Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

KaplanMD Cleansing Lotion- reader reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dull Skin, Oily Skin
December 10, 2010 Reviewed by TIA Community Member 7 Comments
Reviewed by Debra

I have used the KaplanMD Cleansing Lotion for transitioning skin twice a day for the last month. For background information, I am 57 years old, have normal skin type with small to medium pores and some wrinkles in the eye and forehead areas. Most people don't think I look my age and are surprised I'm a grandmother of three.

The KaplanMD cleansing lotion is described as a purifying facial cleanser that thoroughly, yet gently, lifts away makeup, dead skin cells and other impurities, while helping prevent occasional break-outs. Soy, panthenol and apple extract increase softness and elasticity by moisturizing skin from within, restoring youthful, healthy-looking skin. Natural botanical extracts of chamomile and hawthorn flower calm and soothe the skin to help reduce flushing and redness.

I found the product effectively cleansed my skin and left it feeling soft. As far as elasticity and restoring youthful, healthy-looking skin, I don't know. I have a little redness in the nose and chin area but didn't find the cleanser made any significant difference. I don't have break-outs so I can't really comment on that area. I don't know the price of the cleansing lotion but I thought the prices of some of the other KaplanMD products that I saw on TIA were a bit pricey.

Overall, I can recommend the cleanser and perhaps used in combination with other products in the line it would be very effective. One would think they could trust any product produced or recommended by a dermatologist!

Ingredients

Water (aqua), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Tea-Cocoyl Glutamate, Polysorbate 60, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Acrylates/C 10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Soy Isoflavones Aglycones, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cimicifuga Racemosa (Black Cohosh) Root Extract, Lecithin, Phospholipids, Maltodextrin, Polysorbate 80, Peg-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Tocopherol, Sodium Cocoyl Apple Amino Acids, Panthenol, Sodium PCA, Crataegus Oxyacantha (Hawthorne Berry) Flower Extract, Pentylene Glycol, Salicylic Acid, Triclosan, Propylene Glycol, Inulin, Malic Acid, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Aminomethyl Propanol, Disodium Edta, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Fragrance.
  • September 26, 2011

    by Junko

    Howard * one who is more impatient than I * love it! Chella Micro Sculpt on eye lid under Kaplan MD is the best for lift? Can you write a little something for us about Chella on Mark's review of it? I'd be ever so grateful as I'm thinking about Chella under Kaplan MD eye now that you've commented on it ~ http://truthinaging.com/face/chella-lift-recovery-micro-sculpt-concentrate-and-chella-line-antidote-micro-fill-concentrate

  • September 26, 2011

    by Howard

    First let me THANK YOU...I only wish I had discovered this site several months (and thousands of dollars) earlier I tend to agree Junko.. I have also been using Chella Micro Sculpt (I went crazy with the 20%) and really like it...figure why not..I need help. Correct is excellent (again Thank You to this site)for the lower eye area. I cannot use Reluma eye as I find it irritating although the Reluma Serum is fantastic around the eye area(yes I use it on the upper eyelid)Perricone MD just came out with Acyl-Glutathione for the eye which I am trying and like very much so far...I am NOT a patient man and quite honestly if a product does not provide results or feel good in 3 days I do not continue. I even got the Facemaster which I have yet to try (again Thank You for this site) speaking of such things.. Nu-Face is excellent for reducing my Nasal Labial mounds. Sorry to get off track but I am honestly and deeply grateful and thankful for this site and you

  • September 25, 2011

    by Junko

    Howard ~ following Kaplan MD, I've tried NUMEROUS eye creams for the lid area and Kaplan is STILL the best I've tried for the eye lid area. Buying it for only upper eye use only is in my mind since Bremenn's and a few others have been utter disappointments!! Happy to hear that it's working for you too Howard!!

  • September 25, 2011

    by Howard

    Excellent product..very glad I purchased it (based on reviews). 50 yr old man and I will definately continue. I am a firm believer of what I read on Marta's post regarding cleanser..could be the MOST important step.Kaplan MD is an excellent product line(and the sample kit they include is incredible) Junko... I got the eye cream based upon your review and agree that it does lift the lid (and feels fantastic)

  • December 11, 2010

    by Oksana

    VickyL,
    I disagree - cleansers shouldnot cost you an arm and a leg. Cleansers do not remain on the skin long enough to produce a tremendous long-term effect, as with treatments. Complicated formulas are not justified. Gentle, pH balanced, organic, non-sensitizing - are the most important "objectives" that can be achieved in a cleanser in a $-reasonable way.
    Masks and treatments, including high quality moisturizers are the items that will pay off in a long run.
    Cosmetics can be snotty too. Consumers don't have to be.

  • December 11, 2010

    by VickyL

    Oksana - I have to agree. What a bizarre formulation. A bunch of botanicals plus a bunch of irritants seems like a jekyll and hyde potion to me.

    Tracy Martin Amla would be a much better investment if you can afford the expensive cleansers. La Vie Celeste is great at half that price.

  • December 10, 2010

    by Oksana

    Water (aqua), Acrylates/C 10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium PCA, Triclosan, Propylene Glycol, Disodium Edta, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Fragrance.
    ARE YOU KIDDING? $ 55.00? Save your money and your face - invest in Nurture Your Body or 100%! Wholesome, organic, gentle products!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...