Free shipping on all orders over $39

md Corrective Care Hyper-Pigmentation Corrective Complex: Reviewed and Rejected

Is a Solution for:
Age Spots, Dull Skin, Oily Skin
October 15, 2008 Reviewed by Copley 11 Comments
Launched just this year after five years of research by an eminent French biochemist, md Corrective Care offers a range of modern cosmeceuticals for both personal and professional use.  Touting "second skin technology," Md Corrective Care's three-step slogan is "Peel, Seal, Reveal."  If you think this sounds like a chemical acid peel system, you would be right on target.  Unfortunately, the results don't translate quite as clearly as the catchy marketing.

I hate feeling as if I'm bound to a strict set of regimented steps, as with md Corrective Care's four-part program, and I would much rather try out different components of a skincare range as I please.  In particular, a system based on AHAs deserves extra caution to avoid overdoing it and upsetting the skin with too many products.  Therefore, I set out to test md Corrective Care's Skin Brightening System, which includes an exfoliating cleanser with glycolic acid, a spot lightener, a hyper-pigmentation corrective complex, and an anti-aging cream, by skipping straight to step 3.  After furrowing my brow at the paraben-plentiful ingredients lists (see bottom of post), I figured I was doing my skin a favor by limiting my experiment to one product.

For several nights, I halfheartedly applied md Corrective Care's Hyper-Pigmentation Corrective Complex all over my face after washing with my regular mild cleanser.  As the slimy serum dried, my skin felt, in a word, tight. Other words that come to mind are tingly and tense.  Considering that I had trouble falling asleep with this presence on my face, I can't imagine putting it on in the morning before makeup and wearing it out all day.  The worst part of the experience was waking up to find rings of residue all over the edges of my face and scrubbing vigorously to remove the slimy coating.

Even if those dregs from the serum were actual dead skin cells, which would indicate that something happened overnight, I can't entertain the thought of using it again.  I have tried plenty of AHA products that moisturized my skin while gently exfoliating instead of making me uncomfortable with a gooey tautness.  This one promises to make the complexion translucent, to even skin tone, and to reduce signs of hyper-pigmentation.  I cannot say my skin emerged from the process any less pigmented or any clearer (which I presume is what md Corrective Care means by translucent).

Md Corrective Care's Hyper-Pigmentation Corrective Complex is a certainly a mouthful.  I guess it makes up in words what it lacks in results.  After I give the other steps a thorough try, we will know if this serum is just a filler in an acceptable new peel system or if the system as a whole should be rejected.  I have a full sample size set of the "Soothing Skin System," which uses lactic acid and kudzu extracts, if anyone wants to have a go.  Just leave a comment and promise a review of your experience.

Ingredients:

Water, Sodium Acryloyl Dimethyltaurate Copolymer, Xantham Gum, Alcohol, PPG-26-buteth-26, PEG-40, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit Peel) Oil, Butylene Glycol, Lecithin, Propylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Glycerin, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon Peel) Oil, Algin, Laureth-7, Vitis Vinifera (Grape Fruit) Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis (Root) Extract, Saxifragra Sarmentosa Extract, Morus Bombycis Root Extract, Disodium EDTA, Carrageenans, Methylparaben, Glucose, Undaria Pinnatifida Extract, Sodium Sulfite, Sodium Metasulfite, Serine, Acasia Senegal (Gum), Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, Limonene

Translation:

Md Corrective Care uses a patented blend of plant-derived peptides called "Lipomoist," which is intended to seal moisture in the skin (though it must be in really small doses in the case of the Hyper-Pigmentation Corrective Complex).  It also has coined its own "Depigmentation Factor Bioflavanoids," citrus-filled bioflavanoids to lend a more radiant look, and Wakamine, an extract derived from seaweed to help even skin tone.  Though these fancy names disguise what is really tucked away in the ingredients list, there is a healthy combination of botanical extracts, including white mulberry, grape, saxifrage, and scutellaria, which are well-known for effective brightening benefits. The remaining ingredients are somewhat less natural and more suspicious, from the potentially irritating propylene glycol, to the sulfate-sensitizer sodium metasulfite, to the pervasive preservative phenoxyethanol.  It is unclear why this preservative is needed since the grand total of parabens is downright frightening.
  • September 28, 2011

    by Susan

    I would like to say that I have just started using the anti aging line of md corrective care and love it! I had one professional chemical peel at the spa and have been using the complete 4 step process which is very easy to use. I can tell an amazing difference in just 2 weeks. I've also had other people comment on my skin. I think this is a great product!

  • September 9, 2011

    by Valerie Miles

    I would love to try your product. I am in my 60"s and need help with my skin. I would give it a fair review. Thanks

  • June 21, 2011

    by Megan

    Hello, I am a licensed esthetician and use md corrective care. I love the line and always see results and feel you gave the product a rather unfair review. To receive the benefits of any product it is best to follow the steps and to not use more than recommended. If you honestly want to give this line a fair chance I think you should try it again the correct way and then review it.

  • September 3, 2009

    by MD Corrective Care

    Thanks Marta, have a lovely Labor Day weekend.

  • August 29, 2009

    by marta

    Thank you team MD Corrective Care. We'd be delighted to review your line amongst the team and readers. Please contact me at marta@truthinaging.com

  • August 28, 2009

    by MD Corrective Care

    Good Morning,

    Thanks for the feedback concerning the Hyper-pigmentation Corrective Complex.
    The Brightening Skin System works as a 4 step process to help unify the complexion.

    PRODUCT SENSATION
    All products within the range are highly concentrated so a little goes a long way, subsequently the gooey/tightening sensation mentioned can sometimes stem from applying too much product.

    PARABENS
    The debate continues regarding parabens vs. paraben-free. European Scientific Committee on Consumer Products (SCCP) stated in 2006 that “the available data on parabens do not enable a decisive response to the question of whether they are safely used in cosmetic products”, and sources state that EU allows a maximum of 0.4% individual paraben concentrationa dn 0.8% for total paraben concentration.

    All our products are manufactured in France and adhere to standards in place by the EU and the maximum total concentration of parabens in any of our individual product is 0.1%! The use of parabens is kept to a minimum, some active ingredients are purchased from labs with parabens already built in.

    We would be delighted to send out all products within the Brightening Skin System for you to experience which offers a hydroquinone-free approach to assist in photodamage or uneven skin tone/ texture.

    Thanks,

    The team at MD Corrective Care

  • January 7, 2009

    by copley

    Hi Katrina-
    That's a good point, but the serum (as the skin's supreme delivery vehicle) should be effective on its own. Unfortunately, I didn't notice any visible benefits and was rather put off by the way it made my face feel.

    For a different product line- PRESCRIBEDsolutions- I tested the system as a whole and was very pleased with the results. So, I suppose there is a chance I would have liked mdCorrective Care better had I stuck to the three steps. But I'd rather not, knowing that there are better, more natural formulas out there.

  • January 6, 2009

    by katrina

    I believe that u have to use all 4 products
    like recomended to see the results.
    If your doctor tells you that u need 4 meds,how do u then select what r u going to take and how do u know what is going to make a difference...

  • October 30, 2008

    by Frances Rowan

    <p>hi!<br />
    read your review and wanted to provide my own experience. i have been using the brightening system for 2mths now, religiously applying the four-step program after my esthetician explained the system and corresponding science behind the protocol "Peel" with the acid cleanser (FYI: dont think the step 3 features AHAs as you mention above), "Seal" with the other 3 products. <br />
    to be honest, the results have been fantastic, and I actually like the tightenign effect of step 3 product which seems to work in unison with the cream. its been a great treatment post-summer to unify patches on my skin. and still have much of the product left!! </p>

  • October 22, 2008

    by Joye Wagner

    <p>Your review has left me curious...cautious but curious. I am in my mid-to-late 30s and am dealing with the effects of sun worship. (Exacerbated by my pale skin, blonde hair and blue eyes.) So pigmentation is an issue. I have tried expensive hydro-Q creams that have made zero of a difference. My skin is not overly sensitive-- surprising given my fairness-- so acids do not scare me. To date the most effective result was derived from Retin A Micro, which I am no longer using. I welcome the opportunity to test this system further and share with you my thoughts! An honest plug: I LOVE your blog (whether I get the sample or not!)</p>

  • October 16, 2008

    by angel

    <p>Hello,</p>

    <p>I'm a college student, and the weather/water here at this city has cause my skin to not be at its best. I'm 21, but I feel like I should be treating my skin already. I would love to try the free sample. I promise to give a thorough review on it. </p>

    <p>Thank you.</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...