apply the folligen and emu oil in the morning or before bed? can i put makeup on top of it? thanks!

  • January 28, 2010

    by Jean

    WOW! Folligen has worked on my eyelashes and has worked fast!! I've gone from almost NO lashes (which are very fine, too) to several rows of lashes in such a short amount of time no one would believe me- I wouldn not believe it if I didn't see it for myself! Can't wait to see what they look like in a month or so. There is a caveat-I apply a tiny amount of lotion along the eyelash line with a tiny brush, but it tingles/burns so after 15 minutes I run water over my eyelids to remove the excess- I figure it has absorbed enough to do the trick! This is truly amazing!

  • January 4, 2010

    by marta

    Michelle, I should think its worth trying other hair growth products - its all hair, after all. I guess you should just check out the ingredients to make sure there is nothing that would harm the eyes.

  • January 4, 2010

    by michelle

    hi, i was just wondering if folligen was the only hair loss/thinning product that would work for eyelash growth

  • August 26, 2009

    by marta

    I think Lilash would have to pay me before I found waxing unwanted facial hair acceptable.

  • August 26, 2009

    by donna

    i used librow on just my brow area no where near my eyelashes and my eyelashes grew so long... i have long and black lashes anyway but they did somehow grow... numerous people asked me if i had false eyelashes!! it is worth 120 dollars... there is some growth of hair on upper cheek i just waxed it and it looks fine. i had no luck with folligen at all.

  • August 14, 2009

    by kathy

    I used Folligen on my eyelashes for more than 2 months and saw no results :(. I guess it doesn't work for everyone.

  • July 21, 2009

    by admin

    We did and it was it nixed by quality control. We'll have another go soon. In the meantime, I still use Folligen and highly recommend it.

  • July 20, 2009

    by Peaches

    Hi Marta. Did you ever make the video on how to apply Folligen correctly? I've been looking all over this site, and didn't find it.
    After reading your past posts, I think I'd like to try it. Do you still use it and recommend it.

  • June 28, 2009

    by gina

    I am an RN. I would be very cautious about putting anything on the lash area that gets into your eye. (especially if it does not say on the bottle that it has been tested to be safe if it gets into your eyes. Damage can occur slowly. Blurred vision should be a red flag! The opthamologist are seeing more patients that have used products not intended for the eye areas with various issues. Be cautious about using any product that doesn't say ON the bottle tested to be safe in and aroud the eye!!!

  • June 27, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Linda,
    Copley and I were discussing this the other day. We are both trying out new eyelash products and experience a similar sensation. However, it seems to be a fairly short-lived thing - a few minutes. Folligen has the same effect, but I feel fine after five minutes. Personally, if the sensation lasts longer than five minutes, I would stop using it.

  • June 26, 2009

    by Linda

    I have used rapidlash for the past three nights before bed on my upper lashes and eyebrows. The good news is that my lashes already look longer but my eyes feel irritated, a little red and a little blurry. I don't want to harm my eyes will this go away or should I stop using rapidlash? Would I probable have the same problem with folligen?

  • June 24, 2009

    by marta

    I found the minoxidil wasn't necessary (plus it made my scalp itch).

  • June 24, 2009

    by Hannah

    Thank you Marta! Do you think I have to use the folligen cream in combination with minoxidil or wouldn't that be necessary?

  • June 23, 2009

    by marta

    Pauline, it makes eyelashes grow by speeding up the hair growth cycle and strengthening follicles. OK for upper lid as well as lower - but use it carefully and sparingly so as not to get it in the eye.

  • June 23, 2009

    by Pauline

    Can we use this cream on our top eyelashes too? Does it actually make your eyelashes grow or does it just prevent them from falling out? My problem is I use an eyelash curler and thick mascara which always ends up pulling out my eyelashes. Help! I want to buy this product and save money, but I want to make sure I'm using it for the right thing.

  • June 23, 2009

    by marta

    Hannah, I'm not sure. Folligen is copper and this doesn't combine well with vitamin C. However, I can't see any C in Librow so you're alright on that score. My guess is that its probably OK. Might be more fun to try them on different eyebrows and see which one wins.

  • June 23, 2009

    by Hannah

    Hi Marta, I have a question.
    I wanted to try Folligen for regrowing my eyebrows, i over-tweezed them tooo much. I used to have beautiful dark full eybrows. I think you can understand my frustration.
    Now, I already purchased Librow 2 months ago and did see some improvement but still not as much as I wanted to. Do you think it can do no harm to use both folligen and librow (and maybe even in combination with the emu oil), folligen in the morning and librow in the evening?

  • June 23, 2009

    by donna

    would anyone know how long it should take for librow to be out of your system since it is absorbed in your skin. i dont want to try to get pregnant if there is a chance that prostaglandin the ingredient is still active. it might be ok but they say not tested on pregnant women. thanks for any info you may provide.

  • June 22, 2009

    by Dawn

    I used Lilash and it worked wonderfully for me, My eyelashes are beautiful, and they were red and puffy the first week, but that went away. I am wanting to try the Folligen, to keep up what I got from the Lilash and perhaps make them thicker. Is that what this will do?

  • June 21, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Phoebe,
    We wrote about Latisse <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/12/eyelash-growth-product-poised-to-get-fda-approval.html" rel="nofollow">here</a>. The active ingredient is bitamoprost, a drug used for treating glaucoma. There are possible side effects, such as irritation, redness and eyes can change color. This is what the University of Maryland says about bitamoprost: ” Side Effects. These drugs do not slow down the heart rate and also appear to be safe for people with asthma. Side effects include itching, redness, and burning during administration. Muscle and joint pain may also occur. All of these drugs may permanently change eye color from blue or green to brown. To date, such color changes do not seem to be hazardous. (The only significant problem may be cosmetic in people who treat only one eye, since the color may differ from the other.) These drugs can increase blood flow in the eye and also make eyelashes become thicker and longer in some patients. (These latter effects are more common with bimatoprost and travoprost than with latanoprost.)”

  • June 20, 2009

    by Phoebe

    Hi Marta,

    Have you heard for the new prescription product called "latisse", what is your view on that one?

  • June 17, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Christine
    I don't see why Folligen wouldn't work for you. It works by speeding up the hair growth cycle. More info on how hair growth happens <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/02/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works.html" rel="nofollow">here</a>

  • June 17, 2009

    by Christine A.

    Hello-

    I stumbled on this website when I did a search on how to grow eyebrows back. I am very interested in try Folligen on my my eyebrows. I am africa american and I'm wondering if will be effective for me?

  • June 6, 2009

    by marta

    Dana, you might be allergic to the preservatives in Lilash. Lilash contains (in addition to five parabens and phenoxyethanol) a rather unpleasant preservative called methylchloroisothiazalinone. In high concentrations it can cause chemical burns and it is a skin and membrane irritant and so it was largely removed from most cosmetic products except for those with only short duration skin contact such as rinse-offs. There are some newer formulations that make it more acceptable to sensitive users, so it is now found in cosmetics more frequently. In the US accepted concentrations are 15 ppm in rinse-offs and 8 ppm in other cosmetic.

    Some people have reported sensitivity to Folligen. So your best bet is probably Dermalash. With all of them use the tiniest amount possible.

  • June 5, 2009

    by Dana

    Marta,
    I just used Lilash for the first time last night and again this morning. My eyes are red and puffy like the other reviews. I am not sure if I should discontinue use or if I used too much. I did put it on my top on bottom lash line.
    If this is going to continue which product do you recommend the most? Dermalash or Folligen? I also heard about NTP? I dont want to go through the hassle of trying different products only to have negative side effects and I have dark blue eyes and absolutely dont want them changing color. They are my best feature. Please help.

  • April 18, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Pimmy,

    My inclination is to say no, I don't think it will work. They are really different products designed to do different things: Folligen Cream designed to be effective on a specific area like the hairline. Folligen spray is designed to be used all over the scalp and hair to improve overall health. They even have different ingredients:

    Cream: Purified water, squalane, octyl palmitate, PEG-100 stearate (glycerol stearate + PEG-100 stearate), cetyl alcohol, copper peptides (hydrolyzed soy protein and copper chloride), stearic acid, saw palmetto oil, allantoin, polypropylene glycol, diazolinydinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, herbal fragrance, tocopheryl acetate, retinyl palmitate, ergocalciferol.

    Spray: Purified Water, Aloe Vera Gel, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Glycerin, Polysorbate-20, Allantoin, Cupric Sulfate, Diazolinydinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Herbal Fragrance.

  • April 18, 2009

    by pimmy

    Hi Marta, Can I use the folligen spray but use the brush apply to my lash instead of the cream? Thanks

  • April 8, 2009

    by courtney

    Would you say that this product works better than the Jan Marini product that you used?

  • April 7, 2009

    by marta

    No. But its stopped irritating me. It might be because I'd taken a break and had to get used to it again. Skin Biology does advise building up use slowly. Anyway, it is fine now. And it works a treat.

  • April 6, 2009

    by courtney

    Hey,

    I was wondering, have you heard back from Skin Biology yet?

    Also, is the new formula as effective as the older one?

  • March 8, 2009

    by marta

    Aly, if you stop using any hair growth product, the growth cycle will revert to normal. Wash as you usually would. If it hasn't penetrated between a morning application and a night wash, then it won't work. As to your last question. We only recommend products that we've tested on ourselves and seen the results.

  • March 8, 2009

    by Aly

    Hi, I had a few questions:

    1) If you stop using Folligen on your eyelashes, will they stay at their long length, or return to their normal length?
    2) If you apply Folligen in the morning, do you wash it off at night?
    3) Is it a good product?

  • March 7, 2009

    by julie

    Thanks Marta,
    Maybe I'll check out Dermalash. Maybe the tinge is a result of new fine hairs coming in lighter? Just a thought - it's kind of hard to tell. I notice it more in the sunlight. The bald patch really through me. I've never really paid this much attention to my brows before - I wonder if I've had bald patches in the past and never realized it before. Thanks for your reply.

  • March 5, 2009

    by marta

    Julie
    I have never heard of the red tinge before (and I checked on the Skin Biology forums). The bald patch might be part of the new cycle (as we age this can happen) and Folligen hasn't caught up yet. It takes a few months depending on where you are in the cycle.
    I have had good results with Dermalash on eyes and brows and none of the Folligen side-effects. At worst, you could switch.

  • March 5, 2009

    by donna

    i am frustrated because it has been almost two months and i barely see any difference on my brows... i think most of these products are really useless.... anyone else have luck with anything else like lilbrow i think it is called. that product is about 150 dollars and of course promises your hair to come back.... once the damage is done to hair follicle there no cream that is going to bring it back. i will keep trying the folligen at night and rogaine in the morning for at least 2 more months. michelle have you had luck? julie?

  • March 4, 2009

    by julie

    I wanted to give an update.

    My nice dark brow color seems to be a highlighted with a reddish color now. Is this from the blue follagen?

    Today, I noticed a bald spot on my right brow that was never there before. I'm freaking out!

    Any advice?

  • March 4, 2009

    by marta

    Natalie, I haven't heard back from Skin Biology. But as long as carefully apply a very tiny amount, it seems to be OK.

  • March 4, 2009

    by natalie johnson

    hi marta,

    did you have any updates about your below post?

    For those of you who have experienced irritation with Follagen, I think I (partly) understand why. I have been using a bottle of Follagen purchased months ago. I recently had to renew it started using the new one yesterday. The result: itching. Not as bad as some of the symptoms that posters have had, but very noticable. Something must have changed in the formulation. I shall write to Skin Biology and try to find out what has happened.

  • February 24, 2009

    by marta

    I would be surprised if emu oil made much difference to dark circles. However, it is supposed to replenish skin lipids, so the skin would be less thin and dark circles less noticable. I am not terribly convinced though.

    Skin Biology recommends emu oil and copper peptides: http://store.skinbiology.com/catalog/index.cfm?fuseaction=catalog&parent_id=220.

    One thing that is supposed to work is haloxyl. See our post on dark circles: http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/05/what-is-it-dark-circles-under-the-eyes-and-the-most-effective-ingredients.html

  • February 23, 2009

    by julie

    Hi Marta,

    Yes, a little less slather helped. I do feel a little tingling after I put it on – I’m hoping that means it’s working! I’ll let you all know after a few weeks.

    I was wondering if you had given any thought or research to my other question regarding if the emu oil I bought could be used under my eyes for dark circles? I bought the 2 oz emu oil (the orange colored one with the red label). Is this the same formula that people use on their face for wrinkles and under their eyes for dark circles? It does have a white label on the back of it that says, “emu oil for hair”, so I wasn’t sure.

    Thanks again!

    Julie

  • February 23, 2009

    by Betty

    I don't know if this would be pertinent for anyone else, but while seeing my Dr. for something else, he noticed the outer ends of my eyebrows had disappeared. (Not that it was news to me!) He tested me for thyroid deficiency, which it turned out I had, and although it takes a while for thyroid replacement medicine to work, my brows did, indeed, grow back. So I don't have to worry about my brows, but I am eager to hear more about the reformulation of Follagen as my lashes are a different story.

  • February 21, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Julie
    I've never experienced anything like that. But - and maybe I am taking your use of the word slather too literally - you may be using too much. I use an amount that could be described as miniscule.

    We are adding video to the site, so we'll film a how-to as soon as we can.

  • February 21, 2009

    by julie

    Marta,

    I received the folligen and emu oil. I bought the 2 oz emu oil (the orange colored one with the red label). Is this the same formula that people use on their face and under their eyes for dark circles? Can I use this under my eyes (on my bags)? It does have a white label on the back of it that says, "emu oil for hair", so I wasn't sure.

    I've used the products on my brows only twice a couple hours before bedtime and I've noticed that my eyes seem to feel like they have a film over them. I've had this same experience when I've used vaseline on my brows (I did this when the tattoo was healing). Do you also have this issue when you use the emu oil on your brows? I assume it's the oil. Just wondering... maybe I'll try to use less next time. I slather the folligen and emu oil on my brows with a shadow brush and then I wipe off the excess (the cream & oil that end up past my brows) with a q-tip.

    Thanks for your help.

    Julie

  • February 14, 2009

    by donna

    thanks for letting me know about tattoo. please keep me posted on how folligen works. i am not having the best results but trying to be patient. librow is very expensive so i dont want to try that just yet either.

  • February 13, 2009

    by julie

    After reading my post over, I realized I may not have been clear on the cost of the tattoo. The first time I had it done, I think it was around $350. Touch ups are $250. The numbing injection is $45.

  • February 13, 2009

    by julie

    Thanks for all your help Marta. I appreciate it.

    Donna,
    I just ordered the folligen & emu oil, so I won't know for quite a long time if it will work for me. I’m willing to give it a long try. If it doesn’t work out, I might try one of those more expensive brow stimulators like Librow. It’s $140 every five months. I’m guessing the folligen is going to last longer than that and I need to watch my pennies right now. I just don’t have an extra $30 a month for my brow hair right now!

    The tattoo hurt the first time I got it because I didn't get a numbing injection. It’s about $300. The tattoo fades over time & since I like my brows dark (dark brown), I get them touched up about every 4-5 years. The previous times, she has used some black in the color so they faded toward a gray which she didn’t like (me either), so this last time she used some warm tones and they’re still a nice dark brown so it’s all good & probably won’t fade to grayish tones. When I go for touch ups, I pay for the numbing injection for comfort. The girl I have shapes them beautifully and she does fine hair line kind of tattoos (not fill in), so it looks more natural. Although, the more hair you have the better. Unfortunately, my left brow is only about half the size it used to be - the end only has a few hairs. And recently I’ve noticed that even the very beginning of both brows (you know, toward the nose) has gotten more sparse. Really a bummer… I’m 42 and I’ve noticed more fuzziness on my face while my brows fade! What a cruel joke! ;)

  • February 13, 2009

    by admin

    Julie,

    Emu oil from Skin Biology (the one in our Amazon shop) versus Thunder Ridge: they both seem to use refined oil so I think that the only difference is that Skin Biology adds in antioxidants (although the site doesn't specify which ones). I use the Skin Biology one and it lasts for ages - it is very thick and a little goes a long way. I haven't tried Thunder Ridge, although I have used their Neat Feet product.

  • February 12, 2009

    by donna

    i found this information online and thought all of you would find interesting about hair growth cycles for eyebrows

    Eyebrows etc:

    * anagen phase, 4–7 months
    * catagen phase, 3–4 weeks
    * telogen phase, about 9 months

  • February 12, 2009

    by donna

    has anyone here like Michelle or Julie (since you seem to have the same eyebrow problem) had any luck using the products....i am being patient. i have seen a few small hairs come up nothing big to write about just yet. Julie were you happy with the tattoo and did it hurt or cost a lot of money? my brows are still pretty thick according to some of my friends but they are sparse in areas and look horrible unless i fill them in.

  • February 10, 2009

    by julie

    Thanks again Marta. I'll wait for your reply on the emu oil before I order, so I will know the best choice. And thanks for the link... looks like I might be outta luck but I'll give it a try and see if it helps at all.

  • February 8, 2009

    by marta

    Here's the post that I hope will help you understand how these products work:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/02/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works.html

    I'll be back to you re the emu oil

  • February 7, 2009

    by julie

    Thanks for your reply Marta.

    I'd like to buy the products, but I'm still not sure which Emu Oil to buy - the 2 oz. Emu Oil from the site you gave in your post or the 8 oz. Emu Oil on this site under "Hair Care". As I wrote above, they are about the same price but there's 6 oz. more in the bottle from this site. Are they the exact same ingredients? Should I get the 8 oz. & get more for my money? Or do I need the 2 oz. bottle because it is a different Emu Oil formula?

    Thanks for your help.

  • February 7, 2009

    by marta

    Julie, I'll answer some of your questions here. But questions 5-7 are a bit more complex and relate to growth cycles so I've gone back over my research and am writing a post, which will appear tomorrow.

    The easy ones: Folligen and emu oil are both supposed to make the follicle healthier. Its not vital to use both, but it probably improves chances of growth, particularly if you think natural growth has more or less come to a standstill.

    Folligen first and then emu oil, according to the website: http://reverseskinaging.com/eyebrows.html. Once a day, every day

  • February 6, 2009

    by julie

    One more question...
    What's the difference between the 2 oz. Emu Oil by Skin Biology for 29.95 (orangish bottle with red label) and the 8 oz. Emu Oil from Thunder Ridge for 30.99 (white bottle with white label & a picture of something that looks like the sun & grass maybe)? Why the big difference in price? Which one should I get for my brows?

  • February 6, 2009

    by julie

    Hi All,

    When I was a teen, I plucked my bushy brows to death for about a year and then they were never the same. Some of the hair grew back and they were pretty good until I was about 30ish. They seemed to be thinning, so I got permanent brows tattooed on. They looked great, but the thinning continues as I age (I'm 42). The less hair, the less natural the tattoo looks. I'd really like to try folligen. Here are my questions:

    1) should I use both folligen & emu oil?
    2) why do some only use folligen?
    3) which should I apply first?
    4) how many times a day is best?
    5) will I have to do this forever... in other words, after hair has grown back in, will it fall out again after a few months of not using the folligen & emu oil?
    6) if yes to #4, can I decrease the number of times a week I use the folligen & emu oil once my brows have grown back in? If so, how many times a week would be good?
    7) if I don't see results, how long should I continue with the treatment before I give up?

    Thanks for your help!

  • February 1, 2009

    by marta

    For those of you who have experienced irritation with Follagen, I think I (partly) understand why. I have been using a bottle of Follagen purchased months ago. I recently had to renew it started using the new one yesterday. The result: itching. Not as bad as some of the symptoms that posters have had, but very noticable. Something must have changed in the formulation. I shall write to Skin Biology and try to find out what has happened.

  • January 30, 2009

    by donna

    how often does the growth cycle occur and does it happen less the older you get? i am 41 so i am wondering if that has something to do with it...

  • January 26, 2009

    by marta

    A natural growth cycle is four months

  • January 26, 2009

    by marta

    A natural growth cycle is fourth months

  • January 26, 2009

    by donna

    how long does the growth cycle last? i am guessing if we keep using the products when we reach our growth cycle they may work? there is one eyebrow which is worse... i havent seen growth in about 3 years. just a few hairs here and there. i am religiously using folligen and emu oil at night and then using rogaine in morning... i will give it a month. i hope to see results.

  • January 26, 2009

    by marta

    The blue 'tint' disappears within about 30 minutes or less.

    The way these products work is that they speed up the growth cycle. The fact that I had rapid results may be due to where I was in the growth cycle when I started to use it.

    Having said that, none of these products work for everyone. If its not working, you may have to try something else such as Dermalash.

  • January 25, 2009

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,

    I remember you writing that the folligen showed results on your eyelashes within about 3 days! I used it, and noticed a few little hairs growing also only within 1-3 days. However, I have been using it for about two weeks now, and I don't notice too much more of a difference on the lashes than from the first few days. I'm wondering if it'll only grow a few hairs here and there, and then stop. Can you tell me if the folligen also takes about 3 weeks to work on the lashes as the Jan marini or other products specifically for eyelash growth? Does it grow gradually, and you see it getting thicker and longer gradually everyday, or does it work like other products where you don't see anything until after 3 weeks of use, and one morning you see the wonderful results pop out of nowhere? I also use it at night like many others, and have experienced itching and burning, and even blurring, all of which i have endured. You said you used it in the mornings only. How long would we have to keep it on if it is used during the morning, because wouldn't there be a blue tint on your eyes if you choose to walk around with it all day? Please let me know! Thank you!

  • January 23, 2009

    by donna

    can any of the other women who have written here who bought folligen had good results using it on your eyebrows?? how long did you use it for? i would appreciate any feedback at all. what i dont get is some hair that has been waxed over and over for years still grows in places i dont want and the place where it has only been waxed about 6 times has disappeared... makes no sense at all. i say to the people out there waxing eyebrows who dont know what they are doing shouldnt do it... and these are in salons that cost a lot of money. they have ruined womens faces all over the place

  • January 22, 2009

    by marta

    Donna, that sounds right. Once a day. I am afraid I don't have pics, but it is the outer brow that has grown back.

  • January 22, 2009

    by donna

    since you did get your hair back after years of not having it, i will keep using it. maybe i am not being patient enough.... so frustrating. did you use the product everynight religiously? i want to make sure i am doing this right... i apply the folligen with a q-tip first and then i use a little of emu oil... thanks for your quick response. you dont have any before and after pics do you?

  • January 21, 2009

    by marta

    I used Folligen on an area of my left eyebrow that had been moth-eaten for years and it grew back - I must admit that it only took a month though. I do think people respond differently to these products. You could try Dermalash as an alternative.

  • January 21, 2009

    by donna

    i have been using the folligen and emu oil on my eyebrows for about 3 weeks and i havent seen much difference. i use it everynight and there is no stinging at all.
    i started to use rogaine in the morning but it has only been 3 days for that. i am wondering if once the hair follicle is dead there is nothing more you can do. i was dumb and had my eyebrows waxed and tweezed from numerous people over the years that really didnt know what they were doing. i have tried to grow them back in the last 3 years so if hair was coming back, it should have on its own already. i now have bare spots in places and before i had thick black dense eyebrows like camilla belle. i am still trying to be hopeful with folligen and will give it more time. how depressing. if anyone can tell me it took 2 months or so i will still give it a try.

  • January 17, 2009

    by caroline hunt

    Hi i have recently tried the folligen on eyelashes and also purchased emu oil to go with it as it was recommended on the skinbiology.com website where I bought it.

    I too noticed a burning sensation around the eyes and I dont normally have sensitive skin at all. I decided to mix a little folligen and emu oil together in a pot and I still apply it with a liner brush. This seems to have made a big difference, less stinging and I would say i am starting to notice a diference.

    I too have tried Jan Marini, enormous lash and revitalash. Non of them worked for me at all and very expensive. So far the folligen + emu oil is the most efective thing I have tried I just hope i'm not being counter productive by mixing the two products togther as you are supposed to use them seperately, folligen followed by emu oil.

    Definately value for money these two products should last me well over a year and cost a lot less than other produts. Go for it!!

  • January 15, 2009

    by marta

    Laura
    I'm sorry to hear that you had such a horrible experience. I still use it regularly and have had no adverse reactions to it. One thing I have noticed is that people who have problems seem to be using it at night. It may be that it is seeping into your eyes as you go to sleep. I have only ever used it in the mornings.

  • January 13, 2009

    by Laura

    I purchased the folligen and i do not recomend using it. I would spend the money on a product meant specifically for eyelash growth. The first night I used folligen i used a mac eyeliner brush and it stinged my eyes a little but nothing major, however i woke up with the worst headache ever. The following night i used a liquid eyeliner brush and that was even worse. My eyes burned and itched so badly that it woke me up in the middle of the night and i had to wash it off my eyes becasue it was so unbearable. On the third night i thought maybe i was jusy using too much or not applying it carefully enough, but again i had to wash the folligen off my eyes within an hou of having it on. My eyes hurt extremely bad and i have the worst headache. I do not have sensitive skin at all so i thought it would be fine but my eyes a really red today and puffy and hurt. I dont know if i am applying it wrong, but i dont see any other way of applying then what i have been doing. Can someone who has used this product with success help me?!

  • January 12, 2009

    by Michelle

    I am ordering it now... stay tuned!

  • January 12, 2009

    by marta

    I think it will and it can't hurt

  • January 12, 2009

    by Michelle

    I recently had a BAD experience at the beauty salon.. The gal waxing my eyebrows totally wiped me out.. I now have one brow that is wayyyy shorter and thinner than the other... In reality they are both to thin, but the one is aweful. Do you think the folligen will work to speed up the growing process?? Please help!!

  • December 28, 2008

    by marta

    In my experience, Folligen works well for restoring hairlines and eyebrows. There are no side effects that I know of.

  • December 25, 2008

    by tanlee

    will folligen work on me, i am most excited to try it. my hairline on the forehead is receding esp at the 2-corners and also i have very faint eyebrows for years. for how long should i use it so the new growth will stay for years? is there any side effects on where applied and other parts of the body after i stop using? thank you!

  • December 13, 2008

    by Michelle

    Hi again,

    I tried applying the folligen cream with an eyeliner brush over the top of my eyes, right above the lashes. I guess the brush is a bit too thick since it applies a thicker, and uneven line. Would that make hair grow in the wrong places (i.e. too far from my lashes, and on my lid?) I was wondering how much we should apply. At first, I applied a little amount, and the color became clear as it absorb into my eyelid. Then I thought I'd see more results if I applied a little more, where I'd be able to see the "blue-green" cream so I know where it's positioned on my eyelid. That was a BIG mistake, because I felt itching and burning, and even saw a little patch of "redness" on top of my eyeline. It looked like it burned AWAY part of my skin, and was starting to bleed or something. =X Just thought I'd post a caveat for everyone before applying too much.

  • December 10, 2008

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,

    I knew I should have confirmed with you when I didn't hear back about my review--and good thing I did too. I just re-sent it to your e-mail at marta@truthinaging.com. Let me know if it goes through, or doesn't go through. If it doesn't, then I'll find some way to get it to you. Thank you! =]

  • December 9, 2008

    by marta

    Rub a small amount into the scalp when hair is wet - either just where hair is particularly thinning, or all over.

    We didn't receive a review.

  • December 9, 2008

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,

    I just received the Folligen cream in the mail today. There are no directions or labels on the back on how to use the product or apply it to the hair. I first thought it be a bigger bottle, similiar to a shampoo bottle, so that I can use it like leave-in conditioner, but it is extremely smaller than I thought. Since Amazon didn't include any directions, can you tell me how I would go about apply it to my hair? Thank you!
    Oh! And did you receive my review about the Beauty Cosmedics moisturizer?

  • December 7, 2008

    by Billie Jo

    My question is the safety of using this or any of these products long term. After all we only have these one eyes?

  • November 6, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Personally, I think the Folligen works as well, if not better, than anything else.</p>

  • November 5, 2008

    by viv

    <p>Do you think this is more effective or jan marini? i am deciding where to splurge my money. i don tmind how much it cost as long as it works well. :) thanks for your reviews most helpful</p>

  • November 3, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Yes just wash normally. It should have absorbed overnight.</p>

  • November 3, 2008

    by Simone Bryan

    <p>So you used on upper and lower eyelashes. You said to leave on overnight. Do you wash off the next morning, or leave on?</p>

  • October 23, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Yes, leave it on overnight.</p>

  • October 23, 2008

    by Nadia

    <p>Ok...so I just applied the Folligen to my eyebrows/lashes, but how long should I keep it on for...overnight, then wash it off in the morning?<br />
    Thanks again!</p>

  • October 18, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Yes. It speeds up the growth cycle. When you stop using it the cycle will, after a few months, revert to normal.</p>

  • October 18, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Yes! Once the lower lash thing worked, I got brave enough to move to the upper lid. Do get yourself a fine eyeliner brush and paint it on carefully like an eyeliner. </p>

  • October 18, 2008

    by sarai

    <p>Is this treatment the sort of thing that stops being effective when you stop using it?</p>

  • October 18, 2008

    by Nadia

    <p>HI, I was very interessted in trying the Folligen cream you recommended for eyelash/eyebrow growth. However, I read that you tried it on your eyebrows and LOWER lashes with success. Do you think it is safe enough to put on my top lashes? I realize this was initially not meant to be put around your eyes, so I was wondering if you have since tried it there, or if anyone else has dared to with success...and not gone blind!!<br />
    Thank you!</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...