Free shipping on all orders over $39

Lumixyl Topical Brightening Creme- reviewed and recommended

Pros

Eliminated dark spots and evened skin tone

Cons

Too thin to be a spot treatment
June 27, 2013 Reviewed by Copley 18 Comments
Not for purists but delivers on brightening

In 2009, we put a provisional moratorium on the term "age spot." Hyperpigmentation can strike at any age, and there are many causes for an excess of melanin to form deposits in the skin, resulting in sun spots, liver spots, melasma, photodamage, post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, and uneven skin tone. Thus, there is no need to put a time-specific label on it. Topical treatments for overly ambitious melanin run the gamut from the FDA-banned (for OTC) hydroquinone to the gentler glycolic acid. A number of anti-acne and anti-wrinkle ingredients, including azelaic acid, salicylic acid, and tretinoin, can also be put to use toward reducing hyperpigmentation. But, for the most part, dermatologists agree that a combination of lightening remedies delivers the best results at home.

In the past few months, as my natural summer tan gradually faded, I began to notice a cluster of dark spots around my hairline. Though they were only visible in certain lighting when my hair was completely pulled back, my face was not ready to roll out the welcome mat. Having exhausted my supplies of Caudalie Vinoperfect Radiance Serum and PrescribedSolutions Brightening Boosters, I sought out something new. I was drawn to Lumixyl Topical Brightening Creme ($120) because of its non-toxic profile and multipurpose technology, developed by dermatological researchers at Stanford University. Lumixyl relies on a synthetic peptide, comprising a sequence of amino acids, as its primary defense against hyperpigmentation, but it also incorporates time-honored ingredients believed to aid in treating discoloration.

The consistency of Lumixyl is too thin to work as a spot treatment. Unless fully rubbed in, the scent-free solution will sit on top of the skin, which may not be a problem if used at nighttime. I found Lumixyl to perform best as a base layer under my cream, making sure to rub it in along my hairline. The formula boasts a number of decent emollients and humectants, including caprylic/capric triglycerides, glycerin, sodium PCA, pentylene glycol, and cetearyl alcohol. Better yet, sodium hyaluronate can penetrate deep into the dermis and fill the spaces between the skin's connective fibers with moisture. In addition, there is bis-ethoxydiglycol cyclohexane 1,4-dicarboxylate, a somewhat new synthetic ingredient that acts as a conditioning agent in skincare and haircare products.

But Lumixyl is far from an everyday moisturizer. Natural lightening abilities stem from licorice root extract, also beneficial for atopic dermatitis. Marketed under the name SymWhite 377, Phenylethyl Resorcinol is a synthetic compound partly derived from natural lightening compounds in scotch pine bark. Studies have shown that it is effective at brightening skin without harmful side effects. It is claimed that allantoin can have a keratolytic effect and stimulate the growth of healthy tissue. These properties would certainly help with exfoliating away a layer of dark skin, and there is no doubt that allantoin has anti-inflammatory powers. Phyllanthus emblica fruit extract, or Indian gooseberry, confers anti-inflammatory properties, while panthenol, or the provitamin of B5, adds essential moisture and improves healing in the skin.

What about the star peptide behind Lumixyl's brightening power? Dark spots are the result of an overproduction of melanin, and Lumixyl slows this process before it starts, achieving results without irritation caused by commonly used brightening products. The synthetic peptide used in Lumixyl does not topically bleach the skin like hydroquinone, but rather restrains tyrosinase, the enzyme responsible for the production of melanin. To find out more about peptides that act as tyrosinase inhibitors and the scientific findings that went into Lumixyl's formula, read the U.S. patent application.

Clinical studies conducted at Stanford have reported that in eight weeks, skin treated topically with Lumixyl showed a 40% improvement in melanin-related darkening. In fact, Lumixyl's active proved to be 5.5 times more effective than an equal dosage of hydroquinone. According to the results of volunteers in the trial, Lumixyl not only reduced photo damage and diminished dark spots but also restored luminosity to the skin. Moreover, it accomplished all of this without increasing sensitivity to sunlight or triggering hypopigmentation (loss of skin color). The study also confirmed that Lumixyl is safe for all skin types and does not irritate. I wonder, however, whether the full contents of the formula were put to the test, considering the moderately irritating ingredients at the tail end of the list: aminomethyl propanol, tetrasodium EDTA, chlorphenesin, and phenoxyethanol.

Lumixyl is not going to win any "most natural formula" awards, but the brand never pretends to chase such accolades. Its actives are a big improvement on skin-irritating hydroquinone, which has banned by the FDA for its links to cancer. And the baddies are neither sufficiently nasty nor concentrated to scare me off. After eight full weeks of testing Lumixyl, I am happy to report that the dark aberrations along my hairline are almost completely gone and my general skin tone seems much more even. I can only recommend Lumixyl with the caveat that it is pricey ($120) and takes much more diligence than a cosmetic procedure (i.e. Intense Pulsed Light, laser resurfacing, microdermabrasion). But in comparison, it is a terrific deal. I only hope there is enough solution left in my bottle of Lumixyl to salvage my sun-damaged chest area.

Ingredients in Lumixyl Topical Brightening Creme: Water, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Pentylene Glycol, Glycerin, Bis-Ethoxydiglycol Cyclohexane 1,4-Dicarboxylate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Decapeptide-12, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium PCA, Phenylethyl Resorcinol, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract, Panthenol, Allantoin, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, Dicetyl Phosphate, Ceteth-10 Phosphate, Sclerotium Gum, Aminomethyl Propanol, Butylene Glycol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Chlorphenesin, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol

  • October 17, 2014

    by Lillian

    I was given a sample of lumixyl...It causes redness and itching

  • February 28, 2013

    by Rosa

    I tried Obaji, it improved my skin temporarily. But you cannot use it for longer period of time. So I switched to Lumixyl thinking it is safe. But it does not work at all. Don't waste your money. So far I found nothing to work that is effective and safe to use for removing malasma.

  • January 16, 2013

    by Jeanstar

    I used Obagi a couple of years ago and it worked great..it had the higher strength hydroquinone. It was recommended as the before treatment by the doctor who did a laser treatement on my face and neck to get rid of precancerous tissue..
    My dermotologist recommened it.. I think it was fraxel laser but not sure..anyway, the Obagi did such a great job on my sun damaged decolletage that I thought about not getting the laser treatment . I would like to use it again but can't afford it ..
    it was $100 ..where could I get it cheaper?

  • January 23, 2012

    by GobeholePal

    here is link to the new site for megauploade
    [url=http://173.192.82.7//] megauploade [/url]
    http://173.192.82.7/
    i'm also asking you to share the link with all friend also to be part of the anti - Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA) -
    i think megauploade give us allot of good quality services and now it is our time to pay back .

    many thanks

  • July 12, 2011

    by Mahtab

    I started using the lumixyl peeling lotion and it made two HUGE brown mark on my both cheek which i dont know what to do :( they are sooo ugly and Dr said they might not go away :( dont know what to do !!!

  • April 18, 2011

    by Eloquence

    This is a really confusing review. Granted it is easy to read, but it makes some sweeping and incorrect statements about Hydroquinone (HQ) and the FDA proposal to ban it.

    As someone has already commented, OTC Hydroquinone has not been banned in the USA. A ruling is expected at the end of 2011. Any potential ruling could also mean that current OTC manufacturers will have to submit their products for testing to ascertain if they are safe. This is because Hydroquinone has grandfather status with the FDA, so most OTC products have not actually undergone the rigorous testing that hydroquinone received when first 'graded' as safe for public use.

    It should also be pointed out that hydroquinone has one of the best safety records for any pharmaceutical in history. That's 50 years of usage. There are been no links to cancer in humans in it's entire time of usage. This misinformation is a result of independent studies with mice, where cancer was observed in their tissue after they were force fed large amounts of hydroquinone. Humans are not mice, share no similarity in genetic make up, and as far as I know, do not eat hydroquinone in any amounts, let alone large amounts.

    The american board of dermatologists are strongly apposed to a ban as HQ is considered to be the gold standard for the treatment of pigmentation. The African American board of dermatologists are also apposed to the ban as 'supervised' usage HQ is the most effective means of managing hyper pigmentation in African Americans.

    There is a current world wide search for a replacement for hydroquinone as there are concerns about it's 'unsupervised' use.
    The following article draws attention to the fact that a recent discovery in China may have drawn an end to this search.

    http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2011-03/acs-sme030911.php

    In the interim, all skin lightening compounds will continue to be compared to hydroquinone. When one is found that can reproduce or improve upon it's effects, and has independent & numerous studies to prove it, I will purchase it. In the interim, we will continue to be bombarded by products like Lumixyl that claim to work better that HQ, and are 10 times the price. I would suggest careful research and reading various user reviews (actual usage of 3 months or more) before purchasing any of them.

  • April 12, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Sunday - The reason I've not had an 'invasive' procedure is because each doctor I've consulted about my spots has had a different recommendation to resolve the issue, and it always boils down to what type of laser machine they already have in their office. Okay, so there's more than one way to skin a cat, however, derms/plastic surgeons know the BEST way to remove a mole or a wart or whatever, but when it comes to spots they just plain don't know. You can read all about bad results from Fraxel, CO2 and other lasers on realself.com and makemeheal.com because outcomes are unpredictable. My current thinking is that chemical peels are more predictable, though not 100%, but there are fewer drs. who know how to do this because of the laser revolution. There's also no way that I'm aware of to verify the number of "pigmentation removal" procedures a dr. has done and their results. When they show you 5 or 6 before and after photos, that hardly makes for a convincing sample.

    Sounds like the ENT dr. you met is looking for business for the new branch of his cosmetic medical practice.

  • April 11, 2011

    by Sunday

    Ok so funny thing was actually not so funny, we're at a Dr. app. for my Mom she is seeing the Eye, Nose and Throat specialist, he happens to be very nicely dressed and when he answered my Mom as to why, we learn he is also one of the facial plastic surgeon for our Kaiser area. So while we are waiting for her nose to numb (camera scope)...Here's the NOT funny part - he starts to recommend Obagi and/or SkinCeuticals for my hyperpigmentation "issue"!

    'REALLY' I think to myself, knowing he's about to shove a camera up my Ma's nose and down her throat...because I didn't ask his opinion!!!
    Sooo since we're on the subject Doc (geez how long does it take to numb a nose???) I ask him about how is it that I can get splotches without being IN THE SUN...and he tells me as he looks masterfully at my face that I have 2 types of hyperpigmentation; dermal and epidermal. Interestingly he never uses the word melasma...I tell him I just started to use Lumixyl and he nodds in a way that lets us all know he's heard of it, but that's NOT what he sells in his office.

    THEN and I do mean THEN he begins to talk about Fraxel laser skin resurfacing, again in my head 'Oh come on already' so I politely tell him I'm not interested in any type of laser resurfacing as I own a Clarisonic Brush and get some of THE BEST Skin Care advice at TIA.com ~ he wrote down the website ~ and THEN I ask about Pellevé skin tightening...I'm guessing he doesn't do that procedure or get kick backs from it because all of a sudden he was more interested in my Mom again...which was fine with me.

    So I had my daughter take more Before pictures sans make-up so you can see the "issue" the good Doctor was referring to, since the Dermal hyperpigmentation has a chatoyancy aspect to it. Anyway folks that was my 'a funny thing happened to me...' story and I thought if nothing else it was good for a few laughs ~ alrighty then!!!

  • July 28, 2010

    by marta

    I just decided to buy Lumixyl. I'll let you know how I get on. It can be found online here: http://www.lovelyskin.com/

  • July 17, 2010

    by iman

    im very happy scince i started to use the set of luximyl set , cleanser the whitning and the brightning solution and sun block as recomended this my forht week and pigmentation less about 60 % i suffer of hyperpigmentation i tried many tretments anything was working at start then it was becomig worse except luximyl ..i want to buy new set or the brightner,i posted on face book about this i recommen it ..how can i buy it my sister in montreal she want to buy to ,im in abudhabi i found it in dubai derma ,,when i bouht it i was not sure ,then i didnt yse it untill last 3 weeks ,,tell me if you dont have ditrebuter in u a e then how we can get it please contact me also the silk peel ,,how it works and this equipment where to find ,
    thnks alot for all who realy works on this item
    dr.iman mohammad

  • June 19, 2010

    by acegirl

    Meladerm doesn't work - I tried it for 6 months, it did nothing for my melasma. It definately didn't work for me.

  • January 28, 2010

    by rileygirl

    I believe that was a proposed ban, not that it actually happened?

    "In 2006, the FDA proposed a ban on over-the-counter sales of hydroquinone products due to studies in rodents that indicated that hydroquinone may act as a carcinogen. Three years later, the FDA continues to review comments on the proposed ban but has yet to make a final ruling. Over-the-counter products containing 2% hydroquinone or less are still sold in the retail market, while products containing up to 4% hydroquinone are available by prescription only. The FDA plans to make a final ruling by the end of the year."

  • January 28, 2010

    by Brit723

    Thanks for the great information! I have been looking into this product and you cut out a lot of the research I had yet to do. I know that hydroquinone has proven to be highly effective, but officially banned or not, I am scared of the toxicity issues it presents. This sounds like a safe substitute.

  • January 27, 2010

    by marta

    Dee, here is the FDA ruling: http://www.fda.gov/OHRMS/DOCKETS/98fr/E6-14263.htm

  • January 27, 2010

    by primrose krasicki

    Does any one have information or have used meladerm .I have read its info.But I would love to know if there is any comments of usage Thanks Primrose

  • January 27, 2010

    by marta

    It was banned in OTC products in 2006. We linked to more information in the post but here it is http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/hydroquinone
    And here is the FDA ruling: http://www.fda.gov/OHRMS/DOCKETS/98fr/E6-14263.htm

  • January 27, 2010

    by Dee

    Ummm hydroquinone is not FDA-Banned!!!!!!! its quite safe when used properly, and the only thing researched consistently that is proven to alleviate hyperpigmentation.

  • January 27, 2010

    by askanesthetician

    I'm a bit confused by your above post. As far as I know hydroquinone has yet to be banned by the FDA (though I know a ban has been proposed). If the ban has happened could you please tell me where I could see some information about it? Thanks

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...