Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

La Vie Celeste eye cream- reviewed and recommended

Our Rating: 5 stars

Pros

Thoroughly hydrates dry, crepey eyes

Cons

May be too heavy for those with oily skin
October 5, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 14 Comments
An excellent eye cream at a great price

I have been using La Vie Celeste’s Restorative Rose Hydrosol Eye Cream ($60 in the shop) with R-Lipoic Acid for a month and it is an excellent product in the mid-price range. Its well chosen ingredients do an excellent job at firming and hydrating.

The key ingredient is R-lipoic acid, a chirally correct form of alpha lipoic acid. This “universal antioxidant” helps fight both future skin damage and repair damage done in the past by diminishing fine lines, giving skin a healthy glow, and boosting the levels and efficacy of other antioxidants, such as vitamin C and E. There is also research demonstrating that it can diminish scars. it helps fight inflammation and water retention by inhibiting the production of the pro-inflammatory chemical cytokine. For good reason, alpha lipoic acid is a signature ingredient of Perricone MD’s line, but now – with organic La Vie Celeste with which every ingredient counts - you don’t have to compromise with all those department store brand fillers.

The mostly plant based formula in LVC’s eye cream includes one of my favorite botanicals, bearberry, a source of arbutin and, therefore, a skin brightener.  And there are plenty of antioixdants in the forms of bilberry, pomegranate and green tea. The marine extract spirulina brings rare essential lipids, vitamin B12 and minerals. Spirulina is one of the best known sources of gamma linolenic acid (omega 6) after human milk.

An unusual and exotic ingredient is gardenia tahitensis. (or taitensis), which has historically held an important place in Polynesian medicine.  It may have anti-inflammatory properties, but there has been little research on this plant so far. In cosmetics it is mixed with coconut oil to produce a skin moisturizer and it is also a highly effectiveantibacterial (perhaps it will come into its own one day as a natural preservative).

After a month of using this cream, I feel as if it is gently compatible with my delicate eye area. My skin looks clear and refreshed and above all hydrated. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an eye cream to help with dry, crepey issues.

Ingredients

Aqua (Purified Water), Rose Hydrosol*, Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii)*, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil*, Gardenia Tahitensis (Monoi De Tahiti) Oil*, Emulsifying Wax (Behentrimonium Methosulphate and Cetearyl Alcohol), R-Lipoic Acid, Vitamin E (d-Alpha Tocopheryl Acetate), Vitamin A (Palmitate), Cosmocil CQ (Polyaminopropyl Biguanide/a non-paraben preservative), Green Tea (Camellia Sinensis) Leaf Extract*, Spirulina (Spirulina Platensis Geitler) Extract, Bearberry (Acrtostaphylos Uva Ursi) Extract*, Bilberry (Vaccinium Myrtillus) Extract*, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Coffee (Coffee Arabica) Extract, Olive (Olea Europaea) Leaf Extract*, Pomegranate (Punica Granatum) Extract, Grapefruit Seed (Citrus Paradisi) Extract*, Rosemary (Rosmarinus Officinalis) Extract*, Chamomile (Anthemis Nobilis) Flower Extract*, Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid).

*Certified Organic

Buy Me
$ 60.00
  • February 18, 2011

    by Arandjel

    I second that, Joe! Regular lip balms never agreed with me, so I started applying a smidge of eye cream on my lips, which makes a huge difference. Highly recommend!

  • February 18, 2011

    by Joe

    OK another experiment: been using the eye cream on my chapped lips. All the lip balms I use I either unconsciously lick off or wipe because of feeling so waxy or heavy. So I decided to use this and give it a shot. My lips are much better - they're healed..ok don't want to sound like some TV evangelist lol. Try it.

  • January 8, 2011

    by Lori

    I recently purchased the trial size trio and I'm a new fan of this line! My skin reacts poorly to SO many products, but not these! I also have been using YBF Correct but have discovered noticeable improvement with La Vie Celeste eye cream. Thanks as always for the wonderful info!

  • November 5, 2010

    by Teri Dourmashkin

    Hi Derek...it was great to see you at the La Vie Celeste booth at the Philly Expo. Thanks so much for all of your wonderful comments and so glad you are enjoying the products. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever have any questions or comments. Feel free to join us as well on the La Vie Celeste Skin Care Facebook page.

    Also thanks to Vicky, Marta and everyone else for all of your fabulous comments...very best, Teri Dourmashkin, Founder and President, La Vie Celeste

  • October 31, 2010

    by VickyL

    I am very impressed with this eye cream. I'm a dedicated ybf Correct user so I'm not easily impressed. I alternate and sometimes use together (after the correct has fully dried on the skin).
    The cream is lightweight, moisturizing, and brightening. It leaves my under eye area with a creamy matte finish that is not heavy like some eye creams.

    I really like this brand and will try the day/night cream, cleanser, and toner next. I'd sure like to get my hands on the 20% glycolic mask. I love the 5% but my skin is not sensitive at all and I have used 15 - 20% glycolic products before with good results.

  • October 31, 2010

    by Derek Solomen

    I was fortunate enough to stumble upon La Vie Celeste at the Expo in Philly last weekend. What marvelous products. I was speaking with the gentleman there who claims to have been using the product for the past 7 months, he told me he was 56 but he looks 36 - while genetics plays a key factor in our aging, and we men do have a bit different characteristics to our skin, the line is suitable for both sexes. The eye cream absorbs quickly, better than many products I've used. My wife and I have been using the eye cream all week, I can see brightness again around her eyes already. I was given samples of the whole line, and since I'm in the biz, I was able to get the 20% Glycolic mask. Wonderful. Strong enough yet my skin calmed within 10 minutes. I highly recommend these products and will tell my clients. The owner/founder of the company was there, she's passionate and VERY upfront about her products- she makes no false claims, doesn't claim it's the Fountain of Youth; finally a company that is as real as it's product. Very refreshing to find.

  • October 26, 2010

    by Kate Newton

    I would like to try it out but i have very sensitive eye area, it gets bloated when the product i use is too harsh... <a href="http://www.eyecreamreviews.com/" rel="nofollow"> Eye Cream Reviews </a>

  • October 11, 2010

    by Laura

    While the Dermo was a great moisturizer for my skin, I didn't feel like it abosrbed into my skin very well, so it didn't work well in the day under my makeup. It reminded me of the texture of sunscreen lotion which I don't care for, however I think it helped with keeping the wrinkles at bay. I'll have to see about ordering the SenZen. Thanks Marta!

  • October 10, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Laura, I haven't the Peter Roth Thomas, but if you like a rich cream then I would go for the SenZen. I am curious to know how you got on with the Dermophysiologique. Is that fact that you are casting around for something else a clue?

  • October 9, 2010

    by Laura

    I just finished my Dermaphysiologic eye cream and am in the market for a new one. The top of my list was SenZen that you recommended in September. This one also looks promising. I'm 49, have the usual deepening lines so I definitely need the plumping and moisture. I like a fairly rich cream (but not too pasty nor runny). the other one I've been looking at is the Peter Thoms Roth which has lots of vitamins and anti-aging ingredients and a wonderful texture.
    Marta, which one would you recommend?

  • October 7, 2010

    by Tammy

    This sounds like just what I need!! The only aging issues I have that really bother me (so far) are very, very
    extreme crepiness under the eyes.It is like I have no elasticity at all.
    It is hard to explain but when I put on a creme or foundation under my eyes, where ever my finger touches under my eye, that is where my skin stays. All bunched up and looking like
    a mess.
    I hope I can find a product that help.
    This makes me so self-conscious and has totally changed the way I feel about myself. I don't even want to wear make-up and get dressed up anymore because my eyes look so bad.
    No amount of makeup will cover crepiness as bad as mine.
    It is just like all the skin under my eyes goes to one place and stays there like a wrinkly mess.
    I am so sad.
    Don't know what to do.

    Thanks for the suggestion.
    Tammy

  • October 6, 2010

    by Angela J

    This line is looking more and more interesting with each product review -- I think the Eye Cream will be my first purchase as my dry, crepey issues are ever-present.

  • October 5, 2010

    by Stephanie

    Marta,
    I'm looking for something for puffy eyes- I wake up they're puffy then later they're baggy....suggestions? I'm thinking it should be a gel...maybe something I keep in the fridge?

    Thanks,
    Stephanie

    ps I am almost out of my Dermophisiologique eye cream and may replace it with this la vie celeste....

  • October 5, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    La Vie Celeste is an exciting new addition to TIA's arsenal of excellent potions! Not one to embrace an organic brand just for that alone, I am thus quite impressed w the considered "army" of ingredients they delegate, particularly, in this eye cream. I'm so happy you found good results, Marta! ~jk

Have You Tried La Vie Celeste Restorative Rose Hydrosol Eye Cream?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment La Vie Celeste Restorative Rose Hydrosol Eye Cream below.

My Comment

Add a comment... La Vie Celeste Restorative Rose Hydrosol Eye Cream

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...