Free shipping on all orders over $39

How to use Folligen

Our Rating: 0 stars

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
February 9, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 17 Comments
Folligen is a copper peptide treatment for helping hair grow - whether thinning or aging hair on the head, sparse eyelashes or moth-eaten eyebrows. The great thing is that it works and it comes at a great price ($18.69). The bad news is that it is a rather alarming turquoise color and Skin Biology (the maker of it) doesn't provide any instructions (or even list of ingredients on the bottle).

I get letters all the time from readers who have bought it at the TIA store, essentially saying now what? So, this is your Folligen go to post. Using Folligen for head hair is fairly straightforward. Just rub it in to the scalp - either all over or just where needed. No it does not stain your hair or make your skin turquoise. It does, however, rub in much more easily if the skin is damp so the best time to use it is after washing and before drying the hair. Skin Biology recommends using it every three or four days at first to ensure it doesn't irritate. As you build up a tolerance, you can increase it to every other day and then every day over a period of, say, 10 days. I didn't have any problems with it and was able to use it every other day from the get go.

Folligen works a treat on eyelashes and brows and we made a video to show the best way to apply it.



How does it work:

Copper’s ability to assist in hair growth was discovered when it was noticed that the hair follicles around treated wounds were exceptionally large. It seems to work on the follicle in two ways: increasing follicle cell proliferation increased follicle size; and copper also decreases programmed follicle cell death, which results in smaller follicles. More on copper peptides and hair growth.

Ingredients in Folligen cream:

Purified water, squalane, octyl palmitate, PEG-100 stearate (glycerol stearate + PEG-100 stearate), cetyl alcohol, copper peptides (hydrolyzed soy protein and copper chloride), stearic acid, saw palmetto oil, allantoin, polypropylene glycol, diazolinydinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, herbal fragrance, tocopheryl acetate, retinyl palmitate, ergocalciferol

Check out other TIA videos on our YouTube channel!
Buy Me
$ 17.50
Was $ 21.00
  • February 24, 2017

    by Carol

    My concern is about the use of eye products which were intended for eyebrows & recommending the same products for eye lashes without the label saying so. The eyes are very delicate. I would never recommend using eyebrow serum on eyelashes unless it specifically says so through the company's research. The risk is too great i.e., eye problems, loss of lashes allergic reactions, etc..... From a nurse with experience!!!!

  • October 15, 2013

    by Lucy

    Does this work if you have lost all the hair on head and body?

  • October 5, 2012

    by wordsmith

    Has anyone noticed an increase in shedding after using folligen for blondes? Seems like the opposite of its intended effect. I put it on at night and in the morning when I shower I seem to shed a ton more hair than when I haven't applied the folligen...

  • September 16, 2010

    by marta

    Elyse, the idea is to rub Folligen into your scalp. It won't rub off or stain.

  • September 15, 2010

    by elyse

    can you leave follicle on overnight- and if you do is there risk of it rubbing on your face from the pillow?

  • June 14, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Lori, yes upper and lower lashes.

  • June 13, 2010

    by Lori

    Marta
    Your video shows you applying it to the lower lashes only. Do you use it on the upper as well?

  • February 13, 2010

    by marta

    Debbie, I haven't used Folligen for blondes because in my experience Folligen doesn't stain blonde hair (I am blonde with highlights).

  • February 11, 2010

    by marta

    Emu oil first.

  • February 10, 2010

    by Deborah

    Marta,
    Fair questions - but I did check both. I use Firefox/Mozilla. I try to avoid I/E and youtube videos doesn't require it...I did try going directly to YouTube and downloaded it there. Weird.

    Per my second question, are you still thinking it's optimal to team Folligen with Emu oil?

    Thanks!

  • February 10, 2010

    by marta

    Deborah. Works for me. There is a volume slider on the YouTube player and then you have one on your computer. Did you check both. Sorry to ask.... Otherwise, what browser are you using?

  • February 9, 2010

    by Deborah

    Me again...one more question...since I can only take so many nights a week with goop on my hair, are you still recommending teaming up emu oil AND folligen for a stronger punch? If so, does it matter which you apply first?
    Thanks!

  • February 9, 2010

    by Deborah

    Marta,
    What an adorable video! However, I can see you're talking but I am not getting any sound. Has anyone else had that problem? I have checked my volume button, of course :)

    I was hoping to get your thoughts on applying to upper lashes and it looks as though you do speak to that issue.
    Thanks,
    Deborah

  • February 9, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Pam
    There are a couple of approaches to emu oil. But most people seem to use a dose that's about the size of quarter and rub it into the scalp at bedtime. Once a week it can be rubbed all over the hair and scalp and left on as a mask for 20 minutes or so before shampooing.

  • February 9, 2010

    by Pam

    Thanks for the video! Upon your recommendation on this blog I have been using Folligen on my brows, and they have been growing more hair.
    I have also been applying emu oil, but could you please comment on how to apply it, and how much to use?

  • February 9, 2010

    by Ines

    Hi Marta,
    Thank you for that video. I have been using folligen as a part of my morning routine for a month in my eyelashes and I have to say WOW! it really works! My eyelashes are so thick and loooooooong. this is one of the best products ever and you cant beat the price, uh?

  • February 9, 2010

    by Debbie Boone

    Does Folligen for Blondes work as good as the original? I have dyed blonde hair and was concerned that the original Folligen would turn my hair green. Have you tried the Folligen for Blondes?

Have You Tried Skin Biology Folligen Cream?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Skin Biology Folligen Cream below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Skin Biology Folligen Cream

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...