Free shipping on all orders over $39

My regimen to lick lip lines

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta April 20, 2011 20 Comments

I know that I have one of the best jobs in the world that allows me to test anti-aging products for free. But sometimes you can have too much of a good thing and a wrinkle warrior can become battle weary. I have been testing a lot of products this year and recently reached the point when it was time for a reset. So I’ve ditched a few things, set some aside and regrouped with what works best for me. This is my current regimen:

There is no doubt that ReLuma’s Illuminating Anti-aging Serum ($135 in the TIA shop) has become an absolute essential. My skin loves it, no breakouts or rosacea crises. My skin looks nourished and wrinkles are diminishing. I have a couple of weeks’ or so left in my (30ml) bottle and I will definitely be replacing it when it is finished. Some days, it is sufficient unto itself, but when I feel in need of additional moisturizing, I reach for Your Best Face Restore ($120). I recently bought a new bottle of this as I felt in need of its calming effects. I find it very good for toning down redness while brightening the complexion (the key ingredients are vitamin C and alpha arbutin).

The thing that I am most pleased about right now is the progress I have made on lines around the mouth area. I do think that the Pelleve treatments I had in December and January made a big impact, but I have been also been extremely vigilant to keep up what seems to be a winning formula: Reluma’s serum, topped with Your Best Face Define ($70 in the TIA shop). Define is designed for lip lines and mercifully, since it is used around the mouth, contains no nasties. Along with using LED light (the Sirius Aurora has pretty much taken over from the Baby Quasar), I am seeing excellent results with the lines around my lips looking fainter than they have for the past year or more.

I haven’t yet found as good a solution for my neck and I have decided that glycolic exfoliation is the only way to treat the roughish, sun-damaged skin there. I am alternating between Juice Beauty’s Green Apple Peel and Lumixyl’s GlycoPeel. The Juice Beauty is more of a mask and the Lumixyl more of a lotion and both do a good job with only minimal tingling (I stick with the gentler La Vie Celeste Glycolic Mask for my face).

After testing a range of different eye creams, my eye area skin has started to look dry. There’s only one thing for it when that happens - I’ve gone back to Your Best Face Correct ($150 in the TIA shop). But I guess that’s old news.

I also took advantage of the special we had a couple of weeks ago on the Osmotics body lotion and my dry, winter skin is happily reacquainted with it.

  • August 13, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Barb, I don't really use anything before bed. Its more of a personal foible than anything else. I could say that I have a theory about letting my skin breathe overnight, but I think its more to do with being too tired and lazy to do more than clean my teeth before bed.

  • August 13, 2011

    by Barb

    Marta, just curious.....why do you use ReLuma and Define in the morning as opposed to before bed?

  • June 26, 2011

    by Sue

    thank you so much for the regime. I look forward to results like yours.

  • June 26, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Susan, thanks for the question. I should have made it clearer as to how I am using them and I updated each post with a couple of sentences. I use them once a day in the morning. ReLuma first around the mouth area, chin crease, labial nasal area. I follow with Define, including the lips, around the lips up to nose and down to chin. I have been doing this every day for about 10 weeks and am so pleased with the results that I will definitely be keeping this up.

  • June 25, 2011

    by Sue

    Marta

    I've bought the Reluma and Define in response to your article on lip lines. Now tell me, how do you use them? Which one do you use first - one over the other? Alternating? Once a day? Do you actually put them on your lips or just around. I need some direction please. thank you very much, Sue

  • April 23, 2011

    by smilinggreenmom

    I am trying to do as many healthy things that I can for my whole body! I eat lots of whole foods, drink green tea with antioxidants and water, as well as taking my Vidazorb OPC age defense probiotic since hearing how great probiotics can be for our skin. I am also starting to do yoga and so for me I think it is all about taking care of my body as I age!

  • April 22, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Rosanna, that's a good question and I have several answers. I am convinced that my face does not get sunburned anything like it used to because of the antioxidants I use. I do not use sunscreen on dull days and/or when I am mostly indoors. On sunny days, I use <a href="http://truthinaging.com/product-brands/colorescience-sunforgettable-sunscreen-spf-50" rel="nofollow">Colorescience</a> and recently, if I am out for a long stretch, I use <a href="http://truthinaging.com/sun-protection/suntegrity-all-natural-moisturizing-face-protection-spf30-reviewed-and-recommended" rel="nofollow">Suntegrity</a>. I wrote about my "frenemy" relationship with sunscreen here: http://truthinaging.com/marta-this-month/sunscreen-is-my-frenemy

  • April 22, 2011

    by Rosanna

    Marta,
    Are you not using anything on your face with an SPF in it? If not, is that b/c of all of the antioxidants that offer protection?
    Best!

  • April 21, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Pam, a sneak preview: I really do like the Lumixyl Glycopeel. There will be a review in the next day or so. Lumixyl's cleanser (which I will also write about) is a surprise winner as well. Your product with a combination of glycolic and hyaluronic sounds ingenious.

  • April 21, 2011

    by Pam

    Marta, I look forward to your review of the Lumixyl’s GlycoPeel. I was looking at it on their site and it has 20% Glycolic in it so I can see why that might help the neck with that % so I look forward to hearing what you thought about it. And plus, I like the fact that you said it is a lotion more so then a mask, since you said you already alternate with a Glycolic mask in the form of Juice Beauty's Green Apple Peel. I read about the Juice Beauty product too on their site and boy does it have a lot of ingredients that would appear to help with that. I think we always need all the help we can get for the neck. I currently have a 15% product that is a combination of Glycolic and Hyaluronic Acid so it won't be to drying but it is actually marketed as for the face. So 20% would probably work even better on the neck.

  • April 21, 2011

    by Susan

    I have to join the chorus!

    Define has been a wonderful product to use and I will definitely be reordering it.

    I can't speak glowingly enough of how it has transformed my lips' texture and particularly, how it has rehydrated them.

    I don't see any relief from lines; however, improved texture and hydration are huge benefits. I'm quite happy.

    :-)

  • April 21, 2011

    by Bev

    I love Define and it's working to erase my lip lines...they're actually gone. Correct is also great in reducing my crows feet around the eyes. They truly are miracle creams!

  • April 21, 2011

    by Pam

    Hi Marta,
    I posted a concern, or question really, about ReLuma under the review post, based on some of the things you mentioned in this post. Would you prefer I copy it here? Did not know if you would still be checking both, LOL.

  • April 20, 2011

    by Kelly

    The instructions on the Aurora say that you should have nothing on your face, although Baby Quasar ships their own serum. Based on your post, I assume it's okay to use the Aurora with serum?

  • April 20, 2011

    by Marta

    Jaysie - I just wanted to explain for everyone's benefit. I absolutely want to make everything as affordable as possible, but its not always possible. You should absolutely ask though - as you never know!

  • April 20, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    I'm absolute w you regarding YBF Correct. My vertigo is back, and I can't always keep a regular facial regimen intact. But I use Correct now exclusively (even if it's sporatically), and my eyes aren't falling to dust. AND DEFINE! I began using this wonderful jelly at my birthday in February- fairly religiously, since I keep the tube on my bedside table, and I can definitely see improvement. It has run the distance like Secretariat in the Bellmont, and I need to replace, so your April20 is perfect- THANK YOU! ~jk

  • April 20, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Thanks, Marta - I understand and I appreciate the TRUTH discount. I'm putting together an order list and the Sirius is on it, so I did a double take and felt some urgency when I read the above. Smile.

  • April 20, 2011

    by kelly

    Have you heard of Argan oil? It is great for anti-aging... I have been using www.essenceofargan.com and the results are amazing...

  • April 20, 2011

    by Marta

    Sorry Jaysie. There just isn't enough margin on the Aurora to do deep discounts. Its already a great price though, plus free shipping and newsletter subscribers can use their TRUTH discount.

  • April 20, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Oh, oh, does the 20% discount apply to the Sirius Aurora?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...