Free shipping on all orders over $39

Lancôme Visionnaire [LR 2412 4%] Advanced Skin Corrector

Reviewed by Marta September 9, 2013 42 Comments

Lancôme Visionnaire [LR 2412 4%]' Advanced Skin Corrector Review

Lancôme Visionnaire [LR 2412 4%]' Advanced Skin Corrector ($84) has all the trappings of a marketing campaign that wants us to believe that this is The Next Big Thing: sleek packaging, carpet-bombing of ads in all the right glossy magazines, cutting edge multi-patented high tech never-been-seen-before active, and, of course, promises. And what promises!

“This is the future of beauty,” says Youcef Nabi, president of Lancôme International. Meanwhile, the product blurb gushes: “Much more than a wrinkle-corrector, Lancôme's first skincare capable of fundamentally recreating more beautiful skin.”

Lancôme Visionnaire‘s supposed breakthrough is a molecule dubbed LR 2412. Lab rats will appreciate that it has an affinity with water and oil and, therefore, is very bioavailable (can easily penetrate and be absorbed by the body).  Which is all very well, but what exactly is this molecule comprised of?

My guess is that it is listed in the ingredients as adenosine. This is a molecule that carries energy and it is an anti-inflammatory. It has recently become a favorite of eyelash growth product manufacturers.

It seems that Lancôme Visionnaire’s secret sauce also has do with something that plants produce called jasmonic acid. There are two ingredients in Lancôme Visionnaire’s otherwise lackluster formula that point to jasmonic acid: sodium tetrahydrojasmonate and tetrahydrojasmonic acid. And I must admit that jasmonic acid is very interesting.

Jasmonic acid is a “jasmonate” and one of its major functions is to protect a plant under stress. Put a hungry caterpillar on a leaf and the plant will start to produce jasmonic acid. It is actually a kind of hormone and when it senses that the plant is under attack, it inhibits growth. Another thing that jasmonic acid is big on is stimulating tuber formation; jasmonic acid is the main reason a potato becomes a potato.

While this is fascinating for budding botanists, I’m not sure why growth inhibiting, tuber makers should be in a face cream. One clue might be that in recent years more has been understood about jasmonic acid and it seems that it does all sorts of other things and works gradually, at minute doses, to modify the processes of growth, development and reproduction - well, in plants, anyway.

Interesting though all this is, it takes a big leap of faith to see this as the future of beauty. I have so far found no information on what it might do in human skin. And there’s nothing else to pin your hopes on in the Lancôme Visionnaire formula. In fact it’s a rather bleak concoction with only a smattering of sodium hyaluronate amongst the many silicones, standard emollients and synthetic thickeners.

Lancôme Visionnaire is meant for 25 to 50-year-olds, which at 52 puts me out of its target market. Somehow, I don't find that to be all that frustrating.

See my Five Best anti-aging serum picks

See Five Best anti-aging serums for under $65

Lancôme Visionnaire Ingredients: Aqua, Cyclohexasiloxane, Glycerin, Alcohol Denat, C12-15 alkyl benzoate, Dipropylene glycol, Pentaerythrityl tetraethylhexanoate, Polysilicone-11, Dimethicone, Bis-PEG/PPG-16/16 PEG/PPG-16/16 Dimethicone Polymethyl Methacrylate, CI 77891, Mica, Sodium Hyaluronate, Phenoxyethanol, Adenosine, Dimethiconol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Disodium EDTA, Citronellol, Inulin Lauryl Carbamate, Parfum, sodium tetrahydrojasmonate, ammonium polyacrldimethtyltauramide/ammonium polyacryloydimethyl taurate, hydoxyethylellulose, argilla/magnesium aluminium silicate, tetrahydrojasmonic acid, Citronellol, Inulin Lauryl Carbamate, Parfum/Fragrance.

  • May 21, 2017

    by Aliza

    To buy or not to buy? No, if you have really sensitive skin but yes, if you don't have allergies or is willing to suffer for beauty. Don't use it around the eye area if you have super sensitive skin like me. My eyes puffed up and my skin developed an itchy red rash overnight and the irritation lasted three days. On the fourth day, my skin started scaling and what I discovered underneath was a skin I never had since I was a child. Whatever jasmonic acid is, it penetrates the skin and is very effective but I hope a very clever chemist will find a way to neutralize its toxins. Ancient Chinese herbalist always add a neutralizer to anything that is amazingly effective - to keep the good stuff and remove the bad. Maybe, we in the West can learn from them. And as for me, will I use it to renew my skin again? NO but I'm tempted as the result was unbelievable.

  • April 8, 2015

    by Mixie

    As my third post, the scientific article on jasmonic acid was performed by L’Oreal. You need to realize that Lancôme owns L'Oreal, Clinique, Urban Decay and MAYBELLINE!! All one company.

  • April 8, 2015

    by Mixie

    PS: On the scientific article on jasmonic acid, if you look at the full article, it was a study conducted by Lancôme itself, and thus suspect. But at least they did a full study and put it out there for public scrutiny. The link for the full study is: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1600-0625.2012.01480.x/epdf So I believe that the ingredient that Lancôme is claiming to be the active one is jasmonic acid.

  • April 8, 2015

    by Mixie

    First, the excessive fragrance problem has be fixed. I am sensitive to fragrances and would know. Second, thank you for your efforts to determine what this product is doing. I am a chemist, and also skeptical. But believe it or not, after 3 weeks it is dissolving the hard white areas under my skin (past acne) I have had for 20 years that did not go away with Buff Puffs, salicylic and retinoic defoliants, and expensive cleaners and moisturizers (Lancôme). So it is doing something, but I suspect it is by some different defoliant process. Not a product to spend money on for most people.

  • August 10, 2014

    by Cathy

    I agree 100% with silly gal........First of all, I am a 56 year old woman who has been using Visionnare since it first come out.....maybe 2 years???? I CAN NOT believe the difference it has done to the depth of the lines around my mouth. I used I had taken a close up before photo! The line on my left side of my mouth is nearly gone! I understand that this is not going to get rid of my lines and wrinkles over night! It's gradual. It is, by far, my most favorite Lancome product EVER!!!!!!! I am living proof that this product works! I use it only at night because I was told that this is when your skin repairs itself and I would benefit the most. (I only use about 1 1/2 pumps follow with my Lancôme Renergie Multi Action Pm cream! Thank you Lancome! People tell me all of the time I look 42 not 56!!!!!!!! I'll take that any time!

  • June 12, 2014

    by JOANNE

    I bought this product to have a change from my usual face and body care brand, Korres. Big mistake, I will not be buying this again. The texture of this cream is not light at all, not refreshing, it is hideous and greasy, so much so that it made me itchy as soon as I put it on. Sticky, greasy, awful......I prefer the Korres products I use, literally pure, effective and cheaper; I will not change my Korres Wild rose 24-hour hydrating & brightening cream for nothing.

  • May 18, 2014

    by Marta

    Thank Yi, that link is very useful and the post has been updated accordingly.

  • May 18, 2014

    by yi

    well it's actually has been scientifically proven that jasmonic acid does have a significant results on skin as it increase the expression of two kinda enzymes which is responsible in increasing the HA level in ur skin....... you can check this out on http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22509841 ...............believe it or not...truth is always the truth!!!

  • June 7, 2013

    by lisa

    I tried this product as I was given a sample when I bought some foundations from Lancome. I have no idea nor could I find out what is in the product. However, after using it the first night I had a reaction in my throat from breathing the scent of it? it happened three nights in a row. I stopped using the product and the sctratchy - flemmy throat reaction went away... I tried again a week later and bam it was back.

  • April 10, 2013

    by sillygal

    All of you whining that it didn't work, or was irritating, did any of you even use it correctly? You do know that you have to use a moisturizer over it, don't you? If you don't, it won't do what it's supposed to do, and serums do NOT hydrate, they must be used in conjunction with a good moisturizer.

    And as for someone who would trash a product without even trying it, (her reason is that she's 2 years past the target age? nice try, but whatev.) should have zero credibility...I can't believe all you silly women who would just take her at face value are missing out on something that can and will transform your skin!

    But seeing that you have a "store" yourself, in which a bottle of body lotion is $90, I can see why you'd feel threatened by something as awesome as Visionnaire! I no longer even entertain the thought of going in for botox.

  • March 28, 2013

    by Cindy

    I am on my second bottle of Visionnaire and I absolutely love it. I have large pores, oily skin, frequent break outs, and had a small growth on my nose that kept coming back after having it removed. That growth has not appeared since I started using Visionnaire. My pores are much less visible, and they don't clog like they used to. I now rarely break out and I'm not as oily. I was considering going for facials to keep my pores clear, but I find that I have no need for that now. I am 48 years old. I used to have to cover blemishes, but now I just brush on some mineral makeup and I'm good to go. This is just my experience, but between bottles I stopped using Visionnaire, thinking that maybe I could use the other products I had and my skin would be fine. But I started breaking out with little red pimples, my skin was much oilier, and I was unhappy. So I went out and bought another bottle of Visionnaire just before an interview. It worked beautifully and cleared up my skin in 3 days. I love this stuff!

  • January 26, 2013

    by Kassie

    I received a small sample size of Visionnaire as a free gift-with-purchase when I bought my Lancome make-up. I have to say I am mighty impressed with this product! At the age of 54, my skin looks tighter and smoother after I put it on. I can literally see a change in 5 minutes after applying it! Not overly dramatic, but enough of a change to say I feel like I look at least 8 years younger and more well-rested. I also wear a moistuizer over the top and my make-up and all together I feel pretty and more confident. Good enough for me! My only concern is since it does penetrate the layers of the skin, is it healthy? Not to be unkind, but I also noticed that Marta's top anti-aging serums are conveniently sold right here on her site. I do question the unbiased-ness of her Visionnaire review, as I feel it would do no harm to just try a sample before slamming a product.

  • September 21, 2012

    by Nasochkas

    I am a skeptic when it comes to products but I used a sample of this stuff and I loved it. I bought it and use it at night and I have never before seen any diminshment in fine lines (I am 29, they are just starting) and pores until I used this. Maybe I am fooling myself, but I do like this product.

  • August 17, 2012

    by Bev

    I am a licensed esthetician and have studied skin care ingredients for twenty years. I have not tried this product, nor will I waste my money on any product whose company refuses to tell the consumer what the ingredients are and how they will effect the skin. There is NO skin care product that should cost as much as this one does. It is absolutely ridiculous, and women need to start asking questions. Go to the high end counter and just ask. Chances are the untrained associate will not be of any help. I know, I've done it.

  • August 7, 2012

    by Felicity Robson

    Who the hell is Dennis...? A guy telling all the women they're delusional for expressing their opinion if they like the product. Seriously...? Here's a news flash for you...if you don't like the sample don't buy the product. BTW I don't work for Lancome but I'm willing to trial Visionnaire as quite clearly it seems to work for some women's skins but not others. Ladies use your own judgement regarding your skins's appearance after using a product. If it works who cares why?

  • August 4, 2012

    by Carolina

    I bought this product a few days ago plus the Renergie night and day cream and eye cream. within 24 hrs. my skin has become red and sore and very tight. My beautician told me to stop using all of the products and gave me Aloe Vera gel to help with the soreness and redness, 48 hrs.later my skin is still tight but not so red. I will not use again.

  • July 26, 2012

    by RochelleSC

    I did notice and was surprised by a smoother appearance to my skin/pores on the areas on either side of my nose where the pores are most visible after using the trial sized sample but definitely nothing to justify paying for a regular sized bottle at the counter. I didn't use it for any specific effect; just because it was a free sample so the improved appearance was a nice little benefit I wasn't looking for or expecting. Glad I haven't suffered any of the negative side effects discussed here. I've been pretty lucky with most Lancome products I use, which are mostly the makeup lines.

  • June 28, 2012

    by shay

    My cheek has cystic acne after using this.

  • March 18, 2012

    by purpleduckie

    Sammy, I had the same reaction that you did. NOT GOOD it has made my cheeks break out and feel red and irritated

  • March 9, 2012

    by sher

    "I have so far found no information on what it might do in human skin." Probably because Lancome did their own research and my guess is that they're keeping it a secret. They were supposedly working on this for 12 years. Actually trying it for the 4 weeks they say it takes to see a difference probably would've been better research than googling their molecule or whatever. Though they claimed it, no skin product works the same on everyone's skin, so Idk why some refuse to believe those reviews that are in favor of the product.

  • March 7, 2012

    by LP

    After turning 30 everything seemed to change overnight, acne I haven’t had in over 15 years, dry scalp eczema along with a whole laundry list of other things. So I have been trying to find resolves for these new issues especially for my face. I have literally tried everything I could get my hands on with good reviews or new products at whatever cost with very little success. I then received a free sample of Visionnaire, in which I have heard nothing about, from Sephora. I'm not even sure how long I had it before I used it. Then one night I put some on before bed and the next morning there was a remarkable difference in my now acne prone skin, I was floored. I used the last of it that morning, very small sample, with continued good results. When I researched it I was definitely unsure of all the hype and did not buy it. Several weeks go by and I was still battling the same acne spots, once one fades a new one comes to light. So I broke and bought Visionnaire, it arrived two days ago & I have used it day and night since. My face is almost clear and not just that staying clear! I don't know why this one product actually works when so many have failed but I am thrilled. My only concern is what are the long term effects? There is little out there in the way of severe negatives. So what if it doesn’t work for some, for me it's been a miracle thus far. I can only hope it remains that way. I hope there is more research soon on the long term effects of using this product and its fancy new science. I would suggest anyone curious should get a sample and just see whether you'll have success like me or not. Also if you buy it, purchase it from Sephora where you can return it if it does not work for you. Truthfully I would pay any price to have pain free clear skin again and now I do. I hope it lasts beyond the honeymoon.

  • January 29, 2012

    by Cathy

    I'm 44 turning 45; with fairly decent skin for my age .. I do have larger pores, combination skin, and forward wrinkles... I purchased this product and after 8 weeks of using it (and other lance lotions) it has not made a difference in my skin. I will say i have had less hormonal/age related acne .. however, the age spots from the sun are still there, my pores look the same, and no change to my wrinkles.

  • January 15, 2012

    by Dennis

    Sorry Diane, your comment reeks of a biased opinion

  • January 15, 2012

    by Diane

    I have been using this product for 4 weeks. I am 70 years old. The results ARE remarkable. Pose almost disappearing..wrinkles almost gone! It WORKS! Maybe its the combination of ingredients..my friends have all noticed and asked how I coul look so different and so rested.. They asked if I had some special work done on my face....
    It is FABULOUS! And MIRACULOUS!
    No I don't work for Lancôme!

  • November 1, 2011

    by Dee

    It is not that great.I am 28 years pores and have enlarged pores.I have been using this product for almost 3 months but it didn't help me at all.

  • October 31, 2011

    by Alicia Allan

    I have been using this product for two weeks and the keloids I have on my face are almost gone! Prior to using this product they were raised and scabby and now they are almost invisible. I don't care whats in it, my skin is responding to it! I am 39 and have red ruddy skin tone and its much more even! My skin feels tighter and I look great! So to those of you that are find it lacking, I am sorry but I could not be more thrilled! I was planning on seeing a plastic surgeon to have two keloids removed and now I don't have to have an unnecessary surgery!!

  • October 19, 2011

    by Vanessa

    I'm 20. Tried a Visionnaire sample and it seemed to work fine on my skin after a couple of days. So I bought the product and that's when everything changed for the worse. I started breaking out and I took a closer look at the ingredients only to fine MINERAL OIL in there. Very disappointed because mineral oil definitely breaks.me.out. My skin is now off Visionnaire and I'll give the serum one final, last go when my skin's behaving again. Hearing beauty bloggers on Youtube labeling this their new HG serum and Lancome's huge campaign definitely sucked me into buying this. Probably my first and last Lancome skincare product unless they offer refunds. Does anyone know if they do?

  • October 6, 2011

    by Carol

    I've been using this product for a few days and am underwhelmed. (I also noticed no effect whatsoever from Genifique and the explanation 'it's in your genes' for that product is simply ludicrous. If it's in the genes a topical serum will do little to change anything.} I am 55 with good skin, fair complexion and some freckles and lines. I've been using other products to slowly fade my freckles as nothing in recent years has worked as well as the stronger alpha hydroxies which were taken off the market a few years ago when some people developed rashes. Anyway, Visionnaire has caused my skin to break out on the chin and forehead and to have a greasy glow. It is interesting people with acne seem to like the product. Obviously not good for a skin that has worked all that out years ago. I am curious about the inclusion of mineral oil in the product, a cheap filler which caused my skin to break out from using another line when I was about 27. The mineral oil gives the smooth feel some people reportedly like on their skin but which clogs my pores. The blogs out about this product are very good and have saved me $165. I'll stick with my green light therapy and two other whitening serums which are having good effects and with separate collagen products. I think the mixed results reported by different people in such a short time show one serum cannot be all things to all people.

  • October 5, 2011

    by Nazrana Ansari

    Please let me know it it's available in Mumbai (India).
    I would like to buy this product.

  • September 30, 2011

    by nhav

    I have been using this product for only 4 days and the dark spot on my cheek that I have been battling for years is almost gone. I am shocked!!! It's crazy that it could work that fast. I have used specific products just for dark spots and they took weeks to see any lightening at all. Whether or not you are happy with the ingredients something is working!

  • September 28, 2011

    by KBD

    I have been using a sample packet for a few days and I have noticed a significant improvement in my skins texture and appearance. I have very sensitive skin and usually break out with Moisturises. I will be buying a bottle.

  • September 26, 2011

    by Dennis

    Someone works the Lancome counter :)

    I love it when defenders of poor products come here to leave comments. I see this a lot with Mary Kay products too.

  • September 25, 2011

    by Arandjel

    Well, I think it's great for all of you who are experiencing such great results with this, but the ingredients for it are an effing joke - especially for a company with the biggest of budgets. And speaking of patents, Paula Begoun has something to say on the subject in her scathing review of this miracle product: http://www.beautypedia.com/search.aspx?prodid=18700&bid=142&wn=1. FutureDerm (yes, a budding dermatologist), on the other hand, discusses Lancôme's oh-so-lacking research: http://www.futurederm.com/2011/09/19/lancome-visionnaire-lr-2412-4-serum-review/. I mean, I'm all for an open mind, but cold hard facts is what this blog is about. So it's kind of rude of you to go off on Marta, when you have nothing to present but insults. Shame on you, indeed.

  • September 25, 2011

    by monique d

    Ok to the ones who love it here are the scientific facts... Not only is there more alcohol than there are state-of-the-art anti-aging ingredients, given the amount of alcohol present, your skin faces potential free-radical damage and collagen breakdown with daily use—even if you cannot see or feel the irritation taking place.
    all the marketing language Lancome uses in their ads and on their web site for this product never directly states what this product does for your skin. Like thousands of products, it claims to have clinical results of happy women who thought their skin looked better, but that’s not science because we have no idea what these women were basing their results on, or what questions were part of the questionnaire. Often these types of cosmetic clinical studies don’t allow a woman to make a negative comment of any kind. When you read between the lines, the language in the ads is all smoke and mirrors.

    So, what is Lancome’s LR 2412 ingredient (allegedly being used at a 4% concentration)? LR 2412 is derived from the jasmine plant. Lancome maintains that this ingredient is a molecule “designed to propel through skin layers.” As it does so, it “triggers a cascading series of micro-transformations.” Sounds like a magic wand for your skin, doesn’t it? And Lancome’s constant reminder that this ingredient is protected by 20 patents makes it seem even more remarkable—but a patent has nothing to do with efficacy; it is only about a unique way to use any ingredient. A patent can be obtained simply by presenting an idea, not proof that the idea actually works. Plus, the way Lancome presents this on their ads, it doesn’t actually say the 20 patents have anything to do with this product.
    Of course, you also have to ask yourself: If LR 2412 is able to tackle the major concerns mentioned, why is Lancome selling so many other antiwrinkle products that don’t have this ingredient? Shouldn’t they just admit that LR 2412 is the best and stop selling their antiwrinkle products that don’t include it? Not too long ago, Genifique was Lancome’s new darling, but now it appears that Visionnaire is the answer. I wish Lancome would make up their mind.

  • September 25, 2011

    by B

    Trashing something and making presumptions without even trying a product! you should be ashamed, how closed minded and bigoted, I for one keep an open mind on things and never judge a book by its cover, I tried a sample of this and have noticed smaller pores, past damage minimised and amazingly soft smooth skin in a mater of DAYS. AND I work in a store that carries over 55 different skincare and make-up lines, including Perricone, Darphin, DR Dennis gross DR Brandt etc etc and have been in this industrie for years so take it from me, this product works! forget the brands and the marketing and the packeging , its the product itself the science behind it and weather or not it works da! re-evaluate your thought processes honey lancome have the biggest laboratory in the world of any cosmetics company and the biggest budget . along with 12 years of research and 20 international patents, now thats saying something.

  • September 21, 2011

    by mishy

    I started the sample of visionnaire a week ago. I was really hoping this would be the miracle serum that everyone is touting. Unfortunately the last few days I've started breaking out. And I mean seriously. The skin around my nose is peeling all over and I have a huge swollen pimple on cheek and another beside my nose. I have persisted in using the serum hoping that once the peeling subsides it will get better, but I think now I will just stop and go back to the Peter Roth products I was using and see if I clear up. Don't think I will be buying the full size visionnaire.

  • September 15, 2011

    by sammy

    Bought this product a few days ago and started using it-- NOT GOOD it has made my cheeks break out and feel red and irritated- (i'm 31 and have fair, clear skin usually) I'm just a sucker for beauty products. Is anyone else having any side effects??

  • September 13, 2011

    by Denyse

    Once again I wanted to believe in miracles. I was ready to spend $100 (Cdn).
    I should know better but I needed your article to wake me up! As they say if it's too good to be true..........

    Thanks Marta

  • September 13, 2011

    by Ross

    Been using Visionnaire since August now and although I am 25 and do not have the concern of wrinkles, I do however have very large pores and my skin is greatly prone to sensitivity - Visionnaire has massively reduced my pore size AND my skin is noticeably more even-toned and redness greatly reduced. I am over the moon.

    Yes marketing can be over-the-top, it's the very nature of the business...but this time it's not all smoke, there are some bright burning embers in this fire!

  • September 13, 2011

    by anna 43

    I bought this product 2-3 weeks ago and I am really happy about the results already. I have wrinkles, as any 43 year old lady, and didn't really expect it to do THAT much to them. But after just 2 weeks I was really surprised about the result. I can also see a big difference on my pores, especially on my nose, and my dark spots. The lady also told me that it could be used by sensitive skin. You might feel the need to trash this product because you feel their marketing are overpromising, but should you not try the product yourself before you trash it? I will never stop using Visionnaire because for the first time, in many years, I am now happy with how my skin looks. anna

  • September 10, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    The London Daily Mail posted a lengthy article perhaps a week or 10 days ago about Vissionaire and how it was leaping off the shelves, women were lining around the block to buy it, and so on. So I'm happy to be "taught" once again the truth of it, Marta. I suspected as much and wasn't excited. But I really am saddened by the thousands upon thousands who do buy the hype of marketing. I'm almost 61 and entirely safe! *laughs ~jk

  • September 9, 2011

    by Jennifer

    Whew! I'm 52, so safe as well!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...