Free shipping on all orders over $39

Hydrolyze- is it a scam

Is a Solution for:
Dark Circles
Reviewed by Marta December 21, 2009 36 Comments

If you've been listening to the radio recently, you may well have been assaulted by ads for a miracle cream for dark under eye circles called Hydrolyze and you may even have been tempted to go for the so-called 30-day free trial. With more than a whiff of a scam about it, we just had to know more. What is Hydrolyze anyway? Is it likely to work? Who is behind it? And what's with the 'free trial'? The answers threw up some surprises including Russian dolls, the KGB and Yul Brinner.

For a start, the free trial looks a lot like the dodgy set up used by the OOKISA hair thickening system. The idea is that you give Hydrolyze your credit card details to cover a nominal shipping cost. You then have 30 days to return the two jars of eye cream or you will be charged $69.95 every 30 days thereafter. One thing I will say is that the terms and conditions are much more prominent than is the case for OOKISA and Hydrolyze sensibly requires you to check a box to accept them before checking out. To reach this stage, however, you will have submitted your email address; I had received an email saying "Marta, come back and get your Hydrolyze order for just $1" before I'd finished writing this post.

Of course, the ingredients list for Hydrolyze is nowhere to be found on the website. What we are told is that the active ingredient is Haloxyl. In fact, Haloxyl is made up of hydroxysuccinimide, chrysin, palmitoyl oligopeptide and palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3 (these peptides are Matrixyl 3000) and it can also be found in my favorite eye cream, Correct by Your Best Face (a product that, incidentally, cleared by my hairdresser's dark circles). Haloxyl does seem plausible since the two color degradation elements in hemaglobin are bilrubin and iron. Chrysin, from passionflower, stimulates the enzyme that clears out bilrubin while hydroxysuccinimide makes the iron soluble so that it can be eliminated.

After some foraging, I found what I think is the full ingredients list (although the order looks a bit weird and includes the formula for another product by the same company called Hydroxatone Complex). Again, rather like OOKISA, the scammy used car salesmanship obscures what, on the face of it, is not at all bad. In fact, with the peptides and various antioxidants such as green tea, pomegranate and  grape, it looks pretty good. A useful addition is hydrocotyl, which is gotu kola. According to research done by The University of Maryland Medical Center, some studies indicate that triterpenoids found in gotu kola strengthen the skin, boost antioxidants in wounds, and increase blood supply to the area.

Try to find out who owns Hydrolyze and you come across a complex structure of companies within companies, like corporate Russian dolls. Hydrolyze is owned by Hydroxatone LLC, which in turn is owned by a company called Belleza Products LLC. The company also makes Bellaplex (another product with a colorful ownership history). Bellaplex says names Urban Nutrition LLC as its owner. UN also makes PetChews, anti-aging supplments for your kitty or pooch.

Urban Nutrition's website says the company was was established in March of 2001 "to create a web presence for the highly sought after original products formulated and patented by world-renowned Scientist, Physicist and Medical Doctor, Hans A. Nieper, of Hannover, Germany".

Hilariously, it goes on to say: "Dr. Nieper's former patients include Princess Caroline of Monaco, John Wayne, Yul Brynner, Anthony Quinn, Russian & German party leaders and many other worldwide dignitaries. He consulted with former President Ronald Regan, and he has been contracted to consult for the KGB and NASA many times".

Dr Nieper died in 1998 and, if the stories about him are true, was clearly barking mad. He treated cancer patients by removing them from physical locations that he deemed harmful and called "geopathagenic zones". His writings covered subjects such as the "shielding theory of gravity" and the potential for harnessing useful energy from space, which he referred to as the "tachyon field".

Hydrolyze is fronted by a doctor called Michael Fiorillo, who appears to be registered in Pearl River, New Jersey. Compared to Dr Nieper, he is disappointingly boring.

Ingredients:

Haloxyl: Water, Glycerin, Steareth-20, Hydroxysuccinimide, Chrysin, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3.

Hydroxatone Complex™: Water (Aqua), Soy Lecithin Phospholipids (Phospholipon 80), Matrixyl™ 3000 (Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Aqua, Carbomer, Polysorbate-20, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide and Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3. Hyaluronic Acid, Argirelene (Aceyl hexpeptide-3), Pomegrante (Punica Granatum) extract, Green tea (camellia sinensis) extract, Grape Seed (Vitis Vinifera) extract, Pine Bark (Pinus sylvestris) extract, DMDM hydantoin, lodopropynl Butylcarbomate), Cyclomethicone, Octyl Isononanote, Urea,

Base: Water, Extract of Punica Granatum, Camelia Senesis, Grape Seed, Pine Bark, Soy Lecithin Phospholipids, Phenyltrimethicone, Cetyl Dimethicone CoPolyol, Dimethicone CoPolyol, Hydrocotyl Extract, Coneflower Extract, Cetyl Esters, Tocopheryl Acetate, Asorbyl Palmitate, Ubiquinone (CoEnzyme Q10), Retinyl almitate, Methylparaben, Popylparaben, Imidazolidinyl Urea.

  • April 1, 2017

    by Jacqueline

    I'm curious to buy but still Following the conversation

  • December 26, 2016

    by Glenda

    Hello,
    I'd like to call on all of you who believed you have been scammed by this company Hydrolize 90.. to make a submission to Consumer Affairs so this company can be investigated.. they cannot just keep taking money from your account and get away with it better still..if there's a lot of us we can form a class action lawsuit against this company...like in the US all those who are scammed were refunded as they win the lawsuit....email me on glenfortuna2015@yahoo.com.au any details you may have about the company..where did you return the product, the bank should have the details who took your money this will all help so keep it handy in reporting to Consumer affairs..if there's no investigation this company will keep on doing this and getting rich of their scam.

  • December 26, 2016

    by Glenda

    I say they are a SCAM the business that run HYDROLIZE 90..I stumbled on them associating their AD in a Brad Pitt and Jolie marriage break down, while reading the news their AD is somehow done cunningly as part of the story the reason why Angelina so busy cos of her personal business being the HYDROLIZE,..and now she allowing people to have a try with only $1.99 postage.. there I was caught in the scam after providing my card details I read the review and found out about their scam..so I cancelled straight away not even 10 minutes cancellation was confirmed.....then after a few minutes after I cancelled I received an email advise that my order was shipped...SURE enough after 5 days I got it in the mail and I returned it straight away...AFTER a month I got billed on my account $97.95....HYROLIZE IS A TOTAL SCAM "WARNING" DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM EVER..your card will become a money pit to them...and very difficult to get out of it.

  • September 21, 2016

    by Ruth booij

    Where can you buy this without signing up for the deal

  • August 11, 2016

    by Vickie

    This is a scam in that when I tried to contact their 'Customer Support" centre to cancel future shipments, my email failed 3 times. I eventually rang them, but had to leave a message. The next payment came out of my account, I then received an email to say my order had been cancelled, but received no product for my last payment. SCAM!!!!

  • July 14, 2016

    by Teresa

    I had the same experience as some of you. I signed up on a special so I got the Bellaflex for free. Sure its free because they make you pay double and instead of paying on the payment plan they took out the full payment. So I argued for them to put the money back because I had other bills to pay but they said well its paid now so don't worry about it. but a fortnight later more money came out. the payment plan. OMG they must have thought I was made of money. I argued that they put the money back, sure was the answer, the same as last time, I give them all the information but it made no difference because can you guess what happened a fortnight later??? Yep they took money out as per the payment plan. so that means I paid double for my special deal. They will never get my business again.
    The cream does work but no where near as fast as they say or as seen on tv. There should be laws that stop the bs like this on TV and Dr OZ should be told of the complaints. that disclosure he does shouldn't stop him from being part of the problem.

  • May 24, 2016

    by Patsy

    This is an interesting take....I've been using Hydroxatone for about 8 years. First trough their subscription service, then I started buying it on other commercial sources. I had NO problem stopping the home delivery, and within a month -5 weeks, The 11's between my eyes disappeared. That was the primary reason I thought I'd give it a try... I've used the microdermabrasion system also. It really made a difference. My skin is dry to slightly oily around my nose. I've had NO issues with this product. My skin feels amazing and the fine lines and wrinkles have practically disappeared.. I say - try it.

  • April 11, 2016

    by robyn

    phew nearly got carried away with free trial offer had agut feeling toooooo good to be true glad i found your info

    thank you

  • April 11, 2016

    by Susan

    I belive Dr Oz is honest. I have heard him say many times that he does not allow his name to be used without his say-so and spends a good deal of time and money fighting to see that his name is not used without his consent. It must be very difficult and I dont think for a moment he needs the money with his popular shows. I imagine he is fighting this lot as we write.

  • March 5, 2016

    by Michelle

    This is a scam. Do not sign up for any free gifts.
    I did and have been charged $70usd per product which is apparently only half the cost. I have today been charged another $70 per product to cancel the subscription I did not sign up for. If I did not pay the 2nd $70 they would keep charging me every month - their words, so not only was I extorted I was also black mailed.
    I researched on line before taking the free gift as was well aware of scams and didn't find anything so they must have a way of removing comments.
    I feel like a total idiot and would you believe they still kept trying to sell me products when I rang to complain and cancel. Also the call centre in the background had heaps of calls going on with customers disputing. The staff obviously have a very low moral compass to work there.

  • February 13, 2016

    by Lydia

    I ordered this product in October. Their system is somehow rigged to make you order twice. So I have been attacked with packages with a product that does not work. I have 9 bottles of a product that has not worked in 1 day, 2 days, 3 days etc etc. Yet when I call them to return or cancel at least the 2nd order clicked in error they will not allow it. They've attacked my account every 30 days and have so far charged me 436.78 for 9 bottles which I do not want and which do not work. Now what I have to do is close my debit card and get a new one in order for them to stop charging me.

  • January 27, 2016

    by Marie stedman

    Never tried the product but how can so many unsatified customers be continuously charged for a product they don't like? So this makes me very uneasy to try this product

  • January 27, 2016

    by Marie

    R u serious dr oz gets kickbacks !!!!! I admired him now I don't know who or what to believe!!:(

  • January 21, 2016

    by Dotti

    I have learnt the hard way. Always find out about the product by researching first.
    Just go to your search engine and yes there is always someone who will expose the truth and save you a lot of heartache and money.

  • December 6, 2015

    by esther rose

    Its a big scam, that you cannot get your money back, as soon as they ask your card for shipping payment 7.95 you will received the product with no invoice then every month they take out money from my credit cards $110.00. I have to cancel my card !.. and cannot get refund.

  • November 6, 2015

    by melissa

    I read clearly in the ordering process somewhere that they will charge monthly so I stopped but they already had my email and now send me weekly come back messages, I also got a ph call this morning and told her NO ive changed my mind. cant believe they got my email and ph number even though I didn't finish ordering ... But has anyone actually tried this product as its available through reputable sources.

  • June 23, 2015

    by Cyril

    I backed off as soon as they said they would not accept a prepaid credit card, you have confirmed my suspicions with the ongoing payments. Thanks.

  • April 1, 2015

    by Diane

    I think we need to ask Oprah where she found Dr Oz as it appears to me he may be getting kickbacks from these schemers. Amazing how a medical doctor would align himself with companies that are obviously ripping people off.
    Thank goodness I read your site as I was considering ordering the free trial product.

  • March 31, 2015

    by Frances

    Sad to read all the bad experiences with this company especially since I've had the opposite experience. I ordered them for a 30 day free trial for $1.99 but with my busy life I forgot to use the products. Called back within my 30 days to cancel and the lady I spoke with named Sarah actually extended my 30 day free trial. Needless to say I didn't see myself paying $141.89 every 2 months for this so I cancelled, no problem. Of course they were trying to offer me everything to stay but I'm just not willing to pay this kind of money regardless if it worked or not. But it was still a pleasant experience no hassles, no scam.

  • March 26, 2015

    by Adrienne L.

    So glad I stumbled on this site. I was going to buy the products mentioned for my skin and now you saved me. The same scam happened to me with the whoop-de-doo Garcinia Cambogia weight loss sensation! I eventually had to cancel my credit card and get a new one because the tablets kept arriving...and from more than the one company I had ordered from! The companies who sent product and deducted payment from my card were Chinese but untraceable.

    I am now MORE THAN sceptical about Dr Oz because he is involved with both the skin products AND the weight loss Garcinia products. I have no knowledge about how he gets involved with these products, but his endorsements are worthless and I am going to try and contact him personally. Wish me luck on that! Being in Australia, I don't know how I am going to achieve the contact at this stage.

    The worst part of the whole thing is that nowhere in the registration and payment process for either the skin product or the weight product is there any mention of on-going supply and automatic credit card payments and I couldn't contact the company because the only information available was from a product forwarding company. Eventually I gave up chasing the lost money.
    This is all very frustrating and disappointing, but then, what I SHOULD have remembered is that old saying "If it looks too good to be true, it most probably IS too good to be true"!

  • February 28, 2015

    by Charrisse

    This is the biggest scam around. At first the free trial seems tempting because all you would pay is for shipping (7.95). Within 1 day, they charged me $231.00 for a 4 month supply w/c I never agreed to do and I haven't even received the product yet. They still charged my card and if I return the product w/a tracking number is when they will reimburse my money. I opt not to try the product based on how they run their business. Don't buy it! Its a trap to get you to pay your hard earned money for a product I heard that doesn't work.

  • July 20, 2014

    by Helen

    I take this moment to thank you all for being brave enough to let us all know the truth about this product. I was about to make the mistake until I found this site as well as many others stating the same negative information.
    My sincere thanks to all.

  • July 13, 2014

    by jenny

    They did the same thing to me. They said I will only pay $1.99 and just cancel after I receive product. The lady said "you have nothing to lose, only $1.99. I received my package and when I called to cancel and say I only want my free(1.99) trial the man says read the fine print you have one week to send product back to us or you will be charged $143.00 for two months. They get people to return product in order to not be charged and they sell your returned product to their next victim. Hydrolyze is deffinatly a scam. BEWARE OF HYDROLYZE!! OH and the free (ha ha) $100 gas vouchers and American express cards with $40 on them, that's supposedly a thanks for trying their product. Its all too good to be true. Don't learn the hard way. Do your research first.

  • December 12, 2013

    by Linda

    Oh yea, I was a sucker for the FREE trial..I was expecting a SMALL "sample" of Hydrolyze and Hydroxatone, Boy what a DA I am. When they came, there were two full size jars of each product. To me, that's not a sample. Don't be suckered in on this BS. I've learned my expensive lesson.... I today have cancelled any future dealing with this company...we'll see how well they due with holding up their end of the bargain of cancellation. I do know good legal representation. I too was going to write a letter complaining. But, to WHOM would it go? And you can tell no one cares.......it's all about the money. I even threatened to close my checking account, the CR just said I would be sent to collections. HA HA. Again, LESSON LEARNED.

  • January 6, 2013

    by Nila Atkins

    I saw the ad for a free trial of Hydrolize, and called to see about getting it. I was fine with it untill they said that a $7.95 S&H was needed. Excuse me! I saw nothing about this in the ad. This is misleading and fraudulent. Free means free. Glad that I didnt give them any money or any credit card info. They can keep their so called free product. My advice dont do business with this company. They dont sound too honest to me.

  • August 16, 2012

    by Kim

    I took advantage of the $1.99 free trial offer - with credit card waited a few days, saw the problems everyone was having and cancelled my credit card and ordered a new one which I got in 7 days - no problem - I got my order of bellaplex and hydroxytone about 8 weeks later ...... so I actually did get them both for $1.99 - but I guess not everyone will go to this extreme but if you are having trouble - simple just cancel your card and order another. cant charge a card that no longer exists. Good luck

  • July 23, 2011

    by m. mooney

    Whatever happened o "Truth in Advertising"?????

  • June 25, 2011

    by Christi

    Thank you for the information. My mom called me yesterday wanting me to order some for her and I decided to research it first. I was going to buy her a jar off e-bay but instead i'm going to print this out and show it to her when I go visit tonight.

  • October 5, 2010

    by Jean Malloy

    I called for the Hydolize sample because I wanted to try the under-eye product. I was sent a product for the entire face. The inserts advertized other products, including theunder-eye cream. Why wasn't I sent the product I order(The under-eys cream) I sent it back, and had them to return my money.

  • September 29, 2010

    by Monica V

    What ever you do, DO NOT BUY THIS CREAM! They are a scam. You will have a very hard time stopping your charges from them. I agree with Robin, FILE a report with the post office fraud unit, call your credit card company and tell them to block any charges from this scam company, call your Congressional members office and let them do something about it for you (it is part of their job), and if there are any lawyers out there, what about a class action law suit?
    All the best luck! Monica

  • August 4, 2010

    by Robin Elizabeth Wolfson

    Dear Hydrolyze Victims:

    FILE MAIL FRAUD COMPLAINTS HERE:

    https://postalinspectors.uspis.gov/forms/MailFraudComplaint.aspx

    POWER TO THE CONSUMERS

    Yes, I got suckered, too. In this case, I ordered the free trial — and ONLY the free trial, then sent an e-mail canceling the order (on Friday, message most likely received Monday). But gosh, Monday is exactly day the little time bomb was delivered.

    So I called Hydrolyze to ask how to return it. What bothered me most was the bill for 139.90 for the free trial. When I called the company about returning it, I talked with "Mark" who told me to send the product back marked "RETURN TO SENDER" along with a "Return Materials Authorization" from Hydrolyze which he gave me and which I later received by e-mail AND a delivery confirmation number from the post office. Most importantly, I was told to get a delivery confirmation from the post office.

    Well, today (two days after receipt) I talked to the post office manager named Pam, and a very nice helpful lady. (We are in the low foothills of the California Sierra Nevada mountains and, at least socially, everyone seems very helpful and polity.) Anyhow, Pam told me that I should come in and she'd process the return. No problem, right?

    WRONG!
    On further research into Hydroxytone/Hydrolyze, I checked into their FAQ page in the "Ordering, Return & Shipping" section, subsection: "How do I Return a Product" on their FAQ page (http://www.hydrolyze.tv/faq.html#f3.12, I discovered the statement that "We will not process or refund packages marked "Return to Sender."

    Okay, so is "Mark" right or is their FAQ page right? The word "Mark" is in quotes because a number of other victims report speaking to a "Mark." Are ALL their customer service staff named Mark?

    Finally today (Wednesday, 8/04/2010) I realized that what we have on our hands is one giant case of mail fraud:

    They don't charge what they said they would charge. I mean, really, a bill for $139.90 for a free sample?

    So, do we have a case for mail fraud? We will if all of you file a Mail Fraud claim with the Office of Postal Inspectors. We need to generate as many claims as possible, so please pass the word. In the meantime, I'll be calling the postal inspector and filing a claim for mail fraud. I'll also visit the various complaint sites and leave this same message.

    It's definitely time to rise up about getting so thoroughly ripped off. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at rwolfson@datastep.com. After Enron and all the following “discoveries” about the subsequent stories about what is basically the looting of the United States and the citizens of America, I think it’s high time for a grass roots movement to start protesting and acting in our own defense, DON’T YOU?

  • January 29, 2010

    by Nina

    I had earlier posted my comment on Hydrolyze. This is the only undereye cream that has worked for my undereye dark circles and wrinkles. I had tried so many undereye creams available at all the department store cosmetics counters. Hydrolyze is the only thing that has worked for my eyes.

  • December 31, 2009

    by Katherine

    Wow! Impressive work! Thanks for all the research this must have taken.I first ran into this particular marketing approach when I tried the "free" lessons from Video Professor. So annoying, they started sending me "lessons" on subjects I had no interest in. Had to put a stop to that. Told them how I felt about there dishonest selling practices. However, as far as the Ookisa is concerned, I was aware of this when ordered it. I must say my hair, which is long, has looked gorgeous ever since the first time I washed it with the shampoo and used the conditioner. I actually love this stuff and will reorder and continue to use it. Don't know if my hair will get thicker, but it sure is silky and shiny.

  • December 22, 2009

    by marta

    Thanks Niall. I still don't feel I've gotten to the bottom of it though. More to come, maybe.

  • December 22, 2009

    by aerwin

    Hysterical! Those ads are running rampant right now.

  • December 21, 2009

    by Niall

    This is quite a piece of sleuthing! Thanks.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...