Free shipping on all orders over $39

Look Fabulous in Seven Days: A Regimen for That Special Event

June 5, 2012 Reviewed by Marta 17 Comments

It is the season of weddings, graduations and reunions. Exciting, an excuse to shop, and a chance to see people we care about. But there’s also the pressure to look your best. Reunions are the worst. There is the incontrovertible logic that if you wanted these people in your life then you wouldn’t need a party to reunite you. Still, there is a gruesome curiosity that propels us to these events. You will be scrutinized by people whose image of you is frozen in time. You need to be looking not only your best, but better! Left it too late? Panic not. Here’s the seven-day countdown to looking your best for that special event.

Day 7 - Start firming things up

Start using LED and – even better – LED and ultrasonic. This is probably the single biggest bang for your buck that you are going to get. They plump and firm the skin like nothing else. Although it is recommended to have no more than three to four at home LED sessions a week, daily use for one week (15 minutes will suffice, but don’t go longer than 30 minutes) will give you the kick start that you need. Alternatively, a salon LED or ultrasound treatment the day before the special event would also be a great investment if funds permit. Read more on the Truth Renew Ultrasonic & LED Anti-Aging System ($109).

Day 6 - Step up your beauty routine morning and night

Few serums give instant results, but my experience with AQ Skin Solutions Active Serum ($149 in the shop) is that a week will give visible improvement. I’m not saying you’ll see a dramatic transformation, but I found I looked better after only a few days. This may be more to do with the glycerin and lactic acid than the key active (I would think that human conditioned media would take a few weeks to start to work). Even so, there is some short-term gratification and the knowledge that long-term collagen will be stimulated. In the meantime, stubborn areas of sun-damaged skin can be helped with my new find Prana Reverse A ($48 in the shop), best used at night as it has vitamin A. I would also recommend using the most hydrating moisturizer you can lay your hands on – especially at night – in the hope of attaining dewy skin. Eslor Active Night Cream ($95 in the shop) would fit the bill and it makes a very nourishing cream for the neck and decollete.

Day 5 - Exfoliate

Refresh your complexion and tighten pores with a glycolic mask or peel.  You can squeeze in another one on Day 3 as well. I like Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel and La Vie Celeste Restorative Exfoliating Gel Mask ($60 in the shop). Another option would be Your Best Face Prep Microdermabrasion ($80 in the shop), which combines a mask, scrub and antioxidants. All of these will give you the basis for clear, dewy skin.

Day 4 - Eye rescue

Your Best Face Correct ($150 in the shop) lifts and firms the lids and eye area while also smoothing crepey wrinkles and fading dark under-eye circles. Another favorite of mine, AQ Skin Solutions Eye Serum ($99 in the shop), effectively diminishes crow's feet, wrinkles and fine lines, as well as lightens and tightens the eye area with a concentrated formula of Matrixyl 3000 and Human Growth Factors.

Day 3 - Correct your complexion

Even out blotchy skin tone and redness with Sevani Complexion Corrector ($39 in the shop). I’m amazed by how quickly this kicks in. It seems to give relief to inflamed skin almost instantaneously and within three days makes for a calmer and more radiant countenance. A light spray that mercifully avoids the need to layer on yet another cream.

Day 2 - GeFed">Need I Glow Morelooks natural and even and is relatively easy to use.

Day 1 - Final touches

For a last-minute glow, Royal Nectar Face Mask with Bee Venom ($68) is a must. I use this whenever my skin needs a pick me up and I even get husband compliments. Lip plumpers give instant gratification and take more years off than mascara. So make sure you have one in your purse! I like jane iredale Just Kissed Lip Plumper ($25).

  • June 9, 2012

    by Joy

    I'd love to try Ultra renew. My skin needs all the help it can get. I'm starting to sag.

  • June 9, 2012

    by Kelly

    Would love to be able to try the Ultra Renew! Will be celebrating my parents' 50th Anniversary at the beginning of July and would rather the guests not be able to tell that I am the eldest child!

  • June 8, 2012

    by Jennifer

    I would love to try the Ultra Renew. I'm very curious and excited.

  • June 8, 2012

    by martha

    Hi Marta, I would love the chance to try and review the Ultra Renew. I've been using the Sirius Aurora since I bought it from TIA in February and have been having good results but I would like the opportunity to see if ultrasound would augment the benefits to my (51 year old, starting to sag) skin - I'd be willing use one device on each side of my face for a side by side comparison if you think this would be helpful. Thanks, Martha

  • June 8, 2012

    by Dennis

    I'd obviously love to try the ultra renew, Marta! :)

  • June 7, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Junko we sell the corded one. We are still testing the cordless (we want to make sure that it really does have enough power to be effective).

  • June 7, 2012

    by Junko

    Marta * is TIA currently selling the corded or cordless Renew's?

  • June 7, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Valerie, congratulations on getting married and warm wishes for the future from us all

  • June 7, 2012

    by Gretchen

    This is a good news/bad news story. Two people, including my neighbor who's an MD, asked me if I had a goiter! After an ultrasound an MRI and lots of blood tests, my doctor says "the lump" in my neck is just sagging skin. While I'm happy to be healthy, it's so depressing that at 55, people think I my neck looks so bad that I must be sick. If this device helps sagging necks, I can say that much more than my skin will be lifted--I'm feeling pretty low these days--so much so that I avoid seeing friends that haven't seen me for a few years.

  • June 7, 2012

    by Debra

    I would love to try your new Ultra Renew product. I have been using the Aurora Sirius LED for the last year with great results. I would like to see the effects of the led/ultrasound combo. Based on the reviews, it looks like a winner!

  • June 6, 2012

    by KateZ

    Whoever is the lucky one to get to try the Ultra Renew out you will LOVE it! I've been using it for a little less than 2 weeks and am already loving it. I have only done the LED twice (I wanted to test out results from ultrasound versus LED) but have been using the ultrasound just about most days and am already seeing results. The most visable difference is in the 'hooding' of my eyelids. I feel like I've taken off several years already! I am very pleased with my Ultra Renew and so glad that I've found something that actually works.

  • June 6, 2012

    by Peggy

    Hi Marta, thanks for the opportunity to try the Ultra Renew. I'm ready to move up this technology for my 50s skin, and hope you choose me to try it out.

  • June 6, 2012

    by Sue Becca

    Hi Marta:I think the idea of having LED and ultrasound in a same devide is wonderful and practical!!!
    I love the LED treatment already (which device I got from TIA) but since my late 40's skin major problem is sagging, I'd love to try the TIA's Ultrasound/LED device to be able to compare results of associated ultrasound treatment (I havent tried ultrasound yet)...so please consider me :) Thanks a lot!

  • June 6, 2012

    by Valerie

    Hi Marta, I would absolutely love to try the Ultra Renew. I'm actually getting married in 7 weeks and was just trying to figure out an affordable facial or something I could get that might help pep up my 40 year old skin. We all want to look radiant on our wedding day (#2). :-) The product looks very exciting.

  • June 6, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Michelle, good luck with those job interviews. We'll be sending good vibes!

  • June 6, 2012

    by Cheryl

    Great advice, Marta! Although my temperamental 47-year old skin and I are already fans of many of your favorite serums, masks, and cleansers, I would love to add the Ultra Renew ultrasonic device to my routine. Let me know if I can try it out and report back!

  • June 6, 2012

    by Michelle G.

    I've always wanted to try an LED device, and I'm glad to see TIA has found a good and affordable one! I would LOVE to try one out as I am beginning to schedule *EEK* - Job interviews - over the next week or two. Now that my classes are over for the semester, I'm trying to undo all the poor eating habits and lack of sleep from the last month or two. As a soon-to-be-graduating non-traditional student, I will be competing against women 15 years younger. I want to look as young and fresh faced and ENERGETIC as possible!

    Thanks for the write -up. I'm definitely going to do as many as possible to get ready. I definitely think a good peel is in order... and I'll be testing that new serum for TIA soon. Let's hope for good things!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...