Free shipping on all orders over $39

My neck and hair solutions

February 8, 2011 Reviewed by Marta 9 Comments

I have a feeling that 2011 is going to be a year of discovery and growth. Interesting new products have been arriving at the TIA office and what’s even more exciting is that some of them are still evolving as their makers – for example Collametics, Dermagenics, Your Best Face, SenZen – listen to the marketplace. Look forward to reviews of all new products and brands in the coming weeks, but in the meantime, I have made some skin and hair breakthroughs that I’d like to share and as I embark on testing lots of new products, it seemed like a good idea to have a reset and remind myself of what is working for me.

First off, I’ve made some great progress on my neck and décolleté (some of you were kind enough to notice on our recent YouTube video). It’s pretty simple, I designated SenZen’s Infinity Never Ending Moisture ($95) as my neck cream. It has done a great job of plumping, hydrating and smoothing. We aren’t done yet, but I have reached the first breakthrough of really visible results. It has taken a couple of months, but fortunately, a little of this cream goes a long way and I have still at least a month’s worth left. About once a week, I use La Vie Celeste’s Restorative Exfoliating Gel Mask ($60 in the TIA shop) with glycolic acid, and every day I dry brush the area with my Clarisonic.

My hair has taken on the appearance, in a good way, of a thick winter pelt. I attribute this mostly to my new hair regimen. I’ve transitioned to a “I can’t live without” relationship with Shielo’s leave in, antioxidant-rich conditioner and SenZen’s Drenched & Quenched ($42), a kind of scalp serum that I also use on my dry hair as a frizz tamer. For shampoo, it’s either Nutra-Lift Simply Superb ($18) or new find Real Purity’s Moisturizing Shampoo, which I think I marginally prefer.

After some bad eye cream experiences, I ran back into the arms of YBF Correct and recovered enough to embark on new trial with a cream that seems to be pretty good by Sarah Chapman. Its funny – and alarming – how the wrong eye cream can make my under eye area revert to dry and crepey in only a few weeks. I’ve put my beloved E’shee serum to one side while I try out ReLuma, another serum with a growth factor is the active (more on that in a few weeks) and layer some Skin Nutrition Cell CPR to give my skin some hydration and something familiar. Cell CPR is definitely suited to my skin and I am now on my second bottle (although a wayward pump has sent more of it than I would like in the direction of the light fittings).

Sign up for our newsletter to get 10% off products in our shop

  • February 11, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Stephanie, we did do some work on my neck with Pelleve, but it wasn't the main focus and we didn't do the decollete at all. Having said that, I think the Pelleve has had an impact on my skin overall and around the mouth/marionette line area. Still I want to give another week or so before judging.

  • February 10, 2011

    by Stephanie

    Re your neck, do you think that some of the fabulous results could be due to your Pelleve treatments?
    How often are you using the Baby Quasar?

    Thanks,
    Steph

  • February 9, 2011

    by JustD

    Btw, sorry for all the "budget comments", more for me than anyone else, cuz I'd lose my mind on this site and spend all my pennies if I don't bear that in mind whenever I'm online! I hope all of you will please bear with me in this regard! :D

  • February 9, 2011

    by JustD

    LOL, Marta, maybe the Mad Hippie appears to be working well for me because I mix the serum up with Osmosis Replenish's serum and the face cream with YBF Antioxidant formulation and that's what's pumping it up. Can't wait to read your review on MH and ReLuma.

    I'd love to try some of the major products you review and recommend here, but I'm really on a tight budget, and I have to pick and choose my poison wisely, play on words only. I cannot justify purchasing a face cream for $150.00, but eyelashes, yea,I'll jump through hoops for my eyes ;-D, face cream, not yet LOL. One day...I'll see where this leads me for now!

    Thanks for all you do Marta!

  • February 9, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Denis, the only brand that I know if using PHAs also talks about its products being pH balanced, so I would think its the same issue as with AHAs

  • February 9, 2011

    by marta

    Hi JustD, thank you for sharing! It's really great to hear about what's working. I had less luck with Mad Hippies, unfortunately - a review will be posted later today. Right now I am testing ReLuma's eyelash growth product. More to come on that in a few weeks.

  • February 9, 2011

    by JustD

    Marta, thanks so much for the update and product reminders. There's so much going on here I get lost from time to time. I'm still a newbie and on a slow train than most of you, so I'm not yet up to par with what you are using. I did purchase the Mad Hippie bundle, which includes a serum, eye cream and face cream and began that regimen this week, and I must tell you I am quite surprised at how much I can already see a difference! Not a huge leap, but a definite step up from where I was. I also am doing double duty with the other products I do have now, thanks to TIA and its members. I add the Replenish serum to the MH serum and it feels wonderful going on. Five minutes later, I follow up with a mixture of the MH face cream with YBF's Antioxidant cream and it plumps me up and my face feels moist and plump in the morning, with or without a good night's sleep, my skin looks refreshed.

    I purchased several organic shampoos under the 10 bucks range and so far Kiss My Face's Whenever is my go to more often than Burt's Bees or Yes to Carrots. I like all of them, but the whenever is my first choice for now. I also purchased the Shielo leave in, thanks again to TIA, before you got it in the store, and OMG!!!!! I can't sing it's praises enough!!! It is a winner for my gray tresses and that is no lie! I'm looking at the Purity products you wrote about, gotta stay within my budget, but I am so pleased with all that I am learning here!

    One question, are you still using Hydropeptide's Lash serum or Code:ai? I have doubled up on them as well...perhaps I shouldn't, but the results have been pretty amazing. My lashes within 3 weeks are so long, not yet as thick as they were with the Lilash or my youth, but I can see the possibilities! I doubled up for one reason, my right eye seems to have taken off substantially more than my left, so it is on that eye, in particular, that I have added to. If I shouldn't let me know, but for now, I ain't mad at me. I've got so many questions I don't know where to start, so for now, I'll simply say, "THANK YOU ALL!" for the knowledge that you are sharing here. It is power and it is so freeing!

  • February 9, 2011

    by Dennis

    Marta, thank you for sharing this! I know I love to hear what you're currently using. Real Purity's shampoo sounds amazing and I've recommended to mom and sister. I'm holding off on trying La Vie Celeste's mask and in fact I've actually run out of my Reviva Labs glycolic cream. Have you any more information on the question I asked in the comments here, concerning AHA's and PHA's? http://truthinaging.com/face/dermagenics-ultra-anti-aging-moisturizer-reviewed-and-recommended

    Thanks!

  • February 8, 2011

    by Valerie

    If Iam 26 years old, without wrinkles, is ok to use Skin Nutrition Cell CPR since it contais a few peptides ?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...