Free shipping on all orders over $39

Juice Beauty Perfecting Foundation- reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Marta July 6, 2011 16 Comments

Pros

Teaming with plant-derived antioxidants

Cons

Three shades are basic
Make up that is good for you

My prediction is that makeup that’s “good for you” will become the Next Big Thing. Beauty companies are getting pretty good at serious skincare – there’s more and more new stuff that is effective and doesn’t do too much evil. Makeup though remains the last frontier with the vast majority of products being overpriced and packed to the gunnels with undesirable chemicals, with (at best) a token vitamin or dash of argan oil. Notable exceptions are 100% Pure with its pigments made from fruit powder, RMS, NVEY Eco, and Korres, Dr Hauschka and Revolution Organics. And now I have discovered that Juice Beauty has been quietly extending its organic skincare line to makeup. For the past few weeks I have been trying out the foundation.

Foundations are the ultimate litmus test for a natural beauty company. When you think about what we demand from them – basically a second, even better, skin – you can appreciate how hard that must be without resorting to lots of synthetic materials. (Mascara is another toughie, as JustD discovered when she conducted her marathon four-brand test to find the ultimate lash booster). Anyway, I think that Juice Beauty has done a great job with its Perfecting Foundation as it meets my three criteria: performance, no nasties, it might even do the skin some good.

A lot of natural makeup falls down on performance – unsubtle shades, uneven coverage, no staying power. This is the first hurdle and so if they fall here I never really get to my second and third criteria. After all, it doesn’t matter how organic a foundation is if you can’t attain an even blend or prevent it from disappearing by lunchtime. Juice Beauty’s Perfecting Foundation comes in an airless pump that, so far at least (about a month) has kept it from drying out. The pump gives good control over the quantity dispensed and each squirt is dense yet covers easily and is lightweight on application.  Coverage lasts all day and well into the evening.

What I really like about Perfecting Foundation is that it passes the second and third criteria with flying colors.  I actually feel as if I am doing my skin a few favors when I put this on. There are no less than eight fruit oils that are packed with antioxidants. One of them, pomegranate, has been studied for its effectiveness against skin cancer and raspberry seed oil is supposed to be a natural sunscreen.

My only quibble is that the three shades offered by Juice Beauty are a little basic. I tried the Ivory, which is a very pale pink – a little too pale now that I have my summer complexion, but perfect for light skins. The other shades are Sand (possibly a potentially better match for my skin tone) and Tan.

Buy from the Truth In Aging shop and for 10% off sign up for our newsletter

Ingredients: Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice (*), Glycerin, Lecithin (*), Ricinus Communis (Castor Seed) Oil (*), Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil (*), Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil (*), Cera Alba (Beeswax) (*), Vitis Vinifera (Grape Seed) Oil (*), Blueberry (Vaccinium Corymbosum) Seed Oil (Vaccinium Corymbosum)(*), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil (*), Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Seed Oil (*), Actinidia Chinensis (Kiwi) Fruit Seed Oil (Kiwi)(*), Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil (*), Fragaria Ananassa (Strawberry) Seed Oil (*), Euterpe Oleracea (Acai Fruit) (Acai)(*), Lycium Chinense (Goji) Berry (Goji)(*), Glyceryl Stearate, Stearic Acid, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla Cera) Wax, Cetyl Alcohol, Xanthan Gum, vitamin E, rosemary & sweet orange oil, phenethyl alcohol, caprylyl glycol May contain titanium dioxide, iron oxides, mica

* certified organic by USDA approved agency

  • September 24, 2013

    by Jo

    I haven't found anything better on the market; 30 years of looking and thousands of dollars spent :)

  • October 31, 2011

    by Stacy Gwerder

    JustD have you tried Iman cosmetics? Imancosmetics.com
    They have the most color choices in a darker range i've seen so far, didn't appear to be prices on the site but the foundations were all around US$15 on eBay. I found searching by state only was the easiest way to navigate there find a store page. Plus Iman cosmetics appears to have been created by a woman of color! Got to be a bonus :) hope this helps your search somewhat.
    Stac

  • July 9, 2011

    by Jennifer

    I have a pretty big supply of lip glosses right one, so won't ask to try the JB line at this point. However, I did use the JB Sensitive Green Apple Peel last week, from the Mystery Sample Kit I bought in the TIA shop last month....and really liked it! If you DO have samples of the JB Perfecting Foundation, In Sand, I would love to test it!
    I'm attempting to wean myself off of the foundation+sunscreen combo, so this would be a perfect way to try-before-buying!

  • July 9, 2011

    by VickyL

    Hi JustD,
    Your might want to give vapour organic beauty (vapourbeauty.com) a try - they have several shades for women of color. When you click on a color swatch, a picture of a woman who would wear that shade is also displayed - very helpful.
    As in the case of Juice Beauty, this line is full of good for you ingredients and has versions for dry/mature or combination/oily. The texture is light but the coverage is good and easy to adjust for more or less coverage. I'm over 60 so I've tried many and vapour is my favorite foundation ever. It's a stick that becomes creamy on contact with skin and blends easily over the face.

    I found their sample kit is the best way to go as you can try a few colors and also feel the texture and coverage of the product without having to buy a full size. They have face, eye, lip, blush, etc so it's easy to find several things to try. $15 for five samples plus a $10 coupon toward purchase of a full size product.

  • July 8, 2011

    by SANDRA

    I'm in the market for a truly healthy foundation, and currently looking at 100 percent pure. I'm willing to give this one a go and would like to be the lab rat you pick.

  • July 8, 2011

    by JustD

    Sighs, this is one of the big conundrums I experience as a woman of color, finding a foundation that doesn't separate my face from my neck. It's so hard finding something that actually enhances my true skin tones rather than changes me into something else. I have seriously been considering going to a professional makeup artist to see if I can find out exactly what my skin tone is and my undertones and yes, that's another prohibitive cost starting at $200 bucks an hour....

    I've tried Bare Escentuals, Makeup Forever, Clinique, Lancome, Bobbi Brown, MAC, and scores of others, Prescriptives, which was the ONLY one that even came close to matching my skin tone, was too high for my then budget and I later found out that not all makeup artists equally talented. Thus, I'll be looking forward to seeing if there are any other ladies of a darker persuasion that may find that this product, or some other product out there, has something to offer us. Sadly, too often we're left out of the equation or all bunched together.

  • July 8, 2011

    by Marta

    Good point. I simply forgot about Tarte. And you are right, they should be included.

  • July 8, 2011

    by Stephanie

    Marta,
    Your list of "good for you" makeup companies doesn't include Tarte, but I know you've had many of their products reviewed and recommended here. So, is there a reason why Tarte doesn't make the cut?

    I'm a bigfan of their gel blush, and eye liners.....

    Cheers,
    Stephanie

  • July 8, 2011

    by Gloria

    Hi Marta, I also would love to try this foundation. I have many in my drawer of keeps. Some of which just don't perform the way I would like but still worthy of trying again. I am always looking for a foundation that covers but not too heavy. My skin is fair so it is hard to find something that isn't too dark or wrong tone. I would be willing to try this if you have any samples.

  • July 7, 2011

    by imelda

    How timely for this review, Marta!
    I tried the RMS uncover up which did not work (the way I wanted it to) for me due to my type of skin: OILY! It left my face shiny (not matte which is what I prefer)and achieved no coverage on the spots I wanted to conceal. I know that RMS boasts of how uncover up can make the skin "glow" but I can achieve a glowing look without applying their uncover up, by using a bronzing powder. It also left my face sticky to the touch. I still have to return the RMS uncover up and get my $36 refunded so, if there are any free samples, I would love to try Juice Beauty Perfecting Foundation before I spend $35 on it. Thanks!

  • July 7, 2011

    by colinmack

    I would love to try the juice beauty glosses! I am a lip gloss/ lip balm addict. So you can be sure they would be used!

  • July 6, 2011

    by Carolyn Putzer

    Hi Marta,

    I would love to try the Juice Beauty lip glosses. I am intrigued by the organic ingredients and may be tempted to try the foundation, too!

    Thanks,
    Carolyn

  • July 6, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Juice Beauty is a great brand. The green apple antioxidant line even has my required peptides. So for anyone who hasn't tried JB and needs a little urging- I'm backing Marta's Thumb's Up! ~jk

  • July 6, 2011

    by Linda Warden

    I've been watching all the info on Juice Beauty for awhile, as I am very interested in trying it out. I would love to test out some of their products. Just let me know when.
    Thanks
    Linda

  • July 6, 2011

    by Sandy

    I'd enjoy a chance to try Juice Beauty - I hear a lot of good about them. I'm into lip care and colors right now. I'd have a good time trying out their glosses!

  • July 6, 2011

    by Dawn Nikithser

    I am a lip gloss junkie -- I'd love to try these out.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...