Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Jan Marini's Age Intervention Eyelash Conditioner taken off the market

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
January 7, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 15 Comments
Jan Marini's Age Intervention Eyelash conditioner has just been taken off the US market after run-ins with the FDA and the potential threat of a patent fight with Allergan.

Jan Marini's eyelash product is (or should I say was) astonishingly effective; it really makes your lashes grow like weeds. However, literally only a couple of days before I posted my review, it had been recalled by the FDA. Essentially, this was because it was based on a prescription drug used for glaucoma that could have side effects on vision and even change the color of the eyes. The full background is here.

There are similar products on the market, such as MD Lash Factor, that are based on prostaglandin - the same glaucoma ingredient in the latest Jan Marini product (but not the same as in the 2006 product that the FDA recalled). Postaglandin doesn't seem to damage the eyesight, but there can be side effects. Personally, I would give them all a wide berth.

Jan Marini's decision to pull Age Intervention Eyelash Conditioner must have been a tough one: it accounts for 30% of her company's sales.

In the meantime, Allergan is testing its own eyelash growth product called Lumilash, based on its glaucoma drug Lumigan. In November, it started legal proceedings for patent infringement against seven eyelash product makers.

 
  • March 18, 2013

    by Ashley

    Did you know that having a best eyelash conditioner can give benefits such as eyelashes grow fuller, thicker and stronger.

  • June 27, 2010

    by Suzie Q

    I used the Jan Marini lash enhancement, did Nothing to grow lashes! But I did get hypigmention around the eye are!!! So be careful!I suggest fake lashes, much safer!!

  • December 15, 2009

    by Ali

    Sairah
    Jan marini 'age intervention lash' was the one pulled from the market

  • July 16, 2009

    by jam

    Has anyone tried Dermapeutics Ultra lash? It has a secret "eye lashes growth stimulator complex", I'm concerned about.

  • May 31, 2008

    by sairah younas

    <p>Hello, I have the JM lash product, but I do not know which version I have? How do i find out? What does the old version say on ingredients list? Please help! Thanks. </p>

  • March 13, 2008

    by Mark Marinovich

    <p>Marta,</p>

    <p>There are major differences between an FDA "recall" and a "seizure" of products, and nowhere in the FDA press release that you posted on your blog is the word "recall" mentioned. When the FDA recalls a product, it does just that -- it orders manufacturers and distributors to stop selling the product and remove it from their shelves and inventories permanently. The FDA did not recall Age Intervention Eyelash, Jan Marini Skin Research’s first Eyelash enhancement product. In Sept. 2006 the FDA "embargoed" the product, meaning that it ordered our company to at least temporarily cease distribution of our stock-on-hand to our distributors while it investigated our usage of a single pharmaceutical ingredient in the product. In the meantime, our distributors, including many thousands of physicians, continued to sell our Eyelash product to consumers. Incorporation of pharmaceutical ingredients in cosmetic products is not uncommon. The lines between cosmetic and pharmaceutical products have blurred in recent years, giving rise to the so-called "cosmeceuticals" industry. Off-the-shelf teeth whitening products, for example, contain pharmaceutical ingredients, and the FDA examined that category of products for a time until a teeth-whitening product company successfully sued the FDA in order to sell its products at a retail level. In November, the FDA “seized” our embargoed Age Intervention Eyelash product, meaning that it simply picked up and disposed our remaining inventory. "Seized," by the way, is a strange word to describe an entirely cooperative and scheduled event. The FDA reached no definitive conclusions about our product’s safety and acknowledged to the Wall Street Journal in November that it had received no reports of a consumer’s eyes or vision being damaged by either our discontinued Eyelash product. Unfortunately, this event has been widely misreported, causing untold and undue concern among consumers. I would much prefer to explain these issues to you directly so that you can report them accurately on your blog. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.</p>

    <p>Mark Marinovich<br />
    Marketing Communications Director<br />
    Jan Marini Skin Research, Inc.</p>

  • March 13, 2008

    by marta

    <p>Mark<br />
    I have made a copy and paste of the FDA press release below. I'm not sure what the difference is between a recall and the FDA's own words: "siezed" but I'll let the readers judge....</p>

    <p>FDA News</p>

    <p>FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE<br />
    November 16, 2007<br />
    </p>

    <p>Media Inquiries:<br />
    Brad A. Swezey, 301-827-6242<br />
    Consumer Inquiries:<br />
    888-INFO-FDA</p>

    <p>Approximately $2 Million of Potentially Harmful "Cosmetic" Eye Product Seized<br />
    Product contains drug ingredient, makes unapproved drug claims, could damage eye</p>

    <p>At the request of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, U.S. Marshals seized today 12,682 applicator tubes of Age Intervention Eyelash, a product that may, in some users, lead to decreased vision. Authorities said the sales value of the seized tubes is approximately $2 million.</p>

    <p>Age Intervention Eyelash is sold and distributed by Jan Marini Skin Research, Inc., of San Jose, Calif.</p>

    <p>The FDA considers Age Intervention Eyelash to be an unapproved and misbranded drug because Jan Marini Skin Research has promoted the product to increase eyelash growth. Before a new drug product may be legally marketed, it must be shown to be safe and effective, and approved by FDA. The agency takes seriously its responsibility to protect Americans from unapproved drugs.</p>

    <p>FDA also considers the seized Age Intervention Eyelash to be an adulterated cosmetic. The product contains bimatoprost, an active ingredient in an FDA-approved drug to treat elevated intraocular pressure (elevated pressure inside the eye).</p>

    <p>For patients using the prescription drug, using the Age Intervention Eyelash in addition to the drug may increase the risk of optic nerve damage because the extra dose of bimatoprost may decrease the prescription drug's effectiveness. Damage to the optic nerve may lead to decreased vision and possibly blindness.</p>

    <p>In addition, use of Age Intervention Eyelash may cause other adverse effects in certain people due to the bimatoprost, including macular edema (swelling of the retina) and uveitis (inflammation in the eye), which may lead to decreased vision.</p>

    <p>The U.S. Attorney's Office for the Northern District of California filed the complaint requesting the seizure, and coordinated with the FDA. The California Department of Public Health‘s Food and Drug Branch had previously embargoed the seized products at the San Jose facility. Jan Marini Skin Research has notified FDA that the company ceased manufacturing and shipping any Age Intervention Eyelash product containing bimatoprost last year.</p>

    <p>The FDA recommends that consumers, dermatologists, and estheticians who may still have Age Intervention Eyelash discontinue using it and discard any remaining product. FDA also recommends that consumers consult their health care provider if they have experienced any adverse events that they suspect are related to the product's use.</p>

  • March 12, 2008

    by Mark Marinovich

    <p>I manage the marketing communications function for Jan Marini Skin Research, and I would like to address a serious misconception about the FDA controversy regarding our discontinued Eyelash product, Age Intervention Eyelash, and Age Intervention Eyelash Conditioner, of which we suspended sales in January. The single biggest misconception about the products is that the FDA "recalled" one or both. In fact, neither product was recalled by the FDA, and never has the FDA or our company or any credible media reported a recall. An FDA recall is a very serious matter indeed, and only when the FDA identifies an immediate threat to the public safety does it recall a product. For example, it recalled spinach that might have been tainted with e-coli bacteria not too long ago. Perhaps you may remember an incident when some Tylenol products were laced with poison by a disgruntled consumer and seven people died. In that instance, the FDA recalled Tylenol products. Earlier this year the FDA recalled toys manufactured in China that contained a dangerous drug which made children ill. Eyelash products manufactured by Jan Marini Skin Research have never risen to that level of concern at the FDA. The FDA distributed a press release in November 2006 that cited various adverse side effects that could potentially occur as a result of using Allergan's glaucoma medication, which is applied directly on the eyeball in much greater amounts than are dispensed externally on the eyelid with Jan Marini Skin Research Eyelash products. In a November 2006 Wall Street Journal report about the Eyelash product controversy, the FDA acknowledged that it never received a single report of an individual's eyes or vision being damaged from using products made by our company. Jan Marini Skin Resaerch conducted numerous, excellent safety studies for both products and believes them to be safe to use. We regret the concerns that inaccurate reportage of the Eyelash product controversy have caused many users of our Eyelash products. </p>

    <p>Mark Marinovich<br />
    Marketing Communications Director<br />
    Jan Marini Skin Research, Inc.</p>

  • January 30, 2008

    by Sammi

    <p>Enormous Lash is amazing.</p>

    <p>sammi924.intuitbeautydiva.com<br />
    </p>

  • January 30, 2008

    by Sammi

    <p>Enormous Lash is amazing.</p>

    <p>sammi924.intuitbeautydiva.com<br />
    </p>

  • January 15, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Thank you very much for the Keracyte tip. I will definitely look into it.</p>

  • January 14, 2008

    by browneyedgirl81

    <p>I was thinking about using something for my eyelashes because they are fairly short and pretty blonde compared to my dark brown hair. </p>

    <p>After reading about the recall, there isn't a chance I would use Jan Marini products on my eyes. </p>

    <p>My friend did some teaching in Taiwan and over there the ladies are using Keracyte to stimulate better lash growth and thickness. Keracyte is actually a scalp conditioner that stimulates the hair follicles to produce thicker and stronger hairs in the person's natural color. It's been very successful for that, and then women started using it on their eyelashes to see if it would help. They just applied a dab of the product with a Qtip across the part of their eyelid where the lashes grow, and voila. Many of them saw success with darker and thicker / longer lashes in a reasonable span of time.</p>

    <p>The formulation is very mild and gentle, and safe for eyes, as it contains many of the same ingredients in Intensive Eye Serum, a wrinkle reducer for the eye area by the same brand.</p>

    <p>The company offers Keracyte at $160 for 1.7 oz, or a deal for buy 2 get one free, which is a lot more product than you used to get when ordering from Jan Marini (not even a quarter of an ounce, I think!). It's tempting and I may give it a shot because my lashes are shorter than I would like. I am tired of feeling like I can't ever leave the house without mascara!!<br />
    </p>

  • January 9, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>That is a very good question. The short answer is that it has - just like the Jan Marini product - gone through to formulations. The first version used bitamoprost and was withdrawn in November after the FDA seized the Jan Marini product. The new version was released in December and is based on an analogue for prostaglandin. See my latest post for more details.</p>

  • January 8, 2008

    by Boscoe

    <p>What about Revitalash?</p>

  • January 8, 2008

    by Boscoe

    <p>What about Revitalash?</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...