Free shipping on all orders over $39

KaplanMD for VIPs who gave us their opinion

Reviewed by Marta July 6, 2010 18 Comments
We told you your opinion counted and thanks to KaplanMD we can deliver. Truth In Aging VIPs were asked to tell us how to improve this website and nearly 200 of you responded. Each one of you that filled in our survey will be sent a deluxe sample set from KaplanMD. The sets will be be mailed to you this week so very soon VIPs will be able to try KaplanMD's Perfecting Serum, a new favorite of mine, the eye cream and much more (just about everything in the range, in fact). So a big thank you to Dr K.

To those of you who took the time to give us your feedback, I can't really thank you enough. And while we got a lot of love from you (much appreciated), your ideas and constructive criticism have given me invaluable insights into how we can improve what we do. I feel very inspired and energized to take Truth In Aging to the next level. In two years or so, we've come a long way from being a little blog with an embarrassing amount of typos (although one sharp-eyed VIP pointed out that our grammar is still lacking!) but a lot of ambition. There's lot further to go and we'll be using your suggestions to help us get there. Some of themes that cropped up included:

Making it easier to navigate the site, find the good stuff and get to the articles that you really need, as well getting clearer, see-at-a-glance information on whether a product meets your needs and budget. There are some quick fixes that we can make and we'll get to work on these. But to do this properly, will require some new database architecture. To help us getting right, we'll be setting up a focus group and reaching out to those of you who went to town on this issue in your survey answers. Anyone who wants to get involved can also email me at marta@truthinaging.

We'll also use some of your ideas to streamline the home page and make it easier to access different parts of the website.

Not surprisingly, many of you asked us to cover products that are more affordable. I hear you and will redouble our efforts. However, we can only be as good as the industry. One of things we can do and are doing is to encourage the pricier manufacturers to come up with good sized samples and perhaps even maintenance products that are priced more keenly. We are just starting to have those conversations and the initial response is encouraging.

Very soon, you'll start to see some improvements to the navigation and search in the TIA shop and more competitive pricing on shipping, as well as more offers and discounts. Talking of the shop, only two people said that they thought that we plugged products in the shop too much and perhaps were comprising our objectivity. Two out of 200 is two too many. We plug things in the shop because, by default, they are the things I like. However, almost all of you said that you come to TIA for its objectivity and curiosity and so that must never, ever be compromised. Thank you for keeping me honest.

Oh and if something else strikes you, or you are not a VIP but want to weigh in anyhow, just leave a comment
  • August 2, 2010

    by deborah rodell

    Love the Kaplan samples and YBF. I feel overindulged, which is a very good thing. Love the exfoliant as I find in the heat and humidity of Wi. summers my face needs a good cleaning. And these exfoliants scrub nicely, and kindly. Thank you for taking care of us as you do. This site is the best!

  • July 16, 2010

    by Sandy

    I think my Kaplan MD samples got lost in the mail. I never received them:( When did the Kaplan MD company send them out?

  • July 13, 2010

    by veedee

    Thank you, Martha, got my samples yesterday, excellent!

  • July 12, 2010

    by Susan Dent

    Hi,

    Just letting you know I don't think you 'plug' your TIA shop items too much... the TIA shop seems to just be the place where the trialled, reviewed and recommended items end up and it makes it easy to find them all. And you know a product must be OK if you guys are willing to sell it there.

    I second the idea of an expensiveness rating, to let people find what is in their desired price bracket.
    I like reasonably priced skin care, but I love to hear reviews about the higher priced products, to hear if they're any good or not! I don't mind saving up for the 'best' - and on my income I do have to save! - but I do a lot of research before I buy and this site has been a wonder for that.
    So a big thank you Marta and everyone else who reviews here :)

  • July 9, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Erica, once I've got the iPhone app up and running, we'll get a 'droid version done. With feedback from the iPhone users, we can make the dorid even better!

  • July 8, 2010

    by Erica

    Marta,
    I also want to say thanks for all the time and effort you put into making all of us look our best!!
    And I want to beg you to please consider an android app also! There are millions of android users and being one myself, I really would love to have this info at my fingertips! As it is I look it up on my phone when I'm in sephora, etc.

  • July 8, 2010

    by Jacquie

    *crosses fingers* hopes I filled out the survey. lol

    I agree with everyone that this site is awesome. I trust the advice/ support here, which is saying a lot for me. The products I've purchased via this site have performed beyond my expectations, and I'm immensely grateful.

    I'm not by any means new to anti-aging protocols. But hitting 50 called for serious upgrades across the board in my life.

    I work out religiously, eat well, practice yoga, yet my face/body hit a wall, which I'm slowly climbing out of with the help I've found here.

    Its my first stop in the morning, and my last before I log off in the evening.

    A big THANK YOU !

  • July 8, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    I agree, Mark. I was thinking about this last night. The wonderful work Marta has done with TIA, and the networks she's built. The kindness of others, YBF and KaplanMD, is incredible. There really is no other site like this. I've always appreciated what fills me up here which is knowledge about the potions I may or may not want to use. Since first finding TIA in May 2008 I've basically read the Dailys here first thing each day. This knowledge base was more than enough for me. Yet Marta finds ways to give us more. I am in awe and ever grateful to the kind bounty. Cheers! ~jk

  • July 8, 2010

    by Mark

    I just want to say thanks to Marta and the TIA folks and all who contribute to make this website great and for aiming for continuous improvement.
    Also a big thanks to Dr Kaplan, YBF (and all others) that provide samples - they are so appreciated. - Mark

  • July 8, 2010

    by marta

    I think that's a great idea Sandy. We stared a nutrition column on our sister site <a href="http://truthinslimming.com/category/nutrition" rel="nofollow">Truth In Slimming</a> and there are definitely ideas there that are relevant for the TIA reader. Similar to your carrot juice story is a test where women were given a cup of drinking chocolate a day and it improved their skin.

  • July 8, 2010

    by Sandy

    I had an idea after I had already filled and turned in the survey. I was thinking a nutritional column would be nice. What better way to stave off aging but by taking care of the inside at the same time as the out!

    I had a book once that mentioned about some 3rd world country where women in their 30's (if I remember correctly) appeared to be in their 80's.

    This was due to the fact that there was too much fluoride in their water I believe.

    Anyhow they had given the women 3 glasses or cups of carrot juice a day for 20 days or more.

    These women not only reversed all of their wrinkles but many appeared much younger than their biological age!

    The carrot juice idea had come from a french physicist? Not sure of his title but he was a scientist of some sort and he was the one that discovered the remedy.

    I know I also read in some mainstream beauty mag years ago, about tests the editor of the mag and the other staff did by consuming different vitamins for a specified period of time. They compared this with skin care lotions
    (I believe Dr. Perricone being one of them) to see what would be effective.

    I know some of the staff's experiment with vitamins and such were more efficacious than some of the most expensive potions.

    I wish my memory served me better so that I could be more thorough. But at least it's a thought.

  • July 7, 2010

    by maria

    So happy to give my input-but I already get so much from your website-further thanks are the cherry on top!

  • July 6, 2010

    by Jana

    Yes, thank you to Dr. Kaplan and to Marta & the rest of the TIAers. I'm very much looking forward to sampling the KaplanMD range of products and appreciate that all of you made that opportunity available to us.

    Marta - good luck with the citizenship process. Can't wait to welcome you as a brand new Yank!

  • July 6, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    Marta! American as Apple... pie or i. You go, girlfriend. ~jk

  • July 6, 2010

    by Lisa

    Thanks for the update, Marta! LOL - Good luck with Apple.

  • July 6, 2010

    by marta

    Re the iphone app, we are going through Apple's very long approval process. I think they are backed up because of the ipad and new phone launch. Its quicker - and I can tell you because I am doing both - to get US citizenship.

  • July 6, 2010

    by Lisa

    Oh, any news on the TIA app for iphone?

  • July 6, 2010

    by Lisa

    Marta,

    It sounds like all of the survey responses were really helpful. I think (and can't remember if I mentioned it in my survey) that a rating system cost would be helpful. For example, Dermaradiant would get a "budget" rating and YBF Correct would get an "expensive" rating for eye serums. I am sure there are plenty of recommended "moderate" eye creams that have been covered on TIA. Some sort of comparison chart with each item's results-oriented ingredients and cost rating would be great.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...