Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Hyalogic Episilk- a range that focuses on hyaluronic acid

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
October 26, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 20 Comments
However much I am attracted to long complex lists of ingredients – whether by greed or wisdom, you decide – it is sometimes wonderfully refreshing to see a company make products with formulations that are short and sweet. Hyalogic is one such company. Its focus is hyaluronic acid (or its salt, sodium hyaluronate) and its Episilk range of skincare products ensure that this powerful moisturizer isn’t messed up by much else.

Striking in its simplicity, for example, is Episilk IFL Serum ($28.89). This has Pepha-Tight (something that forms a film over the skin to give it an instant tight feel, but also has antioxidant benefits) and not much else apart from zinc glyconate, vitamin C and lactoperoxidase. Similarly, in FRS Serum ($35.31), sodium hyaluronate shares pride of place with Argireline, aloe vera and wheat extract.

Hyalogic is so obsessed with hyaluronic acid that it even makes it for pets. Yet why its sodium hyaluronate is better than anyone else’s is anyone’s guess since all Hyalogic has to say is that it is of a “high molecular weight". I imagine that this refers to the company’s oral supplements (it is believed oral HA helps stiff joints) and there is not much information on its website about its skincare products. Still, we do know that sodium hyaluronate (or hyaluronic acid) is a good thing.

Hyaluronic Acid holds up to 1000 times its weight in water. When applied topically to the skin it can reach deep down into the dermis to combine with, maintain and attract water, as well as to promote skin/blood microcirculation and nutrient absorption and maintain normal metabolism.

Nothing beats Episilk PHA ($34.99) for simplicity. This is HA in a base of water, and that’s it. I may have just found the perfect conductor for the microcurrent machines that I am currently testing.

Ingredients in IFL Serum:

Water, Pepha-Tight, sodium hyaluronate, zinc glyconate, xanthan gum, vegetable glycerin, vitamin A, citric acid, glucose, lactoperoxidase, glucose oxidase

Ingredients in FRS:

Water, Argireline, vegetable glycerin, hyaluronic acid, xanthan gum, aloe vera juice, lactoperoxidase, glucose oxidase, wheat extract, asian ginseng, Echinacea.
  • February 11, 2011

    by marta

    I've only tried the pure hyaluronic and it is good. But Ageless Jen reviewed one of the others and didn't love it: http://truthinaging.com/face/hyalogic-episilk-frs-reader-reviewed

  • February 10, 2011

    by Stephanie

    Marta,
    Do you have a preference a particular one of the three by Episilk?

    Thanks,
    Stephanie

  • November 4, 2010

    by Jennifer

    I meant Lipotec, not "Looted"...Droid autofills words for me & I don't always catch the errors! Sorry!

  • November 3, 2010

    by Jennifer

    Lipotec's brochure on Argireline. Looted is the biotech company which developed Argirline. Interesting science! http://www.lipotec.com/archivos/Argireline_E.pdf

  • October 29, 2010

    by Debra P

    I like the simplicity of this and the antioxidants. I would love to try this out and offer my opinion. I would love to see if it works on the fine lines around my mouth. Need some help with those laugh lines.

  • October 29, 2010

    by Eileen

    Hi Marta, i would absolutely love to try the Hyalogic Episilk face mask. I have been looking high and low for a good mosturizing mask and would welcome the opportunity to give this one a test run. Promise to write a honest review. Thanks, Eileen

  • October 28, 2010

    by Naheed

    Hi Martha,
    I would love to try IFL or FRS serum. For the simple reason that I never got "picked"...lol
    I like their HA serum.

  • October 28, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Sharon, I have bought stuff at Platinum. As you say, its a very useful site. I also liked their blemish cream. http://truthinaging.com/face/reviewed-and-recommended-acne-and-oily-skin-control-from-platinum

  • October 28, 2010

    by Sharon

    Hi Marta, I've just begun to hear about this line from Episilk and would like to try the IFL serum. I order some products from a site called Platinum skincare and if you can, check it out as they have some good potions to add to your own moisturizers. Tell me what you think of their site.

  • October 28, 2010

    by fastbluebunny

    I would like to review the FRS serum. My main complaint is about nasal-labial lines, and according to the firm's website, that serum is designed to "relax expression lines."

  • October 27, 2010

    by Jennifer

    I would love to try the FR5 serum & pinky promise to provide an honest review!
    As it turns out, I am almost out of the serum (Nuskin Ageloc), that I've been using for several months, so the timing is perfect for trying something new!

  • October 27, 2010

    by Pat Watters

    I'd love a product that leaves my face feeling clean, without being tight or leaving it flaky!

  • October 27, 2010

    by Kerry

    Oh, and also, what do you think of their two sunscreens?

  • October 27, 2010

    by Kerry

    Marta,
    I've just looked at the website for Dermaceutic and I doesn’t look like they sell their products from the site, how did you get yours?

  • October 27, 2010

    by Asya

    I've just looked, but unfortunately I have thrown the packages of Dermaceutic. I remember the ingredients were pretty "clean" concerning the usual suspects of preservatives, fillers,etc. Besides the active ingredients there isn't much more. But they've got the perfect balance in the formula and simply work - just disappear in the skin and leave it plump and glowing; the effects last all day long and there's not a breakout in sight - very gentle, even with the Vit C serum(25% concentration). Prior to this my skin has never supported vitamin c serums, getting red and itchy - now it is actually feeling like it's been hydrated and it looks tighter, smoother and glowing.
    Pricewise their products are around the 30 euros mark, which makes them an unbeatable staple - hyalorinic acid and vit c for the day and glycolic serum (which also is very light and pleasant on the skin). They work very well with other products on top and never flake. Difficult to find any disadvantages, really.

  • October 27, 2010

    by Mark

    I've found most all of the products with hyaluronic acid near the top of the ingredient list perform well for me. The Hyalogic line sounds good.
    Thanks to Asya for sharing what also sounds like another good find. Hope you can review it too, Marta.

  • October 27, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Asya, this does look interesting. Are these the entire ingredients? I'm assuming not, but can't find anymore information on the website.

  • October 27, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Valerie

    I think New Beauty may have copied us. We ran this article a couple of months ago http://truthinaging.com/body/moisturizers-are-they-harmful-to-the-skins-natural-hydration And, if you don't mind me saying, did a better job ;)

  • October 27, 2010

    by Valerie

    Hi Marta,
    I would love if you could comment on this article I ready yesterday on the NewBeauty website blog, Daily Beauty. It says that moisturizer is not great for your skin. I would love if you could recommend the best way to moisturize and obviously sunscreen.

    http://www.newbeauty.com/dailybeauty/entry.aspx?id=3870

  • October 27, 2010

    by Asya

    Hey Marta,

    speaking about hyaluronic acid, I wanted to share for some time this great brand I fell upon, which also specialises in short and very well targeted ingredients lists, starting with hyaluronic acid. It is called Dermaceutic and it is based in Ireland. Apparently they started as a niche brand, specialising in post-aesthetic surgery treatments. I first started using their Hyalceutic cream, which has 5,5% hyaluronic acid, 10% aloe vera, 4% shea butter and 2,5% jojoba oil. It is just incredible how this cream feels and its effect on the skin. Supposedly it is the cream with the highest H. acid content on the European market. I've been using it for a year now as a hydrating base and it is by far the best moisturiser I have ever used. Their product range is also quite short, but equally impressive judged by its results - I am also using the Vitamin C serum (Methylsilanol ascorbate 25%, Vitamin A, Vitamins B and B5, Vitamine E, Polyphénols), glycolic acid serum (15%) and K Ceutic (Vit K complex).
    All is really good stuff - simple, but so good to wear and really doing its job. I think you and TIA might be interested. Here's their website: http://www.dermaceutic.com
    Asya

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...