Free shipping on all orders over $39

Latisse eyelash growth product gets FDA warning

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
Reviewed by Marta September 20, 2009 32 Comments
The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has warned Allergan, the makers of Botox, that the website for its eyelash growth product, Latisse, is misleading because it avoids or downplays risks associated with the product.

The FDA said that Latisse, a prescription only product, either doesn't mention potential side effects including bacterial eye infection, allergic reactions, excess hair growth outside the intended treatment area, and permanent changes in iris and eyelid pigmentation, or presents them in small text that is much less prominent than statements about the product's effectiveness. In some cases, pages on the Web site leaves out information that is included in Latisse packaging.

The FDA approved Latisse as an eyelash growth product last December.The active ingredient, bimatoprost, is a drug that is used for the treatment for glaucoma. Some users of rival over the counter eyelash growth products such as LiLash, which also use a glaucoma drug, have told Truth In Aging that they have suffered side effects such hair growing on their cheeks.

I just checked out the Latisse site and it seems to have responded rapidly to the FDA's complaints. There is a clearly positioned 'about safety' tab on the home page and the potential side effects, including permanent change of eye color, are set out in full.
  • March 11, 2016

    by Louise

    I used lilash and unfortunately got a major eye infection from it. It has been 5 months since I first got the infection, and I'm still having major issues, including being unable to wear my contact lenses. Be careful. I'd hate for someone else to have the same issues as I have had.

  • November 17, 2014

    by Cheryl

    For Nancy in this discussion. I have tried the younique Moodstruck 3D Fiber Lashes and I do like how they make my eyelashes fuller! But after they are on for awhile...I have black black eyes under my lower eyelashes! Not sure if it is because of my cream I use under my eyes or the oil is use before I moisturize! Hope other people have better luck then I do with those fiber lashes!

  • July 8, 2014

    by gloria

    For Brandy June 13,2013. Lite rings? I'm curious. Were you diagnosed with ocular migraines? I'm having a similar thing happening to me and my Dr assured me the Latisse has nothing to do with it. But now I'm wondering.

  • July 8, 2014

    by Nancy

    Why not try the newest ALL NATURAL mascara instead??? There are no chemicals, no animal testing, it's gluten free, vegan, hypoallergenic and produces the most awesome results!!! Only a year and a half old, Younique 3D Mascara is sweeping the country! The look of extensions without the expense and time. The fibers are green tea leaves!!! Seriously. You can go here and check out the ingredients. No need for any risky lash lengthening serums. Just use this mascara. www.lasholicious.com Would be happy to send before and after shots and more info to you -- send email to lasholicious@gmail.com.

  • June 11, 2014

    by ALICIA MARIA

    I have been using this product for almost 2 years. The first year no problems no itching, redness or irritation but I believe it is like any other product excessive use can cause complications, of any product. By the second year I would notice if I applied at night after my shower by the next morning i would naturally wake up and rub my eyes well that lead to a red line where I applied the Latisse the night before. I, at that time spoke with my plastic surgeon would sold it to me over a year prior of starting this and he stated that it can happen in the eye, I told him it isn't in the eye the irritation but on the eye line above the lash he said that can happen, from there I did my own experiment because I am so happy with the results that I went to using every 3rd night and I must say that was the trick. I saw amazing results the first 3 months and from there it kind of seemed like maintenance because I had finally got the lashes I wanted, so by reducing the usage of application to twice a week my lashes are still full and beautiful without the excessive use of a product near my eye. I could not be happier. As for women who are finding that it is not for them I believe it is like any other product you can use on your body some people just have reactions just as they do to aspirin, hair color, bleaching, etc.

  • March 26, 2014

    by Jennifer

    I, too have had two single white eyelashes that pop up in my right eye. I pluck them and they grow right back!

  • October 14, 2013

    by Kristen

    Brandi, those hairs are not something new. Everyone has them. I remember plucking mine out as a teen. It's not from latisse.

  • September 17, 2013

    by Brandi

    I started using Latisse about a year and half ago off and on. I stopped using it 6 months ago when I started to grow tiny white lashes from my tear ducts and on the inside corner of my eyelid. Very painful so I stopped using it and pulled the hairs out but not only do I experience pain (needles poking my eye) but because of the pain and excess blinking and watering I would end up with a migraine and an eye infection. The lashes keep coming back even after 6 months!! I have called every type of doctor to see if anyone can help me permanently, but no one has heard of this happening and they don't know what to do. I am so frustrated!!! I get usually on week of relief before the hairs start irritating me again for a couple of days, headache and eye infection. I wish I can find a permanent solution as I can't imagine living the rest of my life like this. After a call into Allergen, they couldn't help me either. Has anyone else had this problem??

  • June 13, 2013

    by brandy

    Hi, I started using latisse about 2 1/2 months ago, my eye lashes look great but I noticed my vision started to start to become blurry, and shortly I began to have problems with lite rings in my vision as well. Off to the doctor I went and from there referred to an eye specialists and sadly enough im one of the 4% who will not be able to continue to use this product. The visual disturbance is something I can't live with so I will have to live without the lashes. Its a great product.

  • May 24, 2013

    by Ady

    I have been using Latisse since it became commercially available-for several years now. When I first started using the product, I used it nightly but found that the skin around my eyes was very itchy, red and irritated. However, my lashes grew beautifully. I have tried ALL of the lash serums without success. I now use Latisse but stick to an every other night schedule. I also use just 2 drops, placed into the cap. This also extends the use of the very pricey product.
    For all those people concerned about the risks of Latisse, remember that in the study in glaucoma patients, the drops were placed IN the eyes. The patients who experienced a change in eye color were just a few. As a blue-eyed, fair-skinned blonde, I was concerned about this as well. However, my blue eyes are just as blue as ever! I do try to wipe the drops off of the corners of my eyes, as I have noticed my skin is stained where the solution runs down.
    My eye doctor checked my ocular pressure (as part of a routine exam) after one year of use and found absolutely no difference.
    I think the risks associated with this product are entirely blown out of proportion. Regular saline eye drops can also infection if not handled properly. But I also think everyone is a little different and should use in caution. But overall, a very safe product.

  • April 19, 2013

    by KrisRoyston

    Latisse caused a problem with my eyelids!
    I had to stop using. Went to allergist to find problem.

  • April 16, 2013

    by marion

    I had a stem cell transplant & chemo 2 years ago and lost my hair and most of my lashes. A nurse suggested I try Latisse as they recommend it to patients for that reason.After using Latisse for almost a month, my eyes were so irritated and dry that they would stick to my eyelids at night. I couldn't open them without ripping the top layer of cells off. The most painful experience of my life. I now have corneal erosion that I have to see a specialist for.(as well a eye pressure and blurred vision). I am Canadian, we don't need a prescription here for Latisse. We also don't tend to sue. However, I feel very wronged by Allergan and wondered if there still is a Class Action Suit in the works?

  • April 10, 2013

    by Lorene

    Latisse and Lumigan both mqnufactured by Allergan for past 2.5 years~recently stoped using due to blurred vision, itchy dry eyes, red capillaries appeared around eyes making use of white eyeshadow. I used to have 20/10 vision like a hawk,now I can't read or see far away!! Glasses have not removed blurry vision!!
    HELP~will this resolve in time or has this product caused permanent damage??!

  • March 10, 2013

    by Deanna

    I bought the generic version, Careprost, online without a prescription. Although I've already noticed good results after only using this for about 3 weeks, I started experiencing a degradation in my vision a few days ago. I stopped using for one night and have noticed my vision coming back. The sensations I felt were eye pressure and blurry vision (near and far). I believe that this was caused by using excessive product on my lids (more than recommended) which resulted in product seeping into my eyes.

    Latisse and Careprost are really medicines used to treat glaucoma by relieving intraocular pressure via regulating fluid control. So I'm pretty sure that if you have healthy (non-glaucoma) eyes, getting this product in your eye will trigger the process this medicine is originally intended for. (I am not an eye doctor so my opinion is by no means professional.)

    I've read elsewhere online that vision change and/or vision disturbance are possible side effects. I was concerned about whether this side effect was temporary or permanent. I'm curious to know for those who've experienced vision changes if they continued using Latisse and if so, was the vision loss temporary. I've emailed a couple of people who've listed their emails here but from what I understand, they stopped using it altogether. Most of the feedback I've read are so positive this was a rare find to see negative results other than discoloration of iris and change in eyelid pigmentation. In any case, please leave your experiences here too and for those who've already done so, updates would be nice as most of these posts are over a year old. :)

  • January 16, 2013

    by kaitlin

    I sorta want to buy the product just to turn my eyes brown. My eyes are a light green/blue color. Always wanted brown eyes. I'm just gonna apply it to the corner of my eyes, so hopefully i don't have blurred vision

  • January 7, 2013

    by Lisa

    I guess I got lucky because I had used Latisse for a couple of months and had no side effects whatsoever. I didn't get the product in my eyes. I kept my eyes close after application (since lashes were wet) to avoid getting any of it inside my eyes..and my eyes are colored brown....idk for me I had excellent results but stopped using it because I can't afford it anymore.

  • November 5, 2012

    by MIchele

    My eyelashes have also fallen out and while they did get longer, they too were scraggly and wierd. My vision is worse and my eye whites are red. I use very little and did not get it in my eyes, not pretty

  • October 25, 2012

    by Tammy

    I have used Li Lash for 3 months as directed. My lashes have grown. This week my vision has become very blurred. I cannot see clearly with my glasses or my contacts. I am very concerned about my vision and regret ever using this product.

  • September 19, 2012

    by cynthia

    I too have had blurred vision after using latisse, got prescription reading glasses, because I was told that this was not a side effect of latisse, however, I believe there is a direct correlation between starting latisse use and the deterioration of my vision. the glasses do not rid me of the blurriness.

  • August 29, 2012

    by CHERRY

    I'M SORRY THAT THIS HAPPENED TO YOU, BUT ANYONE WHO IS THAT VAIN THAT WANTS TO EXPERIMENT WITH CHEMICALS ON YOUR EYELIDS JUST FOR COSMETIC PURPOSES....PROOOOOBABLY DESERVES WHATEVER ADVERSE REACTIONS THAT YOU GET. JUST BE HAPPY WITH WHAT GOD GAVE YOU INSTEAD OF PLAYING MAD SCIENTIST AND GLOPPING A BUNCH OF CRAP ON YOUR EYELIDS IN HOPES THAT YOUR LASHES GROW LONGER....

  • May 17, 2012

    by liz

    It made my olive green eyes start to turn a hazel/golden green. The yellow color which was minimal in my green eyes started to turn brown. I used it only 2-3 times per week very carefully for almost 1 month. I stopped using it & my color gradually turned back to normal. I tried to use it again, this time 2x per week trying my best not get any in my eyes & the second time they started to turn like a brown/green in less then 2 1/2 weeks. Right away I stopped & thought they would not turn back. It took two months & they're almost back to normal. I would not take the risk to use it again. My green eyes went from a deep color of olive green to a muted brownish green, thank goodness they turned back. Brown eyes are gorgeous but unfortuanately the latisse did not give a normal version of brown, the vibrance of the eye color was taken away & replace with a dull dark version. I am now using double lash & get pretty good results.

  • April 30, 2012

    by Denice

    My story is like Elizabeth Richardson's. I have cataracts now in both eyes that require both lenses to be replaced. I can't afford it either. Is there a class action suit pending? I Had excellent vision with no signs of cataracts in 2009 prior to using Latisse for about a year. In 2011 I was diagnosed with cataracts with no other under-lying health issues that would cause it. My optometrist is baffled. Now I will mention Latisse to him.

  • January 22, 2012

    by elizabeth richardson

    In 2009 I had my regular eye checkup. My eyes were declared completely clear of disease. Shortly after, I began using Latisse. While my lashes grew, so did something else: cataracts. At my next checkup, I was diagnosed with full blown cataracts in both eyes that required immediate surgery. i have had one eye done and am scheduled to have the next one done next week.

  • December 30, 2011

    by Lisa Mathalon

    For two yearsI have been searching websites trying to find women who have had similar side effects with Latisse as I had. I found one site chock full of heartbreaking stories you should check out: //www.eyelash-growth.com/reviews/latisse. I have contacted someone from this site and she and I are looking to start a class action lawsuit. If you are interested in joining us please contact me at almathalon@verizon.net

  • October 4, 2011

    by Dee Dee Hess

    I totally agree with all of the above posts. After using Latisse for a few months, I noticed that my vision has become impaired and I am now farsighted. Things up close appear blurry. I never had this problem before. I was just diagnosed with 20/20 vision earlier this year, and its as if overnight, I began to have vision problems. My eyes stayed red and irritated for the duration of using the product and I always felt an unexplaned pressure on my eyes. Even though i'm 43, no one in my family- mother or father side never needed glasses until well up in age- like late 50's, 60's. Now I need them. The makers of Latisse should be held accountable for their misleading and dangerous product and the FDA should be sued for endorsing it without listing all of the REAL side effects. If anyone is interested in looking into this matter further, please contact me at ddhess1362@aol.com. They should be held accountable for this poison.

  • September 1, 2011

    by terri rovelli

    I have had much worse problems with my usage of latisse. After only 2 nights of using the product, I have permanent blurred vision especially of the right eye where most of the product was placed. If anyone else has had damage to the eye after latisse use, please respond at trovelli@bellsouth.net

  • June 26, 2011

    by Nakomi black

    None should be selling that I'm tired of the beauty industry making all these promises that end up in disasters

  • May 20, 2010

    by Latisse side effects surprise users who bought it off-prescription by Tracy Davidson | Consumer Tips and Headlines by Philadelphia NBC10 Reporter Tracy Davidson

    [...] company known for beauty products such as Botox and Natrelle breast implants now faces unwelcome attention prompted by the way its new drug created for people who want longer, lusher eyelashes is being [...]

  • February 11, 2010

    by davida constant

    I am so upset with the side effects and the outcome of Latisse that I want to file a complaint with the FDA. I was ripped off, 2 bottles at $120 each, suffered intense eye irritation, itchiness, and redness in the whites of my yes, and redness on my eyelids to the point that I had to wear white eyeshadow or it looked terrible, and NEVER had the beautiful lashes it touts. My lashes looked scraggly, like weeds and grew in all different directions, some much longer than others, but never pretty. some actually pointed downwards and even with an eyelash curler they would not look good. Both eyes never looked the same. One's eyelashes looked better than the others. i also noticed that after about 5 months on it, my lashes starting falling out! it was so bad that it looked like i had only 3 lashes on one eye! I went to a salon to get extentions put on but they wouldn't do it because my lashes were in such bad shape!! The worst thing is, my eyesight has really gotton bad since I started it. I have never needed glasses but now I think i do! My eyes are still itchy and irritated although I stopped it. What a waste of money and risk to my health for NOTHING!! I am so pissed off and will definitly joint a class action lawsuit when it is filed, because I am sure it will be!

  • February 5, 2010

    by TRUTHFUL

    LATISSE CHANGED MY EYE COLOR AFTER ONLY A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. I HAVE HEARD OF OTHERS WHOSE EYE COLOR CHANGED AS WELL. WHY WOULD SOMEONE BE SO PASSIONATE ABOUT CONVINCING PEOPLE TO USE A PRODUCT THAT COULD POTENTIALLY CHANGE THEIR IDENTITY? DON'T YOU UNDERSTAND THAT EVERYONE IS MADE UP WITH DIFFERENT GENETICS. JUST BECAUSE YOU DON'T EXPERIENCE IT DOESN'T MEAN THAT OTHERS WILL NOT. I WOULD WAIT A FEW YEARS AND SEE WHAT COMES OUT BEFORE STANDING ON A MOUNTAIN TOP AND SHOUTING TO THE WORLD THAT THIS MEDICINE IS HARMLESS.

  • December 8, 2009

    by PrettyLady

    You sound crazy... and contradicting.I think you've proven the point of the FDA warning.Eye drops won't fix your problem.

  • November 18, 2009

    by SUNSHINE

    LATISSE IS NOT GOING TO CHANGE YOUR IRIS COLOR!! THEY HAVE TO WRITE THAT BECAUSE LATISSE HAS LUMIGAN IN IT AND IF YOU PUT STARIGHT LUMIGAN IN YOUR EYE TWICE A DAY IT CAN CHANGE YOUR EYE COLOR...BUT BECAUSE WHEN YOU USE LATISSE YOU PUT A DROP ON YOUR EYELID NOT IN YOUR EYE!!!!!!!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...