Free shipping on all orders over $39

Hair Signals for hair growth- reviewed and recommended

Our Rating: 0 stars

Is a Solution for:
Thinning Hair & Shedding
April 10, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 19 Comments

I discovered Skin Biology’s Folligen Cream for stimulating hair growth almost two years ago and it remains one of my better finds. It is great for restoring hairlines and helping eyelashes and brows grow. At the bargain price of just $22, it is hardly surprising that it is the runaway bestseller in the Truth In Aging shop. Not long ago, Skin Biology brought out a new product duo called Hair Signals (Cream and Lotion) and I like it even more. For me, Skin Biology Hair Signals Cream Therapy Cream ($24) actually worked even better than Folligen at growing the thinning hair on my hairline! And we are not talking wispy, baby hair. But proper hair.

Hair Signals has the same copper peptides active as Folligen, with a proven track record for growing hair (not to mention healing wounds). But it also has some other ingredients that appear to rally behind the copper peptides to tackle thinning, aging hair.

Dihydrotestosterone (DHT), a natural metabolite in the human body, is responsible for shrinking the hair follicle (think wispy). This is referred to as miniaturization and the hair ultimately breaks and falls off. Men or women who lose hair are those who are genetically pre-disposed in producing more DHT than others.

Ingredients that are thought to inhibit DHT include tea extracts, saw palmetto oil, pygeum africanum, and lavender oil – although only saw palmetto has a strong research pedigree when it comes to hair growth. They are all here in Hair Signals and, with exception of saw palmetto, are not included in the Folligen formula. There are also the antioxidants CoQ10 and lycopene, plus lutein, a carotenid found in leafy greens.

Although at first glance, Hair Signals seems to have eshewed parabens, there are actually two in the ingredient that goes by the name of germaben 11-E. And for the nerdy (or suspicious), crodamol is a chemical and benign emollient ester.

We also have Hair Signals Therapy Solution in the TIA store for $36. This is for an all-over scalp treatment for thinning hair, whilst the Cream is better for targeting specific areas such as the hairline.

Ingredients in Hair Signals Cream

Water, aloe vera gel, copper peptides (soy protein peptides and cupric chloride), octyl palmitate, squalane, crodamol PMP, stearic acid, PEG 100 strearate, glycerol monostearate cetyl alcohol, extra virgin olive oil, germaben II-E, tea extract, beta-sitosterol, saw palmetto oil, lavender oil, pygeum africanum, leucine, polysorbate 80, allantoin, vitamin E TPGS, retinyl palmitate, vitamin E isomers, tocotrienol isomers, coenzyme Q10, leutin, lycopene.

Ingredients in Hair Signals Therapy Solution

Water, aloe vera gel, copper peptides (soy protein peptides and cupric chloride), PEG 100 strearate, germaben II-E, tea extract, beta-sitosterol, saw palmetto oil, lavender oil, pygeum africanum, polysorbate 80, polysorbate 20, allantoin, vitamin E TPGS

Buy Me
$ 23.00
  • November 7, 2014

    by cindy pagel

    (5 out of 5)

    I first tried this product back in 2010 (after reading Marta's review), and was very impressed. My eyelashes had gotten really sparse, and brows were almost gone. My hairline was receding a bit, too ... yikes.

    The Skin Biology Hair Signals Therapy Cream really worked. I used it sparingly on my eyelids (afraid of irritation), but my lashes grew thicker and fuller. New hairline growth appeared within a couple of weeks, too. It darkened my eyebrows, which was fine, but strange, since they've always been blond.

    That first tube lasted over a year, and I literally cut it open and scraped the last bits out when it finally ran out.

    I've just recently ordered it again, and am happy to see tiny little hairs popping out already.

    I highly recommend this product, and should the hair on my head start thinning, I'll order the scalp treatment, too.

  • March 26, 2013

    by patrice

    Skin Biology has all product directions on their website. I assume people would read up on a products use before ordering. Re Folligen I found it irritated my eyes also and after diligent use of a couple months noticed no change in my brow hair. So thanks for the info on hair signals being stronger, will try that route.

  • March 26, 2013

    by kevin

    i want to try this product , it seems helpful to my hair

  • January 1, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Karen

    Skin Biology doesn't provide instructions so we actually wrote our own one-pager. You should have received one with your order if you bought it from us. I'll email it to you.

  • January 1, 2011

    by Karen

    Hi Marta,

    Just recieved my order of Skin Biology Hair Signals Therapy Solutions. No instructions. How do you recommend using it?

    Thanks, Karen

  • September 16, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Christine, if you haven't had results after 2 months with Folligen I'd say it isn't working for you. I'd try Hair Signals instead with emu. Good luck.

  • September 16, 2010

    by Christine

    Hi Marta,
    I'm 51 and going through menopause-whoopee! I have thick hair, but I overplucked my eyebrows in my youth. I've been using the emu oil and Folligen Cream 2x a day for 2 months- no noticable change yet. I just bought the Hair Signals cream with the hope that I will have some better results. Should I continue using the Folligen cream and emu oil? Also should I use the emu oil with the Hair Signals as well? Thanks for your help and I really enjoy your website. It's refreshing to have a real woman, helping real women!

  • April 27, 2010

    by marta

    The lovely and talented Rick (our developer) says he’s working on it ;)

  • April 27, 2010

    by Junko

    Gee, I wish there were a My Favorites place on TIA like there is on TIS so I’d have a place to keep this article…

  • April 27, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Annie,

    I’m not a big injester of any supplements (there is plenty of research that it isn’t an efficient way to get things into the body). However, I’ve never looked specifically at these ingredients (saw palmetto etc) and hair. Give me time to do some research and I’ll be back.

  • April 27, 2010

    by Annie

    Hi Marta-

    You are a delight and a godsend. Thanks for doing all this work for the rest of us. I am 57, fully menopausal this year, and for the past year have noticed: dramatically thinner and crepier skin and much wispier hair (and mine was thin to begin with). Crepey skin seems a bit premature at this point, and the hair thing is just depressing! So I am going to try a number of the products you recomment on your site. But do you find that INGESTING L-Arginine, saw palmetto, etc., is recommended for women and if so does it positively affect hair growth? Or is it all best topically applied? Ditto re ingestible vitamins or supplements re skin; intuitively it makes sense to help from the inside as well as the outside. I already eat well, exercise, drink enough fluids, etc. Thanks for any additional insight. –Annie

  • April 26, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Aer,
    I think combining Hair Signals and FNS wouldn’t be a bad idea. After all, they do different things. FNS makes hair grow quicker, Hair Signals will help hair grow back where it had stopped growing. FNS all over the scalp and Hair Signals where you have thinning (eg hairline). We explain the differences in this post: http://truthinaging.com/hair/choosing-the-right-hair-growth-product/
    Now I come to think of it, I have both so I’ll give this a try.

  • April 26, 2010

    by Ann Rubin

    Marta –

    What differences did you observe between Hair Signals and the Osmotics FNS serum? Do you prefer one over the other — and, if so, why?

    I’m still working through a bottle of the FNS serum. Would it be worth combining the 2 treatments? If so, how would one do that? For example, Folligen is recommended for use together w/minoxidal and/or emu oil…

    Thanks,
    aer

  • April 14, 2010

    by georgia

    Ovation Cell Therapy anyone?? This hair growth product is getting heavy radio air time.
    Lots has been written in blogs, not always good.
    So why hasn’t TIA approached it?

  • April 12, 2010

    by L

    I was wondering the same thing about eyelashes.
    Please keep us posted!
    Thanks and have a great day!
    L

  • April 12, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Divot, I have been using it for a month. I have only been using it on my hairline, where the widow’s peak area was thinning a little. New hairs have grown.

  • April 12, 2010

    by Divot

    Exactly how much hair have you regrown with this product? How long have you been using it? Did it thicken up the wispy fine hairs or regrow new ones completely? Thanks.

  • April 11, 2010

    by marta

    Sea2Sky, I haven’t tried Hair Signals on anything other than my hairline. My guess is it will work for eyebrows as well. My concern about using it for eyelashes stems from the fact that Skin Biology (the makers) describes the product as strong and advises using it only every two or three days on the head. That makes me think it might be too much for the sensitive eye area. Some people have written to us saying that Folligen caused them some irritation when they tried to use it to grow lashes (although I have been fine with it), so I would use Hair Signals with extreme caution. I am testing a couple of other eyelash products right now, but when I’m done with them I will give Hair Signals a try and let you know.

  • April 11, 2010

    by Sea2Sky

    Hi Marta, do you think the Hair Signals would work better than the Folligen for eyelashes and brows too? Thanks!

Have You Tried Skin Biology Hair Signals Therapy Cream?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Skin Biology Hair Signals Therapy Cream below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Skin Biology Hair Signals Therapy Cream

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...