Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Male Order: Reviewed and rejected - Vaseline Men Body & Face Lotion

September 27, 2010 Reviewed by admin 12 Comments
When Marta asked me to review the new Men's Body & Face Lotion by Vaseline, I thought I was being punished. What did I do wrong, I wondered? Ultimately I know that fair is fair and everything should be scrutinized. But I, for one, never use products from the drug store. It's not that I'm a diva but I've learned throughout the years that some of the ingredients are not the best or productive for your skin (hence the very cheap prices). I'm willing to pay a little extra for a product I know I can rely on.

Vaseline has been around for decades. It's a household name and obviously popular in the mainstream. I mean, who hasn't had a jar of petroleum jelly at some point in there home? Maybe I was overreacting; this product might not be that bad.

I was a little overwhelmed with the packaging. Let me rephrase that: I was somewhat flabbergasted by the fact the body & face lotion came in a whopping 24.5 fl oz bottle and the point price was $2.99. Clearly ridiculous. So I bit back my tongue and tried it out a few times after taking a shower.

The main ingredient is glycerin (mostly found in soaps and I don't like it much, truth be told) and loads of stearic acid in various forms. The problem with this already is that it has a waxlike consistency (it's commonly found in candles, oil pastels and plastics). After applying the lotion over my body (there was no chance in hell I was going to put it on my face, and I avoid any product that is versatile in that way), it did absorb fast as the packaging detailed. But I felt sticky afterward. It wasn't a pleasant feeling nor did I feel completely moisturized hours after. It's similar to some lip balms where you keep having to apply it to retain that feeling of moisturization.

As I had suspected, the Vaseline Men's Body & Face Lotion failed to impress. It was free of any antioxidant or organic ingredients, basically a bunch of chemicals in a pump. Ultimately it's a thumbs down. I'm not even sure how it got on the market.
  • November 30, 2010

    by Best Lotion ever.

    I agree with comments 1,2,&3! This is by far the best Men's Body Lotion on the market, Theeeee best lotion I've ever tried.

    To all the Men out there that are currently battling Acne take it from, this is your best bet. This stuff will FORCE your skin to improve! Make SURE that you pick up the "Extra Strength" bottle though..

    Being 20 years old with Acne/Blackheads was a huge downer.. especially when it came to talking to Women. I'm very attractive but I stopped carrying myself that way because of the way my skin looked. About a month ago this female that I'm currently talking to (potential girlfriend ;) ) told me that I should consider this lotion and I've been using it ever since. Not only is my skin clearer today then it was a month ago.. but my complexion is unreal! My face feels clean.. like it feels strong.. I got my confidence back.

    Hopefully I'm able to help someone out there battling acne. Good luck.

  • June 28, 2010

    by dru

    Jimmy, the reviewer, refuses to try the product on his face which is an area many readers would surely like tested.

    Elitistly, he dismisses this product because of low cost. He goes on to display disdain because it lacked buzzword ingredients he wanted all before trying the product. Worst of all he's factually incorrect. He says it lacked "organic ingredients" when glycerin itself is an organic compound.

    Try to find a male reviewer who will approach a new product with some objectivity and test it thoroughly.

  • May 17, 2010

    by marta

    Hello Hugo,
    I am the editor of this website, a woman, lady and doubtless a diva. What you should really be apologizing for are your aggressive and personal remarks. They undermine your case and go against online etiquette. I shall leave your comments up for a few days to make this point and then they will removed in line with our editorial policy - all views are welcome except those that resort to personal attacks.

  • May 16, 2010

    by Hugo

    I apologize, Jimmy, at first I thought a woman wrote this. I apologize once again.

  • May 16, 2010

    by Hugo

    Your review is so harsh. You ARE a diva (wanna be) I just bought this lotion and it's awesome. Who cares if it has no antioxidants? And who cares if its $2.45 for a bottle? It works great, and my skin has never felt awesome with any other product. You really need to losen up your reviews. You, lady, have a phobia of cheap products. Which today, may make you look bad. Like it doesn't already.

  • February 16, 2010

    by Alex

    First of all I agree 100% with post #5, Marc. It appears the the reviewer hated the product before he even tried it, so why did he even bother? I hate reviewers like that and wonder why they even get paid to waste their own time. The point is to go in with no opinion and then only speak to the products performance. The reviewer ALREADY knew from reading the bottle that the product did not contain any organic or antioxidant ingredients which means he should probably continue using his wifes beauty products anyway. I actually like this stuff. It works. I'm totally dry and this moisturizes while leaving behind a nice fragrance. I like the red drop scent as opposed to the green. Applying this right after your shower the fragrances is a bit strong, but by the time you dress it's faded to a pleasant light lingering masculine scent, which is excellent for those of us who hate dousing ourselves in cologne and body sprays. I give it a high mark for scent and for moisturizing. If I ever want to start smelling like flowers I'll use my girlfriend's Victoria Secret body spray.

  • January 24, 2010

    by Jerry

    I didn't care for this lotion at all, it didn't absorb like it said it would and the scent is WAAAAYY too strong. I wish they could bring out a lotion for men that is unscented. This smells like soap and something else combined but I put just a little on my legs and arms and even my mom said it was strong from about 5 feet away, went back to the vaseline with aloe.

  • October 27, 2009

    by Marc

    Some of these reviews are a bit unfair and have missed the point of this product.

    This is, as far as I can tell, the regular Vaseline IT lotion with a more masculine fragrance. If you don't like it for the ingredients, then you probably aren't the type to use any of Vaseline's products.

    The main review and a couple of the subsequent comments are like a group of vegetarians reviewing a new flavour of Chicken pot pie.

    That being said, I kind of like the fragrance. If you use regular Vaseline lotions, you may like this fragrance more. If you're a vegan, then obviously you're not going to "consume" this product or anything else Vaseline comes out with.

  • July 9, 2009

    by Adam

    This is, by far, the worst lotion I've ever tried. I should have listened to my thoughts (which echoed the thoughts of the reviewer on this site) and asked why a massive bottle would cost a measly $3.99. The lotion is beyond sticky, and reeks of wood-chip scent. Ever been outside right after landscapers lay down that wood-chip fertilizer? That's what it smells like -- not exaggerating. Run! Don't walk away from this offensive product.

  • May 7, 2009

    by EtrnL_Frost

    As a late teen and young adult, I never moisturized. Never really knew what the need for lotion was. My skin was always soft, and my complexion clear. Women hated me. About 3.5 years ago, I came down with eczema on my extremities. No amount of lotion would help - using Carmex on my skin would somewhat lessen scaling, but even that didn't work. After some topical steroids prescribed by my doctor took care of it, it came back last year. This time, it was on my face and arms. I was devastated. Here I was, 17 years a baby-face, and now I had rashes breaking out on my forehead!
    Picked this up on a whim as I was tired of spending too much money applying the ProActive moisturizer that my fiancee wasn't using every 15 minutes or so to the affected regions. Even then, I would still have to apply a little steroid cream now and then to keep the flareups down.

    Turns out this whim was the best thing that ever happened to me. Unlike the other reviewers, I hate the smell. Yes, it's "manly", but I already wear anti-perspirant, and this stuff is strong enough to make my nose hurt. However, maybe once every two hours at most, but my eczema is gone! It's removed the rash on my elbow, my face is back to normal (minimal scarring, unfortunately, from the last flare up), and I'm setting aside money to buy more when this stuff runs out.
    To be clear, I bought the extra strength stuff, so I have no idea how the normal stuff would compare.

    I don't care though. Whatever's in this is helping - or maybe it's what's not in this, and what was in those other moisturizer's I've tried. Also, this doesn't cause breakouts on the face like normal body lotion.

  • March 2, 2009

    by Bob

    I have dry skin ( rough and cracking) in my hands and legs all my 40 yrs and had tried so so many brands even Vaseline's own intensive care and all did not worked for me. All of them were fine on the first application but after you washed your hands, dry rough skin comes back again. This Vaseline for Men (red tear drop, face and body lotion), tried it just last week and my wife and I was amazed. This is the only lotion that really worked for my dry and rough skin and stayed smooth and soft all day even after washing my hands. I really don't care whats the ingredients or whats in it but this is the only lotion that really hydrated skin. Thanks to Vaseline and hope you will not change your formula and will continue manufacturing this new product.

  • February 26, 2009

    by fred

    maybe the reviewer had sticky skin to begin with, nothing at all was 'sticky' after application.smells great and feels even better, i have always wanted a decent mens body lotion, this does it

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...