Free shipping on all orders over $39

Heaven Bee Venom Mask- reader reviewed

Is a Solution for:
Dull Skin, Oily Skin
December 22, 2011 Reviewed by AgelessJen 13 Comments

I was delighted to be selected as the tester for the Heaven Bee Venom Mask ($94), as I am a real fan of the powers of Manuka honey & have heard good things about the benefits of bee venom. Manuka honey is used as an elixir for sore throats, as a digestive aid, and even as an antiseptic for skin wounds. I've been consuming a tablespoon of Manuka Honey, daily, for a couple of years now!  I don't know whether or not my digestive system is any healthier than it already was, but it sure tastes good!

As stated by Marta in her review, the instructions for usage are a bit ambiguous.  When I wrote to the company for clarification, I received no response, so I elected to use it as a rinse-off mask.  The other option is to use it on top of your makeup, which just sounded odd to me and caused me to wonder why not just under it? More on that later...

The scent and feel of this mask is absolutely amazing, and a little goes a long way, so I also applied it to the back of my hands. I sat next to a well known plastic surgeon on a recent flight, who told me that although its difficult to tell a woman's age by looking at her face anymore, due to the countless procedures available, he can always tell when he looks at her hands!  So...I am now including my hands in on any anti aging regimens I am using!

I applied the mask daily, in the mornings, and let it sit on my freshly washed face for 20 minutes while sipping on my coffee...a multitasker at heart!  My face looked and felt fabulous...until day 23, when I looked in the mirror and saw a haggard looking reflection of myself.  I had little raised areas under my orbital bones, red dots in several places, & basically dull skin.  Maybe it wasn't due to the mask..hard to say, as I was also doing daily hot yoga, but hadn't noticed anyone different about my skin prior to incorporating the mask into my routine.

I think that I figured why, after doing a little research on the preservative used, methylchlooroisothiazolinone. Although it is one of the more effective and potent preservatives being currently used in cosmetics, there were reactions experienced (back in the late 80s mainly) when used in "leave-on" products.  Now, the recommended concentrations are 15% in "rinse-off" products and 8% in the "leave-on" products.  This begs the question of what concentrations are used in the Heaven Bee Venom Mask product.  My guess is that it's the higher concentration, hence the recommendation to rinse off after 20 minutes OR to apply on top of other products (barrier effect?).  Since my initial question was never answered, I opted out of writing and asking about the concentration used. This is total guesswork on my part, so take my comments as just that.

After taking a 10 day break from the mask, my skin felt normal again and I was a bit chicken to try using it on a daily basis again.  I am using it daily on my hands, but only once a week on my face, and haven't experience any of the previously mentioned issues.  I will need to try the New Zealand product called Royal Nectar, which doesn't include this preservative, as I still am intrigued about the bee venom, Manuka honey combination!

Ingredients: aqua, decyl oleate, manuka honey, bee venom, glyceryl monosterate, cetearyl alcohol, glycerine, althea officinalis (marshmallow extract), ceteareth 20, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), silica, rosa centifolia (rose extract oil), lavandula angustifolia (lavender essential oil), betacarotene, cl75100, methylchlooroisothiazolinone, methylisothiazolinone, tea tree essential oil

 

  • April 18, 2012

    by Agelessjen

    Really, Wildrice? Because we are jealous, we are "dissing" on Deborah's product? Wow! You must not have read the 11 other comments before making your own rather silly one, as only 3 of us even made comments about the actual cream, and one of the three was actually positive! My review was simply an honest assessment of my personal experience...and still don't know anything about Deborah Mitchell OR her success!

  • April 17, 2012

    by Wildrice

    I love it. Period. Many people have been dissing it. I think they are jealous of Deborah Mitchell's success. The cream has done wonders for my skin. Keeps all crow's feet away and the tiny tines around my mouth has become less noticeable too. My skin glows and is so firm and smooth...Thank God for Heaven! Thank God for Deborah Mitchell

  • March 13, 2012

    by AgelessJen

    Oksana, I'll have to try making my own mask, using local honey! Teresamah, what do you like about the Boots serum? And...no, I haven't tried the Aldi snake venom product..never heard of it! Have you tried it?

  • March 13, 2012

    by teresamah

    Hi Jen, That was a good review. I tried it a few times (ot a bad product) But am a bit reluctant to use it as part of my daily routine. I rather stick to the Boots No 7 Serum which is hypoallergenic and it seems to do the job. Have you tried th Aldi snake venom wrinkle stop.?

  • December 25, 2011

    by Oksana

    Apitherapy has been around for centuries in Europe; wildflower raw honey has been used with great success for many ailments. Althought ManuKa honey is fantastic, it's a "big gun" that I would reach for in case of infection, sore throat, etc. Raw organic wildflower honey works great for skin rejuvenation on its own. Acne sufferers, on the other hand, may need Manuka for its active antimicrobial effect. I swear by a simple mask of raw organic honey , "creamed" with a large pinch of unprocessed, mineral rich salt - positively glowing effect.

  • December 24, 2011

    by Agelessjen

    Oksana, the Bee Yummy Face Lift sounds pretty nice, although it looks like Wildflower honey is used vs. Manuka.

  • December 23, 2011

    by Oksana

    unprocessed raw honey cappings have many active elements found in raw honey: enzymes, microelements, etc. chewing cappings is extremely beneficial for the health of gums, throat, etc. I absolutely love the mask; it can be left on overnight as a night cream as well.

  • December 23, 2011

    by Junko

    I've been using Heaven's Bee Venom Mask as a leave on cream during the day. The website says to use it as a mask or a cream and recommends applying it over a moisturizer at night. I find that it's not very moisturizing once I powder over it (I always powder for day). Have not had any adverse reactions, and find that my face exfoliates a bit quicker when using it.

  • December 23, 2011

    by Agelessjen

    jina, I probably shouldn't have followed the more-is-better strategy with this mask, and I never applied it before hot yoga. The temperature is hot, but more humid than dry, and being well hydrated is almost a requirement, so...just not sure that the yoga actually made the symptoms worse.
    Anne, where do you buy your Manuka honey?
    Oksana, have you tried the Bee Yummy Face Lift product?

  • December 23, 2011

    by Marta

    I hadn't come across the term "honey cappings" before and looked it up - seems to be beeswax (or from what beeswax is made).

  • December 23, 2011

    by Oksana

    Bee Yummy Face Lift ($22 for 15grams) w/o questionable ingredients, but just as with much oomph! Ingredients: (All organic & Raw) Honey Cappings, Kombucha Mushroom, Royal Jelly, Pure Water.



  • December 22, 2011

    by Anne

    I take a tablespoon of <a href="http://www.manukahoneybenefit.com">manuka honey</a> everyday too and have noticed a better overall health and find myself getting ill less often.

  • December 22, 2011

    by Jina

    Hi, that was a very good review. Correct me if I am wrong but if you apply anything on the skin that attracts moisture, and if the environment is dry it will pull from within your skin. Hence, the dehydration, together with the continuous hot yoga, preservatives and limited water, fruit and veg consumption. Perhaps these sort of products should be used once a week or when skin is in need of extra help. It's disturbing that you have not had a reply from company. I always wonder how stringent these little labs truly are and are able to sell all over the world? Good luck on your quest.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...