Free shipping on all orders over $39

Heaven Bee Venom Mask
68

Heaven Bee Venom Mask Review

is a Solution for:
Dry Skin, Dull Skin, Fine Lines
Reviewed by Marta October 8, 2013 50 Comments
TRU Rating

Pros

Bee venom is full of antioxidants

Cons

Preservatives may cause irritation
We prefer the original bee venom mask from Royal Nectar

Perhaps it was all the media hype, the appeal of a British Royal, or the masochist in all of us, but when Sarah came across a face mask with bee venom, the Truth In Aging community was positively buzzing with excitement. I must admit that I caught the bug myself and couldn’t resist trying the Bee Venom Face Mask ($94 for 50ml and $38 for 15ml) by British boutique brand, Heaven.

I loved it. And then I managed to do one better. I found the actual source of the bee venom used by Heaven - a bee keeper in New Zealand called Nelson Honey. Their bee venom mask is called Royal Nectar ($68) and is even better than Heaven's - see my video comparing them.

The Bee Venom Mask is left on for about 20 minutes and I have been using it for nearly a month on my face and neck about three times a week. After rinsing, I follow with my normal regimen, but sometimes my skin looks so glowing and refreshed that I’ve left it that (apart from eye cream and anything else that I’ve been specifically testing) for the rest of the day.

Bee venom isn’t the only thing in the mask, but it is supposedly the key active. The blurb says that the skin reacts to the venom as if it has been stung, thereby jump-starting the production of elastin and collagen. OK, so let’s try to figure out what’s really going on, or if the only things being stung are our wallets.

According to 3DChem, honey bee venom contains at least 18 active substances. These include the peptides melittin and apamin. Melittin causes localized pain and inflammation but also has a moderate antibacterial and antifungal effect. More importantly, it is an anti-inflammatory that is being used to treat inflammatory diseases such as rheumatism, and can combat cancers (source).

But there is another compound in bee venom and it is less straightforward as to whether it is friend or foe: hyaluronidase. When a bee stings, the hyaluronidase breaks down hyaluronic acid polymers that serve as intercellular cement, tissues soften and then the venom can spread through the tissue (source). Which is pretty devious and clever of Mother Nature on behalf of the bee. Now, hyaluronic acid is something that we are trying to preserve and replenish with all our anti-aging serums, so is bee venom-delivered hyaluronidaise in my latest favorite face mask doing me more harm than good?

Ultimately, I think it may do more good than harm. According to 3DChem, hyaluronidase from bee stings causes hyaluronic acid in the body to become acetylglucosamine, important to tissue functions such as hydration, lubrication, transport, cell migration, cell function and differentiation. From the reading I have done, it seems that more is being understood about hyaluronidase and that its role in turning over hyaluronic acid may be beneficial.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest product reviews and save 10% on all orders over $50

Interestingly, I also found a study saying that “bee venom hyaluronidase shares 30% sequence identity with human hyaluronidases, which are involved in fertilization and the turnover of HA” (source).

Another clue may come from the recent trend in using  hyaluronidase to break down hyaluronic fillers (eg Restylane) without damaging the surrounding tissue. Interestingly, plastic surgeons claim that it does not affect the adjacent, natural HA (source). As one explained: “It doesn't seem to affect natural hyaluronic acid and has a predominate effect on filler injected. The reason for this is due to the fact that natural hyaluronic acid is found around a substructure within the skin. When natural hyaluronic acid is degraded it is reformed almost just as quickly. In fact, natural hyaluronic acid is turned over on a daily basis so your body naturally degrades its own hyaluronic acid and replaces it.”

There is something that inhibits hyaluronidase, should you still not be too sure about it. And that is marshmallow. And guess what... Marshmallow (also an anti-inflammatory) is in Heaven's mask.

Having got all that out of the way, I can report that Heaven’s Bee Venom Mask does not sting or any way feel uncomfortable. On the contrary, it is very pleasant and comfortable and, above all, I find the effect to be very hydrating. This may be due to the shea butter, a moisturizer, antioxidant and natural sunscreen, and the manuka honey, also an antibacterial that can help against acne. The only things not to like are the preservatives, which may cause irritation (in my case, this formula did not).

Whether Heaven’s Bee Venom Mask is responsible for the transformation of Camilla (Duchess of Cornwall) after all those years of smoking and galloping around on horses in all weathers, I can’t say. But Royal Nectar's mask is now part of my bee-auty regimen.

sign up for our newsletter

Buy Me
68
  • May 18, 2016

    by denise

    (1 out of 5)

    Full of hype. Use plain old organic rose hip oil, works fantastic, and yes, even some stars use just plain organic rose hip oil. Just like organic castor oil for eyelash growth, (oh does this work too) forget paying $60.00 to $100.00 for a little tube to make lashes grow.

    You're paying for hype, advertising, packaging and the ingredient your looking for is down on the ingredient list, full of fillers and things you cannot even pronounce. Save your money, put in bank for rainy day. I use rose hip oil, cost less than $10.00 (TEN DOLLARS) for over a years supply. Simpler is better, and cheaper. Some, have to learn the hard way. Not one, wrinkle, not one, I am almost 60. Used it for years, stars use rose oil too. Think twice....

  • May 18, 2016

    by Denise

    Just use a few drops of organic rose hip oil, it works wonders at night. Cost me less than $10.00 for a years supply. Ten dollars! So many want the magic bullet, don't understand the simpler the better ( and way cheaper). You are paying for the hype, packaging and advertising, not to mention the rent to pay dept stores( you pay the rent in the product) to put on their shelves. . I know, I work for a cosmetic company, I don't even use their brand, a very, very high designer end, and I have beautiful skin....not one wrinkle at age 62. The rose hip oil has to be pure and organic, trust me. Look on Amazon and try it, or look at a local health food store. Just PURE rose hip oil.
    Remember, your paying for packaging, rent, and advertising. Many times too, the one ingredient you want to work, is way down on the ingredient list, paying for fillers. Think and put your money into savings, be glad you did.

  • May 15, 2016

    by Emma

    (1 out of 5)

    I have used all the heaven face masks. I have just finished using the Gold version which set me back over £300. I have to confess I never felt much tingling when applying it, saw absolutely no difference in my skin when I had applied it and my skin didn't feel form. On the whole it was really disappointing.

  • March 20, 2016

    by Audrey

    Renee...you seriously need to chill out and not condemn a product until you KNOW THE FACTS and where they source their venom. I have been using these products and absolutely love them. My skin has never looked better.

  • January 22, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Renee
    I have researched sourcing apitoxin myself and, like you, found it to be expensive. Note that Heaven is marketed by a British company and ingredients labeling rules are not the same in the UK. Also note that apitoxin outside the US is less expensive, because bees are more abundant in other countries. As I am sure you are aware, bees are almost extinct in the US. We import Nelson Honey's Royal Nectar bee venom mask from New Zealand. Nelson Honey has its own bee farm and, therefore, sources the apitoxin from its live stock and is able to control its marginal costs. Bee venom is listed on the ingredients (not apitoxin) and is cleared by the FDA when we import it through US customs.

  • January 20, 2015

    by Renee

    (1 out of 5)

    First off, what is the actual percentage used of Apitoxin? I HIGHLY doubt at that price its substantial enough Apitoxin (Bee Venom) to make any type of difference. As a cosmetic formulations scientist, I am appalled that you would actually list Bee venom as an ingredient when according to GMP standards, you MUST list it as Apitoxin! The highest amount of Apitoxin that can be safely used in a cosmetic application is at 1%. This would mean, it would NOT be listed as the second or third ingredient! And if you actually used it at even close to 1%, the product would not cost just $40...it would be more like $400!! I know how much Apitoxin costs! You and other makers of MOST products that "say" contain Bee Venom (i.e. Apitoxin) when you are really just using plain honey that "might" contain a "speck" of Apitoxin are literally lying to the general public!! Consumers BE AWARE of false advertising!!!

  • August 11, 2014

    by M

    Does this do anything for fine lines and wrinkles?

  • January 3, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Stephanie, it is not recommended to use products that contain bee venom if you are allergic to bee stings. At the very least, do a patch test first.

  • January 3, 2014

    by stefanie

    Hi,
    If I am allergic to bee/wasp stings, is this a product I should stay away from or would this not matter?

    Thanks!

  • August 22, 2013

    by KCollins

    If you are looking for an amazing bee venom moisturizer that leaves the skin velvety soft and ultra hydrated try BV-9 Platinum by a company called benir.

  • March 7, 2013

    by honey

    at what age can we start using this mask?

  • February 20, 2013

    by V

    If one is allergic to bee stings, uses an EPI PEN to prevent Anaphylaxis, what would happen if she used a Bee Venom Face Mask?

  • July 20, 2012

    by Erin

    I stumbled upon this review and purchased Royal Nectar. I'm not one for leaving reviews/comments, but I must this time.

    I've been out of Retin A for over a year. I've searched everywhere for a cream that might produce similar results: refreshed, younger-looking, clear skin. Finally, finally, finally. I've only been using it for 5 days — sometimes as a mask in the morning; sometimes as a light cream. This is the most amazing anti-aging cream I've ever used — non-prescription or prescription! My skin is bright, light, and clear. I already knew bees were amazing: I've been a beekeeper for 8 years, but this is just one more reason.

    Truly: Thank you SO much for introducing me to it through your review!

  • June 25, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Hershey, we eventually got it from the original source in New Zealand and sell it here: http://www.truthinaging.com/royal-nectar-face-mask-with-bee-venom-50-ml

  • June 25, 2012

    by Hershey

    Was anyone successful in getting the bee venom mask to USA

  • May 25, 2012

    by Chloe

    Hi, I'm a bit confused about something - when you say at the top of your review about hyaluronidase breaking down hyaluronic fillers like Restylane, does this mean you shouldn't use the bee venom mask if you'd had these fillers, i.e. would using it break them down?

  • April 22, 2012

    by alice

    A lot of these products are a con i think. Any good moisturizer, no alcohol no smoking, drinking plenty of water an a god diet are all the ingredients for a wonderful skin

  • January 3, 2012

    by Anna

    I tried the bee venom mask for a month now for my 2 fine lines. It doesn't work at all! it does nothing. I use it everyday and I leave it on. Has absolutely no results, waste of money. The lines did not even diminish at all.

  • October 20, 2011

    by JustD

    Junko, keep us updated on if your order is processed and received through customs. I ordered it, but was bummed out when it didn't get past customs. Sending positive hopes that your order is successful!

  • October 20, 2011

    by JustD

    I'd love to know if you're successful Junko, I made the purchase and was really bummed when Marta said it couldn't get past customs. Keep us updated on your progress ;)

  • October 20, 2011

    by Junko

    Hmmm * placed an order with Heaven on 10/15. When I log into my account it says that it is still processing. My hope is that Heaven is able to get single packages to pass customs compared to bulk distribution qty's? Their website does offer pricing for US shipping. Will report back if I do or do not manage receive it.

  • October 20, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Rosanna, I would advise you to ask them to confirm that it has been cleared by the FDA for US import before you commit your credit card.

  • October 19, 2011

    by Oksana

    for those interested in bee-products-based skin care check out live-live.com. Bee Yummy Skinfood moisturizer and rejuvenating mask are great. raw, organic, active, natural products.

  • October 19, 2011

    by Oksana

    for those interested in bee-products' based skin care - check out live-live.com / Bee Yummy Skinfood and related rejuvenating mask. raw, organic, active, effective!

  • October 19, 2011

    by Rosanna

    I just ordered directly from the Heaven website and will report back once I receive the product. Hopefully, it will eventually get cleared (assuming I experience the same results Marta has). Cheers!

  • October 19, 2011

    by Gloria

    Whew! Good thing I asked.

  • October 19, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Rosanna, unfortunately Heaven was unable to get the mask cleared by US customs, very frustrating for all of us.

  • October 19, 2011

    by Marta

    Gloria, its not a silly question and you should not use this product if allergic to bee stings.

  • October 19, 2011

    by Gloria

    This may sound like a silly question, but what if you are allergic to bee's like me?

  • October 18, 2011

    by Rosanna Taormina

    No more Bee Venom in the TIA shop? Is there any chance this gets brought back?

  • October 8, 2011

    by Judy

    I would love to try a sample of this mask. Is this possible? Thank you.

  • September 18, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Meliha, both the methyl ingredients are preservatives and as I mentioned in my review they can be irritants (I had no adverse reactions to using this product). From the ingredients list, both are hyperlinked to our ingredients database where you can read more about them. And here are the links again:
    http://truthinaging.com/ingredients/methylchloroisothiazolinone
    http://truthinaging.com/ingredients/methylisothiazolinone

    Personally, I hope that one day Heaven decides to reformulate this without Methylchloroisothiazolinone, which these days is mostly only used on short-duration or rinse off products. As I said, I have had no problems, despite my relatively sensitive skin, in using this mask, but I'd prefer a less harsh approach to the preservatives.

  • September 18, 2011

    by Meliha

    After applying, how long the effects last?
    Also, are those two methyl ingredients safe?

  • September 18, 2011

    by hopeinablog

    Bee Venom has been a hit in Asian skincare 2 years back, and it is getting really popular together with Snail Slime!

    http://hope-inablog.com/a-c-cure/2010-unique-cosmetic-ingredients-a-huge-hit/

  • September 16, 2011

    by Junko

    Good point Jaysie ~ but I know you're a Mask LOVER! I have enough masks to wear a different one every nite of the week * and often do!

  • September 16, 2011

    by Jaysie

    I'd be very reluctant to use this as a leave-on because of those 2 methyl- preservatives.

  • September 14, 2011

    by Junko

    Thank you Deborah & Marta * Glad to see that the mask made it into the TIA store !! I'll be ordering !!

  • September 14, 2011

    by justd

    Ok, this one sounds like a product that I can JustDfy buying! It gets so challenging trying to figure out what to choose Marta! Who can ever decide which ones to buy and what to try, what a dilemma :)

    Thank you for something else to ponder. Bee Venom, who ever wulda thunk'it?

  • September 14, 2011

    by Jennifer

    Hi Deborah,
    So...you do not use the bee venom mask as a mask anymore? How do you use it? On top of your serum & moisturizer? As a replacement of your serum and/or moisturizer? Once a day? Any clarification would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

  • September 14, 2011

    by deborah mitchell

    hello everyone thank you for using and trying my bee venom mask , you all are right its great to use daily close to your skin, the effects are immediate but they do continue to work too, i never use as a mask any more i feel its too precious to wash off, thank you for all your comments. i would love you to try more of my range of organic skincare , my divine cream works really quickly too , it uses orange oils to increase collagen. the result is your face changes as if you have been airbrushed .

  • September 14, 2011

    by Marta

    Transatlantic negotiations are being conducted furiously, so watch this space. Euro/dollar exchange rate isn't helping. But I think we should be able to get both sizes and offer a pre-order special price for all our newsletter subscribers.

  • September 14, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Thank you, Marta, for reporting back on Heaven's mask! I do like the sound of this one. My instinct would be to use the mask alone against the skin as you have for best results. I also like the two sizes; I'm hoping the $89 one you cited is the larger? I don't use masks often and have only found two (among perhaps a dozen tried) I like well enough to recommend: iQ Derma's Glacial and Tilvee's Pomegranate. Your saying you can leave your face alone after rinsing Heaven's off is what makes me want to try this. Nice! ~jk

  • September 13, 2011

    by Jennifer

    I actually sent an email to the folks at Heaven ( the company), asking for clarification on how to use it. Although I received an email confirming ypthat my inquiry was received, I as of yet, have not received an answer. My inclination is to use it as a mask, as Marta has.

  • September 13, 2011

    by Marta

    Yes Junko the directions are all very confusing. I saw the over-serums instructions as well and tried it out and 1) it felt as if I had way too much on my face 2)I don't know enough bee venom to be sure that it wouldn't counteract something else in another product 3)the jar itself says use on its own as a mask and rinse off. In the end, I went with the jar.

  • September 13, 2011

    by Junko

    I ditto Kim's comments! Surely you'll convince them that TIA is the best US DISTRIBUTION site for them. The US is a big market, maybe we should boycott (wink, wink) until they sell thru TIA...

  • September 13, 2011

    by kim

    Very Cool! Thanks Marta. Also, I saw that it comes in two sizes. So if you do end up partnering with them, I'm putting my vote in for the smaller size too! That way we can save a little and try it out first.

    xoxo
    kim

  • September 13, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Kim and Junko, Heaven kindly sent my sample. As far as I know it isn't distributed in the US. We are emailing and calling them right now to see if we can have some for the TIA store.

  • September 13, 2011

    by Junko

    Marta, I just went back and read the comments from the intro article of the mask and Connie a commenter wrote that she puts it on and leaves it on. I then went to the Heaven website and the instructions for the mask also say to apply it OVER a moisturizer and leave it on. What would you say to testing it this way and does it's consistency make this method of application viable?

  • September 13, 2011

    by Junko

    Marta,

    Will you be selling this in the TIA Store??

  • September 13, 2011

    by kim

    Marta,

    Where did you purchase this mask?

Have You Tried Royal Nectar Face Mask with Bee Venom?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Royal Nectar Face Mask with Bee Venom below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Royal Nectar Face Mask with Bee Venom

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...