Free shipping on all orders over $39

My Personal Regimen from Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare Review

is a Solution for:
Age Spots, Dry Skin, Fine Lines, Large Pores, Sagging Skin, Uneven Skin, Wrinkles
emily's personalized skincare regimen from dr dennis gross

On a hot afternoon at the end of July, I was one of several lucky TIA community members to visit the New York City offices of Dr Dennis Gross for a consult and a treatment — his signature Alpha Beta ® peel. The peel, as I mentioned in my comment on Marta’s video about her visit, was a great experience and my skin felt smooth and glowing — with no subsequent irritation or flaking at all. But before the peel was applied, Dr. Gross examined my skin and made several product recommendations. As he immediately noted, my skin is basically dry, and in the hot summer weather I’d been avoiding heavier moisturizers, so it looked tight and sere. Generally, he said, it’s in reasonable shape for 60, noting some discolored areas along my jawline and fine lines around the eyes and mouth, and the usual “wear and tear,” as he put it, on my forehead.

So I left his office with five products to follow up with at home: Dr. Dennis Gross Original Alpha Beta Peel ($88 in the shop), the home-application version of his signature peel; his Ferulic Acid + Retinol Brightening Solution ($88 in the shop) serum; a lightweight daytime moisturizer — Hyaluronic Moisture Cushion ($58 in the shop); a nighttime moisturizer — Hydra-Pure Intense Moisture Cream ($125 in the shop); and the Ferulic + Retinol Brightening Triple Correction Eye Serum ($68). After four weeks, I enjoyed the products very much and feel they really helped me weather a hot and humid summer. While I’d like to try other items from his extensive line, especially around anti-aging, I’d definitely buy these again. They are effective, smart and priced competitively for what they do.

I can really understand, first of all, why the Alpha Beta peel is so addictive. As Marta noted in her review, they come packaged in a box of 30 — a month’s use — and treatment consists of two presoaked pads. Very simply, you apply the first all over, wait two minutes, and then use the second  I used them every night. My verdict: my skin seems very clear with noticeably minimized pores.

The Ferulic + Retinol Serum also lived up to its reputation. It comes in a simple dark glass bottle, with a dropper for application. It’s thin and just very slightly oily, and absorbs quickly and completely, with no residue; I used the serum every evening and most mornings as well.

The moisturizers were a happy surprise. I can’t imagine a better moisturizer (regardless of skin type or age) for hot steamy weather than the Hyaluronic Moisture Cushion, which is oil-free: it was just perfect for the summer and kept my skin feeling comfortable and hydrated, but it’s extremely lightweight and grease-free. The texture is simply irresistible, almost frothy, and it just glides on — I used it every morning.

Evenings, I used the more heavy duty (impact-wise: it too is remarkably light and pleasant given its heft) Hydra-Pure Intense Moisture, which too has a lovely texture. (I usually complain about scents of any kind — one of the reasons I liked the DDG line — but this one has a very subtle and attractive scent.)  It feels very luxurious and smoothes on beautifully.

Lastly, I used the Ferulic + Retinol Triple Correction Eye Serum, both morning and evening. It’s packaged in a simple dark glass pump, and again is just the consistency you want  — somewhere between a gel and a serum. In fact, during the consultation, Dr. Gross asked me if I usually wear makeup (I do, at least when I have more than the gym on my schedule), and he said it would prove a good primer for a smooth look under makeup — and he was right! 

Overall, I feel my skin survived the summer in better shape than before. It’s brighter, clearer, refreshed, and looks a little less tired and feels fuller and better hydrated. I’ve enjoyed this experiment with Dr. Gross Skincare very much and I want to try more products as we head into fall. I have usually been skeptical about doctor brands, suspecting they’re overpriced “me-too"s hewing to predictable and conventional agendas, simply intended to grow the bottom line. These products seem to reflect thoughtful formulation, meaningful ingredients, attractive presentation, and great results at very competitive price points.

  • October 19, 2015

    by lisa m

    I would love to try this line for dry skin and for my allergy eyes! Usually my skin is normal but lately and I don't know if it's because i'm in my mid40s but my skin is more dry and needs extra help!

  • October 15, 2015

    by Pat

    Thank you for your insightful review, Emily.. I would love to try the Ferulic + Retinol Brightening Triple correction eye serum. My skin has also improved with Dr. Gross's Ferulic + Retinol Peel but now I need help with my sagging and crepey eyelids. My eye area needs to match the rest of my face! I've used TIA's best 5 eye creams and would like to put Dr. Gross's formula to the test. I'm in my 60's and would love for my eyes to look as young as I feel!

  • October 14, 2015

    by Alison

    Hand up and waving! I've got every eye problem known to man - crepiness, fine lines, sagging, puffiness and swelling. This aging delight is around the whole eye area, not just the undereye. I'm only in my late 40's, but having spent decades in the relentless Colorado sun and dry air has dramatically accelerated my eye aging. I'd love to try this product and see how it does - the combination of ingredients intrigues me, as does the Triple promise.

  • October 14, 2015

    by Jennifer Bowen

    I would love to try this line. I'm 55 and I have been trying so many different products from TIA for a number of years now, and also getting them for my young adult daughters. But recently I'm feeling like I really need to amp something up. In part it's because I traveled so much over the summer that I hadn't been able to do some of my "regimen" although I brought great products with me. In addition, like Martha, I steered away from peels because of my rather fair skin! But I'm thinking it's just the boost I need!!! I am incredibly curious about this line!

  • October 13, 2015

    by Carleton

    If the good doctor stated that one of the primary aims of his Ferulic + Retinol Brightening Triple Correction Eye Serum is to reduce undereye puffiness, I would so welcome trying it. Being in my sixties and now compelled to return to the workforce to help support my grandchildren, I need all the help I can get in facing the ageism I will certainly encounter, even though I have graduate degrees and decades of professional experience in my field. My puffy undereyes, of course, make me look older and tired, even though I have kept myself fit and know I can still perform at a high level. Thank you for your considering my situation and your empathy
    Peace and grace, Carleton

  • October 13, 2015

    by Brenda

    I would love to Dare to Try the doctor's solution to aging eyes. I just turned 60 and it seems my skin has begun to sag a little everywhere as if someone moved out of my body! I have kept up with my face but my eyes could use much needed help to get rid of melias and creepiness. I have tried so many eye creams only to get more melias. Is there a magic product to help them look younger without the side affects of melias?

  • October 13, 2015

    by Pam

    Emily, did you experience any peeling or redness around your eyes while using the eye product?

    I don't know your age or whether you have any loss of elasticity/crepiness under your eyes, but (if you do) I was wondering what kind of impact the eye product had on the skin surrounding your eyes?

  • October 13, 2015

    by Linda

    I not only "Dare to Try," I double dog "Dare to Try" the good doctor's intriguing products!
    If it's true that our eyes are the windows of the soul, mine could use a new set of curtains! My 62 year old "Windows" are experiencing crepiness, sagging upper lids and crinkly lowers.
    I'm hoping the doctor will be "in" for me!

  • October 13, 2015

    by Jes

    Amazing review! Answered pretty much every question I had about the products! I really appreciate the time and effort you put into such a comprehensive article. I mix and match products from multiple brands and always am curious if using from one line offers s more synergistic effect, unfortunately those reviews hard to find. I just started the Alpha Beta peel for sensitive skin (love!) and would love to try the Ferulic + Retinol Brightening Triple correction eye serum. I love hearing it goes we under makeup as that is a problem that has plagued me with other eye products.

  • October 13, 2015

    by Jeanne

    Wow, Emily, what an informative review. I would love to give the Dr. Gross skincare regimen a try. I'll be 60 in a few weeks and have battled large pores my entire life. Now it's the wrinkles, oh boy. My skin is sensitive, but no longer oily (age has some benefits).

    Six months ago I started a better me program. Just watch what I eat and started weight training. I'm down 18 lbs and 2 dress sizes - just a little ways more to go to meet my goal - a skincare program is all I need for my reinvention and new, improved lifestyle. Please consider recommending me for the trial.

  • October 9, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Emily, thanks so much for your review. Do you think you will continue with the Peel pads - I mean, would you buy them? I just bought a new supply because I think they are having a tremendous impact, but I worry a little bit about overdoing it and wonder whether one should take a break every few months. Not that I have any signs of over-exfoliating - more of a theoretical concerns at this point.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...