Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Murad

March 29, 2010 Reviewed by admin 10 Comments
Murad was founded in 1989 by Dr. Howard Murad, a self-proclaimed pioneer of the clinical skincare movement, and has since become a favorite among women’s magazines such as Allure and Self. Murad based his eponymous line on a theory of aging dubbed ‘The Science of Cellular Water’, which is founded on the premise that the key measure of health is in the cell’s ability to hold water. He claims the products in his line optimize cell health by supporting and enhancing the skin’s barrier function to protect cells from environmental damage and dehydration, while promoting turnover.

Murad currently has 89 consumer and 45 professional products that range from concealer to cleansers to shaving lotions; the brand is sold at various stores including Sephora and Ulta and in 46 countries.

Though the brand first used monotone packaging in the form of solid black containers, it underwent a redesign in 2002 to amass broader appeal; the resulting translucent bottles and colored fonts aimed to give a clean doctor’s office feel.

In December 2009, Murad’s acne complex kit reached the 3 million sales mark.

Murad’s infomercials feature celebrities such as former Melrose Place star Josie Bisett and singer Deborah Gibson. A range of products ‘guest starred’ in an episode of the medical drama Grey’s Anatomy in 2008.

The Good:

Murad makes a host of product from sunblock to acne wash. The brand has also gained some good reviews from readers.

The Bad:

Murads’s ingredients are not the best for your body. In their products you’ll find linalool, phenoxyethanol, and parabens. Their ingredients also seem to fall short, in the Resurgence Age Diffusing Serum, they try to sell Florentina Root Extract as some kind of exotic ingredient. However, it goes by the name of ottis and is an ingredient used in chewing gum. As for it’s benefits, there really aren’t any which we don’t understand why they use it.

The Truth:

At TIA, we’ve tried many a Murad product – and they’ve proven to be a mixed bag in terms of results. Jimmy reviewed and recommended the Murad Waterproof Sunblock SPF 30 with pomegranate extract for including antioxidants that enhanced protection, but Copley could only dub her reaction to several irritating ingredients in the Essential C Eye Cream as tear jerking.  Marta initially liked the Acne products like the Acne Body Wash and Clarifying Spray, but they stopped working after consistent use. Some of the main ingredients in Murad products are also hazy in terms of safety. For example, Triclosan is an antibacterial in the Acne Complex Clarifying Cleanser that is found in liquid soaps and has been linked to endocrine system disruption, cancer and increased dermal sensitization. And Marta was perplexed by the ineffectiveness of the Murad Recovery Treatment Gel – which she thought contained the ingredients that should do the deed, but perhaps contained too little of them to really work.

In all, Murad’s inclusion of irritating ingredients and perhaps not enough of a concentration of the good ones gives us the indication that the brand doesn’t live up to its clinical standards.
  • October 20, 2011

    by D'Ann

    Marta

    As a nurse, I work long hard hours. Sometimes a warm smile on my face can give people hope while nursing skills and science work to cure. I'm 53 y/o and looking for something to give me firmness and brighten my face as I walk into their room. I'm hoping Radiance can give me what other products haven't. AND I need some pampering.

  • October 20, 2011

    by Leslie Moore

    With a long Michigan winter ahead, I would be honored to see if something could put radiance back into my skin. Having all the windows closed up and the furnace running, doesn't make my skin feel so radiant! At 46, I do see my skin looking more sallow. I would give my honest and truthful opinion. This is my favorite beauty website! I look on it everyday and I thank you for it!!
    Leslie

  • October 19, 2011

    by Juline

    As an esthetician and a consumer, I would love to share my truth with all the other TIA fans!

  • October 19, 2011

    by Barbara Smith

    Hi Marta,

    I have tried everything new that comes out for the face. Murad's Active Radiance Serum is one that I haven't tried. Some work, most don't . Would love to try this Murad product and compare with what I have already tried.
    Thank you for your consideration.

    Barb

  • October 19, 2011

    by Junko

    I can't live without Murad's Acne Treatment Concealer Stick! I haven't been able to find anything better to replace it yet. I use it EVERY day on one little spot or another. 2% Salicylic Acid helps halt/reduce a clogged pore from erupting. A lot of siicones but it's that, which makes it blend, cover and stay put so well. Not posting for the Murad giveaway ~ just commenting that I love Murad's Acne Treatment Conealer Stick!

  • October 19, 2011

    by sylvia martin

    hi would love to be a guinea pig to see if products that work well in USA also work well in South Australia. i am a Beauty Therapist in Adelaide but born in England ,i am told i have that peaches and cream skin and i am 63, have really looked after it and always keen to try new products and review.
    regards Sylvia

  • October 19, 2011

    by deb rawls

    please...let me try this

  • October 19, 2011

    by debra rawls

    really would LOVE to try this

  • October 19, 2011

    by Gloria

    Hi Marta,
    I would like to give Murad a try. You just never know what works best on your skin!

  • October 19, 2011

    by Nina Mohan

    Hi Martha!

    I spend more time than I should on your website (pesky day job must be attended to), have spread the good word to friends and family, and have for a long time wondered about how I might break into being a reviewer for TIA.

    If you haven't found some one yet, I'd love to give it a shot.

    Thanks very much!

    Nina

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...