Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Repair CC Cream- reviewed and recommended

Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Repair CC Cream 1.7 oz

Pros

Organic ingredients to promote skin rejuvenation

Cons

Shades may be too light for darker skin tones
March 4, 2013 Reviewed by TIA Community Member 8 Comments
A fabulous multi-tasker that provides coverage, moisture and sun protection

The latest evolution in multifunctional skincare from Asia to hit the U.S. is CC creams. This is the next generation to the all-in-one BB cream (aka blemish balm), which merges skincare and makeup. Whereas a BB cream is primer, sunscreen, skin brightener and anti-ager all in one; a CC cream adds color correction to the multitasking list. CC creams provide more coverage, protection, hydration and skin-nourishing ingredients than their predecessor BB cream. As of this writing, there are only a few color-correcting creams in the U.S. and Juice Beauty’s Stem Cellular Repair CC Cream ($39) is the only organic CC cream on the market.

The CC cream is part of Juice Beauty’s Stem Cellular Repair collection and contains the same proprietary blend of fruit stem cells found in the Repair Booster Serum ($75 in the shop). Like the serum (which serves as nice primer to the CC cream), the cream’s base is a signature blend of apple, grape, lemon and aloe juices that promote skin rejuvenation. Hydrating ingredients include caprylic/capric triglycerides, hyaluronic acid, organic sunflower seed, and jojoba oils. Free-radical protection is provided by the network antioxidants vitamin C (in MAP form) and E. Magnesium sulfate serves as a natural anti-inflammatory and ethylhexylglycerin is a natural preservative. Some might be sensitive to the inclusion of essential oils.

A highlight of this all organic cream is the high mineral based broad spectrum protection of SPF 30 from zinc oxide. As noted in smart sunscreen shopping, zinc oxide is the best and safest sunscreen ingredient. However, there is some debate surrounding the use of of it nanoparticle size due to potential skin penetration, thus “micronized” zinc is best to use. Juice Beauty uses a whopping 20% concentration of non-nano, micronized zinc oxide. However, don’t let the high percentage of the mineral content deceive you into thinking it’ll leave the usual tell-tale chalky white mask. This is a color correcting cream after all and is highly pigmented using iron oxides, known to be safe as they are non-toxic, non-bleeding and moisture resistant. There are also no studies showing them to be allergens or irritants; thus, they are considered ideal substitutes for ferrous or ferric oxide.

A common complaint of BB creams is that although the shades are meant to be “universal,” they generally don’t work well on darker skin tones. Juice Beauty’s CC cream is available in two shades: natural glow and warm glow. I have medium dark skin and the warm glow shade blends perfectly with my skin tone, providing just the amount of coverage I like and indeed gives skin a “warm glow.” Per Juice Beauty, the shade blends with even the darkest skin tones. Unlike silicone-loaded BB creams, it has a light mousse-like texture and goes on easily. The cream feels like a light moisturizer that disappears into skin and it’s easy to forget I'm wearing it.

Now, I must point out that I’m not the best person to attest to whether CC creams are better suited for dark skin or if they provide more coverage. That’s because I didn’t have any complaints with the only BB cream I’ve used. 3Lab’s Perfect BB Cream SPF 40/PA+++ happens to be known for its flawless coverage, and I’ve previously raved that it actually adjusts to my skin color. I think that 3Lab’s BB cream is somewhat atypical for a BB cream, so I wouldn’t consider it useful in a BB vs. CC cream comparison. That said, I really enjoy wearing Juice Beauty’s CC cream. Moreover, Juice Beauty’s Stem Cellular RepairCC cream is in a category of its own. As the only organic CC cream on the market, there’s a lot to like in the formulation, which contains a multitude of skin beneficial ingredients at an outstanding price point.

Ingredients: Active Ingredient: Zinc Oxide 20%; Inactive Ingredients: Juice Beauty Proprietary Blend Of Fruit Stem Cells: Apple Buds, Grape Buds & Lemon Bark. Organic Juices Of Pyrus Malus (Organic Apple Juice)*, Vitis Vinifera (Organic White Grape Juice)*, Aloe Barbadensis (Organic Aloe Leaf Juice)*, Cocos Nucifera (Organic Coconut Oil)*, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sorbitan Stearate, Ricinus Communis (Castor Seed Oil), Polyglyceryl-10 Laurate, Magnesium Sulfate, Helianthus Annuus (Organic Sunflower Seed Oil)*, Simmondsia Chinensis (Organic Jojoba Seed Oil)*, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C), Sodium Hyaluronate (Vegetable Hyaluronic Acid), Malus Sylvestris (Apple Buds), Vitis Vinifera (Grape Buds) & Citrus Limonum (Lemon Bark), Iron Oxides, Phenethyl Alcohol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Citrus Reticulata (Mandarin) & Citrus Aurantium (Petitgrain) Pure Essential Oils *Certified Organic Ingredient

 

  • May 14, 2015

    by Loretta

    I have been using Juice Beauty's Stem Cell CC in Desert Glow, are they not making that color anymore? There seem to only be 2 color choices on your site?

  • June 7, 2014

    by Merry P

    Charley, to respond to your question about the tinted moisturizer: I've just ordered the Juice Beauty CC cream to try, partially because of the positive reviews and partially due to my years-long allegiance to the Juice Beauty Tined Mineral Moisturizer with SPF 30. I used Pale Ivory for my super pale, blotchy with red, combination, breakout-prone skin. I don't know what I did before I discovered the oil-free, all natural, organic SPF line of moisturizers from Juice Beauty. The thing is, the Juice Beauty Tinted Mineral Moisturizer (and I've used the regular oil-free moisturizer, as well) do not have any color or coverage. The tint is light and visible in the product coming out of the tube, but honestly I don't know the function of the tint. However, I don't mind using a foundation or other color/coverage product on top of the moisturizers because the moisturizers perform so well. The oil-free aspect, plus the tremendous ingredients list, seem to be the magic combination, not to mention it has a great creamy PLUS fast-absorbing consistency, very easy to put on a lot or a little based on your preference. I'll post more details about the moisturizers on that specific product page, but I just wanted you to know an answer to your question about coverage. I'll also come back here and write a real review once the Juice Beauty CC Beauty Cream comes in the mail and I'm able to compare, contrast, and mix the two together! I can't wait, this line of products is awesome.

  • April 3, 2013

    by Dina de Lestrange

    Hi there! Thanks for this review!!! Do you think this would be ok to use for acne-prone, oily skin types? Also, do you think it might be similar in purpose as Osmotics Inner Light? Cheers! :)

  • March 7, 2013

    by Tiffany Gaal

    I'm a big fan of Juice Beauty, and a fan of this product too, but I would say that it has a lot less coverage/pigment than most BB creams I've tried (and I've tried a lot). I think of it like one of those products that sort of soft-focuses imperfections, but it will not hide them. I love the texture, though.

  • March 6, 2013

    by Charley

    Thanks, Nisha! As Marta mentioned in her recommendation of Jane Iredale's Glow Time, so many BB creams out there fail miserably at multi-tasking. It's helpful to know the strengths of Juice Beauty BB and CC.

    Your posts are always so informative--I always learn so much about ingredients.

  • March 6, 2013

    by Nisha Buckingham

    Hi Charley,
    I haven't tried the Tinted Mineral Moisturizer so I can't make a comparison based on personal use. There are differences in formulation between the 2 products. Only the Ivory shade of tinted moisturizers has zinc oxide as the SPF active; the other 2 shades use lower concentrations of titanium dioxide- 10% for the Sand & 6.6% for the Tan shade which has an SPF of 20 (not 30). The other big difference is the CC Cream has the proprietary blend of fruit stem cells as a base which ups the anti-aging factor. There are other ingredient differences such as the inclusion of organic coconut & jojoba oils in the CC Cream, whereas the tinted moisturizer has sodium PCA & organic beeswax.
    I also spoke to a Juice Beauty rep as to the differences between the products & was given the following info. The tinted moisturizer could be considered their version of a BB cream. It is, however "richer and thicker" than the CC Cream so it provides a more moisturizing base if that's what you're looking for. The CC Cream is lighter and is good for correcting unevenness & reducing the appearance of redness. Per the TIA review of the tinted moisturizer, "This tinted moisturizer is perfect for someone with perfect skin who doesn't expect much in the way of much coverage for imperfections" - that should give you some idea of what to expect. .As far as the shades, the Ivory tinted moisturizer is close to the natural Glow shade of the CC cream & the Warm Glow CC Cream shade covers Sand to Tan in the tinted moisturizer. Also, they are planning to shift to zinc oxide for all their products in future but they don't have a date on that yet.
    Hope this helps.

  • March 4, 2013

    by Charley

    Hi Nisha. As always, thank for an info-packed review. The CC cream ingredients list looks a lot like that of the Tinted Mineral Moisturizer (which is available at The Shop). Is it the same? The packaging looks different and the Tinted Moisturizer has 3 shades instead of 2.

  • March 4, 2013

    by Robyn

    I've been using this cream for 2 - 3 weeks now and I love it! I had been looking for a BB or CC cream that doesn't contain silicones (which make me break out) so I decided to try this. I used powder foundations for years but the powder now settles into fine lines and isn't flattering on me anymore.

    First I apply the Mad Hippie Vitamin C Serum, then this CC cream, and then I finish off my base with the Juice Beauty Finishing Powder. My skin really looks great! I still need to use concealer on a couple acne scars but my skin tone really looks great. For reference, I have light skin and use the natural glow shade and the color is perfect.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...