Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Lilash ingredients: it includes a prostaglandin

June 23, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 128 Comments

A reader with intrepid sleuthing skills sent me the ingredients list for Lilash Eyelash Stimulator. I've been trying to find out what is in Lilash all year and the manufacturer, based in Scotsdale, is not very forthcoming. It turns out that the active ingredient is a prostaglandin analogue. Prostaglandin is the drug used to treat glaucoma that - because it may change the color of your eyes or even impact sight - has made eyelash growth products controversial to say the least.

Lilash also contains (in addition to five parabens and phenoxyethanol) a rather unpleasant preservative called methylchloroisothiazalinone. In high concentrations it can cause chemical burns and it is a skin and membrane irritant and so it was largely removed from most cosmetic products except for those with only short duration skin contact such as rinse-offs. There are some newer formulations that make it more acceptable to sensitive users, so it is now found in cosmetics more frequently. In the US accepted concentrations are 15 ppm in rinse-offs and 8 ppm in other cosmetic.


Ingredients

Water, Glycerin, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Panthenol, Lupinus Albus Seed Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Seed Extract, Silica, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, 9 alpha, 11 alpha, 15S-trihydroxy-17-Phenyl 18, 19, 20-Trinor-prosta-5Z, 13E-Diene-1-oic acid, Isopropyl Ester.

  • June 3, 2016

    by Marsha

    I have used Lilash for YEARS...at least for 7 or 8 that I can remember. When I first started using it, it worked AWESOME. I had the longest, most beautiful eyelashes. It did not change the color of my eyes either. For the last several years, it has stopped working. I knew they must have changed the formula since it doesn't work anymore. I'm so disappointed!! Now I need to find a new one that actually works....if there is such a thing.

  • December 16, 2015

    by Michaela

    I've had LiLash training with the official LiLash supplier and it is the only lash growth treatment on the market that DOESNT contain the ingredient to change your eye colour. This was also over 4 years ago and it hasn't been added since then. Fake LiLash does, maybe review the real product before scaring people. Not one of my clients in over 4 years has had a problem.

  • October 16, 2014

    by Kimberly

    I do not usually write comments about products. But I thought this might help someone with eylash deficiency. I am a Chiropracter and I'm all about looking your best. And the Lilash product I bought works. My eylashes are beautiful ! I do not look like I smoked weed in the morning as I did with the other prescription brand. I did buy it from overstock because the do not distribute in the USA anymore. What is that about? Hmmm....... Oh yeah control and money!!!

  • August 19, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Donna, this article is from 2010. Lilash has indeed changed the formula since then. But the critical point is that the product still contains a prostaglandin. The only things that have changed are the preservatives. Here's the current list: Purified water, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Glycerol, Sweet Almond Extract (Prunus Amygdalus), Panthenol (Provitamin B5), Hydrolyzed Lupine Protein. Isopropanol Phenyl-hydroxy-pentene Dihydroxy-cyclopentyl-heptenate, Chlorphenesin, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol. The prostaglandin is Isopropanol Phenyl-hydroxy-pentene Dihydroxy-cyclopentyl-heptenate

  • August 18, 2014

    by Donna

    The ingredients for LiLash is no where near the ones listed in your article. I have been using the Original Lilash for over 2 years and have had no problems. I have sensitive eyes. I did buy one of the counterfeit and it had the ingredients you listed above. So the one you are reviewing is a counterfeit not an Authentic LiLash. You can always get ahold of the company to find their past distributors for the United States to see if the person you are buying from is the right one or a counterfeit from China. They are counterfeiting everything and it looks Authentic but the products aren't

  • June 24, 2014

    by Angel

    Changed my eye color. Lots of irritation. Was extremely careful but it got me anyway.

  • June 19, 2014

    by Lilash fan

    I think you got a fake because not any of my Lilash stash has those ingredients. Your way off!

  • May 31, 2014

    by Brandy

    This actually made my eyelashes FALL OUT. Horrid since I had no issues with my eyelashes, but after using this, I had NO eyelashes.

  • April 24, 2014

    by Lisa

    Perhaps they have changed the formulation, but the ingredients listed above are not the same as what is written on the box or at lilash.com. There are no parabens listed, nor does the list include the prostaglandin analog or the nasty preservative. I used to get lash extensions but then developed an allergy to the glue. So I tried Lilash. Nothing happened for a month, but now my lashes are fantastic. Just a touch of mascara and they look as good as they did 30 years ago. I am very pleased with this product. I haven't had any redness or irritation...no problems at all.

  • November 29, 2013

    by Sandra

    Thank you for this information. I saw the Black Friday special on eBay for this product and it lists it as paraben free. But I wanted to make sure so I googled it and found this! I tried commenting on eBay but it seems I cannot review the product there. I guess I have to have an account and/or be signed in to review a product.

  • November 10, 2013

    by jackie lynn

    I would like to see more data on "change of eye color" on these eyelas enhansers.

  • August 20, 2013

    by D

    This really worked for me, to the point where i had to back off and use only three times a week. Thought I was going to have to trim my lashes they were getting so long. It did cause some mild irritation initially, but dissipated after using for a week or so. Won't help with fullness issues ,but certainly helped in the length department.

  • August 9, 2013

    by jack

    Can anyone tell me if this will work on my moustache?

  • July 21, 2013

    by bre

    I used LiLash for one week and suddenly started suffering from severe migraines. I immediately stopped using it and they went away. (I have never had a migraine in my life!) needless to say, I will not be using that stuff again.

  • May 13, 2013

    by nicole

    I used LiLash for about 3 months at bedtime only and went from average, kind of sparse lashes, to dramatically long fuller lashes...my eyelashes curled all the way to my eyelids! I hope it isn't carcinogenic, but I can certainly say it worked wonders for my lashes. And I never experienced any side effects, no eye irritation or darkening of the skin. I think it goes without saying though, I was extremely careful not to get the product in my eyes. I also used LiBrow at the same time and had very good results with that as well. Once I stopped using it, my eyelashes went back to their normal state.

  • March 25, 2013

    by emma

    Been using lilash for 2months. Singificant growth in lashes,but now eyes cannot handle the product. They burn, are overly sensitive, rashy, red and dry. Colour ofskin around eyes has extremely darkened,and also growing hair under eyes

  • March 22, 2013

    by ~Robin

    I've been using it 8 months, amazed at my eyelashes :-)

  • October 14, 2012

    by ellis

    Kerry, wow, you think it gave you cancer? I think it is not possible, but again, what do we know about cancer forming in our bodies... now you made me think...

  • October 14, 2012

    by ellis

    I used Lilash for a while and have to say that this is great product and definitely makes my eyelashes longer. I would compare it to Latisse and Fysiko with only difference that these two make new eyelashes growing and Lilash makes existing eyelashes longer. So from my opinion, if you have full eyelashes, but short - lilash is great product. If you want new eyelashes, or lost yours due to cancer - you might be better off with Latisse or Fysiko.

  • September 25, 2012

    by Kerri Sales

    The year I used this product, I was diagnosed with a very aggressive breast cancer. I am wondering if there is any thing in this product that is a carcinogen. This cancer does not run in my family and I have had mammograms every year since I was 35. This cancer did not show on mammogram. Is there any link. This is the only thing that I had done different in my life.

  • September 7, 2012

    by Karen Murphy

    I just purchased lilash yesterday. I am really excited about trying it out - I am just going to apply the bear minimum because apparently it doesn't make a difference if you use plenty or just a wee bit so why waste extra money? It says to only use it once a day - NOT TWICE. I used it last night - 24 hours ago and so far I have had no irritation or discomfort and I have very sensitive skin. I am looking forward to experiencing the results. Will update.

  • June 7, 2012

    by `emily

    Michelle, thats terrible!. I hope that your eyelashes have grown back? Have been using lilash for about 2 months but reading all these comments has freaked me out. I have hazel eyes and I sure don't want them to get any darker! Have accidentally stroked my eyeball with the lilash stick occasionally but hope this has not made a difference to the colour of my eyes. Also I have a slight droop in one of my lids. Am wondering if this is caused by lilash? My eyes have looked a bit irritated (red etc.) on and off since starting use. Do you think the droop could be called by excessive irritation?

  • February 8, 2012

    by Michelle

    I used Lilash as well as Librow. I basically followed the instructions which was to apply a thin line, sparingly morning and night. But I'll be honest by saying that I probably didn't apply as sparingly as I could have.

    Particularly in the beginning I found my eyes to be irritated and red and the skin of my eyelids and around my eyes to be irritated and darker as well.

    If I recall correctly, the instructions do mention that irritation can occur. It also states that results may take up to 10 weeks. Well, I started noticing a few lashes that were longer at the 4 week point and by 10 weeks all of my lashes were longer and fuller as well as my eyebrows being darker and longer (an issue that required me to trim them to keep the shape I like).

    Another side effect that I noticed was around my cheekbone, closest to my eyes.... the fine hairs were appearing darker :-( And then after about 5 months of using Lilash I started losing my lashes. If I rubbed my eyes a bunch would fall out. When I washed my face more would fall out! It was almost to the point that I had no lashes left.

    Not sure what happened but I sure am hesitant on using this product again.

  • September 21, 2011

    by Faith

    Hi all,
    I have been using Rapidlash for about 15 days now and I have noticed that over the first few days of use i would LOOSE UP TO 4 lashes a day!! when i normally rarely do... When i apply it before bed my eyes start to feel a little bit itchy but but etremely TIRED AND HEAVY.. I also noticed more frequent dull headaches. No redness to the eyelids or eye colour change so far. Has anyone experienced similar side effects? are these going to go away? i really long for beautifull long lashes but now they look WORSE than before..! they ve gone thinner, i have some bals patches (due to lash loss, thabks rapidlash!!) & my lashes seems really "hard/stiff". I wanted to try Latisse but it s considerably more expensive. Should I just use my rapidlash ONLY on the lashes and not on the lids or just discontinue alltogether? PLEASE HELP! X.

  • March 25, 2011

    by Rebecca

    Like Patrice (nov. 10, 2010), I too am having blurred vision after using Lilash for 18 months. (Of course I have stopped using it.) I have seen 5 eye specialists, and while none of them can say for sure, they all seem to agree that Lilash is probably to blame. In addition to blurred vision, I also have a place on my eye where the cornea has thinned by 50%. I feel both frustrated and embarrased. Lilash did work wonderfully well. I really miss those awesome lashes. However, I wish I could just have my good sight back. I have always had better than 20/20 vision. Are there any non-prostaglandin products that really work?

  • January 16, 2011

    by Gina

    I have been using LiLash on and off for over a year. I noticed after 3 weeks that I had longer lashes. After 3 months, they were ridiculously long and thick& dark, to the point, that my friends were asking me why I was wearing fake lashes to go hiking or to the pool!! Originally I started using it when almost all of the lashes on my left eye fell out, due to a blood pressure med that I was taken off of, and I wanted to regrow them. It worked fantastically. I have big light hazel, greenish eyes and haven't noticed any change in color. It is really important that you don't get it in your eye. Don't put too much of the serum on the applicator, and don't put it on your lower lash line. I love this product, and have recommended it to anyone who comments on my gorgeous lashes!!

  • January 13, 2011

    by jane jones

    When I first started using this product I did have a little red around my eyes. I would say for about 3-4 days. I figured I was just sensitive to this stuff and continued using it in hopes it would work. I didn't actually notice anything until about 4 weeks into it (using it every night before bedtime), when I realized they were curling on their own. I no longer need an eyelash curled... I just put on mascara and I'm good to go. They curl exactly as they would when i'd curl them. It's been about 2months and its safe to say ill be a user for life. Love this stuff. Worth every penny to me. Give it a try, stick with it and you won't regret it :)

  • December 22, 2010

    by Denise

    I have been using Lilash for over a year and am very happy with the results. After the first tube (which did last 5 months as claimed) I started applying it every other day instead of daily just to maintain my growth. My lashes are so much longer and thicker that I don't have to use nearly as much mascara. I haven't noticed any discoloration but I have brown eyes. There will be irritation and itching for the first couple of months but I would highly recommend this product.

  • December 21, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Samantha, irritation has been reported by users as one of the side effects of using Lilash. For more customer experiences - good and bad - see our post: http://truthinaging.com/eyes/lilash-eyelash-stimulator-gets-mixed-consumer-reviews

  • December 21, 2010

    by SAMANTHA

    HI

    I BOUGHT LILASH TWO MONTHS AGO AND I USED IT BUT NOW I FELL ITCHY EYES AS MY NOUSE I REALLY DONTKNOW IF THIS PRODUCT IS THE CAUSE OF IT. DO YOU KNOW IF THIS CAN BE THE SIDE EFFECT OF LILASH?

  • November 3, 2010

    by patrice

    hmm I just finished reading Lisa re vision. And all of a sudden I remembered within the past 6 months I've developed double vision. In fact one week ago went to the eye doctor who found it puzzling as everything checkedout OK. He in turn referred me to a specialist in Boston who I just saw yesterday and she took 5 vials of blood to see if perhaps it could be my thyroid or some hormonal problem as she was perplexed. I noticed my peripheral vision also was blurry and especially at night I had to be careful. If nothing comes out of all this testing I will have to conclude it was because of my lilash use. I'm going to be quite embarrassed if I have to tell them I resorted to a lash enhancing product which perhaps could be the culprit.

  • November 3, 2010

    by patrice

    I tried the Ilash for brows and lashes religiously for 6 months. Nothing on the brows. The lashes that did grow were crooked and unable to curl when I applied a curler. Most importantly tho was the itchiness of the lids with redness that always looked like I lacked sleep or finished a good cry. Not for me.

  • October 31, 2010

    by Lisa

    After 1 month of Lilash use, my lashes were definitely longer but at about the same time, I noticed changes in vision. My peripheral field was blurry, especially if I turned my head quickly as in checking my car blind spot. This really scared me. I read up on the effects of prostagladins on the eye. It lowers the pressure in your eye. This makes the eyeball soft and leads to blurred vision which can be permanent. I've stopped using the product and encourage all to use caution if using.

  • August 24, 2010

    by Jennifer

    You've got to go with an all natural eyelash growth product. I use dulash from paris. http://www.dulash.com It's all natural and doesn't contain Prostaglandin. The chemical that changes eye color or causes vision issues.

  • July 28, 2010

    by Rumico

    I noticed the dark hairs under my lower lid that wasn’t there before. It looks so not right especially when I put makeup. I don't even know what to do with it.

  • January 27, 2010

    by Barb

    I too am now seeing dark, fine facial hairs under my outer edge of my eyes. I'm going to contact an electrolicist and see about having them removed. I do not recommend laser hair removal as my technician refuses to laser facial hair. She has read numerous studies suggesting the laser may stimulate hair growth so she refuses to use the laser on their faces. Don't know if these studies are accurate, but I won't take the chance.

  • January 11, 2010

    by Breanna

    I use Revitalash for my lashes and have seen amazing results. I have tried every lash thickener under the sun and none worked as well as Revitalash!! Plus a doctor created it so I feel very safe using it.

  • January 9, 2010

    by Emma

    I have been using Lilash for 5 months now and I do love the length of my lashes, they do look false because they're so long, but I have decided not to purchase another Lilash due to the unwanted side-effects, I have little dark hairs under my eyes in the corners, I never had these before, and at the base of my eyelashes some of them look like they are actually GREY!!! this is horrible as I'm only 35 with naturally dark lashes, I hope to god when I stop using this product, which I'm going to do with immediate effect they will start to come back dark again. I feel that for just a little extra growth, there are too many side-effects for this product to be positive.

  • December 31, 2009

    by noor

    Hi Melissa,

    Cosmetic Alchemy, the maker of Lilash, is currently involved in patent litigation with Allergan, the Latisse people. The trial date is 1/19/2010 (I got the info from the Allergan shareholder report here http://agn.client.shareholder.com/secfiling.cfm?filingID=1193125-09-105410 (scroll down to page 43 for legal proceedings). From this I would deduce that no, the product has not been reformulated YET--- but given the way that other defendants named in this suit have been forced to reformulate their products it seems likely that Cosmetic Alchemy will have to also.

  • December 24, 2009

    by Melissa

    Lilash worked great for about 3.5 months for me. I did get the redness and a bit of the fuzz off to the sides of my lower lashes - but my lashes were gorgeous. It really does make a difference that ppl notice: thick and long lashes. A bit of concealer took care of the redness. I purchased a second tube and it doesn't seem to be working. I am hesitant to believe that I have become "immune." I am wondering if Lilash has also been reformulated (like Revitalash) and is not as effective anymore. With Latisse on the market now, the other companies may be under pressure to modify their ingredients if they are not FDA approved. Anyone have any knowledge of reformulation??

  • December 18, 2009

    by Jill

    I used Revitalash after two failed attempts at lash extensions. It worked for about 6 months without any side effects. Crazy long lashes with not redness or extra facial hair. I stopped using after about 8 months. For the last two months it didn't seem to work. It was like I was immuned to it. I decided to try Lilash after giving my lashes a break for year. After about 3-4 months my eyelashes were long and thick and growing in every direction. I got the extra fuzzy hair underneath my bottom lashes. One day when I looked in the mirror, I thought my eyeliner had smeared, and it was a patch of hair. It really freaked me out. I plucked them, but they grew back a few times. Tonight after I washed off my eye makeup, I really noticed the red upper eyelids. I've decided to stop using Lilash. I've been using it for about 9 months, and it worked for about 7-8 months, and I've noticed that the extra long lashes are gone, but the thickness is still pretty much there. The discolored eyelids are freaking me out, and I hope it goes away. Like the Revitalash, I think I have gotten immuned to the product and it's not working anymore. I think they are all a temporary fix with the potential for some strange side effects. I may just live with my short stubby lashes, but at least I won't have extra hairy patches on my face and discolored eyelids.

  • November 12, 2009

    by J

    I've been using LiLash for almost 7 weeks now. Has anyone noticed the formula in the tube getting watery??? It dosen't have the gel like consistency it first had. My lashes have gotten a bit longer but it feels like it stopped growing after the first 3 weeks. And I also have the little dark hairs under my lower lid upper cheek that wasn't there before.

  • October 4, 2009

    by Niki

    I have been using Lilash for about 5 months and I've have noticed very fine hairs growing on the top of my cheekbones under my eyes. I didn't connect it with using Lilash until I read a review for Lilash on MakeupAlley, but I was wondering why they had started growing. I also think that my lower lash line is slightly darker because I was looking at some photos of me taken in July and I look like I'm wearing browny-red eyeliner, although my fiance says he can't see it!
    The strange thing is that I used the first version of Revitalash with no problem - in fact my lashes were totally amazing and I got so many comments and compliments. Then they re-formulated it without the prostaglandins and the second tube did nothing. That's when I decided to use Lilash.

    I've thrown my tube of Lilash away now as I'm so horrified about the hair growth thing! All of you ladies who also noticed hairgrowth in this area, has it now gone away again once you stopped/reduced usage of Lilash?

  • September 15, 2009

    by nervous

    Just started using Lilash yesterday. Wish I would have read all these comments before purchasing, because now I'm quite nervous! My eyes were red today and a few close colleagues asked if I was okay. I'd love to have long lashes but not if the price is red eyes and facial hair!
    Questions: Does the redness go away? For those of you that experienced this, is it better to apply at night or in the morning? I feel like it's dry shortly after I apply and therefore won't drip in my eye. Is it fine to apply mascara on top of it? Essentially, does anyone that initially got redness now love the product? I'm wondering if I should stick it out for a week or return immediately. Please advise!

  • September 11, 2009

    by hang

    i have been using lilash for three days now, on the first day that i used the product it didnt have any effect on my eyes until about 7-10 hours later, my eyes were heavy and tired it kinda give me a little headache . so i stop using the product for 24 hours and decided to apply it before i goto bed...the next morning i woke up my eyes were fine..but i did noticed that i have redish pigment around my eyelids from where i applied the product...while at work i noticed that my eyes were alittle itchy but not too bad...and every day one of my lashes fall out..i dont know if this is normal ..i have read good and bad reviews on this product..i paid alot for it therefore i will continue to use it for a month atleast to see what happens, i hope the redness will go away.. i will keep everyone updated..if anyone out there who have been using this product and have the same problems please bekind and tell us all if the redness will go away or get worst.....thanks

  • September 3, 2009

    by Toni Tobin

    I used LiLash with great results, then switched to Latisse. I think LiLash gave me better results because now my lashes seem shorter and not as thick as with LiLash. I am switching back. Also, I don't like the brushes that come with Latisse. My eye color has changed some and I do have the pink discolored upper eyelids and red eyes, but no cheek hair from either product.

  • August 31, 2009

    by Ocgal

    I'm a Lilash user too for 5 months now. It works great but didn't help the volume of my lashes. I have to apply one coat of Mac mascara then people will notice them. After few researched I might try Activelash or the first rating from this website. Pls advise if you tried these two products before.
    http://www.thebeautydivas.com/eyelash-enhancers/?source=TBD_EyelashBanner

  • August 15, 2009

    by Krystal

    I have been using for over a year - one tube lasts me about 6 months. I love this product. My natural lashes are quite sparse. I still need mascara, but the results are remarkable. I have been asked about my lashes by quite a few people - the receptionist at my dentist's office, receptionist at my doctor's office, clerk in a clothing store, two teenage girls (that I didn't know) at a BBQ. No irritation for me. I use it in the morning after my shower and I wait a couple of minutes before applying my eye makeup.

  • August 13, 2009

    by Elliott

    Hi, I'am a mexican man, 41 years old, I use this product since 3 months ago, and I can say it works for mans to. I'm very suprise cause my lashes looks very large, lilash works for me, hello everybody from mexico city.

  • July 24, 2009

    by Jessica

    uh huh, using it for a week will most definitely tell you the results you might see in months. oh well, you are asking for it.

  • July 18, 2009

    by read instructions

    I just bought LiLash a week ago and I do have a little bit of redness but nothing that is causing me to stop using the product. READ THE INSTRUCTIONS! Do not apply on lower lid DUH! Do not get it in your eye DUH! Do not apply more then once DUH! If it hurts or does not work ask for your money back DUH! Its simple! Hope this common sense helps you all.

  • July 12, 2009

    by Jessica

    OK. So I didn't search on google "Lilash red eyes" until about 7 months after I tried this product. I've used it for a good 5 month period and I have to say, it sure does make my eye lashes longer. But soon after I also realized that I frequently got red eyes whenever wherever. I wear contacts but I rarely slept with them on and I took care of my eyes pretty well. They were never that red until that point. I thought it must have been my contacts or my eyes are too dried out. But no, after two months of no Lilash, I still get red eyes , in the morning, afternoon, and evening. I stopped using it because some eye lash conditioner commercial mentioned that one of the side effects are red eyes. I also notice that the color of my eyes have changed a bit too, they look dull and red almost all the time now. I have to say, it's better that you stay away from those products because they do give you the results but eventually your lashes will fall out after a certain time. Not only, you never know what you are REALLY putting into your eyes. Like I didn't.

  • July 11, 2009

    by bailey

    I've been using lilash every night for about 7 weeks. I must say I'm very disappointed with the results. I haven't noticed any change in my eyelashes at all.

  • June 23, 2009

    by helen

    I used Librow for a while and noticed fuzzy hair growth on my cheeks and around my hairline as well. The skin around my eyes also became darker/discolored. Librow worked in helping grow in some of my very sparse brows, but I stopped using it because the side effects were a bit disturbing. The skin around my eyes is still somewhat discolored, but I'm hoping that will fade over time.

  • June 17, 2009

    by marta

    Marianna
    Take a look at our <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/10/five-best-eyelash-and-brow-growth-products.html" rel="nofollow">Five Best eyelash growth products</a>

  • June 17, 2009

    by Marianna Dydek

    Is there anything that will do that is safe and will do what LiLash does to get good results. MY lashes are very short.

    Do chemotherapy patients use anything for this?

  • June 10, 2009

    by Georgie

    I have used Lilash and yes it did work well but I have stopped using it because it has made the skin on my upper and lower lid red and this is after approx 4 months of discontinuation.

  • May 11, 2009

    by KC Fowler

    Again, thank you Marta! I am always wanting to learn, and your site is great! Much appreciated!!!

  • May 10, 2009

    by jules

    Have now reduced the use to 5 times a week, and changed it to morning use, this seems to have got rid of any red eye. I think "cheek hair" does not seem as bad now. I do have slightly discoloured eyelids but am wondering if that is to do with age now. Have had lots of compliments on my eyes of late, so any of these little symptoms are worth it. I wonder if I had facial hair before and discoloured eyelids but just never noticed it as I was not scrutinising all the time!

  • May 10, 2009

    by marta

    More or less the same thing: Cyclodextrin N-[2-Hydroxy-1-Hydroxymethyl)Ethyl]-9-Oxo-11.Alpha.,15s-Dihydroxy-17-Phenyl-18,19,20-Trinor-Prosta-5z,13e-Dien-1-Amide

  • May 9, 2009

    by KC Fowler

    I just found this info on Enormous Lash. Has anyone used it? How were your results? They say it is paraben and prostaglandin free.

    Enormous Lash ingredients:

    Butylene Glycol: organic, liquid compound used as a solvent, humectant and moisturizer in cosmetic products.
    Glycerine: A lubricant or humectant.
    Arginine : An essential amino acid peptide needed for proper hair growth. May increase the production of “growth” hormone, thus increasing hair growth, hair thickness and darker color.
    Potassium Olivoyl PCA – conditioner/hair volumizer derived from olives
    Saccharomyces/Copper Ferment – Extract of yeast fermented in the presence of copper ions. (the most effective hair growth ingredient available today); an action ingredient in NIOXIN (hair loss products)
    Phospholipids: Type of lipid (fat) composed of glycerol, fatty acids, and phosphate. Phospholipids are essential to the function of cell membranes by providing a stable surrounding structure.
    Sphingolipid: Also known as a ceramide peptide. Sphingolipids are commonly believed to protect the cell surface against harmful environmental factors by forming a mechanically stable and chemically resistant outer shell. Ceramides play a vital role in the hair's external protective sheath, the cuticle. Ceramides are known to protect and/or repair the hair fibers from or after attack by the various agents and treatments. In particular, they have a barrier effect which limits the loss of proteins; Furthermore, they also reinforce cuticle cohesion, which gives the hair more strength and liveliness.
    Panthenol: Also known as Vitamin B5 used as a humectant or moisturizer and binds hair follicles making them appear shiny.
    Caprylyl Glycol: Skin-conditioning agent that may be plant-derived or synthetic.
    Phenoxyethanol: Common cosmetic preservative that is considered one of the less irritating ones to use in formulations.
    Isopentyl Glycol: humectant, moisturizer
    Hydroxyethylcellulose: A preservative, Plant-derived thickening agent typically used as a binding agent or emulsifier.
    Trisodium EDTA: A preservative, safer and used in place of parabens.

    We are beyond excited about this "NEW" formula! We also feel strongly that this product can be used for many, many, many years without ANY potential issues or side effects!

    It is in NO way associated with prosteglandins or glaucoma medication!!

  • May 9, 2009

    by KC Fowler

    Thank you Marta! One more question, please...

    Which is the prostaglandin in Philip Thomas Roth's? This one looks to have A LOT of stuff in it - yikes!

    Water, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Panthenol, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Phospholipids, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate Cyclodextrin N-[2-Hydroxy-1-Hydroxymethyl)Ethyl]-9-Oxo-11.Alpha.,15s-Dihydroxy-17-Phenyl-18,19,20-Trinor-Prosta-5z,13e-Dien-1-Amide, Triethanolamine, Leuconostoc/Radish Root Ferment Filtrate, Alcohol.

  • May 9, 2009

    by marta

    The prostaglandin is: 9 alpha, 15s trihydroxy, trinorprosta, diene, oic acid.

  • May 9, 2009

    by KC Fowler

    Lilash ingredients:

    Water, Glycerin, Hydroxyethlcellulose, panthenol, lupinus Abus Seed Extract, prunus, aymgdalus extract, silica, mutylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, isobutylparaben, 9 alpha, 15s trihydroxy, trinorprosta, diene, oic acid, isopropl ester.

    Which is the prostaglandin?

  • May 9, 2009

    by KC Fowler

    I have been using Lilash since Dec. '08. Began to see results within a month. By two months, major results. Now, at 5+ months -- my lashes are extremely long and curled. I applied every day (daytime) and now I apply every other day. Any longer and I will have to cut them! No irritation other than maybe just the teeniest, slight tingle for the first few days. It might have just been in my head. And a teeny bit of darkening (skintone) along my lashline, but nothing to write home about, or mind. No eyecolor change, I have pale blue eyes. My tube is still going strong (I was told it should last 6 months) and will be repurchasing soon, for sure!

  • May 6, 2009

    by donna

    to linda antonuicci, patricia and genevabound..... i have been using librow for 6 weeks now and not only have i noticed hairs on my upper cheek but others have noticed also... i have fair skin and dark hair and i did have some hair in this area but it seems to have gotten darker... why? i have no idea i only apply to my brow area only. has anyone found out why this might be happening? i have gotten regrowth where i want it. this is the only product that has worked for me.

  • May 2, 2009

    by genevabound

    I've noticed the fine dark hairs underneath my lower lash as well. Bleaching them right now as I'm typing them. I'm quite sure I did not have this problem before I started to use LiLash. Hope they don't get thicker!

  • May 1, 2009

    by quassibly

    My eyes became really sensitive to light after using Lilash for just 3 days. I only applied a small amount in the morning. I've stopped using it. Like Linda, I called Lilash to ask them about side effect, her quick response is that she has never heard of this problem or that the problem causes redness to the eye. I'm very skeptical about their response about side effects!

  • April 24, 2009

    by ariboo

    I have stopped using Lilash totally because no matter how careful I apply it to my eyelids and how little amount, my eyes gets REAL RED and irritated. And I have stopped using it for 2 weeks now and my eyelashes start falling off. I am now using NTP Essense Eyelash Enhancer. My eyelashes are growing back nicely and I do see a diff in the thickness also. It's not easy to find this brand in the US but I bought mine off eBay and you girls should really give it a try.

  • April 24, 2009

    by Jules

    I have been using Lilash now for 8 weeks. My eyelashes have grown really long and I have had comments on them. I still get a reaction (red eyes) every now and again but just use a couple of drops of Richto V. The past week I have noticed that I have fine dark downy hair growing under my eyes towards the outer edge of my eyes (upper cheek bones). I use the product only on my upper lid. Am thinking maybe I have always had this but never noticed it before. It is strange that a couple of you have noticed this too. But I am very happy with my eyelashes and realised yesterday that they look incredible in natural daylight. Will use it every night for the next 3 weeks then only three times a week.

  • April 13, 2009

    by Nita

    I have been using LiLash about a week. The first 2 days of use I put it on the bottom lashes not a good idea my eyes was burning a little after that I stopped using on the bottom lash it's been fine and careful not to put in my eyes...Still haven't noticed a change in my lashes but it's been only a week will keep you posted.

  • April 12, 2009

    by Linda

    I used Lilash for 5 1/2 months until the tube ran out. It definitely worked, although I'd agree with Ana Karen that the lashes mostly grew longer, not thicker. Still, a huge improvement, and I didn't have to wear mascara anymore. No eye irritation at all and no eye color change. I ordered something cheaper that irritated my eyes AND didn't work, so I'm about to order my second tube of Lilash. It made me look years younger!

  • April 1, 2009

    by Beth

    I started using this product in November. It took at least 2 months before I noticed a diference. In the meantime my eyes felt red, crusty , and itchy . The pigment above my lids became darker too. Beleive it or not, after about 2 months, I became used to it, it didn't bother me anymore, and now my lashes are very long (I had short, stubby lashes after having a baby). I don't know if it made them darker and thcker, but definitely longer. I was just given Latisse (the new FDA approved lash grower). I can't wait to see how that works.

  • March 26, 2009

    by Patricia

    I have also noticed hair growing under the lower lash line...It's terrible =(

    I've been using lilash for 6 weeks. I was so happy with everything, my lashes are long and beautiful and now this happens =(

  • March 24, 2009

    by Lara

    My lashes had thinned so much it took forever to use mascara, I'd sit there separating the few lashes I had. So I started using Lilash in September did the every night thing for the 8 weeks and yes my lashes DID grow long and thick. I did use it on my brows as well. Had 2 teeny bald spots on my brows. They filled in and my brows looked great too. WOW! What a find! I can attest to the crazy lash thing too, way long lashes growing sideways or growing facing in but that's the bad with the good. Down side, after the 8 week regimen instructions say to use Lilash once a week. I did it once a week and sadly l started losing lashes AGAIN and even my eyebrows starting thinning AGAIN. And yes to the poster who had asked about the hair under lower lash line yup! It feels so icky when you apply mascara it sticks to those hairs, and sometimes feels like it's pulling your lower lid down. Do I continue with the weekly thing is it OK? I'm trying 3 times a week for now. I have hazel eyes and not change in color. I do have the thin pinkish line along my lash line but shadow, cover makeup, eyeliner they all cover it so it really does not bother me at all.

  • March 23, 2009

    by Linda antoniucci

    Has anyone noticed that there is increased facial hair under the lower lid when applying this product. I started to grow fine black hairs under the lower eyelash line....if this keeps up will need electrolysis...please reply. have not seen this mentionsed before. called lilash and emailed them and they did not reply.

  • March 17, 2009

    by Linda

    I am an aesthetician and lash extention artist. I know how much women love long, thick, dark lashes! I wanted to have some myself, but being the only artist in my salon, I was very interested when I heard about Lilash. I bought it, used it and after seven weeks started to notice lash growth. After four months, my lashes were crazy long ( I mean carzy since some lashes will grow in odd directions). One problem was that I noticed the upper rim of my eye seemed thicker so it looked a bit odd. The worst thing was that my eyes became so increasingly dry that I stopped using it. Even after not using it for 6 months, I still have a problem with dry eyes that I never had. I tried to contact Lilash about the side affect and no one ever responded. Naughty business. Wonder if prescription Latisse will be any safer for the cost will be SOOO much more. Still hopeful and I encourage my clients to look into it very carefully before use and I make sure they know what happened to me. I am thankful for a way to warn many others too!!!

  • March 16, 2009

    by marta

    Jenn
    All eyelash growth products need to be used consistently. If you stop, your eyelashes will go back to their normal growth cycle. You can read our post on hair growth here: http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/02/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works.html

    For a cheaper habit, you could try Folligen. We reviewed it here: http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/09/reviewed-and-recommended-folligen-works-for-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth.html

  • March 15, 2009

    by Jenn

    I was just wondering if anyone knows how long this product has been on the market. I've never liked my eyelashes and as of now I only use mascara, but I would love to be able to go natural without feeling uncomfortable. I've read a lot of great reviews, but I'm still waiting for this to become a horror story... Also, is this product addictive? If you buy a tube and it works, are you stuck paying $140 every few months or can you stop the usage without seeing a dramatic change in your lashes?

  • March 12, 2009

    by juliet

    I've just purchased Lilash but could not afford Librow too. Surely though, if i use Lilash on my brows it would work the same as it's still hair after all. Has anyone tried?

  • March 12, 2009

    by Cecilia

    I'm a chemo patient (breast cancer) who is facing the unpleasant prospect of losing my very thick and long lashes. Have any of you used any of these products to stimulate lash growth after cancer treatments?

  • March 11, 2009

    by ANA KAREN

    I HAVE BEEN USING LILASH FOR ABOUT TWO MONTHS…YOU DO NOTICE CHANGE IN THE LENGTH OF LASHES NOT TOO MUCH ON THICKNESS TO MY KNOWLEDGE. IT DID CAUSE A LITTLE REDNESS BUT NO PAIN DURING THE FIRST APPLICATIONS. I HAVE NOT SEEN ANY CHANGE OF COLOR IN MY EYES EITHER GREAT PRODUCT I DO RECOMMEND IT

  • March 9, 2009

    by ariboo

    I am trying put a different eyelash enhancer and I think it makes my lashes prettier and thicker too while it conditions! The great thing about it is that this eyelash enhancer comes In different colors too lime blue and black and also clear! And I apply it at night and in the morning my eyelashes was curling up like I used an eyelash curler! I cannot begin to tell you how pretty this eyelash enhancer made my lashed!
    It's this brand NTP eyelash enhancer! Check it out girls I got it at a very good price too unlike these other brands!

    I wi keep you girls updated!!!!

  • March 9, 2009

    by Diane

    So the discoloration does go away. My lashes are looking fabulous!!

  • March 9, 2009

    by Patricia

    I've been using Lilash for almost 4 weeks and I noticed my eyelashes starting growing after a week...I love my new eyelashes, they are longer and thicker, but it feels like they are stuck in this lenght so I hope they grow a little bit more. I use the product every night before going to sleep.
    I've also experienced some eye redness and discoloration (like pink, brown color) in my upper lid line where I aplied the product. It's nothing too visible or bad though.
    I went to an ophthalmologist and asked about the glaucoma ingredientes that Lilash has and he told me that as long as I don't have a glaucoma problem and don't get the product in my eye it's fine....although he told me the redness on my eye it's an irritation caused most likely from using Lilash so he prescribed me some drops for it.
    I'll keep you all posted with any changes I notice in the next few weeks.

  • March 5, 2009

    by Kate

    This product worked for me. I have very sensitive skin and was surprised i had no stinging or redness to the eye. After 6 weeks my eyelashes became very long but did not thicken much. However, there were side effects for me. After 5 months of use a noticable thick red line appeared where I put the product and it looked like I had vampire eyes!! I stopped using lilash 3 months ago and the red line has gone but so have my long lashes!!! It does work but at a cost.

  • March 4, 2009

    by ariboo

    I am now only applying lilash on my upper lid and only a very small amount too! I figure that it should be ok and if I apply it in the morning instead of evening where it might drop into my eyes while I sleep! It seems ok so far but I will give it a few hours to see if the irritation starts again. My friend and I want to know if we have to keep using this I'm order to maintain the growth!? It's so pricey!!!!

  • March 4, 2009

    by Katie

    I have used Lilash before and had great results. I never had any irritation or problems with red eyes at all, but then again I did put it only on my upper lid. I had a friend who said she experienced some redness, but she put it on her upper and lower lid and even on her lashes. I think if you don't use too much, you shouldn't have any problem. I've never heard of anyone having problems with their eyes changing color. Seems like that wouldn't ever become an issue as long as you keep it on your eyelid and not in your eye. My 2 cents.

  • March 3, 2009

    by Tammy

    Ariboo, Thanks for letting me know about your friend. As far as the red burning eyes. My eyes are still itching at times but if I am careful, they are not red and burning. What I did differently was to only apply in the morning. I have been very careful to use as little as possible when applying and trying to be very careful not to get it in my eyes. If I do get it in my eyes, my eyes still get red and burn.

  • March 2, 2009

    by ariboo

    does anyone know if I have to apply it either in the morning or evening!? Would it work if I just apply it for a few hours a day!? Let's say 5 hours most!? I don't think my eyelids nor my eyes can take it! When the area around my eyes get red and swollen, I can totally feel it. So I am thinking maybe I could leave it on for just 5 hours most and wash everything off before I sleep!

  • March 2, 2009

    by Fiona Murray

    Here's my update, first few times I tried Lilash ended in disaster, red swollen eyelids, but I was determined to persevere. Gave it a break for a week, and thankfully on my third attempt eyes weren't as sore. I must be accustomed to it now as I've been using it for a week now with no major soreness or redness. I'm actually beginning to notice my lashes ever so slightly longer, can't wait to see what the next few weeks bring!!!!

  • March 2, 2009

    by ariboo

    tammy, my friend was the one that recommended me to lilash. She too has light color eyes(bluish green)and she has been using lilash now for 3 months. Her eyes are still the same color with no changes at all.
    Now your eyes don't burn anymore!? I tried to apply it to my eyes during daytime but my eye lids and the area under my eyes turn all pink and swollen. You mentioned that you were a little irritated too but now you are ok!? I don't know if I should keep applying it to my lashes.

  • February 28, 2009

    by Tammy

    I purchased Lilash and the first couple of times I applied it I had red, burning eyes. I started applying only one time a day and being very careful not to use too much and avoid getting it in my eyes. I do not have red burning eyes. However, I am very concerned about the possibility of eye color change. I have green to blue eye color and I do not want my eye color to change. I am curious how many users with light eyes have had their eye color change and how many have not experienced this change. I do not want to stop using the product but not sure it is worth a change in eye color. I would love to hear from others regarding the eye color changes.

  • February 27, 2009

    by ariboo

    I just used it for the 1st time last nigt and
    my eyes are bloodshot and the skin around
    my eyes are dry and have a burning sensation! I will try to use it only during the day time and hopefully it won't drip into
    My eyes as to when I sleep!

    I will check back to see how everyone else us doing! It's so expensive I don't want to give it up so quickly!

  • February 26, 2009

    by Amy

    Product Update:
    So I have been using Lilash and Librow for two and a half weeks (almost three) now and I do notice a difference. Lashes are Brows are more denser. There is some change in Lenght but not to the degree that everyone has been reporting yet.

    No irritation. No reddness. A bit of dryness around the eye brows and below the lower lid.
    No discoloration yet.
    Will keep you posted.

  • February 26, 2009

    by Mandy

    I am using Lilash &Librow, I too experience the red eye lid & red eyes side effects as for my brow it just gets a little red but so far both seem to be working. Though this seems a little expensive to keep up $$$ per 6 months. I have read around alot about natural remedies so next i'll try emu-oil ( I know it sounds weird but proven to work ) on my eye brows and folligen cream for eyelashes. Many people have said it works pretty good to maintain your brow and lash growth, just not as extreme as this lab produced eyelash growth and eyebrow growth products. However, it is a lot cheaper and i'll keep you updated

  • February 25, 2009

    by Diane

    I used Lilash and my lashes grew very long. It took three to six weeks to get there, but it grew a lot. However i did get a discolouration on my lids, which I was not too happy about. You will be happy to know that the discolouration is going away. so i might use it once every other week instead!! I did not experience any burning so that was a plus. Hope that this review helps!!!!!!!

  • February 22, 2009

    by Trish

    Hi! I purchased Lilash and Librow and began using it on 2/21/09 evening. The next morning (today) my eyes were bloodshot and around my eyes looks pink/brown, like I was just getting over a crying fit. I tried it again tonight, before I read this website. It was expensive, but I don't know if I'll continue the Lilash. I may continue the Librow - that is what I mainly wanted anyways as my brows are thin and patchy. Will check back on this website again and post progress, if any.

  • February 22, 2009

    by lll

    I have use lilash for 4 weeks now. Experienced slight redness only on 1st day, none after. My eyelash was thin, now a lot thicker and longer. I will keep using it. I believe its great!

  • February 22, 2009

    by Amy

    SO I just bought both lilash and librow.
    Will take pictures of progress when I start using.
    Will keep everyone posted on the reactions.

  • February 21, 2009

    by Linda W.

    I'm using Librow right now. Barely my 3rd day and I can already tell a difference. It's getting slightly darker and a bit thicker. No new growth yet, but it's too early to tell. I will update in a couple more weeks.

  • February 20, 2009

    by catherine

    i just bought lilash..has anyone just used it on the top eyelid, not the bottom?
    i think the bottom may cause some irritation for me, but the top is ok.

  • February 15, 2009

    by Amy

    Has anyone tried Librow? Does it work just as well?

  • February 15, 2009

    by Stacey Lawrence

    I have been using LiLash for 2 months now and I have had great results and no adverse side effects. My lashes are noticeably longer and thicker especially with mascara. I purchased it at the same time as 2 of my friends and they are very happy with the product as well. I'm sorry it doesn't seem to agree with some people. They don't know what they are missing.

  • February 14, 2009

    by Fiona Murray

    used lilash only once, and I must say very disappointing. Never been allergic to any cosmetic product before, but I awoke the following morning to find my eyelids red itchy and swollen, looked like I had been crying all night! Work colleagues assumed I was wearing pink eyeshadow! As the day progressed the redness extended to the arch of my eyebrows and also beneath my eye, definitely not the look I was after. I'll give it one more go seeing as it was expensive, but won't be holding out much hope. There's obviously some very potent chemicals in this product so people should be cautious! First time in 37 years I've ever come out in an allergy!! That tells its own story.

  • February 13, 2009

    by Amy

    Hi
    Does anyone have before and after pictures? Im curious to see if this actually works. I want to make sure its the right thing for me.
    Thanks Ladies. Great Advise posted btw.

  • February 13, 2009

    by Wendy Winters

    Ladies, I have read all the comments. I can say, and I rarely post on websites, that this product works. For years my lashes have been thin and many missing.
    After 6 weeks my lashes are so long people stare at them. If you get it in your eyes, they will get red and burn, what wouldn't turn your eyes red if you put in them!

  • February 11, 2009

    by Amy

    Hi Anna

    How long did you have to wait until you saw results?

    Do you know of anyone who has tried the Li brow for the eyebrows?

    Was wondering if it works just as well.

    Thanks.

  • February 11, 2009

    by anna

    LiLash is super! It works! I follow the advices as well as read carefully all warnings ! I am sad that I did not take a photo before.
    My eyes are still green and well. I do not fully understand how could it change my eye-color!? I use it like a fine eyeliner, very little in the evening and in the Mornings I just put some pure cream on to skin.

  • February 8, 2009

    by marta

    It is not uncommon to have a reaction to the active ingredient (a prostaglandin). You could try the new Marini Lash, Dermalash or Folligen. They don't have this ingredient, but I have tested them and they do enhance growth somewhat. See our review of five best eyelash growth products:

    http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/10/five-best-eyelash-and-brow-growth-products.html

  • February 8, 2009

    by Sunnygirl

    I read all comments about Lilash and that it was low on allergy reaction. I do think that maybe I applied too much .... though I did apply this at 11am and did not feel any irritation till about 10 hours later. Before I went to bed my eye balls were bright red, and dark shading had appeared below my left eye. All the rims were red/pink and it felt like I had been swimming in salt water, stinging slightly. I want long eyelashes so much. 3 years ago they were wonderful, but somehow they are dreadful now. I am 56 years. Now I wonder whether I should wait a few days and try it just on one eyelid using very little of the product. Any advice?

  • February 7, 2009

    by JenK

    Does the iris return to the normal color after discontinuing use of the product?

  • February 6, 2009

    by Ruby

    Ruby, MD

    So below is an abstract from a pubmed article regarding prostaglandins use in the eye. The side effects are from getting the medication in the eye and do occur. So just use with caution please. Any irritation that does occur I would go to an opthomologist to get the eyes checked. Or at least keep up with eye exams every 6 months to make sure you are not developing any wierd side effects.
    Place a gauze maybe between the upper and lower eyelid until it drys so there is less changes of it getting in your eye and more dripping or getting absorbed by the gauze.

    Anecdotal case reports describe the occurrence of cystoid macular edema, iritis, herpes simplex keratitis, periocular skin darkening, and headaches in patients treated with prostaglandin analogs for glaucoma. The purpose of this article is to critically analyze these anecdotal case reports in light of a few well-controlled, randomized clinical studies to determine whether conclusions can be made about a causal relationship between the use of prostaglandin analogs and the occurrence of these side effects. None of these putative side effects has been proven to be causally related to latanoprost therapy using valid scientific methodology. These possible side effects occur rarely. Cystoid macular edema, iritis, and herpes simplex keratitis occur in eyes with risk factors. To scientifically establish a causal relationship between drug therapy and rare side effects, repeated rechallenging with masked controls is required. With rare exception, such methodology has not been used with any of these putative side effects. Nevertheless, even without firm establishment of a causal relationship, caution is advised with the use of prostaglandin analogs in eyes with risk factors for cystoid macular edema, iritis, and herpes simplex keratitis until properly designed, large, controlled studies provide more definitive information.

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12204718

  • February 5, 2009

    by Linda

    I started using LiLash in November and as of mid January my lashes are so long that I'm almost embarassed to wear mascara. I had applied it on my lower lashes too and I skip the mascara there now. I can feel them touching my sunglasses! I've had numerous people say "Wow! Your eyelashes are so long, are they real?!" Never any irritation.

  • February 4, 2009

    by Debbie

    I've been using LiLash for 3 weeks and have definitely noticed a difference in the length of my lashes. The reason I chose LiLash because I read it did not irritate the eyes as some other eyelash stimulators did and I didn't want to spend the time and money for eyelash extensions. So far no problems, no eye color change, no irritation and no redness. I am happy with this product.

  • February 3, 2009

    by Lindsey

    I have used Lilash and EL and Lumigan itself. The only way you should have bad eye irritation and adverse reactions is if you get it in your eyes, unless you are one of a few people who have allergic reactions to the drug. It can and will change your iris color if you continue getting in your eye if you have a particular eye color (blue and hazel are very susceptible) I advise not to use at night despite what you hear, no matter how little I put on or how carefully, laying my head where the serum drips in my eye immediately after applying it is completely unavoidable. Put it on in the day time, you don't need much of it (you do need to have patience for it to work) and for some people, they can develop a tolerance to the drug after a while and then their lashes will fall out, mine never did. Some people have adverse reactions like with ANY drug, and their lashes fall out immediately or they experience too much irritation on the lid of the eye and have to discontinue use. If you lashes fall out, they will grow back, but it takes quite a while. Prostaglandins also discolor pigmented tissue....your eyelid where applied will develop a pinkish brown eyeliner look, which bothers some people, but is a very small price to pay for gorgeous lashes. Basically, for most people you don't need to worry if you get it in your eye a few times, it won't do anything to your iris a few times....just learn from the mistake and don't continue getting it in your eye.

  • February 3, 2009

    by marta

    Kitty,
    prostaglandin - the active ingredient - can have side-effects. I personally wouldn't use it. But I can't advise you - its up to you if you want to take a chance with it.

  • February 3, 2009

    by kitty

    i want to buy it. So tell me if u think its a good idea.. it has high ratings but these r the first negative comments ive heard about it.

  • January 30, 2009

    by Susan

    I have been on this product for a week. I bought it because it received 5 stars. My eyes were red, irritated and itching also the next morning. I had to lay off the product for one day before using it again. Eye drops did not get rid of the red eyes. I spent a great deal of money on this product and I really want to give it a chance to work its magic. Buyers need to know that reactions that can occur. I am a nurse and will be watching closely the side effects in the event I return this product.

  • January 27, 2009

    by Jackie

    Complete waste of money!
    With great enthusiasm I bough Lilash and after the first try, when I put it on, as per exact directions, as an eye liner overnight - I woke up with red, swollen and itchy eyes. Thought, maybe I used too much. So I waited few days until my eyes became normal, and tried again. Very small amount, barely touching the lids. Darn it! Next morning the same thing - irritated, red, swollen, itchy eyes. Red eyes! Not just the lids around the eyes, but eyes themselves. To boost, there were three eye lashes on my cheek! So basically, I was LOOSING eyelashes! Which never, ever happened before.
    I called Lilash and asked them to put my story in their "perfect report", but they completely dismissed me.
    I'd like to mention that I never had any allergies to any cosmetics before, that I do not wear mascara or have contact lenses.
    I was completely taken aback by this crappy product. And am angry that my complaint wasn't even noted. They really should put that "some people might experience redness, etc., loss of eye lashes"...
    I bet in a year or so, we'll hear more of a horror stories.

  • January 18, 2009

    by Cheri

    I have been using Li-lash for about 6 weeks and my eyelashes are so longpeople keep asking me if Ihave false eyelashes on! The first application produced a little redness and irritation but I think I applied it incorrectly and got some in my eyes. I have had no problems since and am about to order another tube!

  • January 5, 2009

    by kris

    i'm looking at the ingredients for LiLash. Does anyone know which one is the prostaglandin?

  • December 21, 2008

    by LovingSkippy

    I have used the lilash product and have had no problems. As a product crazy girl I will try anything and I feel all the hype about eyelash products are silly. It has never changed the color of my eyes so I would tell anyone to use it. I know when I got my tube in the mail the ingredients were on the instruction sheet.

  • December 21, 2008

    by Sweets

    The gal at Lilash was very forthcoming with me when I asked about the ingredients. It's listed in their ingredients as well. I am on my 2nd tube of Lilash now. I think it works VERY well. I have tried both Revitalash and the original Marini product. They worked but they both irritated my eyes. Prostaglandin analogues actually have a very safe track record in glaucoma medications for over 20 years.

  • December 17, 2008

    by Diana

    i order it yesterday. i will keep you guys posted on the progress. Toni you said that it changed your eye colour, how did that happen?

  • December 16, 2008

    by Toni

    i used the jan marini product for over a year and a half before ingredient changed from glaucoma drug starts with a b and it did change my eye color from green to muddy grey. I was pissed to say the least. I am looking for good product and this one got great reviews but not worth it if it has the same ingredient!

  • December 9, 2008

    by marta

    I personally wouldn't use a product that contains prostaglandins.

  • December 9, 2008

    by alejandra

    have you used this produc yet? i've heard its very good. and have a few weeks using it. but i am worried about the side effects of the prostaglandin analogue. i have presented a little redness in my eyes. so i dont know if i should continue.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...