Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Hydropeptide Lash helps eyelashes grow -tested and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
July 28, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 13 Comments
A month or so ago, I was given Hydropeptide's Complete Eye and Lash Restoration Kit ($150). A lucky reader has the eye cream, which is supposed to be good for dark circles, to review and, in the meantime, I have been trying the eyelash growth product. I must admit that I applied it mechanically for a few weeks without bothering to take note if anything was happening. But three weeks into my trial, I found myself before the mirror and was struck at how black, long and healthy my lashes looked. I couldn't help but bat them.

I should add that I have a couple of little gaps on my lower lashes and Hydropeptide Lash has been slower at filling them in than it has been at improving existing lashes.

What I like best about it is that it does not contain the active ingredient, prostaglandin, which is used in products such as Revitalash, LiLash and Rapid Lash, and which can cause side effects. What it does have is plant stem cells and growth factors. Xylitylglucoside anhydroxylitol xylitol sounds like a song from Mary Poppins, but is in fact a sugar found in wheat and olives that really helps skin retain moisture and boosts the skin’s natural hyaluronic acid. It also improves the skin's barrier function increasing ceramide synthesis. Inositol, which is a vitamin B complex nutrient that has a direct impact on hair growth. Biotin is also associated with promoting hair growth.

There are also a couple of hexapeptides, synthetic peptides that behave like growth hormones. One growth factor, Octapeptide-2 may act as a stimulator of hair growth, at least in part by antagonizing the inhibitory effects of something called BMP4 on hair follicle development. It is also supposed to stop depigmentation in hair.

By the way, the first time I used Hydropeptide Lash, I found that it made my eyes water. It didn't really sting or hurt, but it was uncomfortable for about 20 minutes. Over the following days the period of discomfort reduced to a matter of minutes and then went away completely. UPDATE 2011: the peptide power of Hydropeptide Lash has been boosted and the ingredients listed below are the latest formulation

For 10% off subscribe to our newsletter

Ingredients in Hydropeptide Lash: Water (Aqua), Glycerin, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon Bioflavonoids) Peel Extract, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Myristoyl Hexapeptide-16, Octapeptide-2, Sodium Hyaluronate, Biotin, Folic Acid, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Hydroxyethylcellulose, 1, 2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium Phosphate, Disodium EDTA, 2-Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Phosphate, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Methylisothiazolinone, Tropolone, Sodium Hydroxide
  • September 5, 2016

    by Jessica

    Where do I buy this in Canada? Supposedly if you buy it off Amazon it's counterfeit.

  • November 6, 2012

    by Hawazen

    I have been using the product 3 weeks ago but am worried because am pregnant pls let me know if it has a side effects
    Thank you

  • May 30, 2012

    by Emilia

    Difficult decisions! I know I'm sensitive to many products, so I'm trying to err on the side of more natural products.
    Couple questions:
    -Based on Laura's 2009 comment...what would be a good place to test a product that would be skin sensitive like the eye area...just not as obvious if there were a reaction??
    -Has anyone reviewed Lashem or have any information on it??
    -Any reviews on Enormous Lash??

    Thanks!

  • April 25, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    I have just finished my third tube and am updating my feedback. Initially I had some results but I can definitely say that all in all it was a waste of money for me. I won't be reordering. I may try Reluma next.

  • February 26, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    An update on this. I am happy to report that I am now seeing results and I am also very happy with the fact that I have had no irritation. My brows (I have been using this on sparse areas) and lashes are thicker. Yay! Today I received Code.Ai Lash in my Marta pick sample box -be interesting to compare.

  • February 17, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    I am currently using this and prefer it to Rapid Lash. Results are however very slow. I have been using it now for about 3 weeks. Its non-irritating and I think my lashes look a wee bit longer. My brows seem fuller but all in all it could just be wishful thinking! I will persevere and be patient!

  • April 16, 2011

    by Charlotte

    I was wondering if you've tried Lashem Measurable Difference Lash Gel. The ingredients look intriguing:

    Purified Water (aqua), Glycerin, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Fruit Extract, Lycium Barbarum (Goji Berry) Fruit Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grapeseed) Extract, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminglycans, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Panthenol, Biotin, Allantoin, Peg-12 Glyceryl Dimyristate, Peg-23 Glyceryl Distearate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Sodium Chloride, Disodium EDTA, 1,2- Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tropolene

    I especially like the biotin and the peptides. Think it's worth a try?

  • January 30, 2011

    by JustD

    Just an update from a newbie, on this kit. I used the lash growth serum for a month, noticed longer lashes, but not much thickness. Grew a bit agitated, so moved up to Code:ai to see if that would amp up the progress a bit, going into my 3rd week now.

    As for the Eye Anti-wrinkle Dark Circle Concentrate, I wanted to use it to see if it would lessen the darkened areas I incurred from using Lilash, and I am happy to say my golden brown skin has been reclaimed in my eye area. This is a great product and as I had never had that problem before Lilash, I doubt that I will be buying it futuristically, but it is a wonderful product, it certainly worked well for me.

    I was a bit vexed about the Lash serum, as it wasn't even a full container and for the cost, I expect product. They gave me a 25% coupon off for my next purchase, but I'm waiting to see if Code:ai does more to enhance where it left off. I was a bit antsy, but the reviews from Code:ai were impressive, and I had lost all the growth I had gained after stopping the use of Lilash. So, we'll see what it looks like in full effect, 3 weeks from now.

    As before, thanks for all you do!

  • November 3, 2010

    by Little House

    Hey Marta-

    I love all your reviews on the eyelash growth products. They are very informative. From all your experiences so far with the existing and new products, which product is the BEST for mainly lengthening the eyelashes? Thank you so much!!

    Amber

  • November 2, 2010

    by Renae

    Laura's post concerns me because I seem to have sensitive skin. I bought hydropeptide lash and received it today. I put some on the inside of my arm for a patch test. Is there any where that would be better to test the product since skin around the eye is delicate? I previously used Revitalash with no burning or swelling; however a red line would appear like eyeliner.

  • November 24, 2009

    by Laura

    After reading your recommendation for Hydropeptide ($80) I decided to try it. I'm sorry to say that on the three occasions that I used it I woke up to swollen weepy eyes, so I must be allergic to some ingredient in the product. Interestingly, I have used an entire tube of LiLash ($140) without any problems and great results, but decided to switch because of the prostoglandins. I'm now trying RapidLash ( $50) without any problems and half the price, but will have to try for a few weeks to see if my long lashes flourish. My goal is to find a good product that will give me the results without the bad ingredients and without having to pay $100 or more

  • July 29, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Amber, the litmus test is which one would be a repeat buy and, if funds permit, that would be Hydropeptide. If not, then Folligen is the best value.

  • July 28, 2009

    by Amber

    Hey Marta-

    I love all your reviews on the eyelash growth products. They are very informative. From all your experiences so far with the existing and new products, which product is the BEST for mainly lengthening the eyelashes? Thank you so much!!

    Amber

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...