Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Jan Marini Age Intervention Eyelash Conditioner

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
November 19, 2007 Reviewed by Marta 7 Comments
A couple of months ago I noticed a well-known New York dermatologist raving in a magazine article about the miracle that is Jan Marini Age Intervention Eyelash Conditioner. To paraphrase, she said: "I didn't have eyelashes and now I do. Period."

I presented a tube to my husband (otherwise an Adonis, his eyelashes have, over the years, progressed from stubby to sparse). He shot me a look that was both baffled and sardonic (not everyone can pull that off) and then his expression dissolved into something else. Pity, perhaps.

Anyway, waste not want not.

After three weeks of applying it once a day to my upper eyelid (its rather like putting on eyeliner), I can report that it really, really works. My eyelashes are darker, longer and thicker. I feel thoroughly vindicated - which, given the $160 price tag, is important. Note: one tube is supposed to last about six months.

So this weekend, to prepare for this post I went straight to the Jan Marini website for some background information. I went there with two questions: why do the directions stipulate applying it to the upper lid only; and what are the active ingredients? Frustratingly, there is very little of substance. Now, this product may be one of the most effective things I've come across for a while but there is no such thing as a miracle. Clearly more digging is required.
  • July 15, 2009

    by Michelle

    Ok, thank you! I hope it works because I recall reading somewhere that the second version doesn't work like the first one. -_- It was probably on Skinstore's customer feedback/reviews for the product. =X

  • July 14, 2009

    by marta

    You probably do have the second version. However, it too contains a prostaglandin (although a different one from the first version, which used bitamoprost). Let us know how you get on with it.

  • July 14, 2009

    by Michelle

    Ok, so I bought the Jan Marini Age intervention Eyelash conditioner ("new!" it says on the tube) because skinstore.com had it on sale for about $60. I'm still not sure if this is the 2nd one or if it's the original one that was recalled. I called them and I'm not sure if I am satisfied with their uncertain answer about which product I have. I'm guessing it's the 2nd version if the first was recalled so long ago. Does anyone know if the second version (with the same name as the first one) even work? Thank you!
    oh yeah, and Revitalash works to lengthen your lashes~! I just wanted to try a different product to see if it would thicken them or if it'll work better. =D

  • April 17, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Michelle,
    The only Jan Marini product that does NOT have a prostaglandin analogue is the latest: Marini Lash. It does work - although it was subtle, in my experience.

    ALL Revitalash versions have a prostaglandin.

  • April 17, 2009

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,

    Skinstore is selling the Jan Marini Age Intervention Eyelash conditioner for $99 on their website right now. I called them and asked what version it was and they said it was the reformulated version after the ORIGINAL version ALSO named Jan Marini Age Intervention Eyelash conditioner. They said that the third reformulated version, the Marini Lash works better than the 2nd version, the age intervention one. They couldn't tell me what year these products were manufactured or came out, and I was wondering if you could tell me which one used the prostaglandin or which one has the analogue and which one doesn't, if any? So just to be sure, you tried the first original age intervention eyelash conditioner that absolutely works, but has been taken off the market completely, correct? Then they came out with a 2nd version with the same name, which I'm not sure works or not. I'm not sure if you've tried the second one either. I'm also not sure if the 2nd version has the analogue. Then they came out with the 3rd and latest version called the Marini Lash. Does this one have any bad chemicals? Also, does it work?
    I bougth the Revitalash from their website about 2-3 months ago but I'm not sure which version I have, and if it's safe. I see some results, but nothing so dramatic. And it seems like my lashes on the left eye grow much more than the right one. Any feedback would help! THANK YOU!

  • March 1, 2008

    by marta

    <p>I personally stopped using them when I found out what was in them. These products use powerful drugs used to treat glaucoma. They have well documented side effects that I don't want: change of eye color, burning, even impact on sight. Until we get more information that says these products are safe, I don't think we should use them. <br />
    Marta</p>

  • March 1, 2008

    by souzan

    <p>you mean i better not use any of these products? ( Allergan's Lumilash/revitalash) ? because they have side effects? i'm 18 years old .plz give me an advice..thx</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...