Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Hydropeptide Cleansing Gel- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dull Skin, Oily Skin
August 10, 2011 Reviewed by Marta 15 Comments
Hydropeptide’s Cleansing Gel ($44 for 6.7 fl oz) does such a good job that I sometimes forget that I haven’t yet completed the rest of my regimen. My skin feels super smooth and soft and looks incredibly clean.  It removes makeup effectively and is one of the better open pore closers that I have come across. And it achieves this without being at all drying or stripping – in fact, the opposite. Hydropeptide’s Cleansing Gel is so nourishing and leaves my skin so glowing and comfortable that I almost don’t feel the need to put anything else on it.

Having said all that, there is one thing that got in the way of me liking this cleanser from the get go – the smell. I don’t know what’s behind it. Its kind of sour and musty and, even though I’m generally not super sensitive to smells, it almost caused me to give up on the product altogether. I stuck with it though and about three weeks on I am very glad that I did. Funnily enough, the smell isn’t so bad now – but whether it has dissipated or I have simply got used to it, I can’t really tell.

Hydropeptide Cleansing Gel is rubbed on to a dry face with wet hands. A small squirt is enough and, although $44 is pricey for a cleanser, the six ounces or so are likely to last a really long time. As well as cleansing, Hydropetide says the gel also acts as a toner and removes makeup. I can certainly attest to the latter as, poured directly on to a damp cotton ball, it removed some serious mascara with a couple of swipes and without stinging my eyes at all.

Massaging the cleanser on to dry skin makes a lot of sense as it has some ingredients that are serum-worthy. Most of these come together as something called Trylagen a combination of two peptides tripeptide 10 citrulline (which is relatively new and supposedly fools aging collagen fibers into thinking they should still be productive) and tripeptide-1, with pseudoaltermonas ferment (a collagen boosting bacteria), hydrolyzed wheat protein, and hydrolyzed soy protein). Trylagen seems to be particularly good at promoting collagen III.

Exfoliation is provided by apple and lactic acid, and toning by astringent witch hazel and geranium. Other useful ingredients include soothing chamomile, hydrating sodium hyaluronate, and antioxidant green tea.

Mercifully, Hydropeptide has chosen mild foaming agents, but there are a few things that I don’t like. PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate should not be used on broken skin and there are the potentially toxic preservatives triethanolamine and phenoxyethanol and the irritant, methylisothiazolinone.

Ingredients: Water, Decyl Glucoside, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Pyrus Malus (Apple Green) Extract, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Tripeptide-1, Tripeptide-10 Citrulline, Lactic Acid, Sebacic Acid, Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract, Calendula Officinalis (Marigold) Flower Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Geranium Maculatum Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Allantoin, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Coco-Glucoside, Glyceryl Oleate, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, 10-Hydroxydecanoic Acid, Lecithin, 1,10-Decanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Methylisothiazolinone
  • August 20, 2011

    by Teri

    Nice ingredients, but in a cleanser, don't they stay on your skin for no time at all? I'm sorry, but this review is hard to believe, Marta. I am 53 years old and according to others, look 38 years old - and a trained Beauty Therapist. Seems a lot of money to waste when products that stay on the skin would be a better investment.

  • August 19, 2011

    by NoeyD77

    Hey Dennis, the Clarisonic is a fave of mine as well. Sadly stress seems to be making the years not to mention the money I have spent trying to keep my complexion into a complete mockery! Usually in the am I use Shea Terra's African Lack Soap but my skin has been so crazy lately, I've been sticking to Bare Escentual's Purifying Cleanser, which btw was one of those shocker products I was surprised I liked. I used to be a huge Philosophy Purity Made Simple fan, but not really any longer, though I seem to have literally gallons of it from QVC orders...

  • August 19, 2011

    by Tina Jensen

    Hi Marta,

    It would be a pleasure and interesting opportunity to try the Hydrostem +6 serum. I am a serum junkie and always use a serum during the day before my moisturizer and/or sunscreen. As an aesthetician I am always eager to try new products and embrace new technology such as the use of stem cells. With the chock-full ingredient list, this product sounds very worthy of producing great results and I like the fact that the ingredient base is natural vs. chemical.

  • August 18, 2011

    by LIna Jacobson

    Hi Marta, I would love to compare the Hydrostem +6 from Hydropeptide. I've used Osmosis Stemfactor for a year now, and then having read your rave reviews and the additional anti-aging ingredients I broke down and bought the Reluma Stem product. I've been using that for the last two weeks. I know that at least 6 weeks is a fair amount of time but I've been seeing a firmer contour. So I'm pleased to say the least. Stem Cells are definitely an anti-aging ingredient that are going to be around, so as these companies start to compete, we get the benefits!

  • August 18, 2011

    by Mark

    The Hydrostem+6 Stem Cell Serum has an interesting ingredient list and I would love to give the stem cells a chance to work their magic on my skin!

  • August 18, 2011

    by Dennis

    Noey, there are some products here well out of my price range, but if something works for me, such as ReLuma and Clarisonic I would be selling it on the corner to buy.

    I'm curious to know which face wash you are using, Noey.

  • August 17, 2011

    by martina stephens

    Hi Marta,

    I would love to test this product: HydroStem + 6 Anti-Wrinkle Stem Cell Regeneration Serum

    thanks,
    Martina

  • August 17, 2011

    by Pam

    Marta, I would really like to try the Hydrostem+6. I'd do a half face test and comparison with the Osmosis StemFactor which I've already begun to use.

  • August 17, 2011

    by Kim

    clarification on above post - I have spoken to the company CEO in the past, not just now. They do stand behind their products.

  • August 17, 2011

    by Kim

    I would LOVE to try the Hydrostem + 6! I have been a user of their Anti-Wrinkle Cellular Transformation Serum for, at least, five years. And, it does more for me than the Re-Luma serum. I have spoken with the head of the company and I can only imagine that there is a very good chance this Hydrostem + 6 will be effective. I would love to report all the details of use and whatever effects I experience!
    Kim

  • August 17, 2011

    by tracy

    i'd like to try the serum. curious to see if stem cells make a difference..

  • August 17, 2011

    by Jennifer

    Marta, I would love to try their serum, as it sounds marvelous! I'm anxious to see if the extra high price is associated with increased efficacy, as I would invest the $$, if I see the results! Are you still using the cleansing gel? Curious to see how long the bottle lasts...

  • August 12, 2011

    by NoeyD77

    I couldn't possibly agree with you more Dennis! There is absolutely no reason to spend that amount of money on a cleanser. Though it may contain actives but they hardly remain on the skin long enough to be absorbed since you rinse it off! I noticed that with the more recent articles on recommended products, there's an underlying but concrete tone in which they are written is that the more expensive the product, the better it is.......no statement could possibly be more ludicrously inaccurate regarding this industry......btw no sarcastic tone meant at all!!!!

  • August 11, 2011

    by Dennis

    I really try to never put a price on my face, but I could never justify a $44 dollar face cleanser!

  • August 10, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    I've used Burt's Bees orange essense for so long that now it's time to find a new, good hydrating cleanser, I'm having a hard time- This is a timely post, Marta! I particularly like that it removes mascara without stinging. I seldom wear it, but when I do, I want it gone easily, as well. Thank you for addressing my needs so keenly... ~jk

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...