Free shipping on all orders over $39

Myotone Facial Toning System reviewed and recommended

Our Rating: 5 stars

September 16, 2013 Reviewed by Marta 40 Comments

I have been testing an at-home microcurrent device called the Myotone Facial Toning System ($279) that – much to my surprise – is a keeper. I am very enamored with its results and now beyond my official 30-day testing period, it will continue to be part of my routine, alternating with my Ultra Renew Plus with ultrasound, ionic and LED.

So why should I be surprised that Myotone is a keeper. The key reason is that I have never before found at-home microcurrent to be effective. I have tried Suzanne Somers FaceMaster and it is way too fiddly and barely effective. I have also tested the NuFace Facial Toning System and it was way too clunky and barely effective. Yes I know I sound like Goldilocks.

The thing is that I have been having salon microcurrent treatments for years and have a healthy respect for the skill of my esthetician, Ildi Pekar, as she wields those wands, taking real care about how she approaches each facial muscle. Replicating that at home is nigh impossible. FaceMaster tries to be a scaled down salon microcurrent system with the same kind of wands that need a professional touch and the NuFace’s large metallic probes are just too big to do anything with.

So when the Mytone came along, I wasn’t optimistic. The first thing to note is that although it is an all-in-one device (no wands) like the NuFace, the metal probes are small. This turns out to be a good thing as Myotone is not only easy to use, but it can be effectively be positioned and small, precise intervals.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest product reviews and save 10% on all orders over $50

 

The Mytone instructions advise starting along the jawline at the tip of the chin, hold for four seconds, then reposition further along the jawline and hold for four seconds. Then you move up, starting from the corner of the mouth towards the lobe of the ear and so on. You then repeat the whole thing four times. There are three intensity levels and I quickly found that I was perfectly comfortable on the highest setting.

The Myotone can be used on the forehead as well as the face, but not on the eyes or (per Mytonone) around the mouth. I believe that latter caution is because microcurrent devices sometimes give the user a strong metallic taste if used around the mouth, especially for someone who has had a lot of dental work. I tried the Myotone around the mouth and experienced no discomfort or unpleasant tastes or sensations and continued to flaunt the Mytone instructions for the rest of my test.

The results following a session are immediate and impressive. There is a definite plumping and firming of the skin – by far the best results I have had from an at-home microcurrent device.  

Microcurrent works at the muscular level and so is a good complement to LED and ultrasound, which plump and tone the skin. Microcurrent uses a subsensory electric current that delivers a pulse to the facial muscles and stimulates them and the surrounding tissue. The theory is that microcurrent improves the production of adenosine triphosphate (ATP), the chemical in muscles that provides energy.

One last point about microcurrent is that, like ultrasound or ionic (galvanic), it needs to be used with a water-based gel for conductivity and comfort. Myotone comes with its own Myotone Conductive Gel, a grim formula of propylene glycol, glycerin and phenoxyethanol that I used once and promptly jettisoned for my Ultra Renew Gel Serum. That aside, Myotone is a keeper.

sign up for our newsletter

Buy Me
$ 279.00
  • February 18, 2016

    by Marta

    Hi April, as mentioned in an answer to a previous question, our decision was taken due to reliability, not safety. Devices were simply not working consistently and this gave us customer service issues and so we eventually decided to stop carrying it.

  • February 18, 2016

    by April

    I would really appreciate knowing the reason you no longer endorse or sell the Myotone. To be fair and honest to your customers who have bought one of these, that you be specific as to whatever safety issues that made your decision to no longer sell them. It seems to me if there's a safety issue it's your obligation to the. Parties that purchased these at a premium price. Also with the lack of information on discontinuing this device, is it unsafe to use? And if so, is the company issuing refunds?

  • February 17, 2016

    by kim camp

    I can't figure if the Myotone is on. It shows charged, but doesn't make a sound or vibration when I try it. What sound should it make? and shouldn't I feel something?

  • July 23, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Rickie, there were reliability issues with Myotone and we stopped carrying it. We don't have the Rejuvenate device available at the moment, but will have news on that soon.

  • July 23, 2015

    by Rickie

    Hi Marta, I'm wanting to buy a microcurrent device but I'm a bit confused -

    1) where HAS your Truth Rejuvenate gone??!

    2) you just told annie the NuFace was the best at home device, don't you mean the Myotone? Or have you changed your mind on that?

    Thanks for your help!

  • May 22, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Annie, although I didn't love NuFace it is the best and most reliable that I know of.

  • May 22, 2015

    by annie

    Hello Marta, I wanted to know which at home micro current device you recommend since you no longer offer one for sale

  • February 26, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Lien, thanks for your question. First of all I need to make clear that I manufacture the Truth Rejuvenate. I designed it so that the probes are a good size for reaching all areas of the face, but still efficient - so in between the NuFace and the Rejuvenate. The Rejuvenate's frequencies were chosen to be powerful but comfortable to use and we added a pulse feature for an extra boost.

  • February 26, 2015

    by Lien

    Hi Marta,
    I've seen in thise Website your other revews in Truth Rejuvenate device. What is the different between them?

    Thanks for your reply!

  • December 28, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Karen - the NuSkin is galvanic, which is a little different to microcurrent. I tested one a few years ago and have not tried it recently. The NuSkin business model is not the same as Avon's - it is a multilevel marketing company and in general we do not recommend products sold in this way. Good luck with your quest.

  • December 27, 2014

    by Karen

    These microcurrent reviews are the most helpful I have read to date so thank you very much! I was curious - the one device I seem to hear the most positive reviews about it the reDesign by NuSkin. NuSkin seems to work kind of like Avon, with in home demonstrations which might actually be helpful for a product like this. I am on the cusp of biting the bullet and picking on and was hoping you might test out that one as well before I make the final decision. Again, many thanks for what you have already done.

  • November 26, 2014

    by Jennifer

    I ordered the Caci microlit it cost 315 British pounds. The machine was completely dead and I sent it back. I have read of others having the same problem - rip off!

  • November 7, 2014

    by Cher

    Hi - I have a Myo Facial toning system, but I don't have the adapter to recharge the system. Is there a website that I can purchase this at cost? I'm a licensed aesthetician. thank you!

  • July 5, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Mary, I had Caci professional treatments when I lived in the UK but have not tried the at-home device. Caci has been at this for decades and so I would imagine it is very good. But the price when translated into dollars is a little steep.

  • July 5, 2014

    by Mary

    Hi Marta,

    Have you tried the Caci Microlift system? Is so, how does ti compare to the microcurrent devices you have tested?

    Thanks

  • April 19, 2014

    by justin1980

    Hi!
    I was hoping you could tell me the range of micro amps that this item has? I haven't been able to find it. Thank you! :)

  • March 10, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Carole, Myotone has only recently launched and does not have the history of NuSkin. I bought a NuSkin several years ago and it was OK, but not terribly effective and I stopped using when I found other devices with LED, ultrasound and microcurrent that worked better for me.

  • March 9, 2014

    by Carole M

    Hi Marta,

    I was getting ready to buy the NuSkin Galvanic Spa after seeing great results on my friend, but after reading these reviews I am not sure which one would provide better results. My main concerns are sagging jowls, marionette lines and crow's feet. How do you feel the Mytone compares to the NuSkin Galvanic Spa? There are lots of testemonials on Youtube for the NuSkin, but not for the Myotone. I own The Ultra Renew Plus and the Ultra clear. My friend loves her NuSkin and looks like shes in her late 30's and she is 58. I would appreciate your professional opinion.

  • February 4, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Connie, microcurrent is typically subsensory and shouldn't really feel anything. Some very sensitive people experience a tingling, others do not. I should also point out that you should apply a water-based gel to your skin before you use the device.

  • February 3, 2014

    by Connie

    I just received the facial device and charged it for 36 hours. Even at the highest setting I do not feel a thing. So I question whether it is working. I tried it on wet lips, at the highest setting, no feeling whatsoever. Shouldn't I be able to feel something?

  • January 14, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi KM, thanks for sharing. I have just finished testing Dermawand (not good) and my review will be published later this week. In the meantime, this article goes into the differences between the various technologies and devices and how to choose the right one for you: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/tool-up-with-the-best-at-home-device-for-you

  • January 14, 2014

    by Kim

    Thank you for your review of all the devices. I appreciate knowing that
    from your experience, that the the third one "The Myatone," would be the one
    I would buy if I knew for sure that it would also give substantial improvement
    and repair on my eye bags, and seemingly almost just in the past 6 months,
    I got the dreaded jowls I thought I'd lucked out on getting yet,..,,, but NO!!!!
    They came, and I swear it seemed so fast!!!!
    I know every woman has their beauty aging issues,,,, and self
    concepts,,, and pain, at least in my case I have a great feeling of pain & loss,
    that I can't believe I'm alone in. I have tried to press my heart and brain as long
    and hard for all the ways I could serve, and do things off the vanity grid, as very
    best I could.... It truly was helpful for many periods of time,,, but it's an impossibility
    to not see your reflection,,,, in something,,, and then have that yearning,,,,, and
    and strong desire,,,, to have whatever second chance or left of a second one if there
    is one,,,, to regain some of that youth and prettiness the Good Lord was gracious enough to Bless you with,,, and then got tragically wasted by an attacking illness,
    then the abandonment of the love of your life I'd married right out of high school and then had almost 30 great years of marriage.....
    After 10 years of being completely torn down emotionally physically,
    Financially, and losing everything, I'm now trying to start over. My body is still battered and broken, but I've gained mobility back thru Re-hab and even learned some doctors could do extensive repairs on all my damages,,,, if I somehow find a grant, fight my blue cross some more, which I've been doing,,, but helping the aged
    Look is on me, so I've read up on a lot, and I'm still confused about what the difference is between these devices you reviewed, and devices I've seen like the "Dermal Wand?" From what I'd gathered before seeing anything like Suzzane's S.
    Face Master, and then the products similar, I thought the Lasers had it all covered
    for wrinkles, firming, toning, and they were even saying ALL over the body!!!!
    Since I have a very very tight budget, I'm also looking for the most benefits and the
    Least cost,,, but good Quality,, hardly much to ask, don't you,,, think I sound like a fool? I like to think...,,, still a bit of a dreamer... So if you would be lovely enough to share anymore wisdom you may have, on what you think would be my best buy?
    I'd very much appreciate your kindness, and will truly think of you often if it steers me to a buy, some rejuvenation,....,,,, and
    Often if I get that,,,,, second chance?
    May all women always stay their loveliest, without having to work so hard at, or pay so much for it.....KM

  • December 22, 2013

    by Marta

    (5 out of 5)

    Francine, you can use Myotone on your neck and decollete. Around the eyes, you can tackle crows feet, but be careful under the eye (stick to the lower under eye area and avoid getting really close to the eye) and do not use on the lid (you can use it on the brow bone).

  • December 22, 2013

    by Francine

    Hi Marta,

    I have just receive Myotone, (I am form Canada and I had to pay custom fees and It's ok!)
    My question is : Can I use the device on my neck and decolete? because in the instruction's book they don't mention nothing about that!
    Is it good for firming skin on the eyes?
    Thanks!

  • November 6, 2013

    by Natalie

    I came across this article through the myotone blog--http://myotone.com/blog-2/#.Unp3FVMlgas. This was super helpful in my choice to order the microcurrent device. Keep up the great work!

  • October 30, 2013

    by Marta

    Tool Up With The Best At Home Device For You is an article that I wrote that should help you make a choice Terri: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/tool-up-with-the-best-at-home-device-for-you

  • October 29, 2013

    by Terri

    Hi Marta,

    One more question on this Myotone, and it's directed at your opinion alone.
    In your opinion, with having almost all the devices (tools) you offer on site,
    Which I'm sure you do as well, as I have for the most part, with the exception od products that would quite frankly do the same job. And of couse some new ones.
    With out going on with more detail than neccesary, could a person such as myself completely skip the monthly trips to an esthetician by purchasing these items? I hear you loud and clear of your loyalty to your esthetician, but since I haven't found one worthy of my loyalty can i get just as good results on my own? With the money shelled out to an esthetician, all these items would be paid for in just a few visits. Now for the bottom line, can you suggest to me the must haves to cover all products/tools etc, to obtain these results.I do realize I won't be getting the benefit of their expertise, but I will be saving money in the long run to speneds more on this site. So If you could give me a list of the must haves, and see ifI will need to take out a second mortgage. It would greatly appreciated. ( Just hope I can afford it ) :)
    Thank you again for your help, provided you can find the time. As It is quite a huge request. Your the best, and so is this site and the numerous contributors. I'm still hoping for the consideration to join your community of testers, I hope I haven't pursued this to the point of being bothersome. Look forward to hearing back from you.
    Best Regards to you,

    TerriBatchelor

  • October 29, 2013

    by Marta

    Microcurrent's results are cumulative. There is a link in the review to an article on how microcurrent works and here is the URL: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/my-monthly-salon-facial-treatments

  • October 29, 2013

    by Terri

    Is the results of the Myotone instant and temporary, or is it accumlative with continued use?

  • September 26, 2013

    by Marta

    (5 out of 5)

    Ronnie, after the run of luck you have had, I'm hesitant to make promises. But the Ultra Renew Plus is a better device and you can use the modes at the same time making it more powerful. As far as Myotone is concerned, it is not for gliding but for positioning and then holding for a count of four.

  • September 26, 2013

    by Ronnie

    I have several things to comment about here. First, I purchased the original Ultra Renew when it came out and used it pretty religiously for quite a while, but can't say I saw any results. In Feb. I purchased the NuFace Trinity locally and used it every night religiously for at least 5 months. I also cannot say I saw any great results. I also just splurged on 8 treatments of Venus Freeze on my lower face and neck, which is where most of my sagging is. I'm 60, very thin and still look good, but gravity is taking its toll. After many pictures I took of myself over these many months, I still cannot say there is any real change, even after the Venus Freeze.

    I have also had 2 professional microcurrent treatments and I'm scheduled for another next week, but I really think that has to be done regularly for any lasting results.

    If money were not a factor I would definitely try this Myotone, but don't think I can put out any more money. Also, from you description, it sounds like you don't glide it along your face like the NuFace, but just place and hold. Is that correct?

    Marta-- do you think the Ultra Renew Plus could get results if the original really did not?

  • September 25, 2013

    by Marta

    Expensive would be my first reaction to the Nu Face Trinity with LED. Although, Michele, I should say that I haven't tried it. The prongs still look bulky to me and there is only red LED light Yes, you can use these devices, including the Myotone, on the neck.

  • September 24, 2013

    by Michele

    Marta I agree with you re the Nu Face wands but what do you think of the Nu Face Trinity which also has an LED attachment? I ask as looking at pics the wands seem smaller-more compact device than the other Nu Face models. Also does the Myotone work on neck sagging do you think (is the mictocurrent stronger than the Nu Face for eg? ) My neck line continues to frustrate my best efforts!

  • September 21, 2013

    by Marta

    Myotone can be used in Australia with a local adapter. We have put you on the waitlist Michele.

  • September 21, 2013

    by michele watson

    Hi Marta please put me on the waiting list if it is good for the neck area! Also can it me used in Australia? An early Xmas present for me if so!

  • September 19, 2013

    by Susan

    Thanks, Marta. I definitely plan on purchasing one so I appreciate knowing you'll email me when it's in!

  • September 19, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Jenny, they are on backorder from the manufacturer and we expect them middle of next week. We've put you on the waitlist and will email you as soon as they come in. You too Susan! And if there is anyone else out there who wants to be put on the waitlist, please email customerservice@truthinaging.com

  • September 19, 2013

    by j

    Will it be available to get right away, or will it be pre-ordering?

  • September 16, 2013

    by Marta

    Myotone should be available in the Truth In Aging shop within a week. Thanks for your patience Susan

  • September 16, 2013

    by Susan

    Marta, this sounds really interesting. Are you planning to carry it in your on-line shop or should someone in the market for one go directly to the manufacturer's web site?

    --Susan

Have You Tried Myotone Facial Toning Device?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Myotone Facial Toning Device below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Myotone Facial Toning Device

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...