Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Repair Moisturizer- reviewed and recommended

Pros

Innovative packaging, improved skin tone

Cons

Doesn't deliver the same results as human derived stem cells
May 16, 2011 Reviewed by Marta 19 Comments
Incredible quality for the price

Stem cell derived growth factors are definitely the IT ingredient of 2011. But if you are a beauty company that is all about organic botanicals, then human derived stem cells are out. The next best thing is stem cells from fruit and Juice Beauty’s Stem Cellular Repair Moisturizer ($65) is based on stem cells taken from apple and grape buds, lemon bark, and apple, grape and lemon juices. After testing this anti-aging moisturizer for over a month, I don’t think that fruit stem cells are on a par with powerful human growth factors such as you will find products by ReLuma or E’shee. But that would be comparing apples and pears. Juice Beauty’s Stem Cellular Repair Moisturizer is an effective moisturizer with an outstanding price to quality ratio.

What makes plant derived stem cells so enticing is that they live forever. According to Wikipedia, “plant stem cells never undergo aging process but immortally give rise to new specialized and unspecialized cells, and they have the potential to grow into any organ, tissue, or cell in the body”. British scientists found that plant stem cells were much more sensitive to DNA damage than other cells. And once they sense damage, they trigger death of these cells.  (Click here for more on apple and fruit stem cells).

Stem Cellular Repair Moisturizer fruit stem cells are not mere tokens; they feature near the top of an ingredients list that is packed full of useful ingredients, many of which are organic. Naturally, the base is Juice Beauty’s signature blend apple, grape, lemon and aloe juices and this comfortable and soothing moisturizer has plenty of shea butter and jojoba. Aging skin will appreciate the essential fatty acids from evening primrose, linseed (flax) and borage. The combination of flax and borage got a thumbs up from German researchers, who found that it smoothed out rough, red skin. I certainly have seen an improvement in skin tone.

Worthy of a shout out is the unusual packaging. Most beauty consumers know that there has been a massive trend towards airless pumps. While great in theory, they aren’t always so good in practice, as anyone who has pumped in vain and then had to exchange the product knows.  Juice Beauty’s Stem Cellular comes in a pot with a flat surface that you depress until the cream appears and so far, for me, has worked flawlessly. In fact, later this week you’ll see Karen Behnke, the founder of Juice Beauty demonstrate it in a video interview that we taped with her when she dropped in to New York and told us about why she started Juice Beauty and how the key ingredients work.

Stem Cellular has a distinctive smell that I find refreshing and zesty. The only thing not to love here is sodium benzoate, a controversial preservative.

Ingredients

Organic Juices of Pyrus Malus Juice (Apple*), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) (Grape*), Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) (Lemon*), Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice (*), Glycerin, Octyl Palmitate, Capric/Caprylic Triglycerides, Glyceryl Stearate, Stearic Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol, Malus Sylvestris Buds (Apple), Vitis Vinifera Buds (Grape), Citrus Limonum (Lemon) Bark (Lemon), Organic Plant Oils of Helianthus Annuus Seed (Sunflower), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) (Shea Butter*), Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed (Jojoba*), Organic Essential Fatty Acids of Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose), Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed, Borage (Borago Officinalis) Seed (Borage*), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C) (Vitamin C), Xanthan Gum , Panthenol (Vitamin B5), Allantoin (Comfrey Root), Tocopherol (Natural Vitamin E) (Vitamin E), Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Ethylhexyl Glycerin, Citrus Reticulata (Mandarin Orange) (Mandarin), Litsea Cubeb (Litsea Cubeba) (May Chang), Cinnamomum Camphora (Camphor) (Pure Essential Oils)(Ho wood) * = organic

  • June 24, 2017

    by Sandra

    This sounds like a very promising product. I would love to try. Is there any way you can send samples. I've tried many product and seems to be wasting my money. I am 68 years old and care deeply how my skin looks and feels. This product is affordable and with all the favorable ingredients I'm in. Love to try it!

  • November 3, 2012

    by Michelle D'Amico

    I love the idea of a USDA certified organic line, so I purchased this product and used it all and noticed absolutely no difference in my eye area whatsoever over those 2 months. Wouldn't recommend.

  • August 11, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    AmyN- Are you still using Juice? Curious how it's going for you. Although I believed I cared for my skin since my 30s, I realize now I really began serious skincare in my 50s- meaning not just an all-over cream once a day, but matching certain areas w different lotions and creams depending on what was lacking and needed. Looking back, I now can say it takes a couple good "Skin Care" years to achieve positive results, and this is if you've found the proper products for your needs. I found TIA and the overwhelming puzzle of this challenge was unveiled, and still is, for me...

    ANYway, really, I truly want to know, How's the Juice? ~jk

  • August 11, 2011

    by NoeyD77

    Would love to try this product as well! I've only tried 2 products from Juice Beauty, the Apple Peel and some acne serum years ago but neither really worked on my resistant skin then.

  • August 11, 2011

    by K Leigh

    Oh Yes Can I get on a list to try this too? I have dry skin and really want to try something organic rather than human stem cells first. A touch of rosacea is also bothersome, so it could help me out 3 ways.... I am very happy to be your guinea pig anytime !

  • August 5, 2011

    by Jeanne Kraus

    I'd love to review this product. My skin has problems retaining moisture, but I've never tried anything with stem cell therapy. Maybe that would do the trick!

  • August 4, 2011

    by JustD

    I guess I'll bite too LOL!

  • August 4, 2011

    by Suzi

    Hi Marta, I would so love to try this product. It sounds so delicious and I hope it would help my 74 year old skin. It doesn't have that many wrinkles but I do have rosacea and my pores are expanding. My nose doesn't even look like the one I'm used to and I've recently developed an eye condition wherin my eyes are red, red and tear all day. I feel like a mole crawling up from the ground because the sun makes them tear even more. My friends ask me why I'm crying. I'm not! I just need lots of help to overcome these afflictions that suddenly came upon me when I attained my 74th year on earth. To add insult to injury my eyes are now getting bags under them from all the wiping of the drips. I'd sure love your help to see if I can become the human being I used to know. I never felt old before but this is doing it.The Juice Beauty Stem Cell Repair
    cream sounds like it just may help a LOT! Perhaps it could become my new beauty routine. Thanks for reading this and I'd be so happy if you would consider me for a trial run!

  • August 3, 2011

    by Ann

    Marta: I'd love to try this product. I seem to have sprouted forehead lines and crows feet overnight!

  • August 3, 2011

    by Jennifer

    I am SO ready to try this product! I have some of the JB serum, which came as part of a sample kit I bought in the TIA store, as well as the Peel...both of which I like. What's REALLY grabbing my interest is the Linseed & Borage combination, as I definitely have redness ( rosacea?) & an uneven skin tone I'd like to improve! I promise to write an honest & thorough review!

  • August 3, 2011

    by Sandy

    Me, too!

  • August 3, 2011

    by Tina Jensen

    Hello Marta,

    I would love to try the Juice Beauty Apple Stem Cell Repair Cream - it sounds like it is very effective and I like the fact that a lot of irritating ingredients aren't included. As an aesthetician, I have sensitive oily and am prone to wrinkles and blemishes.

    Hope to have the opportunity! Thanks ...

  • August 3, 2011

    by merle

    I LOVE Juice Beauty -- pure ingredients - utilizing the best of nature + the best of science!!!
    LOVE their peel!

  • August 3, 2011

    by debs

    my hand is up high, I want to try it

  • July 6, 2011

    by Amy N

    I have been using this product now for a little over a month and I have to say I really like it. The smell is very refreshing, almost a lemonade type smell. You know it's good when a 4 year old says your skin smells yummy. It has definitely helped with evening out my skintone. It also feels light enough to use during the oppressive humid heat we have been experiencing lately. I am still still searching for the miracle cream that will eradicate the Grand Canyon between my eyebrows, but until then I will continue to use this product. And I love the delivery method, very effective, not like other airless pumps that stop working after a few weeks.

  • May 18, 2011

    by Julia Worthington

    My daughter (22) would love to test Juice Beauty's Organics To Clear Skin. She has had acute acne since she was 12 and nothing, prescription, OTC, organic, absolutely nothing has worked.

    She tested several products offered by her dermatologist. Some produced minimal (but short term) improvement, but most either didn't work or caused more flare ups. Any product that would work on her acne, could be called a miracle treatment.

  • May 18, 2011

    by Michelle

    Hmm... I'm on the lookout for a new moisturizer since lately my skin is currently throwing a tantrum and breaking out. I like that this smooths rough red spots, since I naturally seem to have those even when my skin isn't breaking out.

    I would be happy to be a guinea pig and try out their acne line! I'm breaking out right now, and have very sensitive breakout-prone skin all the time. I never had acne in my teens... so I guess I'm paying for that in my 30's! *sigh* It's a balancing act between finding a product that will help with the wrinkles I'm forming and a product that won't break me out.

  • May 17, 2011

    by Dennis

    Jaysie, that combo is only dangerous internally and requires a massive amount

  • May 17, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Isn't sodium benzoate even more potentially toxic when it meets up with Vitamin C? Besides the MAP in this cream, there are also the lemon and orange derivatives that I would presume carry Vit C.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...