Free shipping on all orders over $39

Our Rating: 5 stars

Mukti Botanique Shampoo and Conditioner- reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Marta May 29, 2013 24 Comments

Pros

Formulated without water, silicones or chemicals

Cons

Oily scalps may find this too moisturizing
An organic duo that delivers on its promises

When I read the ingredients list on the back of the bottle of Mukti Botanical Shampoo ($48 in the shop), I did a double take. There was no way that this was the full list. Same with with Mukti Botanical Conditioner. Perhaps there isn’t a requirement to list all the ingredients in Australia (Mukti is an Aussie brand). Was I being greenwashed by this supposedly 95% organic hair care combo? I hunted online only to find the same (incomplete?) list on the Mukti website. And then I came across a video on YouTube with Mukti herself explaining how difficult it is to create a really natural shampoo and one without water no less. No water!

Mukti Botanical Shampoo and Conditioner have no water? So, when the ingredients list starts with “Certified Organic Aqueous Extracts of Bladderwrack,” it really does mean that there isn’t a water base, a bunch of silicones and hidden chemicals. Mukti is the real deal.

Which is so good to know because I am really enjoying using this shampoo and conditioner. The shampoo foams up a treat (due to cocobetaine) and along with the conditioner leaves my hair feeling clean and soft.

The botanicals (aqueous extracts are made by placing the powdered plant in either cold or hot water and then putting it through some process to partially evaporate) include many that are known to help healthy hair growth. Bladderwrack is a seaweed that has a high amount of vitamin C and something called alginic acid, which is insoluble in water and swells by absorbing water up to 100 times its weight. It is also a very good source of vitamin B12, a lack of which can result in hair shedding and dullness. Ginkgo is also associated with hair growth, as well as being a potent antioxidant and horsetail is a great natural source of silica.

Also worth a shout-out is red clover. Research from the National Cancer Institute (NCI) confirms that red clover extract contains four anti-tumor compounds and it also contains the powerful antioxidant tocopherol, which is a form of vitamin E.

Mukti Botanical Conditioner ($48 in the shop) makes use of avocado, macadamia and safflower oils. As well as imparting fatty acids, they seem to condition without weighing the hair down. And one of the biggest surprises is that my wavy hair has been relatively frizz free, even when I washed my hair during a thunderstorm.

Formulating without water and only botanicals must be, as Mukti says, a little challenging. But she has pulled it off perfectly. Mukti is a welcome addition to my hair care and I am now intrigued by the rest of the brand. And I believe Mukti is now working on an anti-aging line. One to watch.

Editor's note: Since this review was written, the formulas have been changed. Please see below:

Ingredients in old shampoo: Certified Organic Aqueous Extracts of Bladderwrack (Fucus Vesiculosus), Calendula (Calendula Officinalis), Chamomile (Chamomilla Recutita), Ginkgo Biloba Leaf, Horsetail (Equisetum Arvense), Nettle (Urtica Dioica), Red Clover (Trifolium Pratense), Rosemary (Rosmarinus Officinalis), Sage (Salvia Officinalis) & Yarrow (Achillea Millefolium); Cocobetaine (Coconut derived); Certified Organic Essential Oil of Lavender (Lavandula Angustifolia); Vitamin B5 (Panthenol); Vitamin E (Tocopherol); Tea Tree (Melaleuca Alternifolia) blend preservative; Salt (Sodium Chloride); Citric Acid.

Ingredients in new shampoo: Certified Organic Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice; Sodium Olefin Sulphonate; Cocobetaine; Jojoba (Simmondsia Chinensis) Seed Oil; Certified Organic Aqueous Extracts of Bladderwrack (Fucus Vesiculosus), Calendula (Calendula Officinalis), Chamomile (Chamomilla Recutita), Ginkgo Biloba Leaf, Horsetail (Equisetum Arvense), Nettle (Urtica Dioica), Red Clover (Trifolium Pratense), Rosemary (Rosmarinus Officinalis), Sage (Salvia Officinalis) & Yarrow (Achillea Millefolium); Vitamin B5 (Panthenol); Vitamin E (Tocopherol); Certified Organic Essential Oil of Lavender (Lavandula Angustifolia); Salt (Sodium Chloride); Citric Acid; Sodium Hydroxmethyglycinate.

Ingredients in old conditioner: Certified Organic Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice; Cetearyl Alcohol; Certified Organic Aqueous Extracts of Chamomile (Chamomilla Recutita), Calendula (Calendula Officinalis) & Lime flower (Tilia Cordata); Certified Organic Glycerin (Vegetarian); Behentrimonium Methosulfate; Cetearyl Alcohol; Hydrolysed Soy Protein (non GMO); Argan (Argania Spinosa) Kernal Oil; Glyceryl Stearate; Dimethicone; Certified Organic Honey (Mel); Certified Organic Essential Oils of Lavender Oil (Lavandula Angustifolia) & Mandarin (Citrus Nobilis); Capryl Glycol; Phenoxyethanol

Ingredients in new conditioner: Certified Organic Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice; Certified Organic Aqueous Extracts of Chamomile (Chamomilla Recutita), Calendula (Calendula Officinalis) & Lime flower (Tilia Cordata); Certified Organic Glycerin (Vegetarian); Behentrimonium Methosulfate; Cetearyl Alcohol; Hydrolysed Soy Protein (non GMO); Argan (Argania Spinosa) Kernal Oil; Glyceryl Stearate; Certified Organic Honey (Mel); Certified Organic Essential Oils of Lavender Oil (Lavandula Angustifolia) & Mandarin (Citrus Nobilis); Tea Tree (Melaleuca Alternifolia) blend preservative.

Buy Me
$ 48.00
  • April 5, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Sarah, what karen was objecting to was the inclusion of dimethicone. As we pointed out in the comments thread, the version that we reviewed did not contain dimethicone. It is worth noting that neither of these versions are available any longer as Mukti is reformulating again. We are waiting for new testers.

  • April 5, 2015

    by Sarah

    Karen said this product is awful. so how can tou recommend it?

  • February 20, 2015

    by Karen

    You have the conditioner old ingredients and new ingredients the wrong way around

  • January 17, 2015

    by suzieQ

    Hi,
    I'm with Karen. I bought my conditioner in November 2014 and my conditioner contains Dimethicone.
    My hair got sticky and I will discontinue using it. I will throw away the most expensive conditioner I have ever bought....

  • August 26, 2014

    by Preksha @ TIA

    Hi Karen,
    Thank you for your comment. We're pretty certain that Mutki's old formula for the conditioner contains dimethicone, however their new formula does not. It doesn't look as though Mukti's website has been updated to reflect this, however you can find both the old and new ingredients list on our site.

    However, just to confirm, we're going to absolutely double check this to make sure all information is listed correctly and will follow up soon!

  • August 26, 2014

    by Karen

    (1 out of 5)

    Be aware, Mukti have changed the formula and this product now contains DIMETHICONE. Do not use it, it's dreadful. Used to be a wonderful product but now absolutely ruined.

  • July 19, 2012

    by Marta

    Great news - we have our first consignment of Mukti. Now you can buy these great products here and you don't have to pay or wait for shipping from down under.

  • July 18, 2012

    by Marta

    We should have Mukti in the shop by the end of the week.

  • July 18, 2012

    by Michelle

    Great news....I asked Mukti if they would ship to the USA and they said that they regularly ship to the USA from their website! www.muktiorganics.com

  • July 16, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Renee, they are on their way. They finally got through customs and we should have them up for sale in the next 24 hrs. I'll post again to confirm,

  • July 15, 2012

    by renee

    hello marta hope all is well. I cannot find the mukti hair cond for purchase here, am I losing my mind? thanku . ps im in ny as well. peaceful days

  • July 11, 2012

    by Michelle

    I live in Brisbane Australia and I have been using Mukti shampoo and conditioner for about 10 years now. It is TOTALLY the best organic shampoo and conditioer on the market! And I had tried them all until I accidently found Mukti while in the little country town they are from one day. I will never buy another brand ever again!!!
    It foams up beautifully which a lot of organic ones don't seem to achieve. It smells divine!. My hair is so thick and healthy and shiney. I am happy to use it on the kids knowing there are no nasty chemicals. They don't seem to get stinging eyes like the "kids" "no more tears" shampoo. Go figure?
    They always include a number of samples for other products in the range when you order so I have tried quite a few things now - they are all lovely.
    (No I don't work for them - I am just a genuine fan of the company who found them one day and now love them)
    Michelle

  • June 2, 2012

    by Kate Zink

    Mukti Antioxidant Facial oil looks to be a great solution for my somewhat sensitive skin. I would like to give this a try but if I'm not selected, I'm looking forward to the reviews.
    p.s. I posted this yesterday but for some reason the post isn't there anymore.

  • June 2, 2012

    by imelda

    Facial oils for oily skin? I can't imagine the many benefits and would love to try Mukti's!

  • June 1, 2012

    by Chris

    I'd love to give this a try. I love facial oils, and just finished a bottle of Intelligent Nutrients Anti-Aging Serum. I was not overly impressed, and was going to start researching some oils when I saw this. I'd be more than happy to give it a review!

  • June 1, 2012

    by Kate Zink

    I would love to try out the Mukti Antioxidant Facial Oil. This sounds like a fantastic product line especially since my skin can be a little sensitive at times. Please add me to the list. Even if I'm not selected I'm looking forward to reading the reviews!

  • May 31, 2012

    by Phyllis

    Please add me to the list of Mukti wanna-tries. I love facial oils. I love the way my face drinks them up, the way they feel so pure, the aromas of the botanicals. I am a facial oil junkie. I've tried Antipodes Divine oil, Josie Maran, Kahina, Kiehl's, and my current night-time fave, onelove organics's love springs eternal. But, if not this time, please keep me in mind for the anti-aging line she comes up with!

  • May 31, 2012

    by ewa lecewicz

    I think all this products are great.

  • May 31, 2012

    by Steffie

    Ever looking for a shampoo that will solve the itching I get in the front of my scalp, count me in for a test of the shampoo :>)

  • May 30, 2012

    by Dani Valkova

    Hi Marta
    As an Aussie, Mukti has been on my radar for the last 6 months or so.. I've been doing some research on their company since January but just haven't gotten around to trying their products - their philosphy and innovative approach has been really inspiring!! The two products that have grabbed my eye are the Antioxidant Facial Oil and the Rosehip Eye Gel. If you're looking for some Antioxidant Oil testers I'll gladly put my hand up - would be a pleasure to represent them as an Aussie myself :)

    - Dani

  • May 30, 2012

    by Lynn

    I am always looking for organic or clean products for my aging skin. There are so few good ones out there. I'd love to try it and let you know what I think. I'm 62 and fighting the aging thing all the way.

  • May 30, 2012

    by Terrie

    Marta:
    I, too, would love to try the facial oil. Recently, I tried Josie Maran's facial oil and loved it - it was eye-opening (or face-smoothing, actually) since I'd usually avoided any oil for my face. But more importantly, (and like Gail above) I've really benefitted from TIA - your comments, reviews and that of all the other posters/reviewers. I've never had the chance to review for TIA before, and would love to do so.

  • May 30, 2012

    by Ann

    Company sounds amazing. Would love to try the Mukti facial oil sample. With summer approaching, I'm more worried about protecting my face from wrinkles and freckles!

  • May 30, 2012

    by Gail

    Marta, I would really like to have the opportunity review Mukti Antioxidant Facial Oil. After TIA introduced me to Sevani, I fell in love with facial oils, learning that they can be an absolute delight that my skin drinks in with great fervor. And the results of facial oils have proven to be unique. After having had the privilege to write a review some time ago for TIA, I discovered how satisfying it can be to provide solid information to guide others––to give back to this TIA community that provides so much guidance and care. Thanks.

Have You Tried Mukti Botanique Shampoo?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Mukti Botanique Shampoo below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Mukti Botanique Shampoo

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...