Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Naturtint hair dye- reviewed and rejected

August 3, 2013 Reviewed by Marta 80 Comments

My friend D is a dark-haired beauty who dyes her raven (and currently straightened) locks to cover up the odd gray hair. She uses a permanent hair color called Naturtint ($17.99) and she asked me to check out the ingredients. Since a 2001 study by the International Journal of Cancer found that people who use permanent hair dye (either black or very dark dyes) are twice as likely to develop bladder cancer as those who go au naturel, I was more than happy to take a look to see if Naturtint (dark chestnut brown) is safe.

I'll cut straight to the car-chase. Naturtint's ingredients (despite the fact it makes a big deal about using vegetable ingredients) are positively hair-raising. Like many dark hair dyes, Naturtint  uses p-Phenylenediamine. This is in widespread use and here is what the Environmental Protection Agency has to say about it: "p-Phenylenediamine is primarily used as a dye intermediate and as a dye.  Acute (short-term) exposure to high levels of p-phenylenediamine may cause severe dermatitis, eye irritation and tearing, asthma, gastritis, renal failure, vertigo, tremors, convulsions, and coma in humans.  Eczematoid contact dermatitis may result from chronic (long-term) exposure in humans.  In rats and mice chronically exposed to p-phenylenediamine in their diet, depressed body weights, but no other clinical signs of toxicity, were observed in several studies."

p-Phenylenediamine gets a perfect score from the Environmental Working Group. Make no mistake, that is not something to brag about.

This was reason enough for me to shoot an email to my friend and urge her to look for an alternative to Naturtint (one of our reviewers liked Surya Henna). However, I'm not going to let Naturtint off the hook for the other nasties in this hair dye. PEG-2 Oleamine is often used as a thickener in food. Like all PEGs, it may contain contaminants and shouldn't be used on broken skin. Ethanolamine is also known as acetamide MEA and the European Union classifies it as corrosive and harmful if in contact with the skin. However, the industry body, Cosmetic Ingredient Review, proclaims it is safe in concentrations up to 7.5%.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest product reviews and save 10% on all orders over $50

There isn't much information on 4-amino-2-hydroxytolueno.p-aminophenol other than a 2004 paper in the International Journal of Toxicology saying that it there was insufficient data to support its safety. The European Union says it can cause allergic reactions. Another common component of hair colorants is 2-Methyl-Resorcinol. A 1980s study found that this was moderately toxic, but also concluded that it was safe for cosmetic use. 4-Chloro Resorcinol is usually used at concentrations of less than 1% and hair dyes that include it usually carry a sensitivity warning. It can be an eye irritant and emits toxic fumes if heated (source) and EWG rates it a moderate hazard. Oxyquinoline Sulfate is considered safe for rinse off products, but there is insufficient data to pronounce it safe for leave on products, according to the CIR.

To be fair to Naturtint, the hair dye ingredient, m-Aminophenol, has been deemed safe by the EU.

Ingredients in Naturtint: PEG-2 Oleamine, Aqua (Water), Cocamide DEA, Alcohol Denat (Alcohol), Propylene Glycol, Ethanolamine, Oleic Acid, Hydrolized Vegetable Protein (Triticum Vulgare, Soy, Corn, Avena Sativa), Sodium Sulfite, Sodium Ascorbate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Parfum (Fragrance). (+/-) p-Phenylenediamine, 4-Amino-2-Hydroxytolueno.p-Aminophenol, 2-Methyl-Resorcinol, m-Aminophenol, 4-Chloro Resorcinol, N,N-Bis (Hydroxyethyl)-p-Phenylenediamine Sulfate, 2-Amino-4-Hydroxy-Ethylaminoanisole Sulfate

Ingredients in ColorFix: Aqua (Water), Hydrogen Peroxide, Cetearyl Alcohol, Laureth-3, Ceteareth-20, Cetyl Alcohol, Oxyquinoline Sulfate

Editor's Note 2017: Naturtint has since revised the ingredient list and the latest is published on the right

  • June 3, 2017

    by Tricia

    Ok did a patch test waited 2 days nothing was excited, colored my hair hmm no burning washed out, wow very straw like my hair feels like Barbie hair, well if I can use this product I'll just buy better conditioner. Was at work that night noticed head itching, went to the bathroom sure enough bright red all along my hairline, came home ringed and washed hair,ringed really well woke with my scalp itching, weeping and etc.... guess I have to grey gracefully

  • May 24, 2017

    by Diane

    I have used Naturtint Wheat Germ Blonde since 2005. I started noticing that my hair was really dried out and straw-like, and I was getting a lot of breakage, in the past two years. I could not use the shampoo provided, because of the heavy fragrance, but I had been using the Naturtint conditioner. I started using my own conditioner, which contains argon oil, and that helped. In the past six or seven months, the shade of the colorant has changed from taupe to burgundy. I used it and it didn't lighten my roots or cover the gray. I had to re-do it a week later. Quality is no longer dependable. When I got one with taupe colored colorant, it was great. I have used the burgundy colorant when it bleached too much and didn't give my hair a medium ash tone. I WON'T BUY NATURTINT AGAIN.

  • May 8, 2017

    by Pam

    I have used Naturtint for probably 10 years and have loved it. The color matched my dark brown hair perfectly, covered the gray and looked very natural. I have short hair and cut it often so I have dyed my hair pretty much every 6 weeks. I have noticed the past few months that the product in bottles does not look the same or have the same consistency and it started to burn a little but would be fine when I rinsed it out. I just dyed my hair about a week ago and got a severe burn on my scalp. It just felt warm and itchy when it was on my head but was okay when I rinsed it. I woke up the next morning and took a shower and as soon as the water touched my scalp I almost screamed it was so painful. Now a week later my entire scalp is peeling in big chunks and any skin that the product touched like behind my ears and several spots along my forehead are extremely dry and red like I have a peeling sunburn.

    I don't know what the company changed in the ingredients but you have destroyed a perfect product and turned it into a health hazard. I will never touch this product again and will get the word out there about the dangers. My hair also now feels like straw like others have commented.

    I'm now on the search for a new product. If I can't find one I guess it's time I go with the gray, which I hate to do at my age. But my health is more important!!

  • March 26, 2017

    by Liz

    I just used Nuturtint for the first time. I purchased it from Whole Foods who i totally trust. It turned my hair an awful red. i was so upset, went back to Whole Foods, but they did not know how to correct it, suggested I go to Walgreen next door and get some help. I did, and was shown a product called "Oops". It also had no ammonia etc. Now im in real trouble as its orange/yellow/red. Im amazed my hair has not fallen out. I dont know what to do, cant go out like this. Any Help would be appreciated

  • March 7, 2017

    by Jane

    I just used this for the first time...I was not happy with the color or how dry it made my hair. Any suggestion on how to get rid of this color that I now have? What can i put over top of this color?

  • December 10, 2016

    by Marcia

    I have been using Naturtint, wheat germ blonde, for several years. For the past six months or so I have noticed how dry my hair is after coloring. I agree with Agnes (above) that my hair seems "straw-like" after coloring. It causes such damage to my hair. now. I also agree with Regina that Naturtint cause my scalp to burn and itch after. This is strange because I don't think it used to do that. Unfortunately I am looking for an alternative now...I love the Naturtint color, but my hair is fried.

  • October 14, 2016

    by Agnes

    I used Naturtint for over 2 years in the past, always wheat germ blonde. I absolutely loved the color and got many complements on it even when it was time to do my roots (my natural color is darkest blonde). I chose this hair dye because it is supposedly natural. After 2 years my har got completely damaged (my hair is fine and fragile), ends would break and split. I stopped using it a year ago and my ends are still damaged, I have to wait for my hair to grow to get rid of the damaged part (even with regular trims).My hair is long and I didn't want to cut it short. I would not recommend this hair dye to anyone, it would always burn my scalp and after first year of use I got a rash everytime I would put it on. After using this color my hair would feel like straw, after using the conditioner that comes in the package it would feel better. Whatever they use as ingredient in that dye is not good for your hair and scalp.

  • October 2, 2016

    by Regina


    I hope this comment reaches those who manufacture this product. For over 15 years I have been using this product with great satisfaction. I was eagerly encouraging friends to try it.

    I had forgotten some of the bad things that would occur with other dyes.

    Now, this year I have noticed in the last two shipments of the product, it now has at least two properties that it did NOT before:

    1) when I apply the product, my scalp gets "warm" and makes me itch a little too. I never liked that feeling before I found Nutratint.

    2) after washing the hair and conditioning it, I notice that my hair has that "doll-like" feeling that I just can't stand.

    I don't know what has happened to manufacturing my favorite hair product, but I may have to look for another to replace it, if this continues. It is truly a shame that this wonderful product has joined the many others on the shelf that give the same problems to people.

    As always, I wonder if it is a money problem. By that I mean, production on "the cheap". I hope not. If it is, shame on you!!!

  • September 19, 2016

    by PT

    I have a great suggestion to these dyes. I have used them for many years, but have now made the decision to stop exposing myself to these dangerous chemicals. I will let my white hair shine with a cute modern hair style. It is the wave of the future.

  • August 19, 2016

    by Sandra

    I have been using this hair color. I really like the over all coverage and it covers my gray hair great. But I have been noticing that my hair is thinning out and so much that in the sides by my temples it's terribly thin!! So glad I found his forum. This confirms what I have been thinking!

  • June 28, 2016

    by what goes here?

    I have used this product for 15+ years. It's the best to cover gray-and it lasts for months.

  • May 5, 2016

    by Michael

    Bought at health food store , nothing healthy or natural about this stuff , did a inch test on inner arm and blistered within 12 hours . Not good

  • May 4, 2016

    by K

    THIS PRODUCT IS AWFUL.

    I have been using natural hair dyes for years, and have never had any issues with dying over pre-existing colour until I used this product. The shade that came out was no where near the colour I bought, and it did not even cover my whole head in colour, instead just dying my roots.

    Customer service is worse than the product, having had no warnings on their website about dying over top of lightened hair, I was met with rude & uneducated assumptions about the condition of my hair based off of a picture I sent of the result. There is no compensation or they did not offer any solution to fix this problem, instead insisted it was my fault.

    NEVER using this product or anything from Naturatint ever again - there are MUCH better products on the market, and chances are they are right beside this one, so make the smart choice.

  • April 27, 2016

    by Kelly

    I loved Maddison-Reed until I read the safety review from I READ LABELS FOR YOU. Since you said you were going to write a favorable review, I caution you since this product contains an ingredient worse than PPD. I have been lookingfor a safe replacement and a product called Hairprint looks safer.

  • April 7, 2016

    by reeta

    Hi, I have a bad ppd allergy. Apparently the new color "Innocence" from Wella is PPD free. Anyone has tried it? Thanks

  • March 27, 2016

    by Marta

    Hi Marsha, we just found Madison Reed and will publish a favorable review in a week or so: https://www.madison-reed.com

  • March 27, 2016

    by Marsha

    Are there any hair dyes you do recommend?

  • March 20, 2016

    by amina

    i would like to complain about this dye. i bought it and the dye didnt catch my hair.

  • March 19, 2016

    by Ane

    I've been using naturtint for the last 3 or 4 years. I use because I thought it was natural..I have dark brown and thin hair. My skin is very dry and sensitive also is my scalp, but luckily I have not got any problems with this hairdye. The colour looks perfect, hair doesn't look brittle ( I do permanent straightening )and my scalp doesn't burn. But just after using it, There is a higher hair loss than usual, but because my hair is long im not sure it's normal .I'm wary now they use toxic chemicals, but I believe other dyes do , so I guess I have no choice. I'll carry on using it because I think there's no better option . I can recommend.

  • March 15, 2016

    by flo

    i've just used Naturtint and my skin has reacted so badly! Ears, neck and face basically anywhere my hair has touched I am sore and blistered. This has never happened before to me with other hair dye products, shocked by the branding as I thought it wouldn't have any nasties.

  • March 11, 2016

    by Diane

    I've been using Naturtinit for many years and recently saw that it has propylene glycol so was looking up the ingredients when I came across this article. Now I'm even more disappointed to find out all the other bad ingredients in it. Thanks for this informative article. Now I'm looking for a new brand of hair color.

  • February 16, 2016

    by Trudy

    Thanks, me too.. No more dark brown for me.
    R.N.

  • December 30, 2015

    by Michelle

    I have been using this product for two years now. Recently, I colored my hair and the next morning I woke up feeling very dizzy, my eyes were bloodshot, and I felt nauseous. I related this to the last time I used the product and at that time felt very dizzy as well. I am thinking that there is something in this product that I am highly sensitive too. Thank you for the research you have done.

  • December 28, 2015

    by Margot Jones

    I came here looking for information about whether or not anyone experienced skin burns from using naturtint. my scalp was burned and did not realize that it even happened until a couple of days when I noticed my skin looked weird. It started looking shiny and plastic and I also experience some hair loss. After a couple of weeks the skin is crusting and peeling.

    I did not get a tingling sensation or anything to alert me while I was using it.

  • November 23, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Audrey, according to the ingredients listed on Amazon for Light Dawn Blonde, there is still the harmful p-phenylenediamine included.

  • November 22, 2015

    by Audrey

    Hello Marta
    Would the Naturtint dyes that are blonde be less harmful?
    Do all the colours have the equal amount of chemicals. I understand the darker
    colours have more harmful ingredients.
    Thanks

  • November 2, 2015

    by catherine

    I have very sensitive scalp but do not want to have grey hair. I have persisted with colours and have my scalp burnt every time for vanity. I have found a range that suits me perfectly, it is Essensity from Schwarzkopf.
    According to their website: More than 90% of ESSENSITY's ingredients are naturally derived and it contains absolutely no ammonia, artificial fragrances, silicones, paraffin, mineral oils or parabens, so it's odourless and kind to sensitive skin.
    Hope it helps!

  • October 21, 2015

    by Lise

    Hi, I've been using Naurtint for about a year (coloured 4 times in that year), and each time I had a strange sensation of wanting to faint, but didn't associate completely with this product. Finally, this last weekend I dyed my hair, and fhe following morning woke up with bloodshot eyes, bumps on scalp, with scalp feeling like its on fire, burn marks on hair line, rash on neck, burning sensation in throat, and overall feeling of wanting to pass out. Went to ER and took the box with me. The attending doc said that it was a severe reaction to chemicals in this product!
    I foolishly thought green box = better more healthy, and the words natural ingredients so slyly used as well. Doc said next time I could react violently and go into coma or die!! NEVER AGAIN. Will take the other boxes back for a refund and demand that WF stop carrying this brand! Please join me in speaking up, or manufacturers will never stop using such dangerous chemicals. They don't care about us, only $$$!

  • October 16, 2015

    by nancy

    Naiively, I thought this was an organic safe product. It caused me severe dermatitus. My whole body got hives, bumps , pimplelike and itchy. No changes in diet, laundry detergents or anything. Been 4 weeks, itching stopped on legs, thigh. Upper body still affected back and front. Using predisone to curb it. Will never use this again. Like other user, caused hair to be stiff. Bad experience.

  • October 1, 2015

    by Barb

    Wow, I was about to order the Nature tint, glad I didn't now. I usually use henna, but it is difficult to apply by myself. Is there a safe organic hair-color out there ?

  • September 17, 2015

    by Shelly

    Wow! Surprised at all these comments. I have been using Naturtint for over 10 years and I have never had a problem. I am allergic to just about everything cosmetic and I refuse to use products tested on animals. Although certainly not "organic" or "natural" in any sense of the words, it has never caused a reaction or dried my hair out. I am 59 years old.

  • September 15, 2015

    by Val

    I just used Naturtint and my hair came out, my eyes are burning and my skin somewhat, my hair is too dark and tangled up and super dry upon my first use!!! Awful product:/ wish I would have not assumed it was good just because I bought it at sprouts (slow learner!) THanks I'll be using Eco Cert next time

  • August 16, 2015

    by Joan

    I just used Naturtint for the first time today. The store clerks at both Whole Foods and Pharmica said not to go by the picture, but more by the swatches - neither of which looked anything like each other. My hair came out like the picture on the cover and I hate it. It's at least 4 shades darker than I prefer. My hair also feels stiffer, despite using conditioner. I had to use Prell (!) to try to bring the color down, but now at 60 I look like a teen ager who dyed her hair purple-red. I hope that I can redo it right away!

  • July 24, 2015

    by marie

    I started using Naturtint 4N about 3 years ago and I have finally decided to stop using it because I have noticed that it dries up my hair. But that's not the reason I've decided to stop. Every time I use this hair dye it makes my hair fall off.. This last time I used it my hair fell out in chunks! I'm glad I still have some hair left. I'm sure Naturint is a good hair dye but its not good for everyone. I'm curious if anyone has or is experiencing hair loss from using this products? Thanks

  • June 11, 2015

    by beatriz

    I've been using Naturtint since a year ago, and last week after using it I went to work
    and got so dizzy, I got scare and I went to the pharmacy to get something for vertigo

  • May 31, 2015

    by Sanjeev

    It does contain PPD and chemicals, if any one is looking for 100% natural hair colour with no chemicals at all then try Colour Me Organic hair colour, which is 100% organic herbs only and this product is certified % organic by ECO CERT.
    You can visit www.colourmeorganic.com

  • March 31, 2015

    by Lisa

    It seems ecocolors hair color has better ingredients and seem to color gray well.

  • January 29, 2015

    by Kim

    I have noticed after using this product on a number of occasions that I can smell it's fragrance weeks later as if it has become part of my own mucus (ie. When I have a cold I can almost taste it) and as such I have been concerned about it's residual affects. I feel really concerned about this issue. In saying all that it has been good to find a more in-depth review of the product's ingredients.

  • January 10, 2015

    by veronica

    Another alternative is to use permanent color, just pull it truh the cap or use foil and dont let the color touch the scalp. just like highlits.

  • December 6, 2014

    by Lisa

    Whoops! What I meant to say was how my hair looked under florescent lighting , not UV lighting LOL.

    In response to Carrie, all health food stores I have been to have some products that are not natural, not just hair colour, but some shampoos and conditioners I have tried that contain more toxic ingredients than some drug store brands.

  • December 5, 2014

    by Lisa

    I am still happy with Tints of Nature (8N) permanent hair colour! It's been two weeks since I've tried it. I went to the hairdresser's the other day for a cut and the hair colour showed up nicely under ultraviolet lights. Usually it looks so fake. As mentioned before, it is a darker blonde than Naturtint. This is a good thing now that it's winter. My hair is not frizzy at all either. My hairdresser used a spray-on leave in olive oil treatment.

  • November 21, 2014

    by Lisa

    I finally got around to dying my hair with Tints of Nature (8N). How does it compare to Naturtint? As I mentioned in previous posts, I liked Naturtint and the results. That being said, I do remember that my hair felt like straw immediately after I washed the hair dye out. I sometimes put two applications of conditioner (the conditioner that came with it as well as my usual conditioner). With Tints of Nature I didn't experience this. My hair felt smoother afterwards and didn't have to leave in the conditioner any longer than usual. The shade 8N is darker in Tints of Nature than in Naturtint, which I like better because it is more natural. While the hair dye was in my hair I didn't experience itching or burning. When I applied the rest of the hair dye (after dying the roots) I experienced a slight headache, but not necessarily attributed to the hair dye itself. It went away afterwards. Overall, I prefer Tints of Nature over Naturtint.

  • November 19, 2014

    by Lisa

    I bought my hair colour yesterday. I found a whole foods store that was closer to me than the other health food store I usually go to. They didn't have Naturtint in my shade (8N) so I bought Tints of Nature. I haven't used it yet. I'll let you know how it compares with Naturtint. I had great results in the past, but had stopped using it because it was no longer available at the health food store closer to me.

  • November 18, 2014

    by Lisa

    I just visited the EWG cosmetic data base. All of the hair products deemed "safe" and "natural" and found at health food stores, including Naturtint, Sanotint, Tints of Nature are no longer listed in the data base. I am familiar with all of these products because I have used them all. I find this strange and disappointing. I don't think you can get away with safe permanent hair dyes. They don't exist. Henna based products like Light Mountain, Cover Your Grey (which I have also tried in the past) is way to dark for my complexion and therefore looks fake. If you have been getting poor results with Naturtint (I haven't), then I would suggest Tints of Nature if you want a lighter shade. If you have dark hair, you have an advantage. You can try Light Mountain, Cover Your Grey, and get great results.

  • November 18, 2014

    by Lisa

    I had switched to Naturtint from other brands sold at health food stores. I dye my hair blond. The blond shade 8N is very good. A lot of hair dye companies, the less toxic ones, don't have 8N. They have 7N (too dark) and 9N (washout shade). It doesn't dry out my hair or make it worse. What I find is when I wash my hair I need to use a really good conditioner and thermal hair protecting spray before blow drying. These are what make a difference to how well my hair turns out. I find that Naturtint is hard to get in my city. I have to travel to the east end of the city to an organic grocery store to purchase it. I have currently run out of it. My grey has come back big time, and I don't want to be seen in public, because I am way past the date I was supposed to colour my hair again. I was supposed to colour it one month ago. I really want to dye my hair today and will need to go out in this windy cold weather, and travel half way across the city so I can have my hair dye.

  • October 6, 2014

    by Carrie

    This has gotten away from the original point, that this is advetised as a natural product, I bought it from Vita Cost which is a "healthfood" store online. It makes out like it's natural hair color and not like the chemical ones. This isn't true. Maybe it doesn't ruin everyone's hair, but it did mine (made it very dry and dead) and I had been using L'Oreal for years before that, not often, maybe a few times a year. Nutritint isn't a natural hair color product and isn't even "gentle" from my experience and what I read when I researched it after. If it woks for someone, and they like it, and don't expect it to be "natural"good...

  • October 3, 2014

    by Melissa

    Ladies, please don't be discouraged by these biased post. I've been using Naturtint for 6 years. Naturtint is an excellent product and is MUCH SAFER than the hair color that you would buy at a drugstore or even at a beauty supply store. P-phenylenediamine (PPD) is an ingredient found in ALL hair color and it can cause an allergic reaction TO THOSE WHO ARE ALLERGIC. Naturtint has been very upfront and honest about their ingredients. Their hair color does contain PPD, but a very low percentage compared to the legal amount allowed. If your want your haircolor to be permanent, it has to have PPD in it! Plain and simple. If you don't want PPD, use a semi-permanent haircolor but your color won't last. The author of this article said henna was a safer alternative. Henna can cause all of the skin reactions that PPD causes. Please get your facts straight before you try to discourage ladies from using a good product that is safer than most other products on the market. Apparently, you have no idea that other hair colors are way more dangerous than Naturtint.

  • September 28, 2014

    by Ali

    Thanks so much for this review!

    I had always been a henna (indigo) user to darken my hair. Until last year I decided to buy Naturtint at whole foods and totally buying into the "plant-based" advertising. And I actually really loved it! I would use the brown/black and I was so impressed with the ease and outcome!

    So over the course of the last 6 months, I've been noticing frightening hair loss and crippling dermatitis on my scalp! I've always had a little dandruff but nothing so drastic and uncomfortable! The only thing I could think of that has changed is switching to Naturtint! I will definitely give my poor head a break after researching more on p-phenylenediamine and then hoping my hair grows back and returning to henna.

    Yuk.

  • September 11, 2014

    by Beth

    I just used this product last night and I love the color and everything else about it. It covered my grays great, better than the stuff I used to buy at Sally's Beauty Supply.

  • August 25, 2014

    by Carrie

    I don't know anything about their other products, I just tried the permanent kind, once, and while it did lighten my hair more than what I had been using before, it was very harsh, burned while on (and I had done the allergy test before using it that was ok) and killed my hair. Dried it and it still breaks off a lot when I brush it. I don't do my hair much, maybe every 4 or so months (I use light ash blonde which isn't too different than my natuial color and the grey coming in) mainly to brighten it so it won't be drab gray. As I have said, my main objection to Naturtint is it's advertised as "natural and gentle" and I bought it from VitaCost which is supposely a natural/healthfood type place. I told them about it after I used it and they said they'd look into it, but last I knew they were still selling it. I guess they figure making money is more important than their reputation and the few customers who will buy hair color from them... and even fewer who will complain about it, isn't that important. Probably most people who bought it and didn't like it just wouldn't buy it again and not say anything. As to what to switch to (in the questions here) probably all the products have chemicals in them, but then what doesn't now.. maybe buying a better brand (I'm still getting L'oreal) and not doing it too often or drastic,-to need it done too often might help. There's been recent news about bad reactions to hair color (the woman with the jet black hair in ponytails on one of the CSI type shows had a reaction to it, for one) but they said at the time that is something in BLACK (only) that's needed to make it that dark color (and hold the color). I think using hair color (permanent kind) is going to dry hair and make it "dead" feeling (needing conditioner) but also, for me, my natural hair is very fine and soft, so in a way, coloring it gives it a little more body.

  • July 11, 2014

    by Carrie

    I'm still getting notices of reviews of this even though I wrote mine over a year ago, and interesting they are mainy negative (like mine was). What I don't like is this product is being sold as "natural" and from places one assosicaes with "natural/good" things. I got mine from VitaCost, online, which is a "health food shop" I wrote to them about it after using it and was told they would look into it, but last time I checked they were still selling it and calling it "naural". Like a safe and natural way to color one's hair... with "Nature" in the name, and sold by a healh food store.

  • July 10, 2014

    by Yana

    Marta, thanks so much for your research and post! I was considering Naturetint product recently. (since it was sold at "natural" foods markets Whole Foods and Native Sun). Upon finding this article, changed my mind completely..
    Been trying a different approach for retaining natural hair color these recent years (eating a nutrient-packed salad a day and juicing). Seems to be working well, hair is healthy but does have sprinkles of gray. Like another lady mentioned - let it shine on :)

  • July 1, 2014

    by Laurie

    I have used Clairol Natural Instincts every 6 weeks and I thought about using Naturtint but heard it contains Phenylenediamine. Is this a toxic chemical that causes reactions and possible long term health problems. Should I switch to Sura Henna?

  • June 30, 2014

    by Katie

    I have used naturtint for years with no ill effects. Just today I got a complement on my hair color, I use light golden ash brown. As for the article, ok, but look at that black color...how much concentrated pigment is in that dollop? My hair is shiny and thick. I ALSO use great shampoos and conditioners from Aveda, as the junk in the store is just crap, fancy detergent. There is always someone allergic to something but as for me, it's great.

  • May 30, 2014

    by Carrie

    One thing that bothered me about this, it is sold by VitaCost which is online "natrural" and health food store, or that is how it's presented. Natural foods and suppliments. So when I saw they had a hair color that covered grey, I thought this is GOOD, something natural and not chemicals like the regular brands. It did lighten my hair more (light ash blonde is the shade I got) but burned the whole time it was on and my scalp itched after and my hair has never been the same (in a negative way). I only color my hair every 3-4 months to brighten it, where it's turning grey, and light ash blonde ins't a drastic color change so I don't need to. I wrote and told VitaCost my experiences with it and how marketing/selling it as a natural product, when it's like this might hurt their business (reputation) they thanked me for the feedback and would look into it, but last I knew they were still selling it. I don't know why anyone would use it, thinking it is a gentle and natural alternative in hair coloring, and buy it again. And "natrual products" plces selling it, is like geting lied to and tricked.

  • May 28, 2014

    by Jen

    If you are thinking of using this product because you want a safer alternative, think again. Naturtint caused bad chemical burns on my neck and ears. I contacted the company and they dismissed it as an allergy and refused to take responsibility. I have used it before and had no "allergy" to it. It is obvious it is a chemical burn when your skin turns maroon, completely hardens and peels off in chunks for two weeks. I sent them photos of the severe burns and received no reply. I had used other mainstream brands in the past with no problem. This product is dangerous and the customer service representatives are rude and disrespectful. I will never use this product again.

  • May 23, 2014

    by Beth

    I have used Naturtint for at least three years. I was buying it at Whole Foods, so felt that it must have passed their standards for "natural." After reading this review, I have my doubts. I have decided I am finished with it and going to let my gray shine on. The biggest problem I had, over time, was realizing I was losing hair at a much faster rate the longer I used the product. I shampoo only about twice per week, but each time I was finding more and more hair in the drain catch and got alarmed when I realized that just gently running my hands through my hair when rinsing could yield a clump of tangled hair. I am 49 and probably totally gray by this point. But I would rather be natural gray with some hair left than brown for now and bald later! Thanks for this review.

  • April 27, 2014

    by Carrie

    I agree it did get my hair a nice color, lighter blonde than what I was (and am again) using L'Orial "light ash blonde", but it also seemed very strong and harsh and stung my head the whole time it was on. My hair was dead and dried out, after, which conditioner didn't seem to fix). My main objection to it was it was sold as "natural" (I bought it from VitaCost which is supposedly a natural foods/healthfood type website) and they made out it was a natural product for coloring the hair. Which it isn't.

  • April 26, 2014

    by MMcG

    Before using Naturtint, I tried pretty much every other brand. I had used henna early in my hair dying routine, but stopped using it after only a few sessions because the color looked fake. I avoided the "natural" hair coloring thinking that it would be like henna. Finally, I gave it a shot. I'll never again use anything but Naturtint or a similar brand. The product doesn't have a potent odor or sting or easily stain the skin like other products. But what was most surprising is that I finally found coloring that looked natural. How that is, I don't know. When I'm at a hairdresser and mention I dye my hair, I sometimes get a look of puzzlement (because it doesn't look dyed) and they ask what brand I use. The product is somewhat drying to the hair, but not n-e-a-r-l-y as much as the standard brands. I use conditioner and one of those clear shine liquids to put back some oil and highlights - it makes my hair look fantastic.

    But yes, it does bother me that "natural" coloring products still contain some questionable ingredients, but it seems far fewer than the typical brands. Because of that, in a few years (when I have enough longevity in my job to feel comfortable) unless there is some change to the natural color ingredients, I'm going to let the gray finally grow out. I have to say, if the gray looks fabulous, I'll be pissed that I didn't do it long ago. Just don't have the nerve now with ageism.

  • January 14, 2014

    by Anastasia foley

    Hello. I recently used Naturtint, thinking its natural so it should be better for me, like others here. I noticed right away how dry and brittle my hair was afterward. I went to a hairdresser that day to get a haircut. She said my hair was so over processed now to not color again light colors for a year! I used wheat germ blond 8N. So she did a heavy conditioning treatment and cut off a significant amount of hair. She suggested only darker coloring and using lowlights for the next year if I want to color. Within 48 hours of coloring my hair my skin started to itch, felt hot, I had headaches, nausea, had confusion, weak and very tired. Went to the doc and said it was an allergic reaction. On steroids now. It pays to do the research and not go by labels, and take the time to do a skin test. We all want to look our best, but our health is more important. Lesson learned.

  • December 26, 2013

    by Carrie

    I think the worst part of this is the product is sold on a "health food" site. I bought it from VitaCost which I thought sold 'natural" and good for you products. After I used the hair color I wrote to VitaCost and told them about it and they thanked me for my feedback.. They are still selling it on their website, though they don't seem to be saying it's "gentle" and not harmful (which I think they did when I bought it, that's WHY I bought it) there are disclaimers and warnings. The idea that VitaCost only sells natural and "good for you" products is probably something that is just implied.

  • December 26, 2013

    by Lynette

    I have lost huge amounts of hair and my hair is extremely dry and feels like Barbie doll hair. After doing research I feel like Naturtint may be a major contributing factor. I will never use it again.

  • November 29, 2013

    by Carrie

    Aside from hair coloring there are natural herbs that really help during menopause, just look them up. Or go into a healthfood store or even a drug store that sells vitamins and herbs).Don't want to say too much, like "practicing medicine without a license" etc but most doctors aren't going to recommend herbs, which are cheaper and you can get in capsules without a prescription, over expensive (and risk of side effects) artificial hormones. It's not just hair coloring companies that want to make money.

  • November 29, 2013

    by Laurie

    Like many others, I thought buying a "natural" organic product would serve my hair better than the L'Oreals and Clairol's I'd been using. I've been coloring my hair for the past ten years on a regular basis, so I thought a natural break would be good for my hair. I noticed over the last few months that my part line was ever widening. My physical told me that it was likely hormones, but I wasn't losing hair as much as it simply stopped growing new hair. It freaked me out because my hair is very long and dark brown, so a pink scalp is truly evident. So are treys. For now, I'm just going to live with the grey, take more vitamins, and eat more eggs, walnuts, and sardines. I even went to see my doctor who told me it's likely my waning levels of estrogen and menopause, but this came up suddenly, and I'm ticked she went straight for the hormone problem instead of asking me about other my hair product. I did just turn 50, but I've always had A LOT of thick curly hair. I'm done supporting big companies that don't give a shit about me except to grab my money.

  • August 12, 2013

    by Carrie

    I wrote a review of it here and also wrote to VitaCost (online) where I bought it, because I had assumed it was more natural and less harsh because it was sold by an online "healthfood" shop. I only used it once, it was very harsh and strong, and my hair was dead after. And it does come out on the brush when I use it. gonna let my hair grow out for awhile and next time I color it (which I don't do a lot, mainly to cover up grey and brighten it) I am NOT using this product. someone pointed out it has an ingredient in it that isn't good and the more name brands don't use. Maybe because Nutratint is apparently made in Spain and they might have different standards.

  • August 12, 2013

    by Geri

    Has anyone experienced hair loss with using Naturtint? I have been using for over a year and love it - but am having some hair loss --- could be from some other reason. Thanks -

  • June 17, 2013

    by Carrie

    I usually use L'Oreal hair color, every few months, mainly to brighten my ash blonde hair which is now going grey. When I saw Naturtint on the VitaCost website, I thought this is great, a "natural" kind of hair color that would be gentle and better for my hair. though my hair wasn't really damaged by what I was doing to start with. I got this, did the allergy test and strand test as directed, used it on my hair. First of all, it didn't seem like there was as much as other products, I had a hard time getting my hair covered. the gloves that come with it were cheap, and little packets of shampoo and confitioner to use after. though it wasn't any cheaper to buy than L'Oreal. After it was on my head, it felt like it was burning and itching, I only left it on 20 mins. When I rinsed it out, my hair felt dry and dead like "doll hair". It did make it a little lighter (which Ilike) but my hair is dry and dead feeling. Even using their cream rinse (which was only enough for the first time) I have washed my hair twice since, and it still feels the same, when wet, it has that dead "bleached" feeling (long ago I used to strip my hair and put a toner in it and it felt like this). Even using my own cream rinse, it's hard to brush out after I wash it. I wrote and gave feedback to VitaCost about this, because I was disappointed, where it was sold from a "healthfood store" type place, and insinuates it is made from natural products and will be better for one's hair. I seemed harsh and drying to me. I looked at the box, it says it's distributed fro NY but made in Madrid Spain, maybe they don't have the high standards for things like this. Not sure where L'Oreal is made, maybe France, but my hair never felt like this after I used that. I have been looking up Naturtint to see what others say about it and people seem to praise it, and like it. Though most of the reviews I found like that were on the company's website, maybe they don't put on negative ones. I didn't think to look up reviews before buying it, but probably wouldn't have found ones to discourage me from trying it. I am sorry I did, and now will let my hair grow out a few months (maybe cut some of the dry and dead part off) and go back to using L'Oreal.

  • April 23, 2013

    by cheryl

    As far as IF I am going to color my hair, Naturtint has less harmful (the least of the poisons) as other brands.

  • December 31, 2012

    by Karen

    Nature color is like Nature tint as well.

  • October 8, 2012

    by Sheilah

    I've used henna since I was a teenager. After noticing a few gray hairs, I tried Naturtint in the same shade I use with Surya Henna .

    I absolutely hate the color. It looks so darn fake. I'm too old to run around looking like a punk rocker with bright orange hair.

    Worse, I've had vertigo nearly daily since. Now I know why. I don't know when I can get back to my beloved henna. I really miss it.

    Thanks for posting.

  • March 5, 2012

    by Jennifer

    Helen, I use Eco hair colour but I'm not sure if this product is 100% safe. I use dark ash brown but have problems keeping my hair from going red.

  • January 15, 2012

    by Helen

    Can anyone tell me if they have used eco hair color. It is supposed to be a safe hair color.

  • July 17, 2010

    by Austin Hair Removal

    I have had clients come in after having used these products for extended periods of time and their scalp and skin are beyond irritated. It kills the roots, dries the hair out and like the article says has potential to lead to cancer. I mean that's alot to go through to keep a few strands from being grey!

    Eventually the damage will be done, take the time to find an alternative to these products it's well worth it.

  • May 25, 2010

    by amelia

    For 20 years I used Clairol, Revlon brands of blond permanent dyes on my dark brown hair.
    5 years ago I experienced seborrhea in my scalp with severe itching, flaking & loss of hair in spots. After 3 months of no products & seborrhea calmed down, I switched to Naturtint blond shades and had great results. My hair grew back, itching & flaking never returned. Been using their various blond colors every two months for 5 years with no ill effects, it covers/blends my gray hair (I am 67 years old) on my short bob hairstyle. In between applications I also perm my curly hair for the smooth look and have NO bad reactions when I use the Naturtint a couple of weeks later. Maybe the darker shades are more irritating, but the blond shades are mild. I once tried a blond rinse by Clairol and my scalp itched for days, so I am a faithful Naturtint user.

  • January 27, 2010

    by Victoria

    I have been using Naturtint Ebony for over a year. Granted I do not have the long term analysis, but I have found that I need to watch the required time...40 min for me and then less on the color for grey coverage. If I go over, then I get itchy skin on my scalp and need to rewash then also, sometimes within the same day. And if really bad then I need to use an anti-itch cream. This usually goes away in a day or two. My hair is pretty long to my ribs and way healthy plus I use Shikai conditioner. I have had asthm since 1994 so have not noticed an increase, butI eat clean too so perhaps the liver is cleansing..milk thistle and dandelion if not sure. Just happened upon this site. Thanks.

  • January 7, 2010

    by Sheila

    I'm sorry...regarding the above post...I didn't mean to put "naturtint"....and "wella color charm demi-permanent" as "very safe"..they rate around 5-6 on a scale of 0-10 in toxicity. I apologize. (still, better than a 10..like some of the over the counter name brands..)

  • January 7, 2010

    by Sheila

    I suggest going to www.cosmeticsdatabase.com, and at the top of the page (on a blue colored bar) there are the words: "makeup skincare haircare eyecare, etc"...put your cursor on haircare, and all the subjects will pop up for you to click on...hairspray, shampoo, color, etc. click on color..and starting at the levels safest for you, it will name all the haircolorings in their database that are the most nontoxic, and will take you all the way to the MOST toxic. I have written down some of the most nontoxic that I want to use. (I have dark dark brown long wavy natural curly hair, but its fine). The ones I have found to check out (according to that website) are: Aubrey Organics, Light Mountain, Naturtint, Wella Color charm demi-permanent. I know you said some negative things about aubrey, and naturtint, but...atleast they are WAY less toxic than clairol, revlon, loreal, and probably your local hairdresser. I say...SOME effort to reduce the toxins..is better than none. Go ahead, if you use over the counter hair coloring, and type it in the search bar..and see how toxic YOUR haircolor is, if you've never been to that website. goodluck to all. I'm happy I found this site..truthinaging, thanks for helping us women!

  • December 5, 2009

    by marta

    Aerwin, the darker the color, the less safe. Having said that, this one by <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/hair/natural-hair-dye-with-surya-henna-brasil-cream" rel="nofollow">Surya</a> looks fine and we'll research others and post any new finds.

  • December 5, 2009

    by aerwin

    Is any hair dye safe? I usually get mine colored in a salon . But I saw that naturtint on vitacost and almost bought it.

  • December 3, 2009

    by Leslie

    Marta,

    My late grandmother always had pale skin and very dark luxurious hair, so when she started going grey at an early age, naturally she dyed the heck out of her hair. In fact she didn't stop until she could no longer physically take the fumes. She suffered from terrible asthma and emphysema from years of smoking and working close to fibrous debris.

    I learned about the hazardous chemicals in dark hair color many years ago, and I recall urgently telling my grandmother about it. She told me she already knew and her doctor recommended she stop coloring her hair, especially during periods when her breathing was bad.

    I have no idea if the hair coloring chemicals contributed to her conditions or not, but I do know that beauty and vanity is never worth the sacrificing of your health.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...