Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Nerium Oleander - Nerium AD’s Toxic Active

October 3, 2013 Reviewed by Marta 83 Comments

Several of you have written in to ask if we know about and have a view on a newish serum called Nerium AD. I have been given a sample of the Night Cream ($110), but before giving it a try felt that I should do some research into its unusual and very controversial active ingredient and the company behind it.

What Is Nerium Oleander - the Key Ingredient in Nerium AD?

Nerium AD’s key ingredient is a beautiful, but also deadly plant, the Nerium Oleander. This flowering shrub, evocative of New Orleans and Billy Holiday, is commonly used for roadside landscaping due to its forgiving nature towards poor soil. It is also extremely toxic and one leaf can kill a child (source).

Is Nerium Oleander Toxic?

The American Cancer Society unequivocally describes the oleander plant as “poisonous,” and adds “many people have died of heart failure or respiratory paralysis after eating parts of the plant or drinking tea made from it.” Although I found one published report of a death as a result of oral oleander extract, very few toxic events in humans have been reported. According to the Toxic Exposure Surveillance System (TESS) in 2002, there were 847 human exposures to oleander reported to poison centers in the United States. Despite this exposure level, from 1985 through 2005, only three deaths were reported, according to Wikipedia.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest product reviews and save 10% on all orders over $50

Still, toxic it is. So what’s it doing in my face cream? Well, it has been used in folk medicine for centuries to treat a variety of ailments. Researchers have established that the key components are cardiac glycosides, one of which is called oleandrin. And then Anvirzel burst on the scene, claiming to be a breakthrough cancer-curing drug based on nerium oleander extract. The company behind Anvirzel is Nerium Biotechnology – the same company that makes Nerium AD.

In test tube studies, Anvirzel appeared to slow the growth of human bladder cancer cells. But “carefully dosed” people with cancer did not demonstrate that Anvirzel helped them. In the end, it was not approved by the FDA. Oleander leaf is on Germany’s regulatory agency list of unapproved herbs as it has not been proven to be safe or effective. However, all hope for oleander’s curative powers are not lost as the National Cancer Institute instigated a new trial of Anvirzel earlier this year.

Does Nerium AD Work As an Anti-Ager?

Since, so far, Nerium Biotechnology hasn’t made it big on the anti-cancer front, it seems to be trying its hand at anti-aging cosmetics. Fair enough, but I wasn’t able to find any evidence that nerium oleander extract works as a wrinkle-repair ingredient or any other form of anti-aging for the skin.

Furthermore, Wikipedia cites studies in which “a nerium oleander extract was applied to the skin of people with different dermal conditions, sensitive mass spectrometry based blood analyses were not able to detect the presence of cardiac glycosides such as oleandrin, indicating that these compounds are not readily absorbed through the skin.”

So, I am facing a  poisonous, failed (so far) cancer drug that doesn’t penetrate the skin and is a potential irritant – apparently skin irritation from contact with oleander has occurred and allergies are possible (source). As well as being unproven as an anti-ager (I haven’t even found a single other instance of nerium oleander being used in a cosmetic product), this doesn’t inspire a whole lot of confidence.

To read my review of Nerium AD after testing it, click here

For some recommended alternatives to Nerium AD, see:

Also see:

sign up for our newsletter

  • August 10, 2014

    by Carol

    I find that Nerium makes a lot of boasts about just having to use one product as a cure-all for your skin yet there are no clinical trials to back that up. There are unique testimonials but Nerium has only recently hit the anti-aging multi-level marketing scene after the FDA refused to approve it as a cancer drug. I would be very careful using anything the FDA has rejected, regardless of the intent of the original product or its subsequent use, especially if sold through MLM where there are no rules. Not to mention the company is NOT an approved member of the Direct Sales Association.

  • August 5, 2014

    by New chick

    Rhubarb, cashews, poinsettias - all have poisonous properties.
    There are SO MANY natural products that can give you a rash/cause adverse reactions. Can't just throw this under the bus because of a poisonous plant.

  • July 20, 2014

    by Christine

    Well, R+F products also contain toxic ingredients. Rejuvity is the only skin care line I know of that is truly clean and pure and nontoxic while at the same time employing the most advanced anti-aging skin care technology in the world. And the ingredients are posted right next to the product online so people can see what's in it right up front.

  • July 18, 2014

    by Jeana

    Just my 2 cents - Nerium has completely changed the way my skin looks and feels. I am not allergic and have no side effects. People who have known me for years are asking me what I'm doing to my skin and no - I'm not trying to sell it or get anyone to sign up. Just using the night and day cream. A lot of people are sensitive to skin products. Find one that works for you and use it.

  • June 10, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Dawn, I did review the product and there is a link to it in large orange type at this end of this article. If you take a look, you will find that I too had an adverse allergic reaction. Here is the URL for my product test results: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/nerium-ad-night-cream-reviewed-and-rejected

  • June 10, 2014

    by Dawn

    I also find this article to be very one-sided. The writer says she received a sample but no where does she say if she used it and if so, what the results were.

    I tried the Rodan+Fields products a few years ago; and within 3 days, I had a horrible reaction that caused large painful red welts to come up on my face. It took over a week after I stopped using the products for them to subside.

    I've been using Nerium for about a week with no bad side effects at all. I can already see an improvement in my facial skin tone.

    Don't just read one article and make a decision. Do a lot of research and make an informed decision.

  • June 6, 2014

    by MC

    I definitely DO NOT recommend Neruim Ad. I used a SMALL amount on my crows feet and lower jaw area and within an hour I started getting a red, puffy face. My throat started to swell and I started to feel ill. I immediately tried rinsing my face hoping to wash off any of the cream not absorbed. The next morning I started to feel better and the swelling has gone down, but my face was still a nice shade of 'hot pink'. Fortunately, it is summer and it looks like a sun burn.

    I am an gal who is very careful of what I eat and put on my body and totally disappointed I even considered using this product. I should have done more research and would have found this product had many side-effects. There are many other products out there that are reputable and safe to use. I continue my search.

  • June 5, 2014

    by veronica

    jen,
    it shouldnt feel like your putting honey on, you applied it wrong. your face should be damp.

  • June 1, 2014

    by Samantha

    Nerium had horrible side effects to me didnt do anything different, and started getting heart palpitations and dizzyness, problems breathing, my skin looked really nice but side effects didnt dissapear until 8 days used it again and it came back, for some people it works some it doesnt, but the doc told me i am alergic!

  • May 28, 2014

    by shannon

    Amy as per your comment - Rodan+Fields is MUCH better!! FDA approved and has a 60 day money back guarantee. The FDA does not approve cosmetics FDA is Food and Drug approved and cosmetics are neither. Your products maybe FDA compliant which are many other cosmetics. There are many incredible stories regarding different products on the market and people all have different skin types and different strokes for different folks. I use a product not listed in this discussion and I think its in bad taste for other companies to say their products are better...how do you know this to be true? If you like the product use it and if you don't find one you like but at no time should another company representative make statements about their products being better just to try and sell their product, I find that in total bad taste and is a turn off. I beleive the world has enough customers for all of us that we shouldn't have to bash other companies...enough said!

  • May 20, 2014

    by Jen

    I purchased both the Nerium AD Day & Night Cream. I received my shipment on a Monday and started using it the next day. I really didn't care for the texture of the night cream. It was like trying to spread honey on your face.
    After 4 days of use, the 5th day my face started swelling and breaking out! I immediately discontinued use. It's been 2 days now and my face still looks terrible. I hope it clears up soon. Anyone else had this reaction?

  • May 7, 2014

    by rick

    Have been using Nerium AD fro a while now and only great results for my skin and over all well being.
    My wife, who uses Nerium AD has heart disease and you would think her Doctor would advise her differently if it was a threat to her health.

  • May 6, 2014

    by tj

    My mother was given Nerium as a gift. She used it for about 3 days. I was visiting when she told me about feeling dizzy. I asked her what she was doing differently and she told me she was taking the Nerium. My mother is a heart attack survivor . She hasn't had any problems since her surgery. She is in better health than the average 78 year old. I asked her to stop using the Nerium. She did and the dizzy spells stopped. I know you will say that it was a coincident and I souldn't blame the Nerium, but this was the only thing she had done differently and once she stopped using Nerium the dizziness was gone. I also know that studies show that it is not absorbed through the skin, but something happened to my mother while using Nerium. HEART PATIENTS BEWARE

  • May 5, 2014

    by naturalist

    I usually don't comment on these but to the comment above that states its not toxic unless the child has so much Nerium, well the same thing is said about toothpaste and fluoride yet they have direct link to poison control? Hmm? For me, any toxic amount is not worth it especially IF there are other natural safe options. Also, just because a company sells alot of there product does not give credibility to the fact they it is toxic. Snuggle dryer sheet sales are high but have you read the ingredients on the back? It states on the box DO not overdose. My health is worth more then a quick fix for what society believes to be beautiful.

  • May 3, 2014

    by jim

    I got this for my wife for mothers day we just received it and she tried it two nights ago. Last night I tried it myself. I woke up unable to breath! Knowing that I haven't changed my diet and I'm fairly healthy good blood rates low cholesterol no smoking or alcohol. Not a marathoner but decent 48 yr old health , close to my weight. I thought what's in this stuff only thing I have changed in my life. I knew it had oleander in it and that it was toxic but thought it would be in great amounts. I may just be very sensitive to it ,allergy to it? But I'm done with it. I hope I'm the one in a million freak! I woke up from a dead sleep and could not get my lungs to move. Not couldn't catch my breath, not sure how long it was, then little breaths then back on line. Nothing sense. That was 2:30 this morning. Becareful

  • May 1, 2014

    by Ricky

    Hi. I think your article is highly wrong and misguiding. You forgot to mentioned this about the child killing Nerium Oleander is this "Toxic Principle: Oleandrin and neriine are two very potent cardiac glycosides (cardenolides) found in all parts of the plant. Red flowered varieties of oleander appear to be more toxic. Oleander remains toxic when dry. A single leaf can be lethal to a child eating it, although mortality is generally very low in humans"

    Do you know how much of the extract is in each bottle of Nerium AD!, a child needs to eat, 400 bottles of Nerium AD in order to reach non-lethal levels of the Oleandrin. So before giving an "honest" opinion, I think you should go back and present both sides of the coin, not just the only one that will benefit you the most.

    As of now, Nerium AD has sold more than 400 million in 30 months. That says a lot, I think if the product didn't work it wouldn't sell the way it is.

  • April 26, 2014

    by Lacy

    so.. 3 weeks, it didn't cure cancer but its going to infest you with toxic chemicals? please provide more information? thank you

  • April 24, 2014

    by pajos

    I also have been doing a lot of research on this product. I have a good friend selling it, and have decided to pass. Oddly enough, I have actually found that Crisco is good on skin. I also have discovered many recipes using oils. Crunchy Betty and Annmarie Gianni both have nice skincare products made from oils. I think I will pass on the Nerium AD. As a 59 year old woman looking for the "pot of gold" in anti-aging potions, I will stick to the basics.

  • March 5, 2014

    by CC

    Everything you put on the skin is absorbed by the body. Toxic chemicals / poisonous plant extracts etc. Period.

    "Medical research indicates that many cosmetic ingredients include carcinogenic (cancer-causing) substances and that they do indeed penetrate the skin and wind up in our blood. This means that we are exposing ourselves internally, to a whole host of chemicals that would never be allowed to be ingested as a food or a drug but are winding up in our body nonetheless.

    Many of these body care products don’t cause immediate reactions but can slowly build up in us through repeated use over time."

    http://www.thenewsherald.com/articles/2013/06/06/ile_camera/localnews/
    doc51a67839c14c6578254558.txt

    Has Nerium AD produced studies of long term side effects? No

  • March 4, 2014

    by sandra

    The FDA does not review or approve any cosmetic products. Nerium follows all FDA regulations in regards to cosmetics.

    Just a thought....... Look at all the poisons that the FDA allows in our food supply.
    Things that make you go Huh?

    And by the way when you use nerium it should be applied to a wet face. It contains no water because It would inactivate the ingredients that make it so good. The serums you buy in the department store are about 3/4 water.

  • February 28, 2014

    by jessie

    This review is VERY helpful. I am a Rodan and Fields Anti age consultant and I am always needed to learn the new anti age products in the market. Nerium launched and had many of our potential customers questioning which one to buy. I have found that 90% of them will go with R+F and not Nerium. I really can't imagine Nerium being okay to keep in your home especially if you have small children.

  • February 17, 2014

    by Kim

    I've been using it for about 3 weeks and have seen no results at all. Had high hopes for this product.

  • February 14, 2014

    by lyn

    I have used Nerium and find incredible results, especially compared to any other product out there. As an organic grower, knowledge of herbs, ayervedic and chinese healing, often toxic plants are used in an array of ways and concentrations to create healing in our bodies. In fact, often these have the best antiviral and antioxidant values when used in proper concentration. The things currently in our skin care, botox and other alternatives are toxic as well. I am a strong believer that plants and food are our best medicines for we are made of these kingdoms. I am not so sure because eating it kills you, is such a accurate judgment on using them topically and in proper concentration. Plants are hear to heal us and would rather use the gift of plants versus the chemicals offered to heal and support our system. They find all drugs in the rain forest first. We all can chose what works for us, the beauty of individual choice.

  • January 23, 2014

    by Mabusmom

    Just got offered the free five days, did not realize oleander is toxic, one overnight use of nerium and my eyes swelled! Washed it off and my face had a burning sensation for two days! Would not recommend putting anything toxic on our largest absorbing organ. I feel dumb that I fell for it and hated the outcome of one use!! Definitely will do better research BEFORE I put something on my face in the future! Good luck if you like it- not for me.

  • December 3, 2013

    by Michele

    I used nerium ad for 2 mos. was not impressed so cancelled. Since I had not finished the bottle I continued to use it and the skin around my eyes became very dried, wrinkled, puffy with red circles under my eyes. I immediately stopped using it. I would never recommend it.

  • November 19, 2013

    by Sabrina Bezerra

    In my opinion, your skin is the largest organ that protects your other organs. Anything you put on your skin will be absorbed. If you can't eat it you shouldn't put it on your skin. Beautiful skin comes from staying out of the sun. Drinking plenty of alkaline water helps to hydrate your skin. Using organic coconut cooking oil once a week on your face before bed. Diet contributes a lot to how your skin feels and looks. The more you drink, do drugs, drink alcohol, smoke, eat too much meat, eat too much fried food, etc contributes to aging. This is just my opinion. We are all in the beauty Olympics. Asians have a beauty remedy, they cook a swallows nest in soup because the spit in the nest is suppose to make you more beautiful. Does it work? Who knows. It's quite expensive. Four tiny nest is over $100. I recently saw a movie on Netflix where this Asian actress was drinking fetus dumping soup because its suppose to reverse aging. We live in a very vain world. If smearing a poisonous plant on your face will make you younger and make you a lot of money at the same time, why not?!

  • October 3, 2013

    by lori

    I have used Nerium for only a few weeks and it is pretty awesome for ME. This is just my personal opinion. My face s very sensitive and Nerium has done great.

  • September 19, 2013

    by Amy

    Rodan+Fields is MUCH better!! FDA approved and has a 60 day money back guarantee. The night serum is only $80 for a 2 month supply. Rodan+Fields is also reintroducing a roller that can penetrate the skin and allow for faster results. It's AMAZING!!!

  • September 17, 2013

    by Dianne Vincent

    The Oleander causes an inflammatory response in the body that puffs up the skin.
    This causes aging of the skin over the long term because it is a constant irritant and the skin cells work over time to do their best at repairing the damage.

  • September 10, 2013

    by David

    With a "biologist" sharing his knowledge (or lack thereof) about the 127 year old Direct Sales industry vs "Pyramid scheme"....and people discussing the smell being "horrendous, initially and throughout the night, once applied, it actually had awaken me." considering the smell dissipates and disappears within 15-20 mins, I would actually be questioning the lack of integrity of this site to begin with based on the FACTS of substantially more positive and raving reviews than negative ones.

    I have no problems with people expressing their opinions and personal reviews, however for one to have any form of credibility when doing so, should ALWAYS include the positives of what it is they are reviewing otherwise it renders the review one sided and subjective while showcasing the lack of any actual true research and simply becomes a self proclaimed expert.

    I AM curious however, with the "extensive" homework and review...how is it that there are literally hundreds of MEDICAL Estheticians, Doctors, Dermatologists, and other skin care/industry EXPERTS with decades of experience continue to promote the wellness and effectiveness of NeriumAD? Are we to assume that the knowledge based opinions that are seen here, which are 100% SUBJECTIVE, supercede those who have dedicated 20-40 years of their life and provide 100% OBJECTIVE proof and reviews?

  • September 5, 2013

    by Kristine Carlson

    I use Nerium and love it. I've tried all sorts of skin care and think this is a wonderful product. With all the harmful toxins in the air we breathe, as long as I'm not putting Nerium in my smoothie with my kale, I should be just fine. Botox has got to be far more toxic than this night cream.

  • August 13, 2013

    by Sandy

    Biotech supposedly has a "patented" antioxidant that is used in NeriumAD. Has anyone been able to prove or disprove this claim? I have been approached by a seller of Nerium and have been to a couple of home "wrinkle" parties as well as a couple marketing parties. From what I have witnessed so far, thousands of people are selling this cool-aid!!

  • August 13, 2013

    by Renee

    I have been using this product for a week now and I love it. I naturally have oily skin with large pores and acne (age 25). I do not mind the smell and have even been using the cream morning and night. I can see improvements in my skin quality: decreased pore size, decreased acne, even complexion, decreased oil. Overall I am extremely pleased with this product and will continue to use it.

  • August 11, 2013

    by Lindsey

    I used the product for the first time last night and actually thought it smelled delicious (like honey?) In any event, there was a noticeable difference I saw this morning in reduced lines around my eyes after this first application. I'll stick it out for another few days during my 'trial' period to see if it continues to improve my skin, but with the results overnight, I'm already pleased with the product. Also, I like the idea of narrowing down the products I use if one can provide similar (or better) benefits to those in several I'm already using (eye cream, night serum, etc.)

  • July 26, 2013

    by Mimi

    I tried this product two hours ago. The smell was unbearable. But that wasn't the worst part. I put it around my eyes, and I could literally see skin under my eyes forming a wrinkle. It is anti-aging, right? I washed it off and threw the product in the trash.
    WILL NOT recommend this product to anyone.

  • July 25, 2013

    by Denise

    I too, tried it for a friend selling the cool-aid. The smell is so horrendous, initially and throughout the night, once applied, it actually had awaken me. When I washed my face in the morning, I notice a redness, tingling, and then intense itching and dryness that day. Once was enough. This product seems to be harmful for me.

  • July 8, 2013

    by John

    Being a biologist I was initially concerned about my wife wanting to put the extract of a poisonous plant on her face. My initial concerns centered around very vague research studies, including the lack of any long term studies (5+ years) that showed effects of this cream on human skin. Those who pitch this product overlook the commonly known issues with the oleander extract itself and use photographs, which may or may not have been manipulated, to support their claim that it works. Additionally, with any networking-base product like this (see Amway & pyramid schemes) the primary focus is on getting people signed up, as in this business model it's more important to get new people than anything else. That's what the money (see Pyramid Scheme) is based on.

    But back to the biology of it all. There are no long term studies that prove or disprove this product works. There are no long term studies that show whether the underlying skin cells are damaged as a result of the active ingredient, if it's of sufficient quantity to actually be absorbed. And if it isn't then that warrants investigation in to false advertising.

    All things being equal, this cream caused a rash on my wife's skin within two days of application. So I threw the bottle in the trash. Not worth it, don't believe it, won't use it.

  • July 6, 2013

    by Milan


    This expose only discusses oleander in general and one active phyto-compound - oleandrin. It says nothing about Nerium's active ingredient and rightfully so because the author knows nothing about it. Plants contain many active compounds and without knowing what is in Nerium, no comment can be made.

  • June 18, 2013

    by Bella M

    Tried it. The smell itself was horrible. I prefer Cindy Crawford meaningful beauty.

  • May 30, 2013

    by SR

    I tried Nerium for 5 days and was thinking about purchasing to support a friend, who was so enthusiastic about the product. However, I am one of those people who is experiencing undesirable effects on the delicate skin around the eyes so I discontinued use. I appreciate the company allows a free trial of their product.

  • April 26, 2013

    by Cassie

    I'm absolutely in love with this product! I works wonders and its safe! Everyone is always overly skeptical abut newer products especially ones that work this well! There are different types of people in this world....ones that want to "Drink water" to prevent aging and the ones that use Creams to help their skin look and feel youthful. I chose Nerium;)

  • April 18, 2013

    by KellyJ

    Easy solution...wash with honey, add in some organic oatmeal for an exfoliating paste, moisturize sparingly with Organic coconut oil...voila...all that jazz and its really ALL NATURAL and under $15.00

  • April 17, 2013

    by Vickie

    I am a Licensed Esthetician, I know from experience that there is not a "one size fits all" product. Depending on our age, genetics, lifestyles and climates that we live in our skin needs different products to deliver nourishment. I personally think that if the ingredients are questionable that it shouldn't be used. I will not be trying it, my skin is the only skin I have. The long term effects of this product have not been determined. There are many skin care products that the FDA has not banned here in the United States that have been banned in Europe for decades. Europe is 15+ years ahead of us in skin care. Do your research, be smart, think for yourselves. I have found in this world if it is too good to be true it usually is and most everything comes at a price. I wouldn't want that price to be my skin based on a few before and after photos!!! Talk to experts, not the person who is selling it to make a profit off of you!!!! The best things that you should do for your skin are: drink plenty of water, get plenty of rest, eat a healthy diet, do things that make you happy, meditate and use products that nourish and protect your skin.

  • April 7, 2013

    by Kenny

    Just started using nerium 3rd day...but after reading most these comments I'm left with about a 40% don't recommend .. 30% love it 20% allergic 10% worsened effects. $100 month ? As long as there's someone who thinks a topical cream will reverse years of oxidative damage and reduced collagen and elastin simply due to the natural aging process.. (look at a 5 yr old skin) it will sell. Facts some oils, humectants, emollient and plant extracts will not reverse decades of cellular and DNA programmed division. Every decade a hand full of companies market dermatological crap in a pretty bottle with hopes of looking younger.... Just seems no one is getting wiser as they age.

  • April 3, 2013

    by R S

    Nerium has not been through any FDA testing and reps who make that claim can lose their business line.

  • April 1, 2013

    by Linda

    I don't know what to think of the product but it does worry me there are just to many unanswered questions. I believe it is just a scam and that people are just going to get burned. I have heard that people once signed up are having a terrible time getting them to stop sending the product as they make you sign up for automatic shipments. That only always makes me nervous because they want you to forget so you keep getting charged and charged. I am not a fan just too many things don't add up like getting a Lexus after selling for just a few months. Really? Makes a person kind of wonder I would say.

  • March 27, 2013

    by gloria

    To Vickie,
    I too, felt not only my heart racing, but thought I felt weird electric sensations in my body the first night I used it. It went away quickly and I kept using it for 8 days until my free sample ran out. I actually forgot about that until I read your post.

    The good side, is that I started out with some new, strange itchy skin eruptions on my décolletage and those seemed to completely clear up and are back after ceasing Nerium. I found this site when googling if Nerium AD has a retinoid in it as I am suspicious that that may be the ingredient that is actually doing the work. I did find you can buy this on Amazon for less than a single bottle from the rep, so may try a whole bottle without the sign up obligation. Will see...

    Thanks for this forum!

  • March 24, 2013

    by Gabriel

    seriously I dont know what to think about Nerium anymore... It seems that the idea that this company has, is to recruit as many people as they can through reps than actually proving the the product is a miracle as they claim.

  • March 23, 2013

    by LyndaC

    In 2010 I was diagnosed with cutaneous Tcell lymphoma after 3 biopsies by different doctors, including one by the head of the Cancer unit at my city's largest hospital.. Mysteriously, it disappeared again without treatment, but left the red scaly skin on my neck.

    In 2012 it returned, and was confirmed by two biopsies, again once with the cancer unit of our University hospital, leacing the red scaly neck patches.

    In February 2013 I met the representative for
    Nerium creme at a garden club meeting. He convinced me to try it topically on my neck. For three days I had an itchy rash. On the 4th day, ALL the red scaly skin on my neck was clear.

    Now, 4 weeks laterr, even my neck wrinkles are also almost gone. I am putting it on my hands and face for cosmetic reasons, and have seen the skin smooth and tighten.

    I would bathe in it if I could afford it!

  • March 21, 2013

    by kate

    better to take simple hyaluronic acid cremes
    I found really good stuff during my six month stay in germany and they are a bit cheaper than nerium anti-aging creme..
    http://www.gabson.de/produkte/hyaluronpflege/

  • March 21, 2013

    by Linda

    I tried the product after receiving a free sample bottle to use and had a severe reaction from it. Not normally allergic to anything, but experienced all over body itching, swelling of face, effected my sinuses, fever of 101, eyes watering, just after using for 5 days. I am still recuperating on allergy medicine and antibiodics since it effected my lungs. Beware of this product, I would advise EXTREME CAUTION. It does have anti-aging properties however, since it just might kill you!

  • March 14, 2013

    by Brenda

    I have to agree with Linda J. The smell is unpleasant but couldn't believe how dry & MORE wrinkled my under-eye area and forehead became. It's going to take a week before my skin is back to where it was. This product is not for me!

  • March 9, 2013

    by Stephanie

    Someone above commented that that Wikipedia is not an authority in any way. I just wanted to say that anyone doing research on their own is better testimony than the FDA. The FDA approves drugs that kill every day all day long. Listen to people who have tried or researched Nerium and then use your best judement. I did try Nerium and nothing has changed. I will not be buying more.

  • March 7, 2013

    by Loralei

    I grew up in Galveston TX the "oleander capital of the world. The plants are everywhere; yards, schools Moody Gardens, pastures, planters alleys. As kids we played in them, around them, made leis with the flowers. Yes they are bitter. They are extremely bitter and if you have a single taste bud you would spit it out. Other plants as poison that people don't talk about are lantana, larkspur, azalea, chinaberry Carolina jessamine and many more.

  • March 6, 2013

    by Donna C

    I reluctantly accepted a 7 Day Challenge via a FREE bottle. (HOOK) I am NOT a believer in the Fountain of Youth in a jar. I DO NOT believe any photo from a magazine or brochure (PhotoShop duh). I have a picture of my freshly washed face from Day 1 as well as a final on Day 7. My wrinkles are more prominent now then when I started the challenge. I am 53 yrs old and I am now facing a blemish breakout, of which I have not experienced for many many years. When I mentioned I was not seeing any improvement on Day 5, I was then told "it may take me longer" as well as "it may take up to 90 days for results" (LINE). I wanted to know if the duration of this challenge was also "free of charge"....response "Oh that isn't possible". I would need to begin purchasing Nerium AD for $89.95 a month (SINKER!!!). I boldly wrote MY review on a social website AND included the bare bone pictures of my face. To my surprise I'm facing a backlash of hostility from the "Rep". After MUCH research I find that this product is potentially dangerous for our delicate faces. I feel that this is a money making scheme backed by our vanity. I am choosing to age gracefully and YES IF I CAN'T EAT IT....IT WILL NOT GO ON MY FACE. Buyer Beware, remember the HOOK-LINE-SINKER to the product!

  • March 3, 2013

    by Linda J

    I tried a bottle from a very lovely younger friend who began selling this product. I wanted it to work to support her business, but after three days the smell of this product and the drying effect to my face was more than I could deal with. Had to return the bottle.

  • March 1, 2013

    by Julie Kay

    My philosophy on this is simple: Why use a product containing a potentially deadly ingredient (when useage might not appear immediately, but over time and I'm ... whoops- feet up!) when I have so many worthy alternatives. I have no interest in such things, myself. ~jk

  • March 1, 2013

    by Lizzie

    This page is great for back and forth discussions. Thank you. I think there are some things to consider before we throw the baby out with the bath water. Good and bad.

    Nerium is not FDA approved. And the rep for this product who is saying this and should stop ASAP.

    But all cosmetics are Not FDA approved. None!

    If it's prescribed by a doctor than it must be approved.

    If we do the research, most skin care products have so much junk in it...toxic materials actually. Check out website "EWGs Skin Deep" a cosmetic database. One would be shocked at how many severely unhealthy ingredients are in over the counter products. Scary and shocking.

    "Did you know it takes only 26 seconds for the chemicals we put on our skin to enter our bloodstream? "

    Where are you getting your data and please site your research.

    Nerium Skin care presented it's data at the Annual Meeting of the North American Congress of Clinical Toxicology. The review panel included: professors of Pharmacology and Toxicology and directors of US poison control centers, a pharmacologist/toxicologist and a former Medical Officer for the Food and Drug Administration and recognized members of the North American Congress of Clinical Toxicology.

    We need to do the research ourselves.

    Who is Science, Technology & Toxicology? They did the research. They work with Aceris, which is a company that determines the saftey of international products before it is sold in the U.S. Let's check out their web sites.

    Let's see that clinical data like you said.
    Are there other product out there that work...sure for $500 a month and it takes 2 years to work?

    My friend is using this product and my husband and I have been discussing.... how does one decide how to make and informative decision about any products. We take all the facts into consideration. For example the person who talked about Floride ingestion. I mean we ingest artificially sweeteners to avoid obesity or control diabetes only to be faced with... they cause cancer in lab rats. Does that stop people from chewing sugar free gum? We eat GMO foods, we get Bo-tox and laser treatments and take part in all kinds of radical treatment on our faces just to look good regardless of the trauma.

    Balance Folks!!

    This does not mean try Nerium or don't try Nerium.

    People need to make well balanced decisions.

    Upon further research: the conflict lies in this, does Oleandum only cause early skin cell death and rejuvenation in unhealthy cells, or does is effect the healthy cells too?

    Oleander is small part of the ingredient list.

    The information is out there, we as a consumer have to do the work. Let's not be a part of creating panic and feel. Do the work.....It's like being Kosher....its a lot of work...

    Silly reference but thank you for the debate.

  • February 12, 2013

    by Beauty Bandit

    I don't think the issue is whether or not people will be poisoned by the toxins the way they would if they ingested oleander leaves.

    What concerns me is that Nerium-Biotechs studies show that the active ingredients in this causes stress oxidation to melanoma skin cells. In layman's terms, they attack the cancerous cells causing it to weaken and eventually destroys it.

    My question has been: THEN WHAT DOES THIS TOXIN DO TO HEALTHY CELLS? Something the company doesn't address in any of their "scientific studies".

    Some scientists theorize that the toxins don't discriminate if a cell is a normal cell or a melanoma cell. That when used on a subject without skin cancer, the toxins will begin attacking the weakest of healthy cells first. This is why they think some people see drastic results - it's like exfoliating on a cellular level. However the DANGEROUS theory is that once a person's weak cells are destroyed by the toxins, they will begin destroying healthy, collagen-producing cells... and you can't buy those back folks. Plus, the toxin remains absorbed in the person's cells for a long time even after they stop using it. There isn't clinical data showing how long the toxins live in your cells, but many users have had continued irritations, lesions and eruptions for months after discontinuing use.

    Any skincare product worth their clout can answer the question: HOW IS YOUR PRODUCT BENEFITTING MY SKIN? Nerium refuses to answer this question.

    Perhaps a simpler - WHAT IS THIS PRODUCT DOING TO MY SKIN? Nerium refuses to answer this question.

    I tend to think there are only one of three possibilities:

    1. They don't know what this toxin is doing to healthy cells but are using current participants in a clinical study and the results haven't been determined yet. If this is the case it's extremely irresponsible for them to sell it to the public at large who didn't sign up to be human guinea pigs.

    2. They don't know what the toxin is doing and don't want to because they have a pretty good idea that it's not good, which wouldn't be good for their wallet if people found out.

    3. They do know what the toxin is doing to healthy cells but are hiding the clinical data because the results show there will be long-term damage after the short-term results.

    I mean think about it, IF THEY HAD CLINICAL DATA SHOWING NO DAMAGE TO NON-CANCEROUS CELLS don't you think they'd be just as aggressive showing this information as they do everything else?

    You bet their ass they would!

    BUYER BEWARE.

    If it's a safe product, time will tell. I wouldn't buy it from anyone unless they could verify that they have personally used it for at least 5 years with great results.

  • February 10, 2013

    by anonymous

    I want to add my thoughts after coming across this post. Have you read the ingredients? Are you content putting toxins and chemicals on your skin? Did you know it takes only 26 seconds for the chemicals we put on our skin to enter our bloodstream? Do you want to put the nerium ingredients in our bodies? Would you eat the product? I highly doubt it knowing what it contains? The itching you are experiencing is from the alcohols and othr waxes and fillers and oils they put in it drying out the skin. The only ingredient you may be getting help from is probably the aloe, you can't even count the vitamin e because it is the last ingredient. Do you really want to spend that on chemicals, drying agents and fillers that can eventually age you even more? I sure don't. I like natural products. I want to use a product I wouldn't worry about my kids getting into or something that can send me to the hospital. I use L'BRI pure n natural. It's natural, safe, effective, and so do my kids. Here is her website www..nicoleann.lbri.com

  • February 10, 2013

    by Barbara

    I've had to resort to corticosteroids to treat the aggressive, inflamed rash that appeared on my face in the very areas I most applied Nerium AD in October- November 2012. It appears that Nerium is the likely cause of this rash, after all other factors are considered. I'm having expensive blood tests done to see if the doc can determine the cause. I'd be very grateful to hear from someone who knows what the appropriate allergy treatment is for oleandrin or some other ingredient in Nerium AD. Please help!

  • February 1, 2013

    by adele

    My two cents worth. It's not only Wiki that says the plant is poisonous. According to Medline Plus, it is poisonous (if eaten) and can cause all sorts of reactions including hives and rashes if used on skin. Also, according to the ingredients listed, there are two ingredients hydroxymethylglycinate and tocopherol which can be contaminated with formaldehyde and hydroquinone respectively. Since Nerium doesn't say how it processes those ingredients I wouldn't trust it. Also, both formaldehyde and hydroquinone are rated 9 and 10 in the cosmetic database for safety. Someone above posted that it could be unsafe but worthy it if it works. Not to me. It's north worth getting sick over cosmetics when there are very good products out there that can do the same thing. Thanks Marta for posting the ingredients so I could check them out for a friend.

  • January 29, 2013

    by monica

    anything that is not approved by the FDA should raise a red flag. Also, if you look closely at these "results" photos, they appear to either be altered, or they are not the same person. A brand partner recently posted a result photo on facebook and on the photo on the left, the individual had a mole above her right eye, but in the right photo, the mole was gone, and the shape of the eye was different. Does this product remove moles too?

  • January 29, 2013

    by Tammy

    I started to try this product about 3 plus weeks ago. Used it faithfully for 2 weeks and skipped 2 days while out of town. When I returned I started using the Nerium again and my face started itchy terribly but no rash! I stopped and changed all my face products and waited a couple days, the itch lightened but didn't go away so I used the Nerium again. Last night I woke in a frantic from the itch and had to wash my face. I have been getting compliments and really like the results but the itch is driving me crazy. I'm wondering if it will go away ?

  • January 26, 2013

    by Rebecca

    I use the product, for two months and have zero issues. I have red hair, fair sensitive skin and cannot begin to tell you the benefit to the sun damage I have long had on my face which now is disappearing. I was doing photo rejuvenation light procedures at a dermatologist for several hundreds of dollars to rectify the bright redness of that, Nerium has eliminated that. My skin is smooth and returning to an even tone...I even had a doctor say I was getting rosacea (to my horror)...but that was just the sun damage and microdermabrasion techniques that many cosmetic dermatologists will casually suggest in helping to get red 'irish' blotchy cheeks back to that fair skin we prefer. So, however, it is, I don't ingest oleander extract, I put a cream on my face nightly and nothing else...I wash it off each morning, as directed and won't ever not do Nerium AD hereafter. The results are too obvious and I'm one that has spent more time in creams, high end and low end, and having one -- for me -- is a relief. My 13 yr old also uses it on her nose to reduce blackheads successfully and I slather my husband's face nitely when he's home on weekends and just 2 nites a week is obvious and blatant. Hope this helps as people debate...discussion like this is good.

  • January 24, 2013

    by Carol W

    I used Nerium for 30 days and experienced two issues, my eyes got so paper dry I couldn't wear my contact lenses. After discontinuing it, the skin at the base of my nose started excreting yellow crusty stuff that lasted for 3 weeks before it cleared. This is a toxin regardless of what the company says and some people can't use it.

  • January 23, 2013

    by Vicki Frazier

    Has anyone experienced any heart racing after applying the Nerium? I don't do any caffeine and experience some strange feelings when I go to bed after applying the cream. Not sleeping well at all.

  • January 22, 2013

    by Jennie Clark

    Hi there, I'm an esthetician and I just started using Nerium AD. Make sure you don't use other products with active ingredients in them, such as retinol. Nerium AD has active ingredients already and could cause irritation when combined. Excited to hear how you like it : )

  • January 21, 2013

    by Cam

    I'm sorry u have your information wrong by this product has been tested on thousands of people. Don't U see the before and afters that's how they build their business. They are real people! Also, u have to se the product right! U have to rinse in the morning and not use anything else and some times itt may take longer then others. Of course it will not work for everyone and I feel if I don't give it a chance u may lose out. It's science everything will b soon

  • January 21, 2013

    by pam

    I asked a Nerium Brand Partner this question, " Suppose I use Nerium AD for 3 to 6 months and get fabulous results, then decide to discontinue using it. What would happen?" She said my skin (face) would revert to the original state, before I started using it. So you have to use it forever! Very costly.

  • January 18, 2013

    by anon

    Does not approve non-prescribed products, whether facial creams or Hydroxycut, for example. Sorry. Just thought everyone should know.

  • January 18, 2013

    by anon

    Kate, I'm sorry but you should know this, as a rep for the product... The product is NOT FDA approved and you shouldn't claim otherwise. One clinical trial with 35 subjects does not qualify for even submission to the FDA, let alone full approval. Moreover, fda

  • January 16, 2013

    by Kate Pinelo

    Everything new comes under question. I am a rep for Nerium because I tried the product and it works! It is FDA approved and has gone through all the regulatory trials. It's amazing!

  • January 14, 2013

    by Jill

    I am NOT a rep for this product, just want to make that clear. I've been using it for 2 1/2 weeks now, and love what its doing for my skin. I researched this for at least a month before I bought it. In regards to it being toxic, The product is not, but the plant is. Just don't eat it. Just like fluoride in your toothpaste, fluoride is a poison, but you use it in your toothpaste. Its controlled. If Walmart sold Nerium AD, I'd buy it there every month.

  • January 7, 2013

    by debra

    i go along with susanna people always want to believe the worst before they even find out or search further. ck out the CORRECT and real web/ or utube where the Known scientist speak and tell you all about the various kinds of oleander and Neriums product.

  • January 6, 2013

    by bridget

    I was 'surfing' and found this webpage. Looking for info about nerium. I haven't tried it.But I had lunch with my mom today n was absolutely convinced she had a facelift. Assures me it is this wrinkle cream, she looked amazing. She looked 10 years younger Im not too excited to find out it is toxic, but still worth it if i get results like my mom has. I' might end up looking older than my mom if i don't start using it

  • December 5, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Susanna, can you confirm that you are not a Nerium rep and selling this product?

  • December 5, 2012

    by Susanna

    Not everything works for everyone. It's great that the company is building a real results library of photos. Customer and brand partners are encouraged to upload their progress photos.
    As far as safety, here is a great video studying the product's safety http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqXokWWGthU&feature=share&list=UUmK653rNlrOBBtmmrud0dYA

    It's a long link I know. I'm using it, my husband is, some friends, and family members and they are pleased. It's nice that people can try the product and that there is a money back guarantee.
    Thanks.

  • October 17, 2012

    by Denise

    I have very sensitive skin and have been using Nerium for about 10 days. No irritation and some great results - smaller pores around my nose and cheeks and definite improvement in lines around my eyes and neck. Color me happy with it!

  • October 16, 2012

    by Wendy

    I was given a free sample of Nerium ad to test for a week. Within 24 hours of the first application my skin became very itchy everywhere the product was applied. After four days it has not gotten any better so I will discontinue use.

  • October 8, 2012

    by Louise

    Some ladies at my church have been using this and the results are amazing. I can't wait to get mine and try it! But that's not why I wanted to comment ...

    I wanted to tell you that Wikipedia is not an authority in any way. ANYONE can go to Wikipedia and write on a topic, add to a topic or edit a topic. Just because it gets a lot of hits does not make it trusted website. People think the same thing about Snopes, which is run by a husband wife team from their home in CA. It is used as an authority website because it's been online since 1995 (not much was around back then). Please don't assume you are getting facts just because a site looks like it's professional.

  • October 3, 2012

    by Mika

    My friend gave me a sample to try and after two nights, my neck developed an itchy rash. My skin felt smooth, but becuase it was so irritated, it actually enlarged my pores. After the two nights, I went back to my regular skin routine and it took two days for it to calm down enough to tolerate the itchiness. I have sensitive skin, so please be careful if you also have sensitive skin!

  • October 2, 2012

    by Kate Z

    Marta I hope that, if you do try this, at least do a patch test first. Your skin is sensitive and from the sounds of it being such a skin irritant, you could have a reaction. I've read that some people have experienced reactions and they didn't sound pleasant!

Comments are now closed on this post
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...