Free shipping on all orders over $39

My Eyes After Tretinoin

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
March 2, 2011 Reviewed by Junko 30 Comments

See Junko's profile

In 2010 I used Tretinoin for four weeks with adverse side effects. You can read my tretinoin article here. Twelve weeks after I stopped using it, the uncontrollable blinking, pain and irritation to my eyes finally, subsided and went away. My vision returned to normal and I could comfortably wear contacts again, but the skin around my eyes looked so bad that vanity stopped me from wearing them. The bags under my eyes were now twice as puffy with crepey lines on them. I didn't used to have crepey lines under my eyes! The skin above my eyes had no strength, and folded to rest heavily upon my lids. Crows feet and fine lines on the bridge of my nose were now twice as deep and pronounced then they'd ever been before. My eyes looked so terrible that I continued to wear my glasses to try and hide them. I felt that nothing, short of a miracle, could fix the numerous problems surrounding my eyes after the months of stress they'd endured.

Marta published her review of E'shee's Cellular Repair Serum ($179 in the TIA shop), as a promising, wrinkle reducer. This gave hope, but was E'shee's FGF 1 gene therapy, seriously scientific, or just seriously expensive? My Tretinoin ordeal had already cost me $600 and I was desperate. After using E'shee's Repair Serum for 6 months on the bridge of my nose and around my eyes, I'm not proclaiming it a miracle serum, but it DID significantly reduce and repair the depth of the wrinkles on my nose and crows feet. For this, I will forever be grateful to E'shee's Cellular Repair Serum.

During those 6 months I also, literally, soaked the skin around my eyes at night in eye creams. Putting creams on so thick that they lay like a mask around my eyes while I slept. I purchased quite a few and Marta mailed me some too, with SenZen's Double Dose ($84 in the TIA shop) being the last one she sent. SenZen's Double Dose eye cream is by far, the best hydrating, moisturizing eye cream I've ever tried. Unlike most heavy eye creams, Double Dose absorbs completely (when applied normally, not like a mask) into my skin without leaving an oily slick or sheen. Most rich creams have a tendency to sit on the surface of my skin, so I'm very impressed by its' absorption. Maybe it's SenZen's Energized Liposomal Delivery System? Doesn't absorption mean penetration, which is really what we're after when we put something onto our skin? When I apply Double Dose like a mask at night, it has never caused millia or little red spots to appear. It will however, hydrate my bags, so I apply it on my upper cheeks (crows feet) and along the sides of my eyes. YBF's Correct ($150 in the TIA shop) is my normal daytime eye cream, but I set it aside a few mornings to try Double Dose under a dusting of mineral powder. SenZen sits well under my mineral powder without sticking, rolling, or piling. This eye cream may sound expensive to some at $84.00, but realize you're getting a huge 1 ounce pot of cream for this dollar amount. Most eye creams creams are sold in half ounce doses. SenZen has doubled this, which is maybe why they've named it, Double Dose! SenZen's Double Dose is really a  fabulous mid priced $42.00 per half ounce eye cream.

I want to give a Big Hug to the TruthInAging community for all the support, advice and love you gave me as I was trying to heal my eyes. I still take EFA Gold Flax Oil and double doses of vitamin C every day because of Julie & Sandy's comments. My biggest thanks always go to Marta, as there's no way I could continue to fight the war against aging without her website, information and research. Marta, because of you, I can now, FINALLY wear my contacts again!

Ingredients in E'shee Serum

Aqua, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Distillate, Propylene Glycol, 1.3 Butylene Glycol, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Seed Extract, Glycerin, Morus Alba (Mulberry) Extract, Tinocare GL, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Triethanolamine, D-Panthenol, Lactic acid, Carbomer, Allantoin, Phenoxyethanol, FGF 1 (Recombinant Human acidic Fibroblast Growth Factor).

Ingredients in Double Dose

Water, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, Theobroma Grandiflorum (Cupuaçu) Fruit Extract, Glyceryl Stearate, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Tetrapeptide-17, Passiflora Edulis (Passion Fruit) Seed Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice Bran) Oil, Euterpe Oleracea (Acai) Pulp Oil, Orbignya Oleifera (Babassu) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Propanediol, Dimethicone, Caffeine, Phytonadione (Vitamin K), Sodium Hyaluronate, Bisabolol, Silk Amino Acids, Hydrolyzed Rice Bran Protein, Oxido Reductases, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Protein, SENZEN Energized Liposomal Blend, Dimethiconol, PEG-75 Stearate, Ceteth-20, Steareth-20, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Butylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol

  • April 2, 2011

    by Peggy

    Thank you Darrell, Junko and Emily. I have Correct and Double Dose, so I'll start using them on my little droops. Can't wait to see what they do! I looked up the KaplanMD Intensive Eye Cream and it looks very good (except for the phenoxyethanol and parabens, expecially the phenoxyethanol. Because of Marta's recent review of Re Luma, I looked up phenoxyethanol, and it looks pretty scary. In fact, that made me decide to wait on trying Re Luma. Ironically, since then I've seen several other great looking products reviewed here that have it as well.) Don't know what to think. Anyway, mulling that over will give me time to save up for more goodies, and while I'm doing that I have 2 great products to try out thanks to your info!

  • April 2, 2011

    by Emily

    Oh yes, just to be clear, Peggy, I have used them both on the lids. I think my comment was confusing--I do love Correct for under-eyes because it seems to help with dark circles, etc., but I would use both on both lower and upper.

  • April 2, 2011

    by Junko

    Peggy, KaplanMD Intensive Eye Cream for lifting the lids gets my vote. I'm totally out of this cream right now, but it lifted my lids the best out of all the creams I've tried. Hoping that others chime in with their recommends as I need some more considerations myself. If I buy the KaplanMD again, I'd use it just on the lids as it performed the best for me on the lids. Come on TIA readers ~ need more info here!!

  • April 2, 2011

    by Darrell

    Hi Peggy,
    You can use Correct on the lids as well. It will help tone and brighten the areas.

    Thank you and have a good weekend!
    -Darrell

  • April 2, 2011

    by Peggy

    JUNKO, I too want to thank you for this post, and am so glad your eyes are recoverig. Thanks for all your sharing and caring, I've learned a lot.

    It is precious information, and speaking of that, I could use some. EMILY, one phrase in your comment brought to mind a question that I've been wanting to ask for some time. You commented that you had less "upper-lid droopiness." I've begun to have that problem, but haven't known what to do for it. Some products I've look at have said to avoid the upper eye lid (on the brow bone - ok, below that - no), so perhaps I got it stuck in my mind that below the brow bone is the Maginot line of eye potions, not to be crossed. I've been using YBF Correct (which I love) but its directions simply say use around the eye area, and that's too ambiguous for a goof like myself to know if they mean upper eyelids also.

    So, EMILY, have you used Correct and Double Dose on your eyelids themselves?

    I'd also like to post this question to JUNKO and to MARTA (my maven of skin care), or anyone else who can offer advise. What products can you recommend to firm up this delicate area?

    Thanks a bunch.
    Peggy

  • April 1, 2011

    by Junko

    EMILY (and Jan earlier) * Thank you, thank you, thank you for taking the time to share your results and thoughts with everyone on SenZen Double Dose. Not every product works for every person, but as comments like yours add nays or yays to a review, calculating the odds gets better for people reading the review! TIA is all about information and every word you added to this post is precious information!

  • April 1, 2011

    by Emily

    I just wanted to leave a note thanking Junko for this post last month. When I learned of the results she got with Sen Zen Double Dose, I decided to try it (and thanks, TIA, for the special deal). Definitely worth it! I was really fed up with my eyes and felt like the puffiness, overall dryness, and crows' feet were getting worse. I'm happier now (about a month later)! I haven't stopped YBF Correct--especially for under-eyes--and never would, but adding Double Dose has been a huge help and with this combination, I've got fewer lines, less upper-lid droopiness, less puffiness. (You also pointed out that Double Dose isn't as costly as it might appear, since it's a full one-ounce pot, where competitors are half-ounce, so it's actually quite reasonable.) Thanks for a very valuable tip! I'm delighted with the results.

  • March 10, 2011

    by Darrell

    Hi Kelly,
    I hope you'll stick with it! We often compare tackling wrinkles as similar to treating a wound -- in that real results take significant time.

    There are lots of brands that promise quick fixes or that deliver with "smoke & mirrors." We believe good ingredients combined with regular use and time will inevitably deliver the real results you may be looking for.

    Best of luck & all my best,
    -Darrell

  • March 10, 2011

    by Kelly

    Thanks, Marta. I am hoping for less crepiness and fine lines but I haven't seen any improvement yet. I will give it more time and work on my patience!

  • March 10, 2011

    by marta

    Jan - that is fantastic news. Let us know if its still a triple D in a few weeks.

  • March 10, 2011

    by marta

    Kelly hi, we always test things for at least a month. I definitely didn't see results when I first used Correct for at least three weeks. And by results, I mean less crepiness, fine lines. You say you haven't noticed anything - what are you hoping for? With any anti-aging product you need to be patient. Let us know how you get on in a couple of weeks.

  • March 10, 2011

    by Kelly

    I'm excited to try Double Dose after these great reviews!! I am deciding between purchasing that or Correct and I have a sample of Correct now but it has been about a week and I haven't noticed anything yet. Did it take anyone else a little while to see the effects of Correct?

  • March 10, 2011

    by Jan

    I received my order of Double Dose Monday and although 3 days usage does not a star make, I must say that I would rename this 'Dreamy Double Dose'. Much like Marta's relationship with Reluma, I am in LOVE with this product so far. Not to take anything away from Correct as I am a die-hard YBF customer and supporter, however my skin is accepting Dreamy Double Dose in far greater fashion. The crepey-ness is gone, my eyes look like I'm 30 again (and I'm 50).

    Looking forward to the test of time and will report back.

    Thanks again Junko for the recommendation - it's working very well for me.

  • March 5, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Junko - I'm so glad to hear your eye area is on the mend! It's so difficult to anticipate what may or may not cause a bad reaction and then to find something that will heal if needed. I recently received $70 of Eminence samples, mostly to try their masques, but I also got several eye creams. The Wild Plum cream, which is very positively reviewed at the web site where I bought everything, does not agree with me. This surprises me because this product line has friendly ingredients.

    For puffiness, you may want to try 100% Pure Organic Coffee Bean Eye Cream. I use it when I wake up with puffy eyes but it might work as a night eye mask. It's also light enough to pair with a more power-packed serum because it absorbs quickly. Keep us posted!

  • March 5, 2011

    by Sunday

    Thank You Lady Junko! I am definitely focusing on the bright side of things...like sharing ~ ha!...and that my order is already confirmed! I will comment back :-)

  • March 5, 2011

    by Junko

    Sunday ! Love the Quote, it made me smile * Thank YOU !
    Comment back your thoughts on Double Dose after you've tried it! Hoping you won't have to share your home long with the termites, but on the bright side ~ you are fortunate to have a home to share!

  • March 4, 2011

    by marta

    Marsha, we just tested the coupon and it does work for E'shee. It is case sensitive so you must use caps: JUNKO20.

  • March 4, 2011

    by Sunday

    Lady Junko as always you do address the true reason we all continue to read this site ~ our beauty/aging concerns, our trials & errors and then a honest review about what works ~ Thank You! I was unable to purchase Double Dose or visit SF due to of all things...termites (aka invasive and expensive) and quite frankly it made me sad :-( to have to wait to purchase a Creme you had already confirmed I would love! 20% off REALLY helps right now...actually it is quite serendipitous. Anyway I love that picture of you, your eyes look like they are smiling too...here's a quote I like ~ God grant me the Senility to forget the people I never liked anyway, the good fortune to run into the ones I do, and the eyesight to tell the difference ~ Here's to your eyesight!

  • March 4, 2011

    by Marsha

    I would love to try the E'shee Clinical Esthetic Cellular Repair Serum but I can't get the Junko20 coupon to work. Is anyone else having this problem?Thanks so much!!

  • March 4, 2011

    by Junko

    I ditto Marta & Susan's comments on Correct!

    Valerie ~ I WHOLEHEARTEDLY agree that E'shee is too expensive to use on the entire face. I only used E'shee on the crows feet and bridge of my nose, making an ampoule last 3 months. When you buy on sale (20% off), that roughly comes to $46 per month...for my budget, it's do-able (although, I'd always like to find something that works as well for cheaper!) Valerie DO LET us know if you find something that works for the puffy bags. They're not as bad as they were before, but I've always had a problem in that area and would love to find something that's really effective on them~

  • March 4, 2011

    by marta

    Valerie, what about <a href="http://truthinaging.com/face/cosmedix-affirm-reviewed-and-recommended" rel="nofollow">Cosmedix Affirm</a>, that's well under $60. Many of us have had good results with<a href="https://truthinaging.com/store/Osmosis%20Replenish?keyword=osmosis%20replenish&category_id=0" rel="nofollow"> Osmosis Replenish</a> (under $50), although some people have reported allergic reactions to the latest formula. Emily recently told us that she has had good results with the <a href="http://truthinaging.com/face/why-does-skinceuticals-ce-ferulic-cost-100-more-than-css" rel="nofollow">CSS C&E Ferulic</a> and the <a href="https://truthinaging.com/store/Nutra-Lift-Maximum-Ultra-C-Serum" rel="nofollow">Nutra-Lift Maximum C</a>. Oooh, I can feel a Five Best for under $100 coming on.

  • March 4, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Susan, I have the same issue with Correct. I can lay off it for a while, but still end up going back to it.

  • March 4, 2011

    by Valerie

    Hi Junko,
    Thanks for sharing your story. Although, I haven't had the severe response that you had to Retin-A, about a year ago I started using Renova and I was soon at the eye Dr. with serious dry eyes. However, I wasn't diagnosed w/anything nor did the Dr. mention the Renova. But, I'm rather certain that this was the problem. I stopped using it and returned to my over the counter retinols (Glo Super Serum/Osmosis Boost). At any rate, my eyes look terrible for 39 (I too have crepey lines & puffiness). Most mornings my eyes are terribly dry and have under eye puffiness, which lasts all day. I think I'm going to try going w/out retinols altogether to see if this solves the dry eye and the puffiness that I am attributing to it. I did invest in the SenZen and YBF for my eyes. But, can you or Marta recommend a non-retinol serum for the face that doesn't cost over $100 which is effective on lines and wrinkles. It doesn't have to be dirt cheap, but the E'shees is just way too costly. Before I start a crazy rant about the ridiculous price of skin care, I will stop. Thanks again and I think you should proudly go without your glasses. Can I borrow them? :-)

  • March 4, 2011

    by Susan

    I just ordered Correct. Marta et al, thanks so much for the discount.

    The funny thing about Correct, is if I discontinue use for 2-3 months, the skin under my eyes becomes crepey. I start back up with Correct, and presto! the crepiness recedes.

    This must be what addiction feels like.
    (kidding) :-)

  • March 2, 2011

    by Junko

    Jan & Erica, if you try Double Dose * be sure to post back on any of the Double Dose reviews with your thoughts, YOU help to grow the site and the community! The more comments on a product the more information we all have to make our purchasing decisions! Julie Kay ~ our voice of reason, thank you for the reminder, we're so often focused on those wrinkles and flaws that we miss the big picture! JustD, flattery will get you everywhere!!...Next batch, I'll talk to Ms. M about getting you some :)

  • March 2, 2011

    by JustD

    Junko, what a beautiful smile and the eyes say it all. You look lovely in the photo, and I hope that whatever you're doing just keeps on working and working and working. What a great inspirational story! I look forward to an update six months from now. I'm still waiting on that DIY hair oil I hinted at from you as well LOL. Great review!

  • March 2, 2011

    by Erica

    Hi Junko,
    Thanks for the follow up and reviews of all the products. I know we have similar skin and cant wait to try out the new eye cream. I know its got to be good if you have it up there with Correct!
    Erica

  • March 2, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Junko, I'm so glad your eyes are recovering! and they will continue to do so with the love and (product) attention they're receiving! Our eyes, when we look at ourselves in the mirror (or catch a glimpse in a window or such), are the part of our face we often take for granted, but give a gut punch when look bad. Girlfriend you've been through a lot with yours. But you're so beautiful; never forget! ~jk

  • March 2, 2011

    by Jan

    Junko,

    Thank you SO much for this review and thanks to Marta for the special TIA discount offer. I am so happy your eyes are better - anytime we don't feel at the top of our game, well, we all know how disturbing it can be to our psyche. I JUST ran out of my YBF Correct and was actually online ready to order it, but after reading your review I shall try Double Dose as I have fine, crepy, allergy lines under my eyes.

    Hope your eye area continues to improve!

    Jan

  • March 2, 2011

    by Mark

    Junko -
    so glad you have rebounded and I admire your determination melded with grace. It's a pleasure to read your posts - I always learn something from you.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...