Free shipping on all orders over $39

Nerium AD Night Cream

Nerium AD Night Cream Review

Reviewed by Marta February 6, 2013 99 Comments

Pros

Not much but at least there is quinoa

Cons

The active ingredient is a poisonous plant
Ineffective and caused skin breakouts

Nerium AD Night Cream ($110) is a curious product that after a month of testing I find to be ultimately unpleasant, ineffective and puzzling.

The active ingredient is the poisonous leaf of the oleander plant. It is so poisonous that, as I wrote at the beginning of October, just one leaf can kill a child. It is listed as the second ingredient in Nerium AD Night Cream. I have lived to tell the tale, but my skin did break out when I applied Nerium AD. I had more false starts than a learner driver with this cream as I had to repeatedly stop using it in order to let my skin calm down.

Indeed, skin irritation from contact with oleander has been documented and “allergies are possible” (source). Several people commented on my Nerium oleander article with reports of their own allergic reactions. To be fair, my reactions seemed to stop after about two and half weeks. Perhaps my skin got used to it.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest product reviews and save 10% on all orders over $50


Nonetheless, I never was won over by Nerium. I don’t like the smell (compost) or the thick, almost clay-like texture. It did absolutely nothing for my skin, no fading of wrinkles nor improvement of the complexion.  As mentioned in the previous article, I haven’t found any independent information confirming that nerium oleander works for skin anti-aging.

The texture of Nerium Night Cream leads me to one of the puzzling aspects of the formula as set out by the ingredients list on the bottle and the package. There is no base listed – typically this would be water or oil. The first ingredients are the proprietary blend of nerium oleander followed by something called “proprietary protein,” which includes collagen. Only then comes rice bran oil.

The rest of the formula is fairly lack luster (apart from quinoa). The third so-called “proprietary blend” amusingly includes phenylpropanol, which is routinely prescribed for incontinent dogs. Here it is part of a complex used for stabilizing cosmetics.

For some recommended alternatives, see Five Best Anti-aging Serums, Five Best with Growth Factors, Five Best for sagging skin.

sign up for our newsletter

  • February 19, 2016

    by Beth

    I have been using it for almost a month. Both sides of the nose pieces on my eyeglasses turned green.

  • April 9, 2015

    by Shannon

    I love these products!! Mariana, you can only get the products from a representative. Most of us are just working individuals who have fallen in love with the products and want to share with others. I researched the products a TON before I got involved. And, I think many people are very misinformed about what it is all about and how that compares to other skin care products that are on the market. But, that's ok. It takes time for people to accept new things!! Of course I would be willing to send you a sample, but if you have someone you know who is a rep you should probably contact them!! :) Hope you have an amazing day!

  • April 8, 2015

    by mariana

    Hey, I would love to test this Nerium AD, it is possible that you could send a test tube

  • February 10, 2015

    by Gillian

    I started researching this product, having just met a rep. When I heard the word oleander, an alert went off in my head and I had to hold my tongue. I make and sell creams and lotions on a small scale, and I can tell you that there is something wrong with the label as presented here: the ingredients must be in descending order by weight. In a cream, you would expect water or a water substitute to be the first ingredient, but I don't see this, unless it is the Aloe Vera. Proteins are usually added at about 1% of the product, so their listing high up is problematic. I would expect to see emulsifiers and thickeners in the 2 - 5 % range, but they are listed lower down. Oils should be up to about 10- 15% in total, and yet they are low down too. This label clearly is not complaint in the order of the ingredients.

    My big question is, knowing the toxicity of oleander, was this extract ever approved for topical use by the FDA? I'll have to check around to see what I can find.

    I've read elsewhere that the percentage of the active ingredient oleander extract is actually less than 1%, but since the company is very secretive about their formula, that is conjecture. If that is the case, it is far more likely that the miraculous results are because of the Aloe Vera.

  • February 2, 2015

    by Christine

    I have been approached to carry this product in my store more than 3 times and each time I explain to people that it will NEVER make it to my shelf.

    Here's some great links that might help you make the decision about whether you'd want it on your skin. I especially caution people who have young children; the plant is toxic. Check out the link provided proving that. Money is a great motivator....but it shouldn't be the reason to peddle a product whose supposed "testing" remains unpublished.

    The first is about the ingredient Phenylpropanol

    http://bit.ly/1z74uTc

    This one is an actual published medical article relating to the plant:

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3089829/

    Those are just 2 sites about 2 ingredients. Don't even get me started on proprietary blends and parfum!

  • January 31, 2015

    by Carmen Elena

    Is it horrible product.

  • December 10, 2014

    by Pamela

    I have been using this product since may 2014 and cannot believe the difference in my face and body. It has also been approved by dermatologist and Dr's working-in health spas. I have NEVER seen such an amazing skin care. By no means is it toxic to the skin. research has proven that. You all should try it!

  • October 8, 2014

    by Antonette Iacono

    One month is not long enough to see results. I have been using it faithfully for almost one year and I have seen significant results. Having a very damp face for the night cream and then mixing the product with about another teaspoon of water in the palm of your hand is very important. In the morning when you rinse your face with water before the day cream you can feel the night cream re-activate if applied properly. I give it a big thumbs up. I have blood labs twice a year. Never a problem.
    I would never sell it, but I have absolutely no problem recommending it.

  • September 19, 2014

    by Melissa

    People who are selling this line have no requirement of professional training or of a state license which in itself is scary -furthermore it is a mlm company that hounds people to sign up who have NO understanding of the skin and how products work on the skin or how ingredients are absorbed into the body through the skin. Can one of these reps even name the layers of the skin or the muscles in the face? I doubt it. Stick to licensed qualified professionals who are educated and know what they are doing....unlicensed individuals who refer to themselves as skin care professionals should be illegal.

  • August 14, 2014

    by Maryg

    I have received the "free" bottle of Nerium product from a friend who sells the product. I saw that oleander was and ingredient and decided not to use this product. Toxic is toxic, no matter how you sell it. And is anyone else bothered by the "you have to use it a certain way in order for it to work" statement? Really? Are you kidding? Sounds like an easy way to justify the ineffectiveness of a really bad product. Tell yourself enough times that poison on your skin is a good idea and maybe you can begin to believe it. But maybe, just maybe, it is the thought that you might make money and receive a Lexus and cash bonuses and exotic vacations. The company focuses on the potential to make a lot of money and does not even discuss the actual product. Lastly, the scent...does anyone small a rat?

  • August 11, 2014

    by Connie

    I have had remarkable results with Nerium. People think I had "work" done. I have tried so many other products with no success. It has given me an eyelid lift that I was told only surgery could do. People compliment me all the time on my eyes again. There was clinical testing if people would do actual research. It has a patent as an antioxidant. There is a major medical university that approached the company to partner with us because of our patent. This announcement should be made in Oct. There are many toxicology studies that were done and are available for anyone to see. I also find that most of the people who are trying to discredit Nerium are with other companies.

  • July 23, 2014

    by Mo

    Folks, this product has ONLY been around for 2 years and I don't want to be the guinea pig for vanity sake. The product may work, but at what risk?

    I think choosing a known, Botanical, natural, safe Product like Arbonne, Swiss Origin around for 34 years a better option.

    As the baby boomers age everyone wants to stay young but like GMO is banned in Europe unlike the US, I feel safer sticking to Arbonne which follows the EU stricter guidelines for cosmetics and skincare vs our US counter part which still allows parabens and other products like mineral oil (a byproduct of gasoline) use in popular skincare lines, these are BANNED in Europe.

    Heart disease and cancer and the #1 and #2 killer in the US, why take a chance with a plant that has glycosides (could affect the heart) and cytotoxic effects?

    Penicillin was found by accident too, but show some true research, I have yet to find the statistics. I have my doubts as we absorb everything via pores and until I see more true research prefer to wait.

    Just do a bit of of your own research, homework and not fall for the hype, not only on the main ingredient, but the other components and we cant pronounce. Even though plant derived, make sure you know what else is in the product as the as "the dose makes the poison".

    Respectfully,

  • July 20, 2014

    by Crystal

    Marta really may have not put water on her face before putting on the Nerium. Marta mentions that the first ingredient is usually water, but doesn't mention that she was therefore careful to add water to her face, as the product instructs, before applying it. She has written a very well done article here. I don't think she would have left out that putting water on the face first is a key component to Nerium working, if she knew that to be the case. I believe that the other posters who say that she probably applied the product without water...which is not the correct method...are accurate. Maybe Marta will try again. :-)

  • July 17, 2014

    by Linda

    So I find it interesting that these hit pieces are always written by people that own or shill for other products.

    I realize you can be allergic to anything but the woman who claimed to be rushed to the ER I am suspicious. All this hysteria about Oleander being poisonous, come on. For one thing Botox is derived from botulism, an extremely poisonous substance. Yet people get injections for years (for hundreds of dollars) with no ill effects. And no, anyone cannot get a patent and that has nothing to do with fda approval.

    My own experience after 5 weeks now. Rosacea--gone. A tic tac toe patch of wrinkles, very diminished. Best of all, and something no other product could claim-I put it on my eyelids, below by brows and I look like I have had an eye lift. Seriously. And it did not irritate my eyes at all.

  • June 20, 2014

    by Debbie

    I've read several of the consumer reviews, as well as Marta's, and all I can say is that I've been using Nerium AD for about two months and have experienced no adverse reaction to it - and I have sensitive skin. What I did notice, however, is that a discoloration on one cheek noticeably faded after seven.. days of usage. Do I dislike the scent? Absolutely, and the texture also took a bit of getting used to, even with the application of a skin toner (which I use instead of water) beforehand.

    I have also been using it on my chest for about three weeks now. I'm hoping for a reduction of the not-so-fine-lines, which sadly hasn't occurred yet, but again I've been seeing reduced redness. And, no, the redness is not sunburn; at age sixty I don't get out in the sun much. It seems to be a permanent coloration. Well, until lately anyway.

    So all I can say is that this product works for me.

  • June 16, 2014

    by Yvonne

    I used the product for about 2 weeks and also experienced break outs. My tongue also felt tingly, so I may have been allergic to it.

    I followed all the instructions as the sarcastic and unhelpful person pointed out above, but this still occurred.

  • June 12, 2014

    by Keleigh

    I will comment that nerium comes with specific instructions to use water before putting on as the base. The woman who write this review obviously didn't know that which is why she broke out and the product didn't work.

  • June 2, 2014

    by jackiefriogal

    My issue is the secret recipe for this cream is cytotoxic, which means it KILLS cells. I believe the results folks are seeing is due to damage of the skins cells. The long-term impact is currently unknown, but based on my knowledge of cytotoxic products, I believe the damage will be significant. Seems to me this product would make more sense if it were marketed as a proaging product rather than an antiaging product, but then no one would really want to buy a product knowing it will ultimately result in speeding up the aging process! Scam is what comes to mind. Do research before trying this and dont rely on the research Nerium or their sales people provide/quote. Trust me when I say you are going to have to dedicate time finding nonbiased research/answers on the contents of Nerium. Also, I could spend an entire day pointing out all the issues I have with the sales process, but let me just point out that you should be prepared to be told you are applying it wrong if you see no results…its like a script the sales team is given to get you to keep "trying" it. It's all about the $$$.

  • May 28, 2014

    by Tommy

    Hi, well after reading almost all the remarks, all I have to say is... we are not eating the NERIUMAD . You have to ingest the oleander plant to get sick from it. Also someone that said the allergies to ALOE is way more than you think. So don't blame the Nerium oleander, it is probably the aloe. My wife and I started using neriumAD after I witnessed during her 5 day trial, her skin began to look alive again. She was 59 at the time. Her skin had some spots that got worse , but after workiing through it we realized it was the pores getting a good cleaning out of impurities. With most any skincare there will be a change in the skin IF IT IS WORKING . but there are chemicals in most of your reviews for the product you DO like. I took before and after 5 day photos and was totally shocked at how they looked I also use on my dry cracking, painful heels and it is amazing product !! It has soften my skin , closed pores and actuall lifted our skin upward

  • May 21, 2014

    by Heather

    I tried the Nerium night cream for months. I hated the texture (and yes, I put water with it as directed), and didn't see results. I've had much better luck using the Beauticontrol line of products. I order exactly what I need, when I need it, from my local BC rep and she delivers it to my house. She's also very honest about all her products, which seem to be the most effective for different skin types, etc. She knows my favorites and calls me when they're on sale. If something doesn't work for me, I can return or exchange it.

  • May 2, 2014

    by Marcia

    I used it for 3 months, saw absolutely no results and told my "sales lady" in Ojai, California, I was stopping. One month later another 2 bottles were delivered and charged to me. She said she couldn't stop it, I had to do it and maybe they would take it back. Funny, when she signed me up, she had no problem, but she had no ability to stop it.

    The whole thing is a scam as far as I can see.

  • April 26, 2014

    by Jane Hofland

    For what it is worth, here was my experience about a year ago....
    About the same time I purchased the Ultra Renew from TIA, a close friend started selling Nerium AD. I was curious and she gave me a free sample to use for 2 weeks. So I did. At the same time I used the Ultra Renew. I can between the two I had some dramatic results. I too was suspect of the Nerium AD for all the reasons listed my Marta. The conclusion I came to is that it is a natural irritant which causes your body to rush fluid to the area to defend and repair it. I think the Ultra Renew assisted this reaction and natural healing tendency of my body. I did not choose to purchase the product and continue using it....but I have been curious ever since then. I am wondering if bee venom products aren't somewhat similar in their efficacy; dependent on natural body reactions to irritants.

  • April 22, 2014

    by BECKY

    I used the Nerium AD for the first time last night and it left a burning sensation on my face. I didn't wash it off but went to bed. My face was not red in the AM, but the burning sensation is still there even after washing it off. I won't be putting that stuff back on my face. Anyone else have similiar experience?

  • April 18, 2014

    by judy

    I just signed up to be a bp because of the great results I have experienced. Maybe some people do not see the results. That is okay, not all people are alike. I would like to know what products they sell. I have tried some others, mostly natural products, and have never experienced the change in my skin that I nave with Nerium. Just my opinion. I agree with Susanna that what we consume on a daily basis that would cause far more harm to our system.

  • April 13, 2014

    by Liz

    I don't think before and after pictures Lie! If the product doesn't work, it doesn't work! Plain old lotion will definitely plumb up the skin and plump out some wrinkling especially if you dampen the skin before applying the lotion. Go ahead, give that a try. Take a before and after photo of that, and you will see about the same level of result as you do using this oleander laced face junk! If you have to convince someone that it works, well........ Good quality always speaks for itself! No convincing needed. But this product, no matter how hard someone tries to convince me, will never give quality results. Stupidity is cheap at $80, but you've got to be crazy-insane to do it again!

  • April 9, 2014

    by donnazigler

    to Susanna - Yes! I did take before pics - after over 90 days NO change in my wrinkles. Did nothing in that regard. I saw a difference in a friend who had discolorations on face improve, but that's about! My brand partner first suggested using it for 60 days, then 90 days. Now she says "give a YEAR"! WHAT???? I don't so! I was truly hoping this product worked as I have become a brand partner! I think Nerium over hypes this product.

  • April 9, 2014

    by donna

    I have been using Nerium AD for 4 month now - I purchased it to help a friend, a new Brand Partner. Almost 120 days later. I have not yet seen any reduction what so ever, in my wrinkles. And, YES, I did take before pictures! I was excited to do so and after 90 days, took my after pics! What a disappointment! Even my brand partner friend couldn't pick out the after pic. Then she said I must be using it wrong, the lighting must be the problem, I need still more time. Please! Some of these folks are in total denial and act like its your fault their product doesn't work. I'm not saying it doesn't help some people, in some ways, but don't expect the miracle they claim you will see!

  • March 29, 2014

    by Carol

    Pam Jenkins...tonight is my second night to use Nerium. I didn't notice any trouble breathing last night, but tonight within minutes of applying the cream, my breathing became very labored. I have never really had any problems with asthma or any other breathing problems with the exception of having an allergic reaction to certain foods. I actually went to the internet to see if I could find anyone else who had the same or similar reaction when using Nerium. Very strange, indeed, and I am definitely not a fan of this feeling!

  • March 26, 2014

    by Susanna

    For those of you who say you see no change, I am just wondering if you took before pictures? I saw a most DEFINITE change in the wrinkles on my neck after just a few days. I was amazed. I am not selling this product nor do I have anything to gain from it and I am very skeptical of just about any product that makes claims such as Nerium. I love it. As for toxicity, I have had no adverse reaction whatsoever to this. I believe we ingest far worse chemicals into our bodies in the processed foods, artificial sweeteners etc. that we all eat every day so it is a bit humorous to me when people freak out over something they are applying to their skin that by all accounts does not get ingested into their body, especially if it doesn't cause an adverse reactions.

  • March 25, 2014

    by Gee

    To Marta, regarding the texture of the cream....it IS thick straight from bottle as it is concentrated. There is no water added...pure ingredients. You must add water to activate.... wet or dampen your face before applying the product. Then let it air dry. Also did you take a before picture. I recently tried product after friend gave me a sample bottle to try and she insisted I do this. In seven days my husband and I both could see CONSIDERABLE difference from our before and after pictures. We have since purchased our own bottle and now after 30 days have seen CRAZY good results. Of course I realize everyone's skin is different in fact my husband has gotten way better results than me.....ugh, men. Anyway I hope this helps...if its not applied properly you won't see results. Have a great and blessed day.

  • March 21, 2014

    by Michelle

    I received a five day sample pack of Nerium after day 2 my skin did appear to have better texture , but it is only temporary also they key ingredient Oleander Plant is TOXIC and I had to be rushed to that emergency room with anaphylactic swelling in my throat and tongue cutting of my airway it is impossible to apply a product to the FACE and avoid all soft tissue If the purpose is to improve the appearance of wrinkles. This is a DANGEROUS cream if you ingest or come in contact with mucous membranes , it may be life threatening if Medical help is not quickly available. READ the research do your homework. I am very lucky to be writing this review today four days ago I was receiving IV Medication to Breath in the EMERGENCY ROOM .( I have never had a anaphylactic reaction to anything in my life . ) Over time this can NOT be SAFE as pores will absorb the toxicity of the oleander plant one can only presume....... and no research has been concluded on long term effects for a temporary fix. I like to Breath it was a terrifying experience .

  • March 15, 2014

    by Pam Jenkins

    I was wondering if anyone has had an allergic reaction? I have NOT had any trouble with asthma in several years. But, while trying Nerium, I started having problems and using and inhaler and also breathing treatments. My daughter, has had the exact same experience as me. It took me awhile to figure it out... I just thought we were having a bad winter. I stopped using Nerium for a couple of weeks and quit having problems and then started again and started the wheezing process again. Feedback?

  • March 4, 2014

    by J. Scott

    I have used NeriumAD for 3 wks plus and i see no difference or improvement
    with the wrinkles on my face. I am a 64 year old woman.
    My own opinion, it doesn't work and i believe its all about the money.

  • March 3, 2014

    by Katie

    I have been using Nerium AD for 3 months now and I did my research and have attending Real Results Parties hosted by a friend of mine selling the product.
    I found in 5 days that my exteremly dry skin was very soft and needed much less moisturizer than I normally use. I also had uneven skin tone due to years of sundamage and acne which has decreased dramatically. I have also seen a slight reduction in dark tones and wrinkles. I took my own before and after photos to see if it was working and to my amazement it really was. I was certain to use the same light, same phone and same location as I was skeptical of the before and after shots I had been shown.
    Im excited about the results, I dont plan on eating the cream and I plan to continue to use it as I do NOT want to start using Botox or other agents to look younger!!
    Sincerely, A 45 year old fan of Nerium

  • March 3, 2014

    by Clarence Jones

    I am a 74 year old man and had lots of sun damage and blotches on my scalp...After using the Nerium product for only five days, I noticed a huge improvement in the appearance of my scalp...no more botchy skin...and after
    using the product for a month, my face winkles are much less and the crow's feet appearance is gone!!! What an amazing product! and I love the soft feeling of my skin now...I believe it when they say use it for a year and you'll look 10 years younger after such use. I love the product!!! and I have had people comment on how nice my complexion is now...comments that have come out of the blue...I guess I have that "Nerium Glow" I have heard about...

  • February 24, 2014

    by diane

    My friend is a Nerium distributor who talked me into trying this product. I have been using Nerium for almost 90 days and am sorry to say I see no big results. The best thing I can say about this product is that my skin feels a little softer - that's it! I have seen in others a difference in their dark spots being diminished. My problem is not dark spots or skin tone - its wrinkles, and I have not seen any difference there. It seems to me this products works better on younger skin that still has a lot of elasticity to it (I am 60 ys. old). The before & after pics are hard to go by as there can be such a difference in how you look due to lighting, the tilt of your head and even how tired you are. For me personally, I was not impressed and especially not at an auto. ship. cost of $95 per month. I was very disappointed because who doesn't want to look younger!

  • February 1, 2014

    by Joy

    I am so curious about this product and I'm looking up all the ingredient and oh well the chemist in me is coming out.

    I actually like this product and find it effective.

    I notice the thin dusty silk mask applied at night is very effective in keeping my face moisturized and I like the froth it builds. I also like the way I sleep, it seems to allow me to sleep better. (the odor of the plant is strong and I wonder if that has something to do with it?)

    Oleander I know is a poisonous if ingested plant or oil. But so are many things that are extracted from the earth and we use all them all the time. I want to learn more about the studies on this product.

    I will continue to use the product and do my own research because ya know what? It works!

  • January 28, 2014

    by Barbara Herman

    I had used professional salon products for skin care (PCA) for years. It was a series of 6 products, 4 in the morning. 4 at night. Due to travel liquid restrictions, I needed to buy a travel pack of all 6 products which lasted approx 8 days.Needless to say it was pricey. Smelled good, felt good but was a hassle & didn't seem to do much.
    I totally disagree with the statement that NeriumAD does not work. I have the photos to prove it. Now I can easily take both the 1 oz bottles of NeriumAD night cream and the new, delightful companion day cream when I travel. They fit into the travel baggie limit as well as toothpaste and travel size hair shampoo/conditioner.
    In addition, the toxicity studies have proven that the oleander extract does not penetrate the skin/blood barrier. In fact studies show that an infant could ingest mass quantities of Nerium AD without a toxic effect. Studies done by independent lab. Not all oleander plants are toxic. The preparation is safe and EFFECTIVE.
    Occasionally, some people do have negative effects such as rash. For some it is a drawing out of their own skin toxins which then leave them with improved skin if they continue and work through it. Some people with hyper-sensitive skin may react with rash. Most of those folks know their skin and generally use the mildest, home made lotions or nothing at all. I was born a redhead with freckles and light skin color who suffered sun poisoning every summer while growing up in New York. I did not have a problem using Nerium AD.

  • January 22, 2014

    by Linda

    I used the Nerium night cream and the tip of my tongue burned and felt like it was on fire. Has anyone had the effect?
    Linda

  • January 16, 2014

    by Stephanie

    Amen, Marie!

  • January 8, 2014

    by Sara

    Does anyone take the time to do their own research anymore?

    http://www.truthinaging.com/review/nerium-oleander-nerium-ads-toxic-active

  • December 27, 2013

    by MaryA

    I must say I hate and would never again be a part of an MLM. However, a trusted friend asked if I would like to try this product for a week and said the only other product she has ever recommended is Latisse, which absolutely works and is a prescription. So, I decided to try the Nerium AD Night Cream. I have always had beautiful skin and normally don't use facial creams. I didn't expect this night cream to be effective. After 4 days, what a surprise. The fine laugh lines have diminished. My skin feels like silk and pours are indeed smaller. A very small area on the side of my mouth has a reoccurring red spot. The first application of this product showed a crystallization of that particular area and the next day and following days, that spot seems to have cleared up. So, I did the research on the internet on the product - much is inconclusive. It works for me - my face does in fact look younger. I'll use it......just don't want to be part of their MLM or be on a regular order basis.

  • December 16, 2013

    by Leah

    I think the funniest part of the scam are the before and after photos...by just tilting your chin up a hair more then the before photo and WOW the turkey neck has magically disappeared in only 13 days!!! It's a miracle, kind of like snake oil ;)

  • December 15, 2013

    by John

    I'm sorry Nerium didn't work out for you, Marta. Everyone's skin (and personal preferences) are different. As a man who needed a little help with wrinkles and skin tone I wanted something that was; effective, simple to use, reasonably priced and fragrance-free. Nerium is all of those things. I've seen so many amazing results achieved (including my own) I am a true believer. I hope you find a product that suits you as well as Nerium suits me. Warmest Regards - John

  • December 8, 2013

    by Marie

    I don't like MLMs or the hype that surrounds them, but writing that the oleander leaf will kill a child clearly shows that you haven't done any proper investigation on the form of oleander Nerium uses, nor have you investigated the benefits of oleander (one can easily google oleander risks and benefits for the whole unbiased story). Save us from self-seeking bloggers bending the truth...

  • December 4, 2013

    by John

    Watched my girlfriend and her friends get sucked in to this nightmare. They drank the Kool-Aid and ran with it. "I am going to get a Lexus!!!" Yea, reality set in quick. $1000 bucks gone. Party after party and all of their friends becoming ex-friends. Family members stopped answering the phones when they called because they were tired of being annoyed. They used the product and it did not work at all. They all thought it did and it was just the placebo effect I guess. She is now an ex, they have bickered their selves into barely tolerating each other and non of them have sniffed the exhaust of a Lexus yet and never will. MLM scam at its best.

  • November 9, 2013

    by Esperanza

    The original post I followed by Marta mentioned what a poor product this was for her (in a nut shell). Overall no results, clay like texture, compost smell..... My favorite was the attempt at a clever jab using phenylpropanol(PPA) yes used in vet medicine but its truly MOST popular use is in most over the counter cough medicines (FDA approved). Yet the fact can't be swayed to understand that this is being used topically. It also seems Marta may possibly have used it incorrectly as the clay like texture is what comes out of the bottle but is still in concentrate form so proper use would have made the cream more of a water base. You basically pump, run your fingers under water and blend together. This is then the point that you would apply to your parts you would like to use it on.
    I decided to use it on my feet as well as my face. At age 40 I don't have a crazy amount of damage to my face but nonetheless damage is damage. Of course I wanted to head age off at the pass. I did take the before and after pictures. The test week couldn't have come at a better time due to the severe cracking to both heels of my feet which caused a lot of pain. You know if you have had a similar experience the reoccurrence of cracking is even worse. Using this at night, when I woke on the 3rd day I could walk normally on my heels which I've never had this healing affect occur so quickly. Usually the laceration splits have to scab over healing (yes gross I know, this is where I wear my yrs.). I noticed the healing was being done from the inside of the cracks out. I still used my pumice stone and didn't feel I was slowing down my healing progress because of that factor of healing. I didn't have to walk on the balls of my feet anymore. It sounds cliche but I really could walk again lol. I have used this 21 days now and my feet have not re split. I have a bunion scar that is lightening tremendously well. I still am terrible at applying lotion normally to my feet except for this 1 time nightly application after a shower is an easy chore now..
    The texture of my face feels softer, smaller pores noted much improvement (another hated issue). The tone of my skin ( Hispanic tone) is much better and noticeably evening out. I look forward to my continuing use and am venturing to other body areas as I have seen crazy results with my sister in laws baby stretch marks. So although Marta may have a career in writing, blogging, etc... Proof is different with every person. Our chemical make up is as individual as our personalities. I will end by asking why Marta didn't stop using this product completely after (AT MOST ) the first initial week if she was certain the negative reactions she had were truly from it. Why torture yourself over and over again by restarting it once flair up ceased? 2 and 1/2 weeks is a bit much if it caused that much discomfort. I will add that If it was used correctly it may be suggestive that it was pulling up significant impurities to the surface of the skin to expel them. I have seen this occur in other products as well. Much luck to all individuals and their searches to THEIR personal quests for beauty, youth and just feeling comfortable in your own skin.

  • November 3, 2013

    by Linda

    I was thinking seriously of trying MeriumAd, but after reading theses comments, I have decided to save my money . It is a lot more than I wanted to pay for a product. Will try to find something better and cheaper,

  • October 18, 2013

    by clayton

    Has anyone had vertigo as a result of using Nerium?9

  • September 28, 2013

    by jackson

    This scam is so out of control. My EX girlfriend girlfriend for sucked in. She pissed off her family, lost her friends and is blind. She became a brand partner. She used the product and her skin became so reddened but said it was the sun. Her face broke out. outage spent the 1000 plus another 700 plus on parties. Got an iPad!!!! a 1700 dollar iPad. Great company.

  • September 4, 2013

    by Mariana

    I did not like the product. My skin looks worse than before using it. I would not recommend it.

  • September 4, 2013

    by Mariana

    I did not like the product. My skin looks worse than before using it..

  • September 4, 2013

    by Candace

    My understanding is Oleander is poisonous. I want to know what variety isn't. I have not been able to find it. As for the patent, you can get one for anything. That has nothing to do with safety.

  • August 1, 2013

    by Shannon

    Ok, I stand corrected. I was told by a Nerium Brand Partner that the Oleander was not poisonous. But, what I think he meant was not that the plant was not poisonous, but that the cream had no toxic effects. During their clinical trials they saw no systemic absorption. So, it never passed the skin barrier. Plus, there is such a minuscule amount of the extract in each bottle that a child would have to ingest multiple bottles (estimated at 400) to have any negative effects. Whew...you guys had me all worried and stuff since I have been using it for about 7 weeks and have been nursing the entire time. Here is a video that I found helpful:http://www.Neriumadsafety.com Thanks for the great discussion! :)

  • August 1, 2013

    by Debora

    Nancy, ALL oleander is poisonous, not just the "yellow-flowered" variety. The sap of oleander is also irritating to the skin which may explain why so many people break out from using the product. Over time, some people's skin adapts to the irritant but some people become more sensitive to the irritant.. There are people who will believe that use of a product improves their appearance with no real proof. I wonder how many users of new product take their own before and after pictures taken in controlled light with the same facial expression each time. And really compare if there is a difference in their skin?

  • July 31, 2013

    by Janie

    I used Nerium AD for three consecutive months. At the same time finishing an amazing nutritional reset program that naturally cleanses and detoxifies the body (and skin). Being mid-forty not readily using skin creams or products, I have high anticipation this would have marginal success. After almost two months, no results. Advice then suggested that the acid content in my cleanser could be counter-acting with the Nerium. I gave it another diligent try for a month, nothing.

  • July 29, 2013

    by Shannon

    There are 400 types of Oleander plant species. Nerium AD uses a non-toxic version. They did extensive testing to be sure there was no toxic effects with this product. I was unwilling to try it until I could be assured of this, since I am a breast feeding mama. They recently received their patent on the extract. I do not believe this would have happened if it was dangerous for them to use that extract. Many many people are loving it! I, personally, am liking it....verging on love. I broke out too...but once I got past that stage, it has been great. It has seemed to purge my skin of impurities. And, I like that it is concentrated and I do not have to pay for water in my product as it is pretty easy to supply that myself!

  • July 28, 2013

    by Donna

    I tried it.... two bottles. No difference in my skin. Also, during this time, I could not figure out why I was having allergy-like symptoms (itchy eyes and sneezing) until I started to research blogs regarding Nerium and side effects.

    I stopped using the product and within days, I was doing much better! Also, I did not like the smell or consistency of the product.

    Would NOT recommend this!

  • July 15, 2013

    by Marta

    Thank you for your comment Nancy. However, there is plenty of documentation that Nerium Orleander is toxic. For example, check out the US National Library of Medicine database : http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3089829/
    This study, for example, says "The common oleander is one of most poisonous plants that have been shown to contain nondigitalis cardiac glycosides. Oleander is an idiom for plants of the N. oleander L, N. indicum, and, Nerium odorum, species."
    This is unmistakably referring to Nerium Orleander.

  • July 15, 2013

    by nancy

    I have been using Nerium for a month and have noticed a tremendous difference. I to questioned oleander and researched this independently.
    "I will start with commentary pertaining to toxic plants, where one panelist (a director from one of the Poison Control Centers, who has studied the National Poison Control Center database of all reports from plant-based poison incidents) commented specifically about Nerium oleander. He shared that the term “oleander” needs to be put in a generic term. There is Nerium oleander (used in NeriumAD), which is often mistaken for a different plant called Thevetia peruviana (referred to as yellow oleander), This yellow-flowered plant is responsible for a large number of toxic reports and is often confused as oleander in a generic sense. So when you hear “Nerium oleander,” you may confuse it with a plant that has a much more poisonous, toxic reputation, when it actually is not poisonous. This toxicologist’s word of advice was to not believe everything you read on the Internet relating to plants, particularly relating to Nerium oleander."

    This MUST be applied over a dampened face, as the instruction explicitly outline.

    This is an incredible product, though no product is perfect...this one is pretty darn close.

    Nancy

  • June 28, 2013

    by john

    Ricinus communis! are they kidding? Great stuff if you want to
    kill yourself, between that and the Oleander.

  • June 27, 2013

    by laurie g

    i have just started using nerium. my question is, do you use alone or apply your neck cream or another night cream over it?

  • June 16, 2013

    by Eileen

    Is there labels on retin-A not to ingest that? What about Botox, what would happen if a child ingested that. I am more apt to apply a plant based product like Nerium to my face than use these other products. And if you really do research on Nerium's product and patient test results, you'll see people get far better results and spend far less money. I'm just a satisfied customer and so is my husband.

  • June 11, 2013

    by amanda

    Jut a quick FYI to all those concerned about skin care. One of the highest and unknown skin allergies is to Aloe. Most people have no idea they are allergic to this healing, soothing, wonderful natural plant derivative. Since Aloe is now used in SO many skin care products people have no idea that it could be the Aloe and not the other ingredients. Perhaps the best test would be to buy an actual Aloe Barbadensis plant, snip off a leave and apply the actual serum from the plant directly to skin. Keep in mind, there are different species of Aloe Plants and more to try.

    Medical Aesthetician in Oregon.

  • June 10, 2013

    by texan

    Please remember to report problems and side effects of cosmetics or drugs to the FDA at http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedWatch/HowToReport/default.htm

  • June 7, 2013

    by Karen

    I am one of those people who just loves products that actually work. I have never had a good experience with any products I have purchased on TV-I also am careful about what I put on my skin because I break out so easily just from eating gluten and sugar. My hair lady told me she had been using the Nerium for a month and really liked it-i actually thought she looked brighter like she had a glow-so i asked her where to get it and tried it. After about a week, it was really astonishing o ,e jyst how much better my face looked. Over thee next few weeks, it continued to get better and better-my wrinkles around my eyes and the red blotches on my face were almost completely gone! I do not sell it, just a very happy customer-it really worked for me.

  • May 25, 2013

    by Brandon Miller

    Let's see your before and after pictures.
    I have before and after pictures that show several lines that have significantly been reduced after one week of use.

    Also, it's important to follow the directions and dampen your face before applying it. Also, use 4-5 pumps per night.

    Another point is that you're not supposed to ingest Nerium AD.

    A friend said that her face broke out after using it, but then it went away.

    So, the bottom line is that:
    1. I have results (and I'm only 31 years old)
    2. You're not supposed to ingest it, which is where the toxic warnings are talking about
    3. Did I mention that I have results after one week of using it as it says to?

  • April 19, 2013

    by colleen

    I've been using Nerium for 3 months. I have a keloid scar on my chest. I noticed after my first use that the scar looked smaller and less stressed. After 3 months, it is about half the size. I have another friend who has seen the same results. As for my face, I wouldn't say it makes my skin glow, but I do see some bumps I've had for many years disappearing, pores getting smaller, and discoloration going away (I am 45). I think like with everything, it only helps if the compounds in it target the problem you have. And, you should only use it if it is compatible with your skin.

  • April 19, 2013

    by Kadi Strickenberger

    I am sorry to say but Nerium ruined my skin. I wish I would have taken a before and after picture. My skin looks worse than ever. I've broken out and have red splotches all over. To be fair, I tried the product for 60 days. After the first two weeks I started breaking out excessively and I thought my skin just needed to get used to it and it would calm down but it got worse and worse. I now am getting an expensive laser treatment done to help with the damage. I wish I had never tried this product. I got excited by all the hype. I had some uneven pigmentation I was tried to even out. I would LOVE that to be my only skin issue at present.

  • April 18, 2013

    by The Old Wolf

    This is a very straightforward and objective review of the latest questionable health product to get a buzz. Whether it's Dr. Oz and his green coffee extract, Açaí berries, pomegranite juice, or kombucha, there will always be something to be hawked when there is money to be made from the gullible. It appears that most of the defenders here have something to gain from selling it ("anyone who wants to try this, please contact me", etc.). Thank you for this honest evaluation which by some miracle rose to the first page of Google, instead of the myriad "Is Nerium AD a Scam? Read this shocking exposé!" articles, which promote themselves with black-hat SEO techniques and then go on to hawk the selfsame product. Mad props to you.

  • April 18, 2013

    by Robin

    go to ... neriumsafety.com
    Ok what is Retin-A's and Renova and Botox? They are chemicals and a poison.
    Any of these things can react to your face as well. Like peeling when you use Retin-A .

  • April 15, 2013

    by Susan M.

    I was doing some online research and came across this website and decided to post a comment. I am a Consultant for Drs. Rodan & Fields which are the two doctor who created Proactiv Acne Solution and is now the #1 selling acne product worldwide!! The two doctors have now created a whole anti-aging skincare line that has been clinically proven with clinical trial at Stanford University. For further information please feel free to contact me at susanrandf@gmail.com.

  • April 14, 2013

    by Vicki N

    Thank you for the review on NeriumAD. I am a licensed master aesthetician and I have searched and searched for scientific evidence backing this product with no avail. The company did tell me that the oleander does not penetrate the skin. Ok that's fine and dandy but in order to see change in the skin, we have to have skincare products that can penetrate to the dermal layer where the live tissue is. I say stick to Vitamin C, Aha's, and Retinol. Try ImageSkincare. It's affordable and paraben free and it works!

  • April 13, 2013

    by Brooke

    First of all.... wake up everyone! Wikipedia is NOT a reliable source for real information, since it can be edited by ANYONE! Even you, even me! Second of all.... is anyone aware of the GMO situation? Genetically Modified Organisms in MOST of our food..... do you know how much research was done on GMO's? Nearly NONE! Does anyone really think that there's any real research on this cream either! Save your life, go 100% organic and don't fall for schemes..... wanna live longer and look younger? Eat Raw Vegan Or Paleo and don't eat GMO's!

  • April 3, 2013

    by Mary

    I have been using it for months on and off. I do not use it around my eyes anymore since I have had dry scaly skin on my lids since I have been using Nerium. Recently I also have dry patches of skin on my chin which I have not had prior to using Nerium however they seem to appear if I leave Nerium on in am when I walk in cold weather outside. My eyes continue to peel. Howver I love Nerium...when I do use it my skin looks brighter and I look younger.I am addicted to it.

  • March 24, 2013

    by Bob

    The same cast of characters, albeit this time with some very normal looking front people, appear to "be at it again." This is nothing new. What is new though appears to be their attitude that the FDA has no teeth when it come to $110/bottle skin cream.

    Here's the result of their last ill-fated venture:
    http://www.fda.gov/ohrms/dockets/dockets/95s0316/rpt0037_01.pdf

  • March 21, 2013

    by Nat Dion

    Prescription retinoids are FDA approved and cheaper, why take risks with a poisonous and allergenic plant? Reach for Retin-A or Renova, ladies!

  • March 14, 2013

    by Erin

    I used it for a 30 days. GREAT for anti-aging. Terrible for my skin (and yes, I followed the rules for what other products not to use with this). This product caused significant irritation and acne, that did not get better. It only got worse and I was not willing to go beyond 30 days under those conditions. I wish that had not happened because I loved the anti-aging results. And, I really did get those comments that said "you look different. Something is - - different - - you look younger.

  • March 12, 2013

    by Karen Hayes

    Been using it for 3 months.
    I have eyelids when before the skin drooped over. I have much smaller pores. My jowls have receeded.My skin tone is brighter more even. I am 57 I have never experienced this much benefit in a skin care cream. I LOVE IT.

  • March 12, 2013

    by Monica

    This is most helpful. I am so glad you have posted great resourced information. I have been on the fence with this product as I just recently learned of it. Yes, I can be convinced with before and after pictures but it is concerning of the toxic ingredient. And one of their "marketing claims" is that it was developed from trying to find a cure for cancer. That does not make a product safe. I would not recommend chemotherapy to a friend who is pregnant or nursing. To those "for" the creme...I hope with think behind the marketing claims and show this "Research that has been done". If you are going to be entrusting its benefits and safety by offering it to friends and family, I hope you ensure you have accurate information. Thank you again for the great article.

  • March 11, 2013

    by Jen

    I gave Nerium 90 days and saw no results -- if anything my skin was actually WORSE because I stopped using Retin-A while using Nerium. Thank you for posting this review. It's very hard to find reviews of Nerium from people who are not selling it.

  • March 8, 2013

    by Moe

    Is Oleander toxic? Yes... But.. So are many medications that you recieve by prescription from your doctor. The difference is in amount. It is the amount of a toxic substance that you use that defines it as toxic or beneficial. FACT... Aspirin is toxic.. Tylenol is toxic....chemotherapy is toxic... But in the right amounts we have substances that can eradicate fever, pain, save your heart, and destroy cancer cells. Get educated people. Dont assume you know everything..

  • March 6, 2013

    by Kathleen

    I tried it for about 10 days and broke out. I'm 52 years old and when I get pimples they stay FOREVER. Anyway...I had to stop using it. My skin is still recoverying and its been over a week since I stopped using it.

  • March 4, 2013

    by Stef

    First of all, the reason it had a "clay texture" when you put it on is becasue you are supposed to apply it to a DAMP face. Not eveyone is going to like every product. I have been using Nerium for 3 weeks with great results. As far as toxicity, if you ingest ANY face cream, chances are you are going to get sick. My plan is to put it on my face, not eat it. Research has been done that proves that Nerium does not enter into your blood stream. But like I said, everyone has different reactions to different products. I think that needed to be said in your post instead of just slamming Nerium.

  • March 3, 2013

    by Mae

    Have been using for 11/2 weeks and if anything I am noticing the pores are slightly smaller, but no other changes. I actually like the tighting feel when it dryes-that seems to continue thru the next day. Don't mind the smell or texture. Did not know anything about this until right now after reading about it on line. A friend gave me the sample bottle. I think I will buy a full size and at least use it before making a final decision.

  • March 1, 2013

    by Julie Kay

    Well, I'm thoroughly creeped out and have no compulsion whatsoever to try this cream. My goodness! ~jk

  • February 28, 2013

    by Pat

    I have been using Nerium Ad for several months now and have not had an adverse reaction at all - maybe because no one told me that was a possibility?? My skin is very prone to breakouts & adverse reactions, but haven't seen any here.
    As to results - I don't see miraculous changes, but there is improvement in fine lines and wrinkles. In fact, a dark spot I had on my face from a previous injection is lightening and going away.
    I like that I only need the one product instead of a few - with this, I don't use toner, I don't use a serum and then a moisturizer like I used to - just the application of Nerium. So, while a bit pricey by itself, it still saves me money overall. And, no, I am not on Nerium payroll. I am a small business owner and my business has nothing to do with anything related to skin care or cosmetics.

  • February 28, 2013

    by Kate

    4 days after I started Nerium, I began to have digestive problems (diarrhea) that I had never experienced before. This went on for 2 months.until a Doctor helped it to stop. I then contracted a mysterious Kidney infection that caused severe lower and side back pain that would not go away and kept getting worse. I was admitted to the hospital because this particular infection was resistant to antibiotics. After 3 days in the hospital having intravenous antibiotics the infection finally went away. However, the extreme (10 out of a possible 10 in pain level) remained and was quite debilitating to the point that I needed to walk with a cane and a walker while in the hospital. After many tests and blood work, it was discovered that the mysterious Kidney infection had triggered an auto immune disease called Fibromyalgia that had engulfed my entire body.. The bottoms of my feet felt as if I were walking on hot coals and every muscle was screaming in pain and my nerves became more and more inflamed. I was treated with morphine for the duration of my 4 day hospital stay and was released because my insurance would not pay for more days. After the morphine wore off the pain has come back with a vengeance (10+ on the pain scale) and I have been put on a strong steroid drug called Prednisone, Lyrica, and Cymbalta, all over $600 per 30 day regimen. I keep having unusual dreams that Nerium is the culprit, as i was completely healthy and active before I started using the product. As for facial results, I noted a bit of an improvement after 3 weeks and then it seemed that the product is thinning my skin which is causing odd little layers of skin under my eyes that I had not had before. Further, the company sends me another bottle and charges $9.95 to mail it and it still takes 7 days to arrive regardless of that price. I have been using the product since Dec. 20, 2012, and have only gone through 1 bottle and few days into a new one. I feel it is distasteful the way the company is about sell, sell, sell, and how the brand partners are almost ravenous to get us to sell the product as well. My pharmacist gave me my first bottle and then became so aggressive about my becoming a brand partner along with him that I fired him so he would stop harassing me. For all of those who are thriving thanks to Nerium AD, I commend you, And for all of those who are experiencing strange and mysterious issues after using the product for a few days, listen to your body. I didn't use Nerium last night and I finally had a decent nights sleep without the Nerium nightmares. Take what you will from my report...this product obviously is not for everyone, especially the super sensitive's who feel and react to anything caustic. I don't know how long it will take me to heal, (or if I ever will) or if Nerium is behind my symptoms, I only know what my instincts tell me. What I do know is that I was thriving until I began using Nerium AD.

  • February 26, 2013

    by donna

    I once got mrsa on my chin, I had a depressed immune system, and I want to try this nerium stuff, but my body has changed, I am now 60, and I am afraid I'll be one of those who has a nasty reaction, I really do want to try it, but, I think our skin shows what shape our health is, and for me using something that I already know is giving some people a reaction, even tho' it could be bogus, I don't want to take a chance, there's enough products out there for the same money that do not seem to punish the skin

  • February 26, 2013

    by Shar

    I have been using this product for 20 days with some results. My friend that gave it to me to try has been using it for 35 days with great results! The problem I am having is deciding weather I should become a Brand Leader. My friend is and is doing well so far, but seeing all of the negitive sides to this poisonous plant I am starting to reconsider using it further and becoming a distributor. I do realize there are a number of things on the market that give anti aging results but I also know it depends on the individual. I am allergic to a lot of face creams for certain ingredients. I have yet to notice any reaction to Nerium.

  • February 21, 2013

    by kym

    I have been using Nerium AD for a little over 2 months now. I have not noticed an improvement in my skin or the fine lines at all. In fact, I almost think my skin looks worse. In all fairness though, the 2 friends who convinced me to try it have had great results. Like any product, I guess it works on some, but not all.

  • February 17, 2013

    by stephani

    after a week of use i had a horrible allergic reaction to nerium ad. my eyes swelled almost shut and were itchy, red and dry. i stopped using it.

  • February 14, 2013

    by Luis Gilberto

    Five days in to it; so far noted results positive. The toxicity element is worrisome. Jury still out as to whether to continue.

  • February 13, 2013

    by Mary Jo

    Just started using it. Only for 2 days. A patient gave it to me. I guess I will see what happens.

  • February 12, 2013

    by Beauty Bandit

    ASH, perhaps you're hoping we'll do our research on the Nerium website instead of with doctors and scientists that aren't on the Nerium-payroll?

    This is from the US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health stating that Nerium Oleander is extremely poisonous.

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3089829/

  • February 12, 2013

    by susieq

    Yes, Pam! Please update on your opinion. I want to know your result! Thanks!

  • February 8, 2013

    by Pam K

    I think you do need to do more research. I am trying this product for the first time, as of yesterday.
    Like most things, especially when it comes to skin, it is normal for skin to react. I firmly believe in giving it 30 days, you aren't whitening your teeth chair side and getting results in an hour. After my 30 days I'd love to share my results and even post my before, med and final pictures. Anyone interested in trying this please feel free to let me know!

  • February 4, 2013

    by Darrell

    Ash,
    So when I read on Wikipedia and elsewhere that "Nerium Oleander" is, "toxic in all its parts," is that a false statement?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nerium ...of course Wiki also states that Nerium Oleander has been mentioned in ancient texts and used as many years back in medicinal practices.

    With a quick search I also see that poison ivy lays claim to the same healing properties and also appears in texts dating back hundreds of years -- I wouldn't put that on my face either.

    Just because something is natural and was used and/or mentioned in medicinal texts hundreds (or thousands) of years ago does not mean it is safe or effective -- though a good mention by some Druids certainly does lend well to a marketing claim these days.

  • February 4, 2013

    by Ash

    Don't confuse it with just oleander. It is made with Nerium Oleander and aloe. Nerium oleander has been used for healing for hundreds of years. Do better research.

Comments are now closed on this post
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...