Free shipping on all orders over $39

Lavera brings toxic free skincare to the US

Reviewed by Marta December 1, 2010 29 Comments
When one of Truth In Aging’s VIP members recently asked us to look at a brand called Laveré it proved, initially to be a bit of a challenge. I’d never heard of it it and Sarah’s online search turned up Laveré and Lavera. They turned out to be the same company and is much better known in Europe: based in Germany, it has a 27% share of the European cosmetic market. Not bad and especially impressive for a company that is aggressively green.

Now it is taking on the US, bringing its high standards for natural and organic ingredients (the criteria are much more rigorous in Europe) to the US by way of Target and CVS. The stateside head of Lavera is Ulrike Jacob and she points out that she may be the only CEO of a major cosmetics and personal care brand with an advanced degree in chemistry and a major in biochemistry. What this means in practice is that she makes “the connection between toxic ingredients and chronic health conditions common among women stemming from auto-immune problems”.

Debra Messing is supposed to be a fan and Jerry Hall loves the Laveré anti-cellulite cream. But will those curmudgeons at Truth In Aging sing Lavera’s praises?

We have two of their products: Laveré Hydro Moisturizing Cream ($60) and Levera My Age Lifting Serum ($45). Both are notable for the high amount of botanical actives and a penchant for mango and apricot. There are some more unusual ones as well such as karania seed oil, which comes from the pongamia tree. It seems to be used as an alternative to neem oil, although there isn’t much hard research into what it does other than its role as an insect repellent. Nor have I come across chicory root too often in skincare products. It turns out to be a treatment for swelling and inflammation.

The botanicals are backed by antiaging ingredients such as coenzyme Q10, lactic acid, sodium hyaluronate and ceramide-3.

All in all, Lavera seems to be walking the talk with quality natural products that are chemical and toxic free at a reasonable price. The only surprise was the inclusion of linalool amongst the essential oils as this component of lavender oil has been linked by research in the UK to cancer.

Ingredient in Hydro Sensation

Water, Squalane, Glycerin, Alcohol*, Squalene, Sodium Lactate, Varnish Tree Peel Wax, Shea Butter*, Saccharide Isomerate, Evening Primrose Oil*, Vitamin E Acetate, Hydrogenated Palm Glycerides, Lysolecithin, Sweet Almond Oil*, Rosehip Oil*, Jojoba Seed Oil*, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice*, Xanthan Gum, Chondrus Crispus, Glucose Glutamate, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Vitamin E, Apricot Fruit Extract*, Mango Fruit Extract*, Nymphaea Alba Flower Extract, Pomegranate Extract*, Lecithin, Ubiquinone, Sunflower Seed Oil*, Beta-Carotene, Ceramide-3, Rapeseed Sterols, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Soybean Oil, Citric Acid, Tartaric Acid, Lactic Acid, Citral* Geraniol* Citronellol* Limonene* Linalool* Benzyl Benzoate* Benzyl Salicylate*

Ingredients in My Age Lifting Serum

Water, Glycerin, Sodium Lactate, Lecithin, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Karanja Seed Oil, Aloe Vera Juice*, Apricot Fruit Extract*, Mango Fruit Extract*, Bearberry Leaf Extract, Maltodextrin, Silica, Coenzyme Q10, Chicory Root Extract, Maltose, Algae, Magnesium Gluconate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Xanthan Gum, Rhizobian Gum, Essential Oils

* indicates ingredients from Certified Organic agriculture

 
  • April 14, 2011

    by Michelle

    I have tried two Lavera products... their eye cream and mascara and found BOTH disappointing. The mascara ran and even under ideal conditions made me look like a raccoon (although it did smell really great!) The eye cream was an expensive splurge that I regret - I saw absolutely no change in my eye area at all after using the entire tube. I won't likely try any more of their products.

  • December 2, 2010

    by Rebecca Tarcha

    I would love to try the moisturizing cream. I used to import a German skin care line "Sansouci" which was very luxurious, so I'm curious how this compares. I am 63 and my skin is sensitive and craves moisture. Also I am an out door kind of gal (into sailing & skiing) and I'm looking for a good, comforting cream. Please let me try it.

  • December 2, 2010

    by Danielle

    I'm a Licensed International Cidesco trained Esthetician/R.N./MakeUArtist who is into trying the latest and greatest, the PUREST skin therapy and make-up. Being in this industry for 17 years, believe me, when I say that I have tried EVERYTHING. However, I've been wanting to try this line! I can provide an unique and critical view that will greatly help people. :))

  • December 2, 2010

    by Patricia

    I would very much love to try something from the Lavera line. I'm going to be 57 years young in March and my skin shows those signs of aging. I look in the mirror and say "who is that person"? My main issue is with skin firmness. I have none. I hope I am fortunate enough to be chosen to try this line. I'm very much a proponent of green everything and especially when it comes to my face and body.

  • December 2, 2010

    by Laura Coleman

    I would love to try something from the Lavera line. I live in Florida and have a copious amount of sun damage and plenty fine lines around the eyes. I am also pregnant and have been struggling to find a product that does not contain toxins and is not irritating to my already-sensitive skin; I would love to move to a more natural line of products during my pregnancy. Unfortunately, pregnancy also seems to be doing a number on my skin, with random breakouts and periods of flaky dry spells. Thanks for the consideration!

  • December 2, 2010

    by regina

    Lifting Serum.? I have tried them all...hoping this is "the one" cant wait to try it!

  • December 2, 2010

    by Regina

    always looking for the "right" mascara...I have very sensitive eyes and can never find the right combination for sensitive eyes as well as natural ingredients that increase length and volume..hoping this is it!!!

  • December 2, 2010

    by cassandra

    I am very very interested in trying the lavera mascara. As I started going through menopause, I became allergic to 50+% foods in my diet, most laundry soaps, skin care and makeup... Mascara, being the only makeup I use regularly has left me frustrated beyond question, as each supposedly new "ORGANIC" mascara is not really organic at all, and has caused more issues than some of their non organic predecessors!!! Not to mention the prices of these hyped up imposters. I would be most appreciative if given the opportunity to review and hopefully for the first time, be pleased with a mascara that is what it actually claims to be. thank you so much...... Cassandra

  • December 2, 2010

    by Sunnygrrle

    Although I don' suffer from having many wrinkles at all...I have started to have some noticeable sagging and I would love to try the lifting serum. I have typically sensitive skin and all the new products out there that are "all the rage" and do seem to work tend not to be tolerated well by my skin, so I'm always on the look out for toxic free hoping that it will be less irritating. So if you're looking for someone to test and review on behalf of people with very sensitive skin, I'd be happy to volunteer! Thanks!

  • December 1, 2010

    by melissa

    I'm a serious mascara junkie and have tried well over 200 different ones in my time. My favorites don't smudge (raccoon style) and do not irritate my sensitive contact lens wearing allergy prone eyes. I am super interested in this line because it sounds gentle and quite possibly not full of bad-for-me ingredients! I would be glad to try it and use my experience has a mascara obsessive consumer to review it. Thanks! :)

  • December 1, 2010

    by Donna

    How ironic that in the week I reunite with my cousin in Bavaria whom I have not spoken to in 37 years, you recommend a product from Germany!If I am not lucky enough to be a tester perhaps I will have my cousin mail some!

  • December 1, 2010

    by J

    I would love to test these products and give an honest review. The price is very affordable - BIG PLUS! I would not want to test a product, love the benefits, but have to stop using because I could't afford to buy!

  • December 1, 2010

    by Jan

    This is the line that Dr. Lark speaks so highly of - I've never tried it, but perhaps after reading this I would be tempted to order.

  • December 1, 2010

    by Jennifer

    I would be happy to try either one of the Lavera products & to provide an honest review. Currently, I am testing the EpiSilk serum...2 weeks into the trial period, and am underwhelmed thus far. However, since I do realize that it often takes several weeks of continued use before seeing noticeable results, I will continue using it until it is gone...or until I receive a new serum (hint hint) to test!

  • December 1, 2010

    by jc

    sorry for hogging the comments section, i just read the ingredients for the lavera products, though i don't seen any exciting cutting edge ingredients that i look for (peptides and such) the ingredients, other than "essential" oils and the fragrance ingredients, look rather nice...whoever gets the samples i can't wait to hear your reviews!

  • December 1, 2010

    by jc

    by the way, here's a link to shopnbc's "suzanne" store: http://www.shopnbc.com/Beauty/Suzanne_Somers/Default.aspx?cm_re=DN-_-Beauty-_-Suzanne

  • December 1, 2010

    by jc

    for those who are drawn to "toxic free" products i don't know if you've checked out suzanne somers' new skincare line she probably sells at her website but she also sells through shopnbc. i've not used it and i'm not worried about "toxins" in my skincare so much, but the ingredients in this line do sound lovely and beneficial for the skin.

  • December 1, 2010

    by Cyndie

    Hello Marta,
    I too would love to try both samples. I'm looking for a great product that's natural and affordable.

  • December 1, 2010

    by Jan

    At my age anything that is uplifting it worth a try ! I am fighting the age thing with all I have!

  • December 1, 2010

    by dawn

    Would be very interested in trying this product, as I am actively seeking a good moisturizer, that is affordable, safe, and won't leave excessive oil and shine on my face.

  • December 1, 2010

    by priya

    Hi, I'd love to try both samples. Thanks for brining this brand.

  • December 1, 2010

    by deborah rodell

    Hi Marta,

    I too would love to test this 'green' product! At age 58 concealing becomes more of a challenge and I find I just need to put healthy things in and on my body. At this age cheating is no longer an option. Eight years now into my 50's I find all the long hours, too much sugar, too much salt and bingo! it all shows up in the bags, sallow skin etc. I promise to use this product as my one and only and judge it fairly. So please consider me when passing what sounds like a real green product. Thank you in advance for your consideration.

    Deborah

  • December 1, 2010

    by Christine

    I have seen Lavera products in the US, and have been tempted to try them. If I recall correctly, they are not cost prohibitive which is such a bonus these days! I'd love to sample and review anything from them and will now take a closer look the next time I encounter the product line.

  • December 1, 2010

    by Bevely Cook

    I would like to test the Lavera products. Green works for me and Germany is the land of my heritage.

  • December 1, 2010

    by Barrie

    You don't have to print this, but, Yikes! Jerry Hall as a model for antiaging? Don't know about the cellulite, but the rock n' roll lifestyle is not good for the skin!

  • December 1, 2010

    by Jan Poston

    Hi Marta. I'd love to test and review Lavera. As my skin ages, it really reacts differently to products I've always used, and I'm getting so discouraged about the (lack of) available organic AND high quality skincare available out there as an option. It seems so many companies refer to themselves as "green" now but what that really means is biodegradable/recyclable packaging and some familiar plant extracts to further the "illusion" of "natural". I guess they realized they have to come up with something to enhance their appeal, considering that "green" is the new "black" in cosmetic circles. Make my head spin everytime I read a label, though. I'd love to further the cause for a boutique line that doesn't have the resources for big-budget advertising, but rather focuses on the product's results as being the primary catapult for getting noticed.

  • December 1, 2010

    by JUDE DUNN

    Hi Marta,

    Would love to try this and would be happy to review it on my blog. I would especially like to review the My Age Lifting Serum.

    Regards

    Jude

  • December 1, 2010

    by Sharon

    Having mature aging skin I would love to try the Hydro Sensation. I really like some of the ingredients especially the lactic acid. I make my own lotion using lactic and really love what it has done for my skin.

  • December 1, 2010

    by Doris

    I'm surprised that you tend to focus on linalool as a potential irritant/carcinogen when benzyl benzoate and benzyl salicylate probably are even more problematic for sensitive skin prone to irritation. Linalool is probably not much more cytotoxic than plenty of other plant ingredients in products you feature and sell here. Either you have problems using products with volatile components or you don't, doesn't really matter which allergen it is, people sensitive to salicylate-like compounds might react stronger to benzoates though. Just my two cents, since the "harmful ingredients"-discussion can be a bit one-sided.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...