Free shipping on all orders over $39

Our Rating: 5 stars

Buy this product

La Vie Celeste Creme Foundation and Concealer- reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Marta August 22, 2012 28 Comments

Pros

Buildable coverage that doesn't settle into lines

Cons

May emphasize dry spots
A great option for those who don't generally wear makeup

I have a pet theory that makeup is the new frontier for skincare. And I don’t mean that my face powder should have a token smattering of a peptide and be called anti-aging. Nor do I mean that I’ll put up with melt, fade or unflattering coverage just because my makeup qualifies as mineral and “natural.” I want to have my cake and eat it: I want great performance, zero irritation (which means no nasties) and some real-deal antioxidants to complement my skincare routine. I have found my personal Holy Grail with La Vie Celeste’s new makeup range. The Crème Foundation is second to none.

La Vie Celeste’s founder Teri Dourmashkin is a perfectionist. She spends a really long time (and I mean months and months) refining her formulations. As a result she has a skincare range based on natural, but also heavy hitting ingredients that I recommend all the time (especially to those with sensitive skin). A few months ago, Teri sent me a prototype batch of mineral powder, cream foundation and concealers. Personally, I don’t care for powder foundations so I went straight for the La Vie Celeste Creme Foundation ($39) in Vintage Beige and the La Vie Celeste Illumine Under-Eye Concealer in Light/Medium ($30).

I find Creme Foundation is the perfect texture for me. It smooths on easily (I use my fingers) and I find the coverage just right and very malleable. It can be spread as a fairly sheer skin tone improver or layered where more coverage is needed – it precludes the need for additional concealer in my experience. This foundation pretty much keeps going all day as well.

The ingredients are all natural. Meadowfoam seed oil helps give this it some slip without being at all oily.  It feels comfortable and moisturizing all day long. There’s pomegranate for antioxidant effect, along with green tea and olive. Pearl powder improves radiance of the skin tone.

The Concealer is rather dense and I found that the best way to use it is with La Vie Celeste’s special brush, warming a bit on the back of my hand before dabbing the brush (which is silky soft and vegan, by the way) under my eyes. The best thing about it is that it doesn’t settle into fine lines and wrinkles making them look more apparent (as is often the way with mineral makeup).

The coverage is very good. I’d go so far as to say this is the best concealer for under eyes as it has a slight luminosity. It is not shiny, but more flattering that a matte and the result is a more wide awake look.  The next best thing is that there is antioxidant orchid extract, which also moisturizes and camelina oil. This used to be relegated to animal feed until scientists found that it had a 45% concentration level of omega-3 and plenty of antioxidants.

Those with gluten allergies will be pleased to know that the concealer even contains rice bran oil (non-gluten source of Vitamin E).

For me, this foundation and concealer from La Vie Celeste are winners, keepers and my new go-tos for every day. I really love them (and, as a rule, I don’t even like makeup).

Ingredients in Foundation: Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Mica, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Extract, Calendula Officinalis (Calendula) Extract, Manihot Esculenta (Tapioca) Root Starch,  Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Boron Nitride, Pearl Powder, Camellia Sinensis (Japanese Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Allantoin , Silica,  Iron Oxides.

Ingredients in Concealer: Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Hydrogenated Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Camelina Sativa Seed Oil, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower (Orchid) Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil, Triglycerides of Caprylic/Capric Acid, Mica, Zinc Oxide, Iron Oxides, Silica.

Buy Me
$ 25.00
Was $ 42.00
  • December 7, 2012

    by teri dourmashkin

    Hi Audra: I am sorry you have not had a positive experience with the creme foundation. Have you tried warming up it first on the back of your hand and then applying from there (with either your fingers or a brush)? Also, you might want to try a sponge and just pat on your skin that way. Also, a little goes a long way with this foundation, so you don't need a lot at all. If you use too much it might not blend out as well as you would like it. Also, exfoliating can help with the dry patches (I get those as well in the winter) as well as using a good hydrating face cream. However, I realize you may have already taken these steps. While most people find the creme foundation very hydrating, it is possible that you might do better with the loose powder foundation. You might find that in your case, the powder foundation may tend to accentuate your dry patches less. You can even alternate the two...just using the creme foundation on areas where you need to tone down redness, etc., and then use the powder foundation on the rest of your face. The powder foundation isn't drying at all and still leaves a beautiful matte, but dewey finish. I hope this helps! Best, Teri/La Vie Celeste

  • December 5, 2012

    by Audra

    I really wanted to love this foundation, but I just don't. After trying multiple times, it has gone unused in my drawer. It tends to sit on top of my skin, highlighting the drier areas and not blending well. I've tried it with my fingers and with a brush, with primer and without, to the same end.

    Did I miss something? Am I applying it wrong somehow? I want to love it.

  • September 21, 2012

    by Michelle G.

    So glad you posted the La Vie Celeste product now... I was just thinking I have to scout out a new foundation, because I just haven't been thrilled with the one I've been using lately. I've been using mineral foundation because everything these days makes me break out. But I hate the coverage of the mineral foundation I'm using. Maybe this is finally a creme I can use?

  • September 21, 2012

    by Marta

    I think RMS 11 would be closest to LVC Vintage Beige

  • September 21, 2012

    by tala

    So how do the colors compare to rms beauty's concealer? for example, what does 11 uncoverup correspond to in LVC? thanks!

  • September 13, 2012

    by Holly

    Hi Marta - I've been thinking about dipping my toes into what is uncharted waters for me for some time - and that is makeup (gulp!). Just wondering whether you and the lovely Kristen would consider making a how-to-video regarding the new LVC line for those of us that need to do Makeup 101 and aren't able to pop down to a store for a demo! It's one of the things I love about the Mukti website - she even demonstrates how to use toner :) - I'd never thought of using two pads before - it works a treat!

  • August 24, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Barbara, we haven't yet tested the powder foundation yet. We should have a review soon and - assuming it is positive - we will add this in. We will be adding the finishing powder this weekend to coincide with a positive review.

  • August 24, 2012

    by Ann

    I suffer from dark spots and end of summer (now!) is the worst. I would LOVE, LOVE to try the brightening serum. I am also going to order the creme foundation.

  • August 23, 2012

    by Barbara

    Marta,
    Will you be carry mineral powder foundation, too? I saw it on the pictures above and hope you will:)
    Love the ingredients list!

  • August 23, 2012

    by Chris

    I would love to try the brightening serum. I'm unimpressed with my current skincare products and would love to try this!

  • August 23, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Tiffany, I would say that Un-cover Up is more sheer. The LVCs give more coverage and are probably better for oily skin. RMS works very well for me, but it can look a little shiny on some people and the LVC is more matte.

  • August 23, 2012

    by Sophie

    This looks amazing. Might have to give it a try!

  • August 23, 2012

    by Jamie Blair

    Either my prayers have been answered or this is too good to be true? To date, I've not found a concealer and creame foundation I'm totally in love with, so I don't use either. I opt for the I haven't slept much look over the my concealer highlights my lines and I look older - no way! Being in my mid 30s I'm seeing the effects of my many sun roasting years, with dark spots and uneven skin tone. This line sounds AWESOME!!

  • August 22, 2012

    by imelda

    Marta:
    If you need someone to test drive the mineral powder, I'm willing to see how it compares to Alima Pure, which I am currently using.

  • August 22, 2012

    by Tiffany Gaal

    It did not occur to me to ask this question in my previous comment (excitement overcame thoughtfulness ;P), but how would you say these two products compare to RMS Beauty's "Un" Cover Up? I was considering that product because of its ability to build coverage, the creamy texture, and the fact that it can be used as a concealer or all over the face if needed. What are the similarities and differences between the two new LVC product and the un cover up (or are they not particularly comparable)?

  • August 22, 2012

    by Kate Z

    I'm really becoming a fan of this brand! I love the exfoliating cleanser and have started using both the eye and face moisturizers on top of other serums for the added moisture. I would love to try the skin brightening serum to address some spots on that I have on my forehead and for overall brightening. LVC is such a luxurious line (feels like a spa treatment at home!) and I'm sure that this serum is going to be a nice addition.

  • August 22, 2012

    by Donna Watson

    My skin could really use some brightening! I love trying things before having to buy them, especially right now since I'm job huting. I would love to try this.

  • August 22, 2012

    by DELIA SADLER

    I would love to try the skin brightening serum. Age and sun have dulled my skin. I've spent too much money at Dermatologists for skin brightening treatments, with no results. Hopefully this product would help breakouts, too

  • August 22, 2012

    by Tiffany Gaal

    SO excited LVC is expanding into makeup. I recently bought the trial trio from the TIA store and really love all three products. I would love to try any of their new products. Addressing acne scarring and uneven skin tone is my primary skin objective and I am currently looking to rebuild my makeup routine with healthier alternatives so all of these new LVC products look like they will be perfect for me!

  • August 22, 2012

    by Cynthia

    I'd love to try the new La Vie Celeste Brightening Serum. I live in the sunny Southwest, so sun protection and sun damage remediation are crucial for face & hands. I'm currently using Lumixyl Topical Brightening Cream--got it as a DWM sample & it really wowed me with quick visible results. I'd love to see how La Vie Celeste's new potion compares.

  • August 22, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Gloria, you can see the colors fairly well on this product page: <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/la-vie-celeste-creme-foundation" rel="nofollow">http://www.truthinaging.com/la-vie-celeste-creme-foundation</a> However, I do appreciate that a picture isn't quite the same as sample. The thing is that samples are expensive for very small companies, like LVC to produce. We are working with Teri, the founder, to see what we can do and will let you all know asap.

  • August 22, 2012

    by summer bagley

    I would welcome the chance to give this new brightening serum and go.....esp. after the effects of Summer freckling and photo damage. Even though I am vigilant about sun protection there is only so much you can do and the rest you leave to your skin care right? :) I hope it is as good as the other products they offer.

  • August 22, 2012

    by Naheed

    The concealor sounds great but I would like to try La Vie Celeste Brightening Serum on dark spots around my mouth and to even out overall coplexion. I have tried many lightening agents but nothing worked. May be this serum will do the trick.

  • August 22, 2012

    by Nancy L Klein

    These two products sound great. I would love to try the brightening serum!

  • August 22, 2012

    by Deborah

    I've yet to find a product that truly gets rid of age spots so would love to give it a try.

  • August 22, 2012

    by Gloria

    This sounds like something I would like. I like the idea of mineral foundation but the powder is not for me. A creme is what I am looking for.

    Color samples would be wonderful.

  • August 22, 2012

    by darcy

    This is perfect.. i'm on the hunt for the perfect foundation and concealer... so pick me, i would be more then happy to try them!

  • August 22, 2012

    by Charley

    OMG! OMG! OMG! This is great news. I love all of La Vie Celeste's products so far. Liver spots and occasional dark circles from late nights at the office are aging me more than my years. But I'm not that big on makeup and applying it feels like a chore so I've tried multi-tasking makeup to streamline my routine but all the tinted moisturizers I've tried in the past just end up highlighting the dryness on my skin. Will LVC supply TIA with color sample packets so we can find our best match before purchase?

Have You Tried La Vie Celeste Creme Foundation?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment La Vie Celeste Creme Foundation below.

My Comment

Add a comment... La Vie Celeste Creme Foundation

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...