Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Miessence Firming Neck and Eye Serum- reviewed and recommended

January 8, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 26 Comments
Miessence is an organic brand that makes just about everything from deodorant, to aftershave, to makeup and skincare. The company's organic credentials are so good that it has the seal of approval of the Biological Farmers of Australia, whose standards are much higher than here in the US. For the last few weeks, I have been trying out the Firming Neck and Eye Serum ($43).

Initially, I was puzzled by a cream that would do double duty on the eyes and the neck. It seems to me that the skin is very different - more delicate around the eye, thicker on the neck. As it happens, Miessence didn't work out for me as a neck cream (but then, my skin has gotten to resembling the underbelly of a reptile). As a firming eye cream, however, Miessence proved to be a great success.

As well as being almost 100% organic, Miessence manages to completely avoid any chemicals or preservatives. I like the inclusion of hops (this is also a feature of Derma Radiant's eye cream) as they come with prenylated flavonoids that are antioxidant.

There is also horsetail, which crops up in shampoos these days. It is rich in potassium, silicon and calcium and has historically been used to strengthen finger nails. Saponins and flavanoids (particularly quercetin) also give it the ability to help heal wounds (as used by the ancient Greeks). The thing about quercetin is that it may be a much more of a powerful antioxidant than was previously thought. Cornell University has a new way of measuring antioxidant potency called ‘cellular antioxidant activity’ (CAA) that tests the antioxidant activities of a compound inside the cell itself. This is an approach that is deemed to be more accurate. Of all the flavenoids, quercetin had the highest CAA value.

I am looking forward to trying some other Miessence products, in particular Ambrosia Essence, which majors on the anti-inflammatory tamanu nut oil.

Ingredients:

Certified organic aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice, xanthan gum, certified organic olea europaea (olive) juice extract, certified organic chamaemelum nobile (roman chamomile) essential oil, certified organic lavandula angustifolia (lavender) essential oil, certified organic humulus lupulus (hops) extract, certified organic equisetum arvense (horsetail) extract, non-gmo lecithin, sclerotium rolfsii gum, certified organic urtica dioica (nettle) extract, aqua, certified organic persea gratissima (avocado) fruit oil, certified organic rosa rubiginosa (rosehip) seed oil, certified organic helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, certified organic butyrospermum parkii (shea) fruit butter, certified organic ethanol (sugar cane alcohol), citrus aurantium amara (bitter orange) fruit extract
  • January 23, 2010

    by Jocelyn

    I would love to try Miessence and evaluate it! I have "mature" and thirsty skin that would welcome the organic wrinkle reduction. Thank you Marta for leading us in the war against time and gravity!

  • January 21, 2010

    by Jan

    I would love to try this as I have a wish to use more natural products. I am 60 tho have fairly good skin.

    I have tried small samples of Korres which I liked very much and Boscia which also was good.

    Thanks for doing what you do!

  • January 21, 2010

    by BEATRIZ

    I’d love to try it if I could¡¡¡

  • January 21, 2010

    by michlny

    really want the opportunity to try out natural / organic products!!

  • January 21, 2010

    by betty

    The name alone makes this elixir sound delicious. Finding organic natural skincare products that show results and do what they say they are going to do has really become a hobby I enjoy and am passionate about. I have passed this cool forum and website on to coworkers who are always asking me about skincare. I would love to write a review...

  • January 21, 2010

    by Sammi

    Hi Im a mum of 4 boys under 8 I definately need some firming up. Best of luck to everyone.

  • January 21, 2010

    by Jimmie Smith

    (I am a female with a boys name.) Trying this product would be a great pleasure! Some improvements in my eye and throat areas would be a delight.

    Thank you,
    Jimmie

  • January 21, 2010

    by Felicia Wynne

    Since these areas, especially my eyes are a big problem area, so you can count on me for sure to get the job done and write a complete review. I would love the opportunity to see how this serum compares to others I've tried.

    Many thanks, Felicia

  • January 20, 2010

    by Kristin

    Thanks for offering to let someone try and review this product. It sounds so nice, organic...I'm 60 and am hoping to find something natural to help rejuvinate my skin, and delay (very far in the future!!) further aging. Thanks for your work., Kristin

  • January 20, 2010

    by Cheri

    I would love to review this product. I have noticed I could use some help around my eyes and also my neck. Thank you for your consideration! :-)

    Cheri

  • January 20, 2010

    by Tracy

    HI,

    I sell an Organic Cleansing oil that carries a few of the same oils as this product. I love using oils. This alone has made a huge difference in my skin. If I just had to pick out one product, oil would be it.

    I would love to try this product and compare the two.

    Warmest regards,
    Tracy
    naturesgenesis

  • January 20, 2010

    by suca

    I am 45, but friends still think I just turned 40...From last year on, I noticed these areas are showing my real age though...I 'd love to try Ambrosia Essence...Marta , pls pick me this time!!! Please please, please! I'd be more than happy to detailed review the product.

  • January 20, 2010

    by Terri

    I would love to try it, the products I've found on you website have made such a difference in my skin

  • January 20, 2010

    by Sarah

    I'd love to try it!

  • January 20, 2010

    by Bridgey

    I am interested intrying this product

  • January 20, 2010

    by sandy

    I'm interested as well.

  • January 20, 2010

    by Yvonne Blackwood

    I am 39 and those two areas seem to be my first trouble spots, love to try it!

  • January 20, 2010

    by Paula

    I'm intrigued. My neck is not too much of a problem but my eyes could use some help. Count me in if you are looking for someone to try out this product.

  • January 20, 2010

    by Angela

    The fact that it's made with organic oils and botanicals really makes me want to try this - my neck and eye area are in desperate need of firming. The products I currently use are great moisturizers (Optyma and L'uvalla Regenerating Day/Night Cream, currently used over a base of argan & rose hip seed oils because of extreme winter dryness), but are not giving me the results I crave for firming the skin. I would love to try the organic alternatives before I resort to Skin Biology's copper serums.

  • January 20, 2010

    by Cristina

    Antinflammatory sounds beneficial. Count me in.

  • January 20, 2010

    by Deborah Morris

    Hi...I'd be happy to review this product...I owned an anti-aging medical clinic for 18 years, and product development was a big part of my job.

  • January 20, 2010

    by Kim

    I'm totally down to try this delicious elixir.

    kim

  • January 20, 2010

    by Mark

    Botanicals and essential organic oils? 'Nuff said - count me in. I'd love to see what results I would get on my neck, too.

  • January 9, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Karolyn, the lavender issue is a bit tricky. As far as I understand it, lavender per se is fine but there is a component (linalool) that is carcinogenic. However, even that claim is the result of one study that I am not sure has ever been replicated. But this is a good reminder that it is high time to revisit and research this. Thanks - I'll be back!

  • January 8, 2010

    by karolyn

    Sorry I'm a terrible typist. That should be kills skin cells.

  • January 8, 2010

    by karolyn

    Lavender oil is quite high on the list here. Didn't one of your historical posts point out that lavender oil kilss skin cells?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...