Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Lumixyl Topical Brightening Crème - reader reviewed

Pros

Absorbs easily

Cons

No discernible difference after eight weeks
September 16, 2011 Reviewed by TIA Community Member 7 Comments
May not be effective on very stubborn dark spots

Reviewed by Barrie

Back in July I received a sample sized tube of Lumixyl Topical Brightening Crème ($120) courtesy of TIA. I was very excited to give it a full eight-week trial, as keeping pigmentation at bay, especially the pesky area on my right cheekbone, is one of my major skincare concerns. Marta has mentioned that hyperpigmentation is one of the toughest issues for a product to address. Would Lumixyl be up for the challenge?

The tube was tiny so I decided to concentrate on that one problem area. I faithfully applied Lumixyl to my right cheekbone near my eye, on cleansed skin morning and night, before any additional serum or moisturizer. I do not own a green light device, which Marta has recommended to use with this product (and based on my dismal ability to use the Baby Quasar which I do own with any regularity, would not be inclined to purchase one).

Scientist that I am, I decided to be brave and bare my completely naked, un-made up, middle-aged eye zone to the world of TIA in the form of un-retouched before and after photos. Note: it looks like my left eye because I used my laptop camera.

Now, I am often completely unable to discern any difference in the before and after photos that many products feature. And true to form, I cannot tell the difference in my own photos.

So here you have it:

[caption id="attachment_35652" align="alignright" width="251" caption="Before"][/caption]

[caption id="attachment_35651" align="alignleft" width="250" caption="After"][/caption]

Anyone see a difference?

And oh my, now to get to work on those stumpy eyelashes!!

Ingredients: Water, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Pentylene Glycol, Glycerin, Bis-Ethoxydiglycol Cyclohexane 1,4-Dicarboxylate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Decapeptide-12, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium PCA, Phenylethyl Resorcinol, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract, Panthenol, Allantoin, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, Dicetyl Phosphate, Ceteth-10 Phosphate, Sclerotium Gum, Aminomethyl Propanol, Butylene Glycol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Chlorphenesin, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol.

  • September 21, 2011

    by patrice

    Have to admit I don't see a diff either.

  • September 20, 2011

    by Marta

    After hearing all the accolades for Reviva's Glycolic Toner, I have added it to the Truth In Aging shop. Thanks Ann and others. Please let us know Ann how you get on with the other Reviva products that you plan to try.

  • September 17, 2011

    by Marta

    The only thing I would add here is that the key active is supposed to inhibit future hyperpigmentation, so its worth finishing the bottle in the hope that it does that for you at least

  • September 17, 2011

    by colinmack

    I love the Reviva Glycolic toner. It is an excellent value for the money and I feel it has made a difference in my skin tone.

  • September 16, 2011

    by Ann

    Barrie, I am NOT a scientist but I truthfully and unfortunately do not see any difference! sorry, but I agree with JustD that if you have any remaining product to finish it up. Marta was kind enough to send me her favorite Reluma eye serum which I did not like (nor did my eyes) at first. I started using it further away on th e wrinkles on my orbital bone and It seems after 3-4 weeks I am finally seeing less wrinkles!

    Finally, I have some very unattractive sun damage on my forearms which I have treated with high end products to no avail. I found a product by Reviva at my health food store called Glycolic Toner which I have been using with cliniques even better dark spot corrector and I swear it's lightening up. When I'm finished with the Clinique I'm going to try Reviva's Renaissance cream. The best news is the Reviva toner is $7-11 and the cream is $15-20. Maybe you should get some and do a comparison test.

  • September 16, 2011

    by JustD*

    Barrie, it could be the light, as the photos are different in brightness or perhaps pixelation, but just looking at the pix, it appears that there is a slight variation of the depth of coloring, but I can't say if that is truly accurate or not. However, I totally agree with Jaysie, a product costing that much and boastful should ante-up better results IMHO. Still, I'm learning that the long road usually bodes better results than the short haul, so you may want to continue the test if you have any of the product left. And you have a lovely 'eye' ;)

  • September 16, 2011

    by Jaysie

    I must say I don't see a big difference, although on my computer screen the lighting is different in each photo. I'd have higher expectations for an expensive product after using it 2x/day for two months, but maybe another month or two would produce better results?

    Thanks so much for giving us this great comparison!!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...