Free shipping on all orders over $39

My beauty regimen for body

Is a Solution for:
Dry Skin
May 11, 2011 Reviewed by Marta 16 Comments

An uncommonly long winter brought all us New Yorkers to our knees this year, so to speak, and only now (and this is well into May) can we say that Spring is upon us. Talking of knees, I was looking as if I had spent the entire winter in prayer and a few weeks ago decided it was time to take my entire neck to toe beauty routine in hand.

The first thing I did was go back to Osmotics Age Defense Barrier Repair Body Silk. I had been using Nutra-Lift’s White Chocolate Body Butter, which while a great product and very good value just wasn’t proving to be hydrating and nourishing enough. Whether it is winter, age, or (most likely) both, I needed to bring on the heavy guns.

I could have gone for Dermophisiologique’s equally rich, anti-aging body lotions, Bioage or Xomega, but for some reason went for the Osmotics. I first tried Osmotics Body Silk two years ago and keep going back to it when I can see that the years and climate are catching up with me. It is one of the few body lotions that takes anti-aging seriously and that means I have to forgive its flaws: expensive (hence I use it for a few months a year when I really need it) and a few chemicals that I could do without. What I do like is that it majors on Osmotics’ signature ingredient, carnosine. It is a natural amino-acid that is a potent anti-oxidant, helps to chelate ionic metals (flush toxins from the body) and has immune boosting properties. The thing that I find really exciting is that Australian researchers claim that carnosine can extend the HayFlick Limit. Plus there’s the radical scavenging aldenine and thermos thermophillus ferment. When I use Osmotics Body Silk, my skin feels hydrated (there is a large amount of squalane), firm and so wonderfully soft that it garners more than a passing comment from my husband.

Diligence about daily dry brushing is vital (Cindy Crawford swears by it) and I having been putting my Clarisonic Plus, with its larger brush head, to good use. Dry brushing (before shower) is great for removing dead skin cells and improving circulation. It also keeps my back and cleavage free from the breakouts to which I used to be prone. I also find that I still use and like the very moisturizing Nutra-Lift One-Step body wash).

I recently came to the conclusion that problem areas – the aforementioned knees – need deeper exfoliation than a brush can provide. I experimented with La Vie Celeste’s glycolic mask, but while I really love this product for my face it wasn’t up to knees that were wrinkling like a baby elephant’s. So I’ve been using either Juice Beauty’s Green Apple Peel or Lumixyl’s GlycoPeel. After a month of this, there is a very noticeable difference with my knees looking very much softer and smoother. I follow with lots of body lotion or rich moisturizer.

At the end of last summer, my esthetician warned me to start taking care of my hands (they were getting very freckly) and so I am trying to go into this summer with them in better condition. The key has been regular (2-3 times a week) use of the Sirius Aurora green LED light for hyperpigmentation. I am using it with Lumixyl’s Topical Brightening Crème. This has been really effective in evening out the skin tone and I also believe that LED light makes the thin skin on the hands notably plumper. See also Emily's experience with using the Aurora on her hands. In the mornings I use a good moisturizer (lately it has been Sunday Riley’s Bionic) and follow with sunscreen. I have been using Badger’s, although I am about to test one by Episencial and will make a point of checking out Suntegrity’s body sunscreen (I already use the Suntegrity for face).

All in all, I'm getting ready for a hot summer!

  • May 13, 2011

    by Susan

    Thanks for your suggestion, Valerie. I'll check it out. If you're planning on trying it would you share your results?

  • May 13, 2011

    by Valerie

    A good "less evil" alternative to the Amalactic would be Arcona Pumpkin Lotion 10%. I heard good reviews and I plan on trying it.


    Ingredients:
    Agua (Distilled Water), Glycerides, Glycerol Stearate, Desert Cellulose, Super Concentrated Pumpkin Extracts, Glycolic Acid, Beta Glucosamine, Beta Fructan Pumpkin Seed Oil (Cucurbita), Pumpkin Enzymes, D Alpha Tocopherol Acetate (Vitamin E) (Vitamin E), Essential Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract (Grape)

  • May 12, 2011

    by Susan

    Marta,

    Thanks for posting the ingredients to Amlactin, as anyone who is thinking of buying it should be knowledgeable.

    I suppose using it makes me hypocritical. The list makes me shudder actually, but dang, it works.

    I don't use Amlactin every day, but when I do use it, bumps go away and dry skin is a thing of the past.

    The lactic acid is the "wonder" ingredient, so if anyone knows of another better-formulated lotion containing 12% lactic acid, please point me in that direction.

    :-)

  • May 12, 2011

    by Marta

    Here are the ingredients in Amlactin
    Lactic Acid 12%. Water, Lactic Acid Neutralized With Ammonium Hydroxide, Light Mineral Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Laureth-4, Polyoxyl 40 Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Methylcellulose.

  • May 12, 2011

    by Marta

    I did think about it Junko but it seemed both sadistic and masochistic.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Justd

    Suan, I've seen Alba’s Emollient lotion at Marshall's, thanks for the tip, I'll have to give it a try!

  • May 11, 2011

    by Justd

    I too am up for the Date To Try challenge. I hate the ashen look my skin tone is slowly taking on, especially on my legs. It's a challenge to keep my arms and legs moisturized thru out the day. I have taken up using Vaseline's Cocoa Butter Moisturizing Gel Oil in a feeble attempt to keep them unflake-able. ;) LOL maybe an olive oil concoction might help :-s. Hmmmm, ok, bad idea!

  • May 11, 2011

    by Cindy

    Interesting information. I'd love to try and review the Osmotics Body Silk. My body can use all the help it can get!

  • May 11, 2011

    by Susan

    Hi Leslie,

    I often use Alba's Emollient lotion, too. However, the very best lotion out there to buy is the Amlactin Moisturizing Body Lotion. Hands down. Period.
    It sloughs off old skin, relieves itchy, dry skin and rids the body of those unattractive bumps (keratosis pilaris) that often on our upper arms.
    The drawback to this fantastic lotion is its unattractive scent. I add a fragrance to it. I imagine a few drops of an essential oil would do the trick, also.
    The lotion is sold at drugstores. Lately, I buy it at Costco: larger size for less money.
    I promise you, it works!

  • May 11, 2011

    by Junko

    Well * your neck in the photo looks great * I wish you'd of posted a picture of those knees of yours instead :)

  • May 11, 2011

    by Valerie

    Thank you Marta

  • May 11, 2011

    by Leslie Wayne

    Lately I have been using Alba Botanicals Very Immoliant Body Lotion, mostly because it's mostly natural and it's not a fortune. But I have not yet found a body lotion that truly takes the dry flakes off my legs, even those with some alpha hydroxi acid in them, like the Alba Botanicals. I would love to give your Osmotics a try and test it against my stubbornly dry, middle aged gams!

  • May 11, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Valerie, you don't need to rinse off Lumixyl GlycoPeel - its more of a cream. I leave the JB Green Apple on for about 15 minutes. I've been trying to do one or the other every couple of days. I am expecting this to take a few months and then I should be able to cut back to once a week or so.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Valerie

    How often do you use the Juice Beauty’s Green Apple Peel or Lumixyl’s GlycoPeel during the week ?

    How long do leave them on before rinsing them out?

  • May 11, 2011

    by AKCrab

    Good information! I live in Alaska so long harsh winters and then long daylight summers are the norm. I like putting philosophy's C booster to my body cream. I am of SE Asian descent so I am concerned about hyperpigmentation and try to keep my skin clear by showering with Badescu's acne and AHA washes. I will add dry brushing to my routine.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Jennifer E

    I am intrigued by the Osmotics Body Silk lotion & volunteer to take your Date to Try it challenge! I have been using the Terralina body lotion, which is olive oil based, & really like it, especially when my skin is craving something rich! I ordered a couple of Osmotics serums recently & will be trying them when my CSI product runs out, so trying the lotion simultaneously would be great!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...