Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Lumixyl and LED work to fade hyperpigmentation

Is a Solution for:
Cellulite, Stretch Marks, Sagging Skin
April 5, 2011 Reviewed by Marta 34 Comments
I inwardly cringe when I open my email and there is a request from someone asking for a product that will rid them of sun spots or hyperpigmentation. Fading sun spots or hyperpgimentation is one of the hardest things to achieve.  However, I have finally come up with something that does actually work: Lumixyl Topical Brightening Crème and the green hyperpigmentation light that is part of the Sirius Aurora LED device.

Copley first found Lumixyl Topical Brightening Creme and was intrigued by its non-toxic profile and multipurpose technology, developed by dermatological researchers at Stanford University. When she found that it did help fade some dark sun spots, I tried it out and have been recommending it ever since.

I have been testing the Aurora’s green light on a sun spot on my right hand. It is a large, dark freckle. After three weeks, the spot seemed to have faded slightly. Then I started to use the light (three minutes of constant and three minutes of flashing light) after smearing some Lumixyl over the back of my hands.  I followed the Lumixyl LED regimen about three times each week and now, after a month, I really am starting to really see results. I think it will take a few months before the spot is really gone, but I definitely think I am on to something.

I contacted Lumixyl to see if we could carry the product line in our shop. My expectations were pretty low because I knew that Lumixyl has a strict policy of distributing only through physician’s offices. However, I was delighted when the CEO personally wrote to me and said he would make exception for Truth In Aging because he appreciated the quality of our content and “pro-consumer” approach. Very cool. So we are now selling the Lumixyl Topical Brightening Crème for $120 and will start testing the rest of the line.

Lumixyl relies on a synthetic peptide, comprising a sequence of amino acids, as its primary defense against hyperpigmentation, but it also incorporates time-honored ingredients believed to aid in treating discoloration, such as licorice and a compound from pine bark. There’s more on the peptide and the rest of the ingredients in Copley’s original Lumixyl review.

Ingredients:

Water, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Pentylene Glycol, Glycerin, Bis-Ethoxydiglycol Cyclohexane 1,4-Dicarboxylate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Decapeptide-12, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium PCA, Phenylethyl Resorcinol, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract, Panthenol, Allantoin, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, Dicetyl Phosphate, Ceteth-10 Phosphate, Sclerotium Gum, Aminomethyl Propanol, Butylene Glycol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Chlorphenesin, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol.
  • November 14, 2015

    by Bobby Hoffman

    I've been using a device with interchangeable red, green, and blue light spectrum attachments. I'm totally amazed how well it works. It has worked so well that my friends and family notice on a regular basis. My question however concerns green light therapy. I realize the green light therapy attacks the random pooling of melatonin. Can one still achieve a decent face tan while using green light therapy. Or would the green light therapy erase your tan. I was thinking since the therapy works deep down to regulate the abnormal pooling of melatonin that eventually leads to age/liver spots. But at the same time I would think since the abnormal collections of melatonin deep in the skin can be eliminated, being in the sun wouldn't darken unwanted spots because the treatment works internally opposed to treating externally. So, what do you think? Can I still get a decent tan without the worry of it fading quickly due to ongoing use of green light treaments. Thanks for you time and consideration.
    Bobby Hoffman, Chicago, IL

  • September 8, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Michele, I think microdermabrasion is our best bet and for a topical, I have honed in on Medik8 White Balance Click: https://www.truthinaging.com/medik8-white-balance-click

  • September 7, 2015

    by Michele Watson

    Hi Marta I am still experiencing sun spots on my legs - using Aspect Pigment Punch hydroqinone and a heap of other things (A B C etc).....could you update on the Lumixyl? Anything else you recommend for the body area - I see Talika has a green light/red light duo - expensive though. No sure what to do next. Have spent hundreds now and they are increasing! I have a feeling all these topicals make it worse! But perhaps I am only revealing deeper damage and must push through.

  • November 20, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Ann, there isn't much information on amber light or why it is significantly different from red. But here is an article based on what I have earthed up so far: http://www.truthinaging.com/treatments/in-the-dark-about-amber-led-light-therapy

    I can shed even less light on yellow. I've seen different claims for it, from skin whitening to lymphatic drainage. I am sticking with red, green and blue for the time being as there is research about them.

  • November 19, 2012

    by Ann

    What is the difference between green light phototherapy & yellow light photo therapy. I've been told that it is the green light that will fade the hyper-pigmentation the best. Do what does the yellow do? Oh & I came across another color "amber". What is that for?

  • January 31, 2012

    by Anita

    Question: I have some postinflammatory hyperpigmentation from discoid lupus scarring. I have an LED light that has red, yellow, and blue lights but not green. As I understand it green is the best wavelength for treating dark spots. Is using a combination of yellow and blue the same as a green light? Forgive me is this is a silly question.

    Thanks

  • October 25, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Colby, I have tried to research this many times and have found very few anecdotal references to this and usually couched in terms "I think it made my hyperpigmentation worse". Green LED is expressly for melasma and hyperpigmentation and the Sirius Aurora has red (anit-aging), green (dark spots) and blue (acne) lights

  • October 25, 2011

    by colby

    i have read that the red led light has made some peoples melasma darken.i really want to purchase the light for ageing but i have a severe case of melasma.has anyone had this happen and do you thing that im safe to use the red light if not wich led light can i purchase for ageing and my melasma...thanks

  • June 16, 2011

    by Renee

    Hey everyone!

    I have been battling PIH for about 10 years, tried everything an nothing seems to work. A couple of months ago I thought what the hell let me see if Hydroquinone will work, since it's been 10 years since the last time I used it(Which incidentally is what caused the hyperpigmentation). I used it over this past winter and got great results! But as soon as I stopped using it and as soon as the weather began to get warmer ( I use sunblock and avoid the sun like the plague) my skin began re-darkening, and now its worse than before. I was thinking about trying Lumixyl week after next. Next week I want to go for a B-Lift chem peel, so that the product can penetrate. Then wait for a week before I start the Lumixyl. I was also going to get a prescript for hydroquinone and mix the two. I mean from everything I have read about the Lumixyl it's a melanin suppressant and that alone isn't enough to lighten skin. It will keep it from getting darker, but not lighten it. So I was gonna mix or layer the Lumixyl with the hydroquinone. And instead of using their gly-peel lotion, I was going to use LacHydrin / Amlactin ( cuz I'm allergic to gly-acid,and retoins, plus on the Fitzpatrick scale I'm a V/VI so they aren't good for my skin anyway). So I guess I wanna know what do you all think about mixing those two products???
    Peace

  • April 29, 2011

    by Ozana

    Thank you Marta, Sunday for your replies. O

  • April 28, 2011

    by Sunday

    Hello Ozana~ I saw your comment about reading "that Lumixyl is quite a heavy cream"...In my opinion the Lightening Lotion it is not heavy at all, it rubs in very well and absorbs quickly as does the GlycoPeel 20.

    The Lumixyl MoistureLock Sunscreen SPF30 is very heavy and my least favorite part of their system.

  • April 28, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Ozana, I interpret the instructions to clean the skin first as removing makeup etc. I haven't experienced a cream interfering and my subjective observation is that the two together work better.

  • April 28, 2011

    by Ozana

    Hi Marta. I also bought the Aurora device and Lumixyl (I have not received it yet) and I will use them both. You say that you use the LED device "after smearing some Lumixyl" on. On the Aurora site they say to clean "your skin thoroughly prior to light therapy treatments in order to remove any residue and impurities that interfere and block light from penetrating deep into the dermis". I also read that Lumixyl is quite a heavy cream that needs some rubbing to absorb. So my question is: would using Lumixyl before the LED therapy not lessen the effectiveness of the LED treatment? I read that using a light serum with Green tea can improve the results, but even that I'm wondering whether I should use before. Thank you for your insight on this.

  • April 12, 2011

    by Ana

    Thanks for your response Marta! I'm definitely going to try this one :)

  • April 11, 2011

    by Sunday

    Copley's review:

    http://truthinaging.com/face/lumixyl-topical-brightening-creme-reviewed-and-recommended

  • April 11, 2011

    by Sunday

    Hello TIA, funny thing happened at a Dr. appointment for my Mom ~ but I'm going to comment it at Copely's review since I do not have a LED device while I'm using the Lumixyl for my future review...to lori above; apparently I do have both types of hyperpigmentation. I already knew I did have 2 types of Leopard Spots (splotches) just never bothered to look into it...that fact that I had them was bad enough

  • April 6, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Ana, yes it does. I've been testing it on my hands and I have one "large freckle" and lots of smaller ones. All are fading, but I am particularly pleased about the bigger one, which is really a sun spot and more stubborn. The freckles, if anything, are easier.

  • April 6, 2011

    by Ana

    Hi Marta! I was wondering if this would work on freckles?

  • April 6, 2011

    by lori

    Hi Marta,

    I believe I have dermal hyperpigmention/melasma on my neck as opposed to epidermal hyperpigmentation because nothing seems to work. What are your thoughts on the Aurora Lumixyl combo for dermal hyperpigmentation/melasma, which is considerably more difficult to treat than epidermal hyperpigmentation. Thanks!

  • April 6, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Not to mention the Fish Scales on my legs. Our evolutionary roots show up as we age!

  • April 6, 2011

    by Sunday

    Leopard Spots, Crows Feet, Turkey Neck oh my!!! Sorry I couldn't resist :-)

  • April 6, 2011

    by Sunday

    Leopard Spots!!! I NEVER thought to call them that, but it is sure a helluva lot sexier than splotches. From now on my splotches are Leopards Spots, I like it, it makes them more bearable ~ Thank You Jaysie!!! ~ now I'm off to fade my Leopard Spots.

  • April 6, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Marta - Thank you for pursuing this topic with your own test of products. You could very well beat out the doctors by discovering a painless, at-home management plan for these leopard spots!

  • April 6, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Sunday - You & I could probably spend a whole day comparing notes and commiserating. The first two sentences of Marta's report on this topic says it all. Even medically trained skin experts cannot foresee, let alone guarantee, results: they use words like "we can TRY this, BUT..." You need to be a micro-linguist to know what they are really saying.

    However, something out there must work because I see many older show-biz women who are spot-free despite fair skin like mine, even taking into account theatrical makeup. If I saw one of them on the street, I'd accost them with questions! I anxiously await your before & after photos.

  • April 5, 2011

    by Emily

    Marta, thank you, and thanks also Sunday for chiming in. I'm embarrassed: I wrote in a big hurry this morning and what I meant (but didn't say) is would you buy it *again* after conducting this experiment. But obviously from your subsequent comments the answer is yes....apologies for a pre-coffee comment; should not be allowed.
    This really does sound great! I look forward to trying it. Thanks.

  • April 5, 2011

    by Sunday

    Oh Jaysie! I know what YOU are talking about with the High SPF, a visor , a parasol and even standing/sitting in the shade most of a hot sunny day AND STILL GOT SPLOTCHES!!! I even started to think maybe they're heat related and if my face gets too warm, then I just make more pigment, it is the strangest and unpredictable phenomenon on my face. And I have given myself rebound hyperpigmentation with the Porcelana, how that product hasn't gotten a bad rap for THAT effect I'll never know. When I was younger I used to hate my oily T-zone...man if I only knew what I was in for with hyperpigmentation...interestingly my T-zone has almost no melasma ~ Geeez!

  • April 5, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Jaysie, this is no miracle - and certainly no overnight - cure. But I've seen a good enough result to make me want to stick with the program for however many months it takes (I was back at it yesterday evening). There may be better finds to come, but this is the best yet - and without a whiff of hydroquinone.

  • April 5, 2011

    by Jaysie

    I have been sitting on the fence thinking about ordering the Aurora for sagging (?) and pigmentation issues and this post has gotten one leg off the fence, readying for the jump.

    Of all the research I've done on brown spots, including 5 consultations with drs. (2 derms, 3 plastic surgeons all of whom had different recommendations guided, no doubt, by the machines already in their offices), an interlude with IPL, unsuccessful trials of scads of so-called lighteners, and avoidance of certain cosmetic ingredients, my main concerns have been rebound hyperpigmentation (unpredictable) and the prospect of applying hazardous chemicals to my skin every-day-forever. I'm so prone to pigmentation, I've had new brown spots emerge while wearing high SPF sunblock and have no idea if the sunscreen failed or if certain ingredients were to blame.

    Now, Marta, you have added some hope since you've seen improvement using Lumixyl 3x a week which lightens the chemical load considerably. I will be watching this space.

  • April 5, 2011

    by Junko

    Sunday ! Really looking forward to seeing the before and after pictures and reading your review of this * EVERYONE likes Before and After pic's!!

  • April 5, 2011

    by Marta

    Thank you Sandy. And I am really pleased to hear that some of our finds have worked for you.

  • April 5, 2011

    by Sunday

    Hello Emily, I bought it too...right after finding TIA and before I started to read past reviews, like Copley's original Lumixyl review. This stuff works better than any other fade system I've ever used (I've tried Porcelana, Mederma, and Alpha Hydrox spotlight skin lightener) but as Marta mentioned "Fading sun spots or hyperpgimentation is one of the hardest things to achieve" and boy don't I know it! I'm going to take a before picture today and then review for you in 5 weeks. Previously I had really good results on my lower face, but my melasma on my upper checks IS stubborn ;-(

    This time that is where I'll concentrate my efforts and then take a after picture.

  • April 5, 2011

    by Sandy

    Congratulations, Marta! Sounds like TIA is getting around; I've certainly been passing the word on. A testament to your commitment, and all the Reveiwers', to the integrity, thoroughness, and unbiased viewpoint of the reviews. TIA has certainly made a huge difference for me and my skincare - which, in turn, has made a huge difference in my self-esteem. Thank you.

  • April 5, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Emily, are you asking if I would I buy Lumixyl? I already did. I bought this with my own hard earned before even thinking about it for the shop. And I'd most certainly buy it again.

  • April 5, 2011

    by Emily

    Marta, I found this very interesting, and very timely as well. I started using the Aurora 3 weeks ago, and I'm alternating each evening between the red and the green light: green light, of course, for the pigmentation on my face and hands. It's not terrible, but I'd like to fade a couple of spots. I'm making a bit of progress, but the idea that I could accelerate this with Lumixyl is very appealing. Here's the question: sounds like you had a good experience; would you buy it yourself? Or do I wait for your next update??

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...