Free shipping on all orders over $39

Lift SP - why I got scared off

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by admin February 10, 2009 21 Comments
When I was about 11 years old, my two sisters and I would ride our bikes down an old dirt road to an abandoned two story farm house a few miles away. The house was covered with vines and a tree was growing right up through the dilapidated front porch. Much of the home's roof had fallen in, as had all of the interior stairs, but if you were equal parts fearless and foolish, you could shimmy your way up the old stairwell to the second floor to search for abandoned treasures from years gone by.  On one such treasure hunt, I found a tiny article of clothing in a broken down chest of drawers, and it contained three perfectly preserved solid silver buttons, which I still have to this day. When the wind rustled tree branches across the old clapboarded exterior and caused the remaining walls to sway, being in the creaky old farmhouse was more than a little bit spooky, and not for the faint of heart.

What does a spooky old farmhouse have to do with a product review for Lift SP? Both are just a little scary, so buyers will want to proceed with a bit of caution.

Just like the old farmhouse, Lift SP may hold amazing treasure , but I will not be trying the product myself. My decision to forego a trial of the product is not because of the ingredients themselves (which look quite promising) but because of the "club" business model that the company uses to extensively market the product. You, brave readers, may decide to ignore my "buyer beware" posting and find a treasure. If you have tried Lift SP and love it, be sure to let me know by posting a comment.

So in the interest of fairness, let's take a quick look at the product.

Lift SP falls into the topical temporary anti-aging category.  You apply the product according to the directions, and (according to the company) you see an immediate reduction in wrinkles and a tightening of the skin, "both of which should last up to 8 hours". How a product can both relax and tighten at the same time is beyond me, but I have seen the same positive combination with the Juice Organics Brightening Serum (reviewed on January 02, 2009) and a SuperMax Multi-Peptide Serum I am currently testing, so conceptually it is indeed possible. That being said, their description of "an amazing instant face lift"  has my mind conjuring up unfortunate images of Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, and his face lift gone horribly wrong, for the rest of the day.

Despite my best efforts, I cannot locate an ingredients list which contains percentages of active ingredients, and I would be amazed if the published ingredients list below is truly complete.  I can't imagine they have not added at minimum some type of neutral carrier (i.e water, fruit juice, etc) to the serum, as do all of the similar products .  What we do know (according to manufacturers website) is Lift SP contains 6 premium Multi-Peptides, and their explanation of each ingredient benefit (not mine) is included:

Argirilene (Hexapeptide-3) - reduces wrinkle depth and relaxes facial tension) Leuphasyl - modulates muscle contraction, especially beneficial to wrinkles in the eye and forehead areas. Octapeptide - extends and lengthens the muscle, under tension it reduces wrinkle depth) Matrixly 3000 - contains 2 lipopeptides which lead to synthesis of new collagen, stimulates Collagen I, III AND IV, is stronger than Vitamin C and works faster than retinol without the irritating effects, increases elastin while repairing the skin. Tripeptide -  even further helps smooths lines in the wrinkle prone areas. PLUS Sea Weed Extract - lightens your skin for an amazing instant face lift look and feel.)

The business model is the part that scares me off. The company offers a "risk free 14 day free trial" and the fine print in the purchase agreement grants them permission to bill you $74.99 within two weeks and then monthly forever, unless you cancel. The fine print also points out that the 14 day "free trial" starts THE DAY YOU PLACE THE ORDER, (not the date you receive it) and the product must be back in the hands of the company within the 14 day period if you elect to return it and cancel your order. No consumer out there likes every product or company, but a quick google search turned up an eye opening number of complaints filed against the company over billing. Customer Service hours are Monday thru Friday 8AM-5:30PM and the number is 866-897-2464 and according to the site,  if you would like to cancel your account through email you may do so by emailing info@verifyyourorder.com

So just like the old farmhouse, understand what you are getting into, and if you decide to "venture in", be sure to let the rest of know what you find.
  • June 27, 2014

    by Nettie

    So! I am getting ready for my daughter's wedding, and 2 months before I start buying products to try, hoping something would firm up the bit of turkey waddle/wrinkles I have under my chin. I even considered Lifestyle Lift, but got scared off. Tried Sudden Beauty, Dermalift, you name it. Then I found an old bottle of Lift SP serum lying around. What the heck - tried it, and over a week or two, actually noticed a difference! This sounds like a ridiculous commercial doesn't it?! But its not as my searches tell me that i't doesn't appear to even be available anymore. Is it? If not - what is comparable. I can't believe I found something that really works, and it's gone?!

  • May 21, 2011

    by Muzzie

    WARNING: DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!! Over a year ago I ordered Lift SP. The only way to order was with an "autoship" option. I used it for a couple of months and noticed some improvement, but not enough. Also, the literature describes the following: "Tripeptide--this synthetic snake venom temporarily debilitates the muscle, keeping it from contracting, and smoothes lines in the wrinkle prone areas." I decided I do not want this on my skin, so I cancelled the auto ship option. They gave me a hard time and put great pressure on me to continue. Out of the blue, a month ago I received more product, and was billed for it. I called to once again cancel. After much pressure to continue, they said I would receive a refund and be removed from the list. This month I was once again billed, and received no product. I guess the Attorney General and the Better Business Bureau are the only options.

  • October 20, 2009

    by Faith

    Contact you State's Attorney if you have been involved in this scam. Numbers have power. This business practice is called
    Negative Option. The intent of this business practice is CLEAR. I managed to get some funds back but the A. G.'s office procured the rest of the refunds due me, for me. The print was so small and almost invisible with out enlarging. Again, I say, the intent is clear. This is a business practice that should be terminated.

  • July 30, 2009

    by Jim

    I also have been using Bioque Serum XL and Serum Rejuvenate, along with their firming gel and vitamin K cream. I have been very satisfied with these products overall and I would recommend them to anyone. A nurse at the hospital the other day looked at my chart, then at me, then back to the chart before telling me, "You sure don't look 43!" She then confirmed that she was even addressing the right patient. I've tried Dermapril, lifecell, and several others out there, and while this stuff is expensive, you use very little and it lasts a long time. I will be reordering my Bioque products.

  • June 18, 2009

    by Sheryl

    HELLO!! Read the fine print and if you don't thats your own stupidity. Nothing is ever free!! There is always a hitch that involves money. If you really want the product, just go on ebay and you can get a bottle for just a few $ (maybe a bit more, but definitely less than $80 and probably way less than $20)and no shipping fees.

  • June 11, 2009

    by marta

    Joan, Cancel and send them an email with a link to this page of our website. I'm sure they will do the right thing rather than have adverse publicity. Let us know how you get on.

  • June 10, 2009

    by Kate

    Hi Joan,

    I am sorry that I can't even make a suggestion...I didn't buy it because I was concerned about the "automatic billing" and so I don't know how you would cancel.

    If a reader has a suggestion for Joan, please post! Telephone number or email address?

  • June 10, 2009

    by joan

    Ok, now I'm scared. I have used mine for 6wks now and have yet to receive my bank statement. I got my 2nd bottle of SPlift yesterday.
    I haven't told anyone that I have been using it to see if anyone notices anything different. No one has said anything.
    So, what is the best way to cancel? I am a widow living on disability and still have 2 young children home. I can't afford any of this. I don't even have an oven.

  • April 23, 2009

    by Angie

    Please file a complaint w/ the Attorney General of your state and the state of Utah if you were scammed by Lift Sp.

  • April 12, 2009

    by Jenny

    Dri is the company behind Lift-sp. Dr. Jepson out of Utah also sell other creme/serum using another brand name lines. I read that he operates other companies in other states such as Arizona. All the blogs on liftsp is a scam. They are fake blogs. Pictures of identical lady have different names and they use your IP address when you enter their website to fill in the blank for a city that is near your IP address to make you feel good that someone nearby used it and it works. Any positive blog or review sites are all fake and is put up by Dr. Jepson. There are nothing that backups Dr. Jepson's claim. There is no disclaimer on of any of their website that CNN, ABC, etc didn't validate for them that this product works. I read that Dri liftsp company is under investigation for fraud due to high number of similar complaints. I am a person that is skeptical, but decided to try the free trial for $4.95 and read the fine prints and also check "no" for the sp-creme. I did not order this item and did not received it either. I was charged $29.95 for it. I called the company numerous time for a refund and they said "sure" and its been 2.5 months and no refund. This is a very familiar story that I read from other ladies that was scammed the same way. IF you did order anything from them and got scam. Call your credit card company and get them to issue you a new card. Lift sp also sold my data to antoher company that sells anti-wrinkle creme out of Arizona, but right now I believe this is just another company of Dr. Jepson. All the fake blogs pictures (before and after images) are stolen pictures from numerous plastic surgeon's website. The after pictures are all either lazer and/or plastic surgery results............. Dig deep and you will find all the lies that anti-wrinkle creme post. You have to beware of the ones that show before and after photos that looks like plastic surgery than results from using a creme. Liftsp just coats your skin to make it feel soft, but doesn't nothing for your skin. When you wash it off, it will be just like the way it was before. Liftsp cannot even work on a very tiny wrinkle of my 20 years old niece...... There are also about more than a dozen of anti-wrinkle creme/serum on the internet that is also a scam. I believe all these scams are run by a few companies that are related......

  • April 7, 2009

    by Dana

    Follow-up:

    I have tried the products sent to me from Bioque since 3.19.2009. I researched all of the data I could get my hands on regarding the debate over the amount of Argireline that should be placed in a product. Bioque states that they use 20%, based on their research on how much the skin absorbs. Bioque addresses what they found in their research. During the research I conducted on line, I found an excellent resource for information. It is dated material (posted in 2006) at: healthskin.infopop.cc/eve/forums. I googled the site in my search for information on cosmeceutical peptides.

    The feedback I received from people who knew me to various make-up artists with whom I have gone to including my esthetician was all positive and unsolicited. One of the esthetician's I go to asked what I had been doing recently, I told her, she now intends to get the product for herself and her clients.

    The products I used were:

    Serum XL, Serum rejeuvenate, Gentle purifying skin cleanser, Acid-Free facial skin refinisher, the day and night cream.

    Normally my skin reacts to anything new; I never had a negative reaction. My skin became softer, the fine lines disappeared. The product does not replace laser touch-up or plastic surgery. It is a hard call to say that it can fully replace the effects that Botox or filler can produce. What it did do was give me healthier, fuller and moist (almost dewy) skin with excellent texture. The products were not greasy and I never felt as though I had a lot of “stuff” on my skin.

    With an active life style, I do not have a lot of time to play with multiple products. The experience of trial and error with various products was worth it and taught me a lot along the way. So far, Bioque won hands down, even on my eyes.

    I never received an email from the company to try and sell me on their products. I was impressed with the delivery system and will try other products by other companies in the future based on my own research and the research/feedback provided by others. However for right now, I have enough of the Bioque product to last another 3+ months (you use very little, which is emphasized by the company). It is well worth the investment which proves to be less money in the long run.

    I still supplement my skin care products with items I purchased from Linda Sy a former dermatologist who specialized in working with people with severe eczema, rosacea and sensitive skin. I cannot put anything with vitamin C under my eyes, even if it is touted as organic. Therefore I use the tinted zinc and the vita oil. The zinc for sunscreen and a light make-up and the vita oil for under my eyes and on my eye lids as a moisturizer. One of the draw backs to Dr. Sy’s products is that she closed her business down in late 2008. They can still be found through various distributors if you go to the original website. Because I was finding it difficult to locate some of the products, I began my search for something new. I am impressed with Bioque.

    To this day, I am still receiving weekly spam from Lift SP and another company who like others want me to try their products with repetitive billing. None of the companies who only offer repetitive billing will get my business.

  • March 20, 2009

    by Dana

    I have had the opportunity to research and try various products. (An aging junkie with an aversion to the knife.)
    After reading Kate's posting I was in full agreement with her regarding the poor marketing ploy to get people on repetitive billing. I tried to email Lift SP (received over 6 emails from them after I inquired about the product) to let them know that an alternative offer could consist of allowing a customer to purchase the product at full price (no strings attached), try the product for 30 days UPON receipt, and offer a full money back guarantee. I received the emails back as undeliverable...

    For whatever it is worth, this is what I learned along the way.

    I have researched the ingredients in multiple products, have gone on
    to web sites (and continually get spammed as a result of looking at
    the products) and will not purchase anything that will continue to
    bill my credit card (even if they promise you can call and cancel).

    For that reason, I purchased eyevive and dermaxin, skin care products by Dermestics.

    The eyevive really did work for me. It took about 3 weeks and at
    first I did not notice it, so if you buy it, take a digital picture,
    then compare later. The skin care, dermaxin does work, however if you
    are sensitive to perfumes (an added ingredient) I would not purchase
    it. That being said, I have to admit, it did yield results for me. The company does offer a money back guarantee (I think it was 30 days, not sure), and when I spoke to the person representing BodeSource.com, she was very honest about the products and did not try to up-sell me. She fully informed me about the perfume and mentioned other products they do not carry that are asked about often.

    The ordering process was easy; the time it took to receive the product was almost three weeks to a direct address (not a PO Box). Something to be aware of when asking about the money back guarantee.

    The cost of eyevive, which is purchased through BodeSource.com is:

    Eyevive
    Dermestetics

    Qty Price
    1 $59.95


    The other product I found, and liked (purchased on 03/16/09, received email confirmation of shipment and received at a PO Box on 3/19/09) is:

    Serum XL by Bioque.

    The price is:

    1 oz. 30 ml - $ 85.00
    2 oz. 60 ml - $ 125.00

    The other product I purchased from Bioque is the facial cleansing they offer, the price is:

    3.5 oz., 100 g. - $ 18.00

    The reason I chose these products was once again, they have a 60 day
    guarantee, meaning you have enough time to try the product and see if
    it really works for you, they do not have repetitive billing and the research plus tested results support the product.

    The other part that impressed me was the "gifts" I received with my purchase. Samples of each of the products they carry including a full bottle of the Acid-Free facial skin refinisher, something I had seriously considered purchasing.

    I am going to try each of the samples and the products. I will gladly submit my results if you are interested.

    Hope this helps. I have researched every possible site, including the
    Mayo research center (who does not commit to any specific company/product) yet does address some of the ingredients that show promise or results for skin care. Based on everything I have learned
    these products and that old adage of eating healthy, getting at least 7-8 hours sleep and drinking lots of water are the only ways to get better results without invasive surgery or Botox.
    -It is a lot cheaper than Botox as well, however may not yield the immediate results, or the same results.

  • March 5, 2009

    by divadown

    I was scammed as well. SPLift, a product that " sample, received it and tried it -- It's junk. But they have been banging me for $79.95 since then. Without sending me additional products mind you! Just a straight out scam. I am now in process of reclaiming my money from my bank and issuing various complaints. These are vultures that need to be stopped.

  • March 1, 2009

    by Junko

    TIA readers,

    It's a gamble to be sure. I'd say the odds are against you at the 'free trial' 'membership' tables if you don't do your homework like Kate advises. With no research, no TIA I had, 1 'fair play', 1 win and 1 loss.

    DermaRadiant is a win.
    Dermitage was fair play. I had adequate time to test, got to speak to a real person to cancel. But I don't think the product was worth trying to begin with and had I seen the post on TIA, I'd of know this...

    Rejuvenate Worldwide is a loss (big time)

  • February 24, 2009

    by Diana Clarkson

    I was taken, beware it's not just LiftSP that deducts $79.95 from your account, you'll also get hit $29.95 by Debt Eater and $29.95 by ACAI (no product was even sent from them, they just stold money from my account) -- this is a gang, they hit me up for $218.90 since Jan. 12th. I've contacted BBB, Utah AG, FBI Internet Crime, FTC, and have blogged -- I feel like I've been robbed. I contacted PayPal, they cancelled my Debit Card and recommended I remove all cash from the account -- which I did, very helpful! I'm just sick inside. I want my money and pride back.

  • February 21, 2009

    by Martha Giguere

    I just started using this product as I was away until last Monday, Feb. 16th. I am unable to reach you today, Saturday, Feb. 21. I would like to cancel my order as I understood that I had a month to decide if I liked it. I see no change so far.

  • February 18, 2009

    by Kate

    I have taken to doing a google search for consumer complaints on any product that I consider buying which has a "Membership" (revolving) business model. I was very happy with the service I received from Pro Active years ago which used a membership model , so I know it "can" work.... but remember to do your homework.

    The interesting part is that I hear from people that the product really does work for many folks..... Readers...anybody out there try it and like it?

  • February 17, 2009

    by Kim

    I ordered Lift SP around December 10, 2008. I was charged the initial $4.95 for the trial which was fine but when I received my credit card statement in January 2009, I noticed a charge for $79.95 on December 30, 2008. Less than two weeks later, January 10, 2009, there was ANOTHER charge for $79.95 from Lift SP.
    When I called to ask what those charges were for I was told that, since I did not opt out of the "membership" program within 14 days, I was charged $79.95. How could I have opted out of the program if I only received the product almost three weeks later and didn't even have a chance to try it?
    The second charge of $79.95 was for a bottle they said they sent January 8, 2009.
    I decided to cancel my "membership" then and there because I did not want them to keep charging me for something they claim they sent but I never received. I waited 2 weeks after my initial phone call but still have not received the second bottle I paid for. When I called again, the end of January, I was put on hold for 8 minutes. The woman I finally spoke to was very unfriendly and insisted that their records show that the bottle was sent January 8, and that I should check with my post office. I checked with my post office. There is no package for me.

    Almost 6 weeks after they said they sent the second bottle for which I paid US$79.95, I still have not received anything. I feel "ripped off."
    I have given up telephoning the number on the website (866) 897-2464 because you're kept on hold until you give up and hang up. If I don't receive anything by the end of this month I will have to submit a complaint to the Better Business Bureau.
    We all want to look young but, please, be warned and don't fall for this scam.

  • February 12, 2009

    by Matina

    I also hate those "trial offers" with strings attached. If your product is so good then it should be able to stand alone and if I like it and it works I will definitely re-order. In my opinion 14 days is not long enough to tell if a product works anyway.

  • February 11, 2009

    by Kate

    Junko,

    Sorry to hear about your experience, which is why I was leary about trying it even though the ingredients looked promising. I am testing two similiar products right now with very good results, and will be submitting my reviews to Marta shortly. Watch for those within 30 days and let me know if they work for you as an alternative.

  • February 10, 2009

    by Junko

    I did 2 of these just weeks before I found TIA. One was Rejuvenate - 14 day trial, 10 to get to me, 1 day to try, 3 to ship back. A 1 day trial was definitely not sufficient to remedy the NEW WRINKLES I developed in worrying about the 'continued billing'. Never again. Tis far better to read TIA and make a peaceful, intelligent & informed purchase.
    You're right Kate, be weary or become weary (and wrinkled).

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...